Response to Amendment
The preliminary amendments filed 02/21/2025 to the claims and specifications have been reviewed and accepted by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lo (US-20210101946) in view of Oana (US-20210387383).
Regarding claim 1, Lo teaches:
A method for producing a fibroin molded body ([0016] – [0021] and [0345]), the fibroin molding body manufacturing method comprising the steps of:
loading fibroin into a mold ([0142] and [0148] – [0149], [0344] – [0345], and [0339]);
heating ([0007], [0061], [0076], [0156], and [0158]) the fibroin;
heat-treating the fibroin molded body ([0021] and [0153] – [0159]).
Lo does not explicitly teach:
pressurizing the fibroin; and
taking out the pressurized fibroin, wherein the pressurized fibroin forms a fibroin-molded body.
However, Oana, in a similar field of endeavor, a method for producing a fibroin molded body, teaches:
pressurizing the fibroin ([0038], [0043], and [0061] – [0062]); and
taking out the pressurized fibroin, wherein the pressurized fibroin forms a fibroin-molded body ([0038] and [0061] – [0062]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the method of Lo to incorporate the teachings of Oana and explicitly include a step of pressurizing the fibroin. The purpose, as stated by Oana, being since the pressure application and the heating can be simultaneously performed, and the manufacturing process can be simplified ([0062]).
Regarding claim 2, Lo in view of Oana teaches the limitations of claim 1, which claim 2 depends on. Oana further teaches:
wherein the heating and pressurizing is performed at 70 to 200°C and 10 MPa or more ([0038] and [0061]).
Lo further teaches:
wherein the heating (and pressurizing, as described by the combination above) is performed for 1 - 300 seconds ([0067]).
Regarding claim 3, Lo in view of Oana teaches the limitations of claim 1, which claim 3 depends on. Lo further teaches:
wherein taking out the molded body takes place within 500 seconds after the start of heating. Oana teaches removing after predetermined time (Oana; [0061] – [0062]), as described in the rejection of claim 1 above, and Lo teaches that the predetermined time is under 500 seconds (Lo; [0067]).
Regarding claim 7, Lo in view of Oana teaches the limitations of claim 1, which claim 7 depends on. Oana further teaches:
additionally comprising the step of drying an aqueous solution containing fibroin inside a block for manufacturing the fibroin (Col. 3).
Claims 4-6 and 8-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lo (US-20210101946) in view of Oana (US-20210387383), as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Sekiyama (U.S. Patent No. 10329332).
Regarding claim 4, Lo in view of Oana teaches the limitations of claim 1, which claim 4 depends on, but does not explicitly teach the temperature of the heat treatment. However, Sekiyama, in a similar field of endeavor, a method for producing a fibroin molded body, teaches:
wherein heat-treating is performed at a temperature of 70°C to 200°C (Col. 9, lines 13-30).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the heat treatment of Lo in view of Oana to incorporate the teachings of Sekiyama and explicitly include a temperature for the heat-treatment. The purpose, as stated by Sekiyama, being that the material is heat-treated for 1 hour at 80° C (Col. 9, lines 26-27).
Regarding claim 5, Lo in view of Oana teaches the limitations of claim 1, which claim 5 depends on, but does not explicitly teach the time of the heat treatment. However, Sekiyama, in a similar field of endeavor, a method for producing a fibroin molded body, teaches:
wherein the heating time for heat-treating is 600 seconds or longer (Col. 9, lines 13-30).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the heat treatment of Lo in view of Oana to incorporate the teachings of Sekiyama and explicitly include a time for the heat-treatment. The purpose, as stated by Sekiyama, being that the material is heat-treated for 1 hour at 80° C (Col. 9, lines 26-27).
Regarding claim 6, Lo in view of Oana teaches the limitations of claim 1, which claim 6 depends on, but does not explicitly teach the relative time of the heat treatment compared to the time of the heating. However, Sekiyama, in a similar field of endeavor, a method for producing a fibroin molded body, in view of Lo and Oana, teaches:
wherein the heating time for heat-treating is longer than the heating time for heating and pressurizing. As shown in claim 5, Sekiyama teaches heat-treatment lasting 1 hour (Sekiyama; Col. 9, lines 13-30), and Lo with modification by Oana teaches, as shown in claim 2 above, heating and pressurizing for under five minutes (Lo; [0067]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the method of Lo in view of Oana to incorporate the teachings of Sekiyama and explicitly include a relative time for the heat-treatment compared to the heating. The purpose, as stated by Sekiyama, being that the material is heat-treated for 1 hour at 80° C (Col. 9, lines 26-27).
Regarding claim 8, Lo in view of Oana teaches the limitations of claim 1, which claim 8 depends on, but does not teach a drying step. However, Sekiyama, in a similar field of endeavor, a method for producing a fibroin molded body, teaches:
additionally comprising the step of drying an aqueous solution containing fibroin inside a block for manufacturing the fibroin (Col. 3).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the method of Lo in view of Oana to incorporate the teachings of Sekiyama and include a drying step. The purpose, as stated by Sekiyama, being that the immersion for desolvation of cast film may be performed in water (Col. 3, lines 45-47).
Regarding claim 9, Lo in view of Oana and Sekiyama teaches the limitations of claim 8, which claim 9 depends on. Oana further teaches:
further comprising the step of pressurizing the dried aqueous solution containing fibroin inside the block for manufacturing the fibroin ([0038], [0043], and [0061] – [0062]).
Conclusion
/A.B./Examiner, Art Unit 1741 /JACOB T MINSKEY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1748