DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
Claims 1-12 are pending and under examination in the instant office action.
Duplicate Claims, Warning
Applicant is advised that should claim 1 be found allowable, claim 7 will be objected to under 37 CFR 1.75 as being a substantial duplicate thereof. When two claims in an application are duplicates or else are so close in content that they both cover the same thing, despite a slight difference in wording, it is proper after allowing one claim to object to the other as being a substantial duplicate of the allowed claim. See MPEP § 706.03(k). Both claims are directed to a carbonated jelly drink”. The recited intended use does not change any structural feature. Thus, there is no difference in the scope of both claims.
Applicant is advised that should claim 11 be found allowable, claim 12 will be objected to under 37 CFR 1.75 as being a substantial duplicate thereof. When two claims in an application are duplicates or else are so close in content that they both cover the same thing, despite a slight difference in wording, it is proper after allowing one claim to object to the other as being a substantial duplicate of the allowed claim. See MPEP § 706.03(k). Both claims are directed to “a method of injecting the same carbonated jelly drink”. The recited intended results appear to cover the same thing and do not change any method step or manipulative difference in the method (same composition and same step). Thus, there is no difference in the scope of both claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112 (b)
Claim 8-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Claims 8-9 recites “gas pressure” and “hardness” in line 2, respectively. However, it does not specify whose gas pressure or hardness is. Thus, it is unclear whether the gas pressure can be due to any gas including oxygen or other gas present in the drink or it is limited to carbon dioxide gas. Also, it is unclear whether the hardness is for the jelly or something else. Clarification is required.
For the examination purpose, they are interpreted to mean “gas pressure of carbon dioxide” and “the hardness of the jelly”.
Also, claim 10 recites a powder formulation for producing the carbonated jelly drink according to claim 1. However, it does not specify what ingredients are included in the powder formulation. According to the specification, there are three embodiments for a powder formulation: 1) when it is mixed with the carbonated drink, the powder formulation comprises (A) a gelling agent in the powder formulation; 2) when the powder formulation is mixed with the jelly drink, it contains (B) at least one of carbonate and hydrogen carbonate and (C) at least one of acid and salt that liberate carbonic acid in the powder formulation, and 3) when it is mixed with the drink containing no carbonic acid and jelly, the powder formulation contains the (A) gelling agent, the (B) at least one of carbonate and hydrogen carbonate, and the (C) at least one of acid and salt that liberate carbonic acid (see [0041]-[0048]). In light of the specification, it is unclear whether the claim encompasses a powder formulation comprising: 1) only a gelling agent, 2) at least one of carbonate and hydrogen carbonate and at least one of acid; or/and 3) a gelling agent, and at least one of carbonate and hydrogen carbonate and at least one of acid.
For the examination purpose, the claim 10 is interpreted to encompass a powder formulation comprising only a gelling agent in powder forms.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112 (d)
Subject to the [fifth paragraph of 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA )], a claim in dependent form shall contain a reference to a claim previously set forth and then specify a further limitation of the subject matter claimed. A claim in dependent form shall be construed to incorporate by reference all the limitations of the claim to which it refers.
Claims 2-3 and 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends.
Claims 2-3 and 5 further recite “intended use”. However, the claims are directed to a carbonated jelly drink” and the recited intended use does not change any structural feature. Thus, there is no difference in the scope of those from that of claim 1 from which they depend. As such, they fail to further limit the subject matter of claim 1.
Applicant may cancel the claim, amend the claim to place the claim in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-8 and 11-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by JP 2011211964 (cited in the IDS filed on 2/21/2025).
JP 2011211964 teaches a method for producing carbonic acid-containing jelly beverage (overview, [0017] and claim 1).
JP 2011211964 discloses a jelly drink preparation comprising 0.1 kg Gellan gum, 15 kg fructose-glucose liquid sugar (about 4 kcal per 1g), 2 kg citric anhydride, 0.9 kg sodium citrate,0.1 kg fragrance, and 0.1 kg calcium lactate dissolved in 89 kg water wherein carbon dioxide gas is injected into a jelly beverage preparation ([0036], [0037], and [0038]). Based on the content of fructose-glucose liquid sugar and the other ingredients, it is found that the drink necessarily has 10 kcal/100 ml or more calories.
The instant claims 1-3 and 5-7 further recite intended use limitations: “for reducing an amount of water intake”, “used for preventing overhydration”, “used for a subject selected from the group consisting of a renal failure patient, a heart failure patient, a hepatic cirrhosis patient, and a hyponatremia patient”, “used for preventing frequent urination”, and “used for preventing obesity”, and “for reducing thirst”. However, such intended use limitations do not change the structure of the claimed product, thus they do not have any patentable weight. An intended use of the claimed invention must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim. See In re Casey, 152 USPQ 235 (CCPA 1967) and In re Otto, 136 USPQ 458, 459 (CCPA 1963). In this case, JP 2011211964 teaches the same carbonated jelly drink as the instant invention, thus it would be capable of performing the intended use as claimed. In accordance with the patent statutes, an article or composition of matter, in order to patentable, must not only be useful and involve invention, but must also be new. If there is no novelty in an article or composition itself, then a patent cannot be properly granted on the article or composition, regardless of the use for which it is.
As to claim 4, the printed matter on a label does not lend patentable weight as a limitation of the claimed product since there is no functional relationship between the label and the product. See In re Haller 73 USPQ 403 (CCPA 1947), where it is held that application of printed matter to old article cannot render the article patentable. In the opinion text of In re Haller, it is stated that: Whether the statement of intended use appears merely in the claim or in label on the product is immaterial so far as the question of patentability is concerned. In the instant case, the claim is drawn to an old article or composition, which further comprises labeling instructions since the prior art teaches the same carbonated jelly drink as claimed. The intended use, which is recited on the label or package of the insert, lacks a function relationship because the insert or label does not physically or chemically affect the chemical or physical nature within the article of manufacture, and furthermore, the old article or old composition can still be used by the skilled artisan for other purposes. Therefore, the old article or composition which is comprised with the claimed components are unpatentable over the prior art, because they function equally effectively with or without the labeling, and accordingly no functional relationship exists between the instructions for use and the composition. Thus, the claim is addressed as being drawn to an article comprising an old composition and a package insert, the instructions on the insert bearing no patentable weight. See MPEP § 2112.01: Where the only difference between a prior art product and a claimed product is printed matter that is not functionally related to the product, the content of the printed matter will not distinguish the claimed product from the prior art. In re Ngai, 367 F.3d 1336, 1339, 70 USPQ2d 1862, 1864 (Fed. Cir. 2004) (Claim at issue was a kit requiring instructions and a buffer agent. The Federal Circuit held that the claim was anticipated by a prior art reference that taught a kit that included instructions and a buffer agent, even though the content of the instructions differed, explaining "[i]f we were to adopt [applicant’s] position, anyone could continue patenting a product indefinitely provided that they add a new instruction sheet to the product.").
As to claims 11-12, while the preamble of the claimed method recites “for reducing an amount of water intake” or “for reducing thirst”, the only step of the claimed method is “ingesting a carbonated jelly drink”. Thus, those preambles are intended results of the method step (i.e., injecting a carbonated jelly drink), and as such are non-limiting since language does not result in manipulative difference in steps of claims. The prior art implicitly discloses “injecting” the carbonated jelly beverage since the beverage is for ingesting or drinking. Thus, the intended results necessarily occur as recited in claims when the beverage of the prior art is ingested. “[T]he discovery of a previously unappreciated property of a prior art composition, or of a scientific explanation for the prior art’s functioning, does not render the old composition patentably new to the discoverer.” Atlas Powder Co. v. Ireco Inc., 190 F.3d 1342, 1347, 51 USPQ2d 1943, 1947 (Fed. Cir.1999). Thus the claiming of a new use, new function or unknown property which is inherently present in the prior art does not necessarily make the claim patentable. In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 1254, 195 USPQ 430, 433 (CCPA 1977). “[N]ewly discovered results of known processes directed to the same purpose are not patentable." Bristol-Myers Squibb, 246 F.3d at 1376. Also, see In re Fitzgerald, 619 F.2d 67, 205 USPQ 594 (CCPA 1980) (a case indicating that the burden of proof can be shifted to the applicant to show that the subject matter of the prior art does not possess the characteristic relied on whether the rejection is based on inherency under 35 U.S.C.102 or obviousness under 35 U.S.C. 103).
As such, the instant claims are anticipated by JP 2011211964.
Claims 1-8 and 10-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Recipe of “lemon carbonated jelly” (Mi-mollet [online], June 19, 2019; cited in the IDS filed on 2/21/2025; hereafter, “The Mi-mollet recipe”).
The Mi-mollet recipe (entire text) discloses a recipe for carbonated lemon jelly drink as a sweet treat that is good for dieting, and lists the following ingredients: lemon juice (2 tablespoon), powdered gelatin (7 g), honey (80 g), boiling water (50 ml), and carbonated water (300 ml) (title and p3-4).
As to claim 6, the carbonated lemon jelly is for dieting and is therefore “used for obesity prevention”. Also, based on the content of honey and other ingredients ("ingredients"), it is found that the drink necessarily has 10 kcal/100 ml or more calories.
The instant claims 1-3 and 5-7 further recite intended use limitations: “for reducing an amount of water intake”, “used for preventing overhydration”, “used for a subject selected from the group consisting of a renal failure patient, a heart failure patient, a hepatic cirrhosis patient, and a hyponatremia patient”, “used for preventing frequent urination”, and “used for preventing obesity”, and “for reducing thirst”. However, such intended use limitations do not change the structure of the claimed product, thus they do not have any patentable weight. An intended use of the claimed invention must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim. See In re Casey, 152 USPQ 235 (CCPA 1967) and In re Otto, 136 USPQ 458, 459 (CCPA 1963). In this case, the prior art teaches the same carbonated jelly drink as the instant invention, thus it would be capable of performing the intended use as claimed. In accordance with the patent statutes, an article or composition of matter, in order to patentable, must not only be useful and involve invention, but must also be new. If there is no novelty in an article or composition itself, then a patent cannot be properly granted on the article or composition, regardless of the use for which it is.
As to claim 4, the printed matter on a label does not lend patentable weight as a limitation of the claimed product since there is no functional relationship between the label and the product. See In re Haller 73 USPQ 403 (CCPA 1947), where it is held that application of printed matter to old article cannot render the article patentable. In the opinion text of In re Haller, it is stated that: Whether the statement of intended use appears merely in the claim or in label on the product is immaterial so far as the question of patentability is concerned. In the instant case, the claim is drawn to an old article or composition, which further comprises labeling instructions since the prior art teaches the same carbonated jelly drink as claimed. The intended use, which is recited on the label or package of the insert, lacks a function relationship because the insert or label does not physically or chemically affect the chemical or physical nature within the article of manufacture, and furthermore, the old article or old composition can still be used by the skilled artisan for other purposes. Therefore, the old article or composition which is comprised with the claimed components are unpatentable over the prior art, because they function equally effectively with or without the labeling, and accordingly no functional relationship exists between the instructions for use and the composition. Thus, the claim is addressed as being drawn to an article comprising an old composition and a package insert, the instructions on the insert bearing no patentable weight. See MPEP § 2112.01: Where the only difference between a prior art product and a claimed product is printed matter that is not functionally related to the product, the content of the printed matter will not distinguish the claimed product from the prior art. In re Ngai, 367 F.3d 1336, 1339, 70 USPQ2d 1862, 1864 (Fed. Cir. 2004) (Claim at issue was a kit requiring instructions and a buffer agent. The Federal Circuit held that the claim was anticipated by a prior art reference that taught a kit that included instructions and a buffer agent, even though the content of the instructions differed, explaining "[i]f we were to adopt [applicant’s] position, anyone could continue patenting a product indefinitely provided that they add a new instruction sheet to the product.").
As to claim 10, the claimed powder formulation encompasses a powder formulation comprising an gelling agent in the powder form, which is mixed with a carbonated drink in light of the specification (see [0041]-[0043]) as stated above. The prior art discloses powdered gelatin, which reads on a powder formulation comprising a gelling agent (i.e., gelatin) mixed with carbonated water for producing carbonated jelly drink as recited in claim 10.
As to claims 11-12, while the preamble of the claimed method recites “for reducing an amount of water intake” or “for reducing thirst”, the only step of the claimed method is “ingesting a carbonated jelly drink”. Thus, those preambles are intended results of the method step (i.e., injecting a carbonated jelly drink), and as such are non-limiting since language does not result in manipulative difference in steps of claims. The prior art implicitly discloses “ingesting” the carbonated jelly beverage since the beverage is for ingesting or drinking. Thus, the intended results necessarily occur as recited in claims when the beverage of the prior art is ingested. “[T]he discovery of a previously unappreciated property of a prior art composition, or of a scientific explanation for the prior art’s functioning, does not render the old composition patentably new to the discoverer.” Atlas Powder Co. v. Ireco Inc., 190 F.3d 1342, 1347, 51 USPQ2d 1943, 1947 (Fed. Cir.1999). Thus the claiming of a new use, new function or unknown property which is inherently present in the prior art does not necessarily make the claim patentable. In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 1254, 195 USPQ 430, 433 (CCPA 1977). “[N]ewly discovered results of known processes directed to the same purpose are not patentable." Bristol-Myers Squibb, 246 F.3d at 1376. Also, see In re Fitzgerald, 619 F.2d 67, 205 USPQ 594 (CCPA 1980) (a case indicating that the burden of proof can be shifted to the applicant to show that the subject matter of the prior art does not possess the characteristic relied on whether the rejection is based on inherency under 35 U.S.C.102 or obviousness under 35 U.S.C. 103).
As such, the instant claims are anticipated by the Mi-mollet recipe.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-9 and 11-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over JP 2011211964 cited in the IDS filed on 2/21/2025) in view of US2018/0325146.
JP 2011211964 as applied supra is herein applied for the same teachings in their entirety.
JP 2011211964 is silent about a hardness recited in claim 9.
However, US2018/0325146 teaches jelly drink, which has a hardness of 2000-20000 N/m2, more preferably 3000 to 10000 N/m2, and most preferably 4000 to 7000 N/m2 (abstract and [0017]). The range overlaps those claimed. US2018/0325146 further teaches that if the hardness of the jelly drink is within the above-mentioned range, the jelly can be crushed without excessive force, and can be easily ingested as a drink ([0017]).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to optimize the hardness of the carbonated jelly drink taught by JP 2011211964 for making it suitable for drinking based on the range taught by US2018/0325146. The skilled artisan would have been capable of adjusting the hardness of the jelly drink so that the jelly drink could be easily ingested. Such optimization would have been well within the skill of ordinary artisans in view of US2018/0325146.
Claims 1-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Recipe of “lemon carbonated jelly” (Mi-mollet [online], June 19, 2019; cited in the IDS filed on 2/21/2025; hereafter, “The Mi-mollet recipe”) in view of US2018/0325146.
The Mi-mollet recipe as applied supra is herein applied for the same teachings in their entirety.
The Mi-mollet recipe is silent about a hardness recited in claim 9.
However, US2018/0325146 teaches jelly drink, which has a hardness of 2000-20000 N/m2, more preferably 3000 to 10000 N/m2, and most preferably 4000 to 7000 N/m2 (abstract and [0017]). The range overlaps those claimed. US2018/0325146 further teaches that if the hardness of the jelly drink is within the above-mentioned range, the jelly can be crushed without excessive force, and can be easily ingested as a drink ([0017]).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to optimize the hardness of a carbonated jelly drink of the Mi-mollet recipe for making it suitable for drinking based on the range taught by US2018/0325146. The skilled artisan would have been capable of adjusting the hardness of the jelly drink so that the jelly drink could be easily ingested. Such optimization would have been well within the skill of ordinary artisans in view of US2018/0325146.
A reference is good not only for what it teaches by direct anticipation but also for what one of ordinary skill in the art might reasonably infer from the teachings. (In re Opprecht 12 USPQ 2d 1235, 1236 (Fed Cir. 1989); In re Bode 193 USPQ 12 (CCPA) 1976). In light of the forgoing discussion, it is concluded that the subject matter defined by the instant claims would have been obvious within the meaning of 35 USC 103.
From the teachings of the references, it is apparent that one of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success in producing the claimed invention. Therefore, the invention as a whole was prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, as evidenced by the reference, especially in the absence of evidence to the contrary.
Conclusion
No claims are allowed.
/BONG-SOOK BAEK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1611