DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
This action is in reply to the communication(s) filed on 21 March 2025.
Claims 1-11 are canceled via preliminary amendment.
Claims 12-23 are currently pending.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) filed 21 February 2025 fails to comply with 37 CFR 1.98(a)(2), which requires a legible copy of each cited foreign patent document; each non-patent literature publication or that portion which caused it to be listed; and all other information or that portion which caused it to be listed. It has been placed in the application file, but the information referred to therein has not been considered. It is noted EP 3037655 is missing from the IDS.
Claim Interpretation
Examiner note: no 112(f) invocations have been identified by the Office.
Claim Objections
Claim 23 is objected to because of the following informalities: the Examiner suggests changing "Said " to "said" for grammatical purposes.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 12-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Regarding Claim 12:
The claim language, "said trailing edge element forming a portion of said profile trailing edge so as to cause said profile trailing edge at said rotor blade tip to extend in a direction of a tip-side end of said rotor blade in a monotonous manner," renders the claim indefinite. The term "monotonous manner" is not defined by the specification, however based on paragraph [0016] the term "monotonous path of the profile trailing edge" means that the path remains consistent or changes in the same direction, for example, with respect to the longitudinal axis of the rotor blade. For example, the path is curved, wherein no direction change of the curvature takes place. In other words, the trailing edge element does not form a profile trailing edge portion with an undulating, spiked or otherwise alternating path." However the claim language requires the trailing edge element to be flexible. Thus the claim requirement of a flexible trailing edge element is in direct contradiction to the claim requirement of trailing edge element being configured to form a portion of the profile trailing edge of the rotor blade wherein a path of the portion of said profile trailing edge is monotonous. For purposes of examination, the claim language pertaining to "monotonous" is interpreted to mean the transition between the trailing edge element and the trailing edge of the rotor blade creates a seamless / smooth profile that merely continues on with the blade shape.
Regarding Claim 23:
The claim language, "wherein a path of the portion of said profile trailing edge is monotonous," renders the claim indefinite. Based on paragraph [0016] the term "monotonous path of the profile trailing edge" means that the path remains consistent or changes in the same direction, for example, with respect to the longitudinal axis of the rotor blade. For example, the path is curved, wherein no direction change of the curvature takes place. In other words, the trailing edge element does not form a profile trailing edge portion with an undulating, spiked or otherwise alternating path." However the claim language requires the trailing edge element to be flexible. Thus the claim requirement of a flexible trailing edge element is in direct contradiction to the claim requirement of trailing edge element being configured to form a portion of the profile trailing edge of the rotor blade wherein a path of the portion of said profile trailing edge is monotonous. For purposes of examination, the claim language pertaining to "monotonous" is interpreted to mean the transition between the trailing edge element and the trailing edge of the rotor blade creates a seamless / smooth profile that merely continues on with the blade shape.
Regarding claims 13-22:
Claims 13-22 are rejected by virtue of dependence on rejected claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 12-23 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Madsen et al (US 20090290982), hereafter referred to as Madsen.
Regarding Claim 12, Madsen discloses the following:
A rotor blade (1; FIG. 3) for a wind turbine, the rotor blade (1; FIG. 3) comprising:
a rotor blade main body (2) and a rotor blade tip (end portion of 2, including sub-section 3b at tip; see FIG. 3; [0060]) adjoining the rotor blade main body (2);
a suction-side surface (top or bottom of 2, as seen in FIG. 1, 5) defining an outer contour;
a pressure-side surface (top or bottom of 2, as seen in FIG. 1, 5) defining an outer contour;
a profile trailing edge (3, as seen in FIG. 1, 5);
said suction-side surface (top or bottom of 2, as seen in FIG. 1, 5) and said pressure-side surface (top or bottom of 2, as seen in FIG. 1, 5) having respective downstream edges connected to each other at said profile trailing edge (3, as seen in FIG. 1, 5);
said rotor blade tip (end portion of 2, including sub-section 3b at tip; see FIG. 3; [0060]) having a flexibly configured trailing edge element (flexible portion 3, having sub-sections 3a, 3b, FIG. 3) defining a shape adapted to be flush with the respective outer contours of said suction-side surface (top or bottom of 2, as seen in FIG. 1, 5) and said pressure-side surface (top or bottom of 2, as seen in FIG. 1, 5); and,
said trailing edge element (flexible portion 3, having sub-sections 3a, 3b, FIG. 3) forming a portion of said profile trailing edge (3, as seen in FIG. 1, 5) so as to cause said profile trailing edge (3, as seen in FIG. 1, 5) at said rotor blade tip (end portion of 2, including sub-section 3b at tip; see FIG. 3; [0060]) to extend in a direction of a tip-side end of said rotor blade (1; FIG. 3) in a monotonous manner (as seen in FIG. 1, 5, also see [0060]).
Regarding Claim 13, Madsen discloses the following:
The rotor blade (1; FIG. 3) of claim 12,
wherein said trailing edge element (flexible portion 3, having sub-sections 3a, 3b, FIG. 3) and a remaining rotor blade (1; FIG. 3) conjointly form a seamless transition (as seen in FIG. 1, 5) therebetween along said profile trailing edge (3, as seen in FIG. 1, 5).
Regarding Claim 14, Madsen discloses the following:
The rotor blade (1; FIG. 3) of claim 13,
wherein said seamless transition is a stepless transition (as seen in FIG. 1, 5).
Regarding Claim 15, Madsen discloses the following:
The rotor blade (1; FIG. 3) of claim 12,
wherein said trailing edge element (flexible portion 3, having sub-sections 3a, 3b, FIG. 3) is free from a profile depth expansion at said profile trailing edge (3, as seen in FIG. 1, 5).
Regarding Claim 16, Madsen discloses the following:
The rotor blade (1; FIG. 3) of claim 12,
wherein said portion of said profile trailing edge (3, as seen in FIG. 1, 5) is formed by said trailing edge element (flexible portion 3, having sub-sections 3a, 3b, FIG. 3) and said portion has a curvature changing in a monotonous manner (as seen in FIG. 1, 5).
Regarding Claim 17, Madsen discloses the following:
The rotor blade (1; FIG. 3) of claim 12,
wherein said trailing edge element (flexible portion 3, having sub-sections 3a, 3b, FIG. 3) is formed from an elastomer material (see for example claim 51).
Regarding Claim 18, Madsen discloses the following:
The rotor blade (1; FIG. 3) of claim 12,
wherein said rotor blade tip (end portion of 2, including sub-section 3b at tip; see FIG. 3; [0060]) is configured separately (at least a portion of the tip is configured separately) from said rotor blade main body (2) and is connected to said rotor blade main body (2).
Regarding Claim 19, Madsen discloses the following:
The rotor blade (1; FIG. 3) of claim 12,
wherein said rotor blade tip (end portion of 2, including sub-section 3b at tip; see FIG. 3; [0060]) is formed from an electrically conductive material (at least a portion of 3b may comprise a steel metal plate in the spanwise direction, see [0027-28] and for example FIG. 10).
Regarding Claim 20, Madsen discloses the following:
The rotor blade (1; FIG. 3) of claim 12,
wherein said trailing edge element (flexible portion 3, having sub-sections 3a, 3b, FIG. 3) is secured to said rotor blade tip (end portion of 2, including sub-section 3b at tip; see FIG. 3; [0060]) by a positive- locking connection (13, 14; for example FIG. 5; Note: while the connection of the Instant Application is perpendicular to the span, the claims as written do not require such.).
Regarding Claim 21, Madsen discloses the following:
The rotor blade (1; FIG. 3) of claim 20,
wherein said trailing edge element (flexible portion 3, having sub-sections 3a, 3b, FIG. 3) is secured to said rotor blade tip (end portion of 2, including sub-section 3b at tip; see FIG. 3; [0060]) by one of the following: i) a rail system, ii) a tongue and groove connection or iii) a dovetail connection (as seen in for example FIG. 5).
Regarding Claim 22, Madsen discloses the following:
The rotor blade (1; FIG. 3) of claim 12,
wherein said profile trailing edge (3, as seen in FIG. 1, 5) of said rotor blade (1; FIG. 3) extends along a longitudinal axis of said rotor blade (1; FIG. 3) starting from a position of maximum profile depth up to said tip-side end in a monotonous manner (as seen in FIG. 3).
Regarding Claim 23, Madsen discloses the following:
A rotor blade tip (end portion of 2, including sub-section 3b at tip; see FIG. 3; [0060]) for a rotor blade (1; FIG. 3) of a wind turbine, the rotor blade (1; FIG. 3) having a rotor blade main body (2) and the rotor blade tip (end portion of 2, including sub-section 3b at tip; see FIG. 3; [0060]) comprising:
Said rotor blade tip (end portion of 2, including sub-section 3b at tip; see FIG. 3; [0060]) being configured separately (at least a portion of the tip is configured separately) from a rotor blade main body (2) so as to be connectable to said rotor blade main body (2); and,
a flexibly configured trailing edge element (flexible portion 3, having sub-sections 3a, 3b, FIG. 3) adapted with respect to shape thereof flush with an outer contour of a suction-side surface (top or bottom of 2, as seen in FIG. 1, 5) and an outer contour of a pressure-side surface (top or bottom of 2, as seen in FIG. 1, 5) of said rotor blade tip (end portion of 2, including sub-section 3b at tip; see FIG. 3; [0060]) and said trailing edge element (flexible portion 3, having sub-sections 3a, 3b, FIG. 3) being configured to form a portion of the profile trailing edge (3, as seen in FIG. 1, 5) of the rotor blade (1; FIG. 3) wherein a path of the portion of said profile trailing edge (3, as seen in FIG. 1, 5) is monotonous (as seen in FIG. 3).
Conclusion
See form No. 892 for other references pertinent to the application that may not have been cited within the Office Action.
For references which show similar blade arrangements see Pages 1-2.
/BRIAN CHRISTOPHER DELRUE/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3745