Status of Claims
Claims 1-15 are pending and under examination in this office action
Information Disclosure Statement
Receipt is acknowledged of the Information Disclosure Statement filed May 13, 2025. The Examiner has considered the references cited therein to the extent that each is a proper citation. Please see the attached USPTO Form 1449.
Double Patenting
Claim 1 - 15 are provisionally rejected under the judicially created doctrine of obviousness-type double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 - 15 of U.S. Patent Application No. 19/105,494. Although the conflicting claims are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other. The reasons are as follows:
· Both sets of claims refer to a composition wherein the copending claims are to a composition comprising:a. an alpha hydroxy acid;b. a volatile emollient; and c. a processed oat ingredient.– the instant claims are to a method of improving using an obvious variation of the copending claims comprising lactic acid. Although instant claim 1 did not recite an alpha hydroxy acid per-se, it is known in the art that an alpha hydroxy acid is lactic acid. Furthermore, the instant pending claims recite that the composition comprises processed oats and volatile emollient as recited in the copending claims. Therefore, the claims are obvious variation of the instant claims.
· Both applications recite using the same compositions and/or derivatives thereof. The compositions recited in the claims are anticipatory of each other.
· Therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to use the instant claims in practicing the copending claims with a reasonable expectation of success because the claims of the composition would have been used in practicing the instant method claims.
In view of the foregoing, the copending application claims and the current application claims are obvious variations.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3 and 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a1) as being anticipated by Guha Lactic acid (2021).
Guha teaches with regards to instant claim 1, treating skin with eczema (as required by instant claims 1 and 3) applying lactic acid, to the face (as required by instant claim 5), wherein the lactic acid concentration is from 0.5% (as required by instant claim 2).
Claim(s) 1-2,5 and 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a1) as being anticipated by Migala (2020).
Migala teaches treating skin conditions with lactic acid (for exfoliating the skin) treating wrinkles wherein the concentration is 5% (as required by instant claim 2) applied to the body and face (as required by instant claim5) applied twice a day(as required by instant claim 6).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Guha Lactic acid (2021) in view of Popp et al. (US 2006/0269495) and further in view of Zimmerman (US 5,888,521) and Maunsell et al. (US 20200069569) Guha is applied here as above.
However, fails to teach applying the composition to a lesion and that the composition further comprises processed oat.
Popp et al. teach topical administration of alpha hydroxy acid in the treatment of skin (see abstract) wherein the alpha-hydroxy acid is lactic acid (see 0008) wherein the formulation comprises dimethicone (as required by instant claim 8-9, see 0131) for the treatment of eczema, abnormal skin such as rough skin wrinkles (see claim 19, as required by instant claim 7) in the form of a lotion (see 0165, as required by instant claim 15) and further include dermatological acceptable excipients such as emollient (see 0136 as required by instant claim 14).
Zimmerman teaches a composition for topical use comprising hydroxy carboxylic acid ie., (see abstract) lactic acid (see col. 3, lines 30+) comprising oat extract (processed oat, (as required by instant claim 11, see abstract), wherein the goat extract is a beta-glucan (as required by instant claim 12) having a concentration of 0.01% to about 99% of a hydroxycarboxylic acid and from about 0.01% to about 99% of oat extract (see col. 2, lines 28+, as required by instant claims 2 and 13.
Maunsell teaches an oat lipid extract for treating skin conditions such as aging skin wherein the composition comprises lactic acid and dimethicone wherein the lactic acid is at 0.45%, dimethicone at 3.2 oatmeal at 1% (as required by instant claims 1 and 10, see para 0294) for the treatment of eczema, dry skin (see 0111).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine these references and make the modification because they are drawn to same technical fields (constituted with same ingredients and share common utilities, and pertinent to the problem which applicant concerns about. MPEP 2141.01(a)
Additionally, one would have been motivated to combine these references and make the modification because they are drawn to same technical fields (constituted with same ingredients and share common utilities, and pertinent to the problem which applicant concerns about. MPEP 2141.01(a).
No claims are allowed.
/SHIRLEY V GEMBEH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1615 9/17/26