Drawings
The drawings filed on 2/21/25 are hand drawn and informal. The letters, numbers and lead lines are not uniform in nature throughout the Figure.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 2, 6, 14 and 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Foss et al. (2020/0080877 – Applicant Prior Art).
Regarding claim 1, the Foss et al. reference discloses a loading pipe (conduit 146) for conveying a substantially liquid material (water 110) from a first location to a second location (from inside tank to other end of conduit 146), the loading pipe comprising: a main body having an inlet (inlet inside tank 106) and an outlet (other end of conduit 146), the inlet being operatively connectable to the first location, and the outlet being operatively connectable to the second location, the main body of the loading pipe defining a fluid path along which the substantially liquid material is allowed to travel from inlet to outlet thereof; and at least one reading component (magnetic flow meter 104) operatively mounted about the main body and capable of interacting with the substantially liquid material travelling inside the main body of the loading pipe for collecting at least one corresponding reading and associated value (magnetic flow meter 104 measuring the flow of the liquid).
Regarding claim 2, the Foss et al. reference discloses a magnetic flow meter for reading a corresponding flow value of the substantially liquid material conveyed by the loading pipe (magnetic flow meter 104: paragraph 0037).
Regarding claim 6, the Foss et al. reference discloses the loading pipe is provided with a level sensor for reading a corresponding level value (liquid level controller 142 to control liquid level; paragraph 0035).
Regarding claim 14, the Foss et al. reference discloses the loading pipe is provided with a complementary component selected from the group of a controller (controller 142), computer and a proximity sensor.
Regarding claim 16, the Foss et al. reference inherently discloses a kit with corresponding components for assembling a loading pipe according to claim 1.
Claim(s) 1, 10 and 14 - 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by McLeod (2006/0042526 – Applicant Prior Art).
Regarding claim 1, the McLeod reference discloses a loading pipe (supply conduit 20) for conveying a substantially liquid material (Abstract, liquid manure) from a first location to a second location (Fig. 2, supply from 11, to the apparatus to apply the liquid to the soil via conduits 36a-b; paragraph 0063), the loading pipe comprising: & main body having an inlet (supply conduit 20 being the main body, the inlet from 11) and an outlet (Fig. 2, outlet being through the tubes 36a-b), the inlet being operatively connectable to the first location, and the outlet being operatively connectable to the second location, the main body of the leading pipe defining a fluid path along which the substantially liquid material is allowed to travel from inlet to outlet thereof; and at least one reading component (monitoring means 50) operatively mounted about the main body and capable of interacting with the substantially liquid material travelling inside the main body of the loading pipe for collecting at least one corresponding reading and associated value (paragraph 0071).
Regarding claim 10, the McLeod reference discloses a connection capable of interacting with a corresponding agricultural equipment and/or vehicle for selectively controlling at least one corresponding parameter of said equipment and/or vehicle (paragraph 0026, automatic control valve for controlling supply of liquid).
Regarding claim 14, the McLeod reference discloses the loading pipe is provided with a complementary component selected from the group consisting of a controller, a computer and a proximity sensor (paragraph 0026, automatic control valve inherently has a controller/computer).
Regarding claim 15, the McLeod reference discloses an agricultural equipment being provided with a loading pipe according to claim 1 (Fig. 2, apparatus 60).
Regarding claim 16, the McLeod reference discloses a kit with corresponding components for assembling a loading pipe according to claim 1 (paragraphs 0021, 0036, 0044; Figs. 3-4).
Claim(s) 1, 6 and 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Westman et al. (2011/0041770 – Applicant Prior Art).
Regarding claim 1, the Westman et al. reference discloses a loading pipe (milk conduit 3) for conveying a substantially liquid material (Abstract, milk) from a first location to a second location (milk conduit 3 to milk cooling tank 11), the loading pipe comprising a main body having an inlet (milking stations 1A-D) and an outlet (milk cooling tank 11), the inlet being operatively connectable to the first location, and the outlet being operatively connectable to the second location, the main body of the loading pipe defining a fluid path along which the substantially liquid material is allowed to travel from inlet to outlet thereof; and at least one reading component (liquid sensor 4) operatively mounted about the main body and capable of interacting with the substantially liquid material travelling inside the main body of the loading pipe for collecting at least one corresponding reading and associated value (milk meter 4A-D measuring flow of milk; paragraph 0029).
Regarding claim 6, the Westman et al. reference discloses a level sensor for reading a corresponding value (paragraph 0038).
Regarding claim 13, the Westman et al. reference discloses the loading pipe is provided with an air flushing system (paras. 0010 - 0016).
Claim(s) 1, 4, 5, 10 and 14-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Stutz (NPL – Applicant Prior Art).
Regarding claim 1, Stutz discloses a loading pipe (See image of tractor with pipes connecting the tank with the spraying booms) for conveying a substantially liquid material (slurry) from a first location to a second location (from the tank to the spraying booms), the loading pipe comprising: a main body having an inlet (inlet at the tank) and an outlet (outlet being into the spraying nozzles), the inlet being operatively connectable to the first location, and the outlet being operatively connectable to the second location, the main body of the loading pipe defining a fluid path along which the substantially liquid material is allowed to travel from inlet to outlet thereof; and at least one reading component (HARVESTLAB3000 sensor, see image depicting ion concentration readings; 1st paragraph, "The NIR sensor enables farmers and contractors to determine the three important nutrient levels in the slurry continuously and in real time") operatively mounted about the main body and capable of interacting with the substantially liquid material travelling inside the main body of the loading pipe for collecting at least one corresponding reading and associated value (1st paragraph "The NIR sensor enables farmers and contractors to determine the three important nutrient levels in the slurry continuously and in real time").
Regarding claim 4, Stutz discloses the loading pipe includes a nutrient sensor for reading a corresponding nutrient value of the substantially liquid material conveyed by the loading pipe (see image depicting ion concentrations of nutrients of slurry; 1st paragraph, "The NIR sensor enables farmers and contractors to determine the three important nutrient levels in the slurry continuously and in real time").
Regarding claim 5, Stutz discloses the nutrient sensor includes a Near-InfraRed (NIR) sensor to analyze nutrient content(s) of the substantially liquid material conveyed by the loading pipe (1st paragraph, "The NIR sensor enables farmers and contractors to determine the three important nutrient levels in the slurry continuously and in real time").
Regarding claim 10, Stutz discloses the loading pipe is provided with a connection capable of interacting with a corresponding agricultural equipment and/or vehicle for selectively controlling at least one corresponding parameter of said equipment and/or vehicle (see mage of tractor connected to the tank connected to the pipes, inherently capable of controlling at least one parameter of the equipment and/or vehicle as a system).
Regarding claim 14, Stutz discloses the loading pipe is provided with a complementary component selected from the group consisting of a controller, a computer and a proximity sensor (see image of tractor showing an output inherently for a computer screen/controller).
Regarding claim 15, Stutz discloses an agricultural equipment being provided with a loading pipe according to claim 1 (see image showing the tank and pipe being pulled by a tractor).
Regarding claim 16, Stutz inherently discloses a kit with corresponding components for assembling a loading pipe according to claim 1 (see image).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Foss et al., McCleod, Westman et al. and Stutz in view of Schmitz et al. (11439139).
Regarding claim 3, the Foss, McCleod, Westman and Stutz references disclose the invention (discussed supra), but don’t disclose a pressure sensor. The Schmitz et al. reference discloses another agricultural machine having a pressure sensor (48) to measure a pressure of the fluid delivery line (36). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date to modify the Foss, McCleod, Westman and Stutz devices to have pressure sensors (if not already) as, for example, taught by the Schmitz et al. reference in order to further measure and control pressure within the fluid pipe.
Claim(s) 7-9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over McCleod and Stutz in view of Nadke et al. (2023/0255132).
Regarding claims 7-9, the McCleod and Stutz references disclose the invention (discussed supra), but doesn’t disclose having a camera and LIDAR sensor. The Nadke et al. reference discloses another agriculture machine having cameras and LIDAR to sense an area of the field, obstacles and objects in the vehicles path (page 9, para 0110, lines 25 – 32). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date to modify the McCleod and Stutz devices to have cameras and LIDAR sensor as, for example, taught by the Nadke et al. reference in order to sense an area of the field, obstacles and objects in the vehicles path for navigational purposes. Further, LIDAR is well known to be used when detecting liquid levels and would be obvious use to detect liquid levels in tanks.
Claim(s) 11 and 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over McCleod and Stutz in view of Schmitz et al. (11439139).
Regarding claims 11 and 12, the McCleod and Stutz references disclose the invention (discussed supra), but don’t disclose an ISOBUS as defined. The Schmitz et al. teach an ISOBUS to allow ECUs to communicate with implements of the machine (col. 6, lines 21-30). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date to modify the McCleod and Stutz devices to have an ISOBUS control (if not already) as, for example, taught by the Schmitz et al. reference in order to control various implements of the machine.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
The Kirchberger (DE 202017002078) reference discloses another agriculture machine having an ISOBUS system, pipes, pressure sensors and flow meters.
The Discenzo et al. (7581434) reference discloses an intelligent fluid sensor for machinery diagnostics having an optical NIR sensor, MEMS pressure sensor and flow sensor (col. 11, lines 29 – 60).
/TIMOTHY L MAUST/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3753