Status of Claims
The following is a non-final, first office action in response to the communication filed 02/21/2025. Claims 1-3, 5, 7-8, 10-20, 24-28, 30-34 and 38-40 are currently pending and have been examined.
Priority
Applicant’s claim for the benefit of a prior-filed application under 35 U.S.C. 119(e) or under 35 U.S.C. 120, 121, 365(c), or 386(c) is acknowledged. Benefit is given to the priority document PCT/CN2022/115061 and the effective filing date of 08/26/2022.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement(s) (IDS) submitted on 02/21/2025 and 08/21/2026 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement has been considered by the examiner.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities: in paragraph [198], line 4, unknow should read unknown for grammatical reasons.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 14-15, 30 and 33 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Wang et al. (US-20230258759-A1; hereinafter Wang).
Regarding claim 1, Wang discloses:
A method of operating a wireless node (see at least Fig. 11, Base Station 120), comprising:
transmitting one or more messages to a reconfigurable intelligence surface (RIS) (see at least Fig. 11, Base Station 120 sends messages 1115 and 1125 to APD 180. See also [0025]; “To enable reflections or signal transformations, an APD includes a reconfigurable intelligent surface (RIS) that, when properly configured, reflects and/or modifies propagating signals in a controlled manner based on the configuration of the RIS.”), the one or more messages indicating a sensing beam sweeping mode for a sensing operation (see at least [0064]; “Alternatively or additionally, the base station 120 may also manage a time-varying configuration of the RIS of the APD 180 through use of a beam sweeping codebook, such as described with reference to FIGS. 6A, 6B, 11, and 15.”), an incident angle of a forward path of the sensing operation with respect to the RIS, a redirected angle of the forward path of the sensing operation with respect to the RIS (see at least [0065]; “In aspects, one or more surface configurations or phase vectors may be mapped or calibrated to specific angle information of incident and/or reflected wireless signals (e.g., reference signals), signal rays, beam swept transmissions of the base station 120, or the like.”), or any combination thereof; and
transmitting a sensing signal for the sensing operation to the RIS (see at least [0134]; “At 1135, the base station 120 transmits a wireless signal toward the RIS of the APD 180. In some cases, the base station transmits one or more reference signals toward the RIS of the APD 180.”), the RIS being configured based on the sensing beam sweeping mode (see at least [0133]; “At 1125, the base station 120 directs the APD 180 to initiate the beam sweeping pattern. The base station 120 may direct the APD to initiate, at a predefined time, the beam sweeping pattern to configure the RIS of the APD in accordance with the beam sweeping pattern.”), the incident angle of the forward path, the redirected angle of the forward path, or any combination thereof.
Regarding claim 14, Wang discloses the method of claim 1. Wang further teaches:
wherein: the sensing beam sweeping mode is a non-returning bistatic sensing beam sweeping mode (see at least Fig. 4A and [0062]; “To enable various implementations of determining a position of user equipment by using APDs, the base station 120 configures the RIS 410 such that the APD 180 transforms and/or reflects a wireless signal (e.g., signal ray 191) to direct or steer a reflection of the wireless signal (e.g., signal ray 192) toward the UE 110 of interest.”), and
the one or more messages configure the RIS to be arranged based on the incident angle of the forward path and the redirected angle of the forward path (see at least [0064] – [0065]; “Alternatively or additionally, the base station 120 may also manage a time-varying configuration of the RIS of the APD 180 through use of a beam sweeping codebook, such as described with reference to FIGS. 6A, 6B, 11, and 15…The surface-configuration codebook 420 includes configuration information that specifies a surface configuration for some or all of the configurable surface elements (e.g., elements 324) forming the RIS of the APD 180…In aspects, one or more surface configurations or phase vectors may be mapped or calibrated to specific angle information of incident and/or reflected wireless signals (e.g., reference signals), signal rays, beam swept transmissions of the base station 120, or the like.”).
Regarding claim 15, Wang discloses the method of claim 14. Wang further teaches:
wherein the one or more messages include:
a first message indicating the sensing beam sweeping mode (see at least Fig. 11, “Transmit an indication of the pattern” 1115), and
a second message indicating:
(i) the incident angle of the forward path, or the redirected angle of the forward path, or both; or
(ii) one of selectable configurations for the RIS that corresponds to the incident angle of the forward path and the redirected angle of the forward path (see at least [0064] – [0065]; “Alternatively or additionally, the base station 120 may also manage a time-varying configuration of the RIS of the APD 180 through use of a beam sweeping codebook, such as described with reference to FIGS. 6A, 6B, 11, and 15…The surface-configuration codebook 420 includes configuration information that specifies a surface configuration for some or all of the configurable surface elements (e.g., elements 324) forming the RIS of the APD 180…In aspects, one or more surface configurations or phase vectors may be mapped or calibrated to specific angle information of incident and/or reflected wireless signals (e.g., reference signals), signal rays, beam swept transmissions of the base station 120, or the like.”).
Regarding claim 30, Wang discloses:
A wireless node (see at least Fig. 11, Base Station 120), comprising:
a memory;
at least one transceiver; and
at least one processor communicatively coupled to the memory and the at least one transceiver, the at least one processor configured to (see at least [0205]; “Example 20. A base station apparatus comprising: at least one wireless transceiver; a processor; and computer-readable storage media comprising instructions, responsive to execution by the processor, for directing the base station apparatus to perform any one of the methods recited…”):
transmit, via the at least one transceiver, one or more messages to a reconfigurable intelligence surface (RIS) (see at least Fig. 11, Base Station 120 sends messages 1115 and 1125 to APD 180. See also [0025]; “To enable reflections or signal transformations, an APD includes a reconfigurable intelligent surface (RIS) that, when properly configured, reflects and/or modifies propagating signals in a controlled manner based on the configuration of the RIS.”), the one or more messages indicating a sensing beam sweeping mode for a sensing operation (see at least [0064]; “Alternatively or additionally, the base station 120 may also manage a time-varying configuration of the RIS of the APD 180 through use of a beam sweeping codebook, such as described with reference to FIGS. 6A, 6B, 11, and 15.”), an incident angle of a forward path of the sensing operation with respect to the RIS, a redirected angle of the forward path of the sensing operation with respect to the RIS (see at least [0065]; “In aspects, one or more surface configurations or phase vectors may be mapped or calibrated to specific angle information of incident and/or reflected wireless signals (e.g., reference signals), signal rays, beam swept transmissions of the base station 120, or the like.”), or any combination thereof; and
transmit, via the at least one transceiver, a sensing signal for the sensing operation to the RIS (see at least [0134]; “At 1135, the base station 120 transmits a wireless signal toward the RIS of the APD 180. In some cases, the base station transmits one or more reference signals toward the RIS of the APD 180.”), the RIS being configured based on the sensing beam sweeping mode (see at least [0133]; “At 1125, the base station 120 directs the APD 180 to initiate the beam sweeping pattern. The base station 120 may direct the APD to initiate, at a predefined time, the beam sweeping pattern to configure the RIS of the APD in accordance with the beam sweeping pattern.”), the incident angle of the forward path, the redirected angle of the forward path, or any combination thereof.
Regarding claim 33, Wang discloses the wireless node of claim 30. The remaining limitations of claim 33 are analogous to those of claim 14 and are rejected for similar reasons.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2, 3, 5 and 31 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang in view of Song et al. (Song, X., Zhao, D., Hua, H., Han, T. X., Yang, X., & Xu, J. (2022). Joint transmit and reflective beamforming for IRS-assisted integrated sensing and communication. arXiv preprint arXiv:2111.13511v2.; hereinafter Song).
Regarding claim 2, Wang discloses the method of claim 1. Wang further teaches [Note: what Wang fails to disclose is strike-through]:
the one or more messages configure the RIS to be arranged to include a first sub-surface that is configured based on the incident angle of the forward path and the redirected angle of the forward path (see at least [0064] – [0065]; “Alternatively or additionally, the base station 120 may also manage a time-varying configuration of the RIS of the APD 180 through use of a beam sweeping codebook, such as described with reference to FIGS. 6A, 6B, 11, and 15…The surface-configuration codebook 420 includes configuration information that specifies a surface configuration for some or all of the configurable surface elements (e.g., elements 324) forming the RIS of the APD 180…In aspects, one or more surface configurations or phase vectors may be mapped or calibrated to specific angle information of incident and/or reflected wireless signals (e.g., reference signals), signal rays, beam swept transmissions of the base station 120, or the like.”), and
a second sub-surface that is configured (see at least [0065]; “As one example, each index of the codebook corresponds to a phase vector with configuration information for each configurable surface element of the APD 180. Index 0, for instance, maps phase configuration 0 to configurable surface element 411, phase configuration 1 to configurable surface element 412, phase configuration 2 to configurable surface element 413, and so forth.”)
However, Wang does not teach monostatic sensing or explicitly teach a return path.
Wang discloses determining the position of user equipment with the assistance of RISs, and Song is directed to intelligent reflecting surface (IRS) assisted integrated sensing and communication. Wang teaches:
the sensing beam sweeping mode is a full-returning monostatic sensing beam sweeping mode (see at least Fig. 1, reproduced below, “in which the targets are sensed via the virtual LoS links from the BS to the IRS to the targets”.),
an incident angle of a return path of the sensing operation with respect to the RIS corresponds to the redirected angle of the forward path (see again Fig. 1, showing the bi-directional sensing path wherein the forward and return paths overlap),
a redirected angle of the return path of the sensing operation with respect to the RIS corresponds to the incident angle of the forward path (see again Fig. 1, showing the bi-directional sensing path wherein the forward and return paths overlap), and
the RIS is arranged based on the incident angle of the forward path and the redirected angle of the forward path and based on the incident angle of the return path and the redirected angle of the return path (see at least page 2, col. 1, para. 2; “In particular, our objective is to maximize the IRS’s minimum beampattern gain towards the desired sensing angles, while ensuring the minimum SNR requirement at the CU and the maximum transmit power constraint at the BS.”).
Wang teaches configuring RISs to relay communication signals to non-line-of-sight devices. Song teaches configuring RISs to relay both communication and sensing signals to non-line-of-sight devices and targets. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the inventions of Wang and Song, using the messaging taught by Wang to configure the RIS in the sensing application taught by Song. It would furthermore have been obvious in the sensing application, where the return path is essential to the radar method, to configure the RIS for the return path as well as for the forward path.
Fig. 1 from Song
Regarding claim 3, Wang in view of Song discloses the method of claim 2. Wang further teaches:
a first message indicating the sensing beam sweeping mode (see at least Fig. 11, “Transmit an indication of the pattern” 1115), and
a second message indicating:
(i) the incident angle of the forward path, or the redirected angle of the forward path, or both; or
(ii) one of selectable configurations for the RIS that correspond to the incident angle of the forward path, or the redirected angle of the forward path, or both (see at least [0064] – [0065]; “Alternatively or additionally, the base station 120 may also manage a time-varying configuration of the RIS of the APD 180 through use of a beam sweeping codebook, such as described with reference to FIGS. 6A, 6B, 11, and 15…The surface-configuration codebook 420 includes configuration information that specifies a surface configuration for some or all of the configurable surface elements (e.g., elements 324) forming the RIS of the APD 180…In aspects, one or more surface configurations or phase vectors may be mapped or calibrated to specific angle information of incident and/or reflected wireless signals (e.g., reference signals), signal rays, beam swept transmissions of the base station 120, or the like.”).
It would have been obvious for the sensing beam to be a full-returning monostatic sensing beam for the reasons given regarding claim 2.
Regarding claim 5, Wang in view of Song discloses the method of claim 2. Song further teaches:
receiving a returning signal for the sensing operation via the RIS, the returning signal corresponding to a reflection resulting from an interaction between the sensing signal and a target object (see at least page 2, col. 2, para. 6; “Next, we consider the radar sensing towards the potential targets at the NLoS areas of the BS. In this case, we use the virtual LoS links created by the IRS’s reflection to sense them.”); and
(i) determining a position of the target object based, at least in part, on the returning signal (see at least page 1, col, 2, paras. 1-2; “By contrast, in radar sensing, only LoS links are utilized for information extraction, by treating the NLoS links as harmful interference or clutters. As a result, how to provide ubiquitous sensing coverage for areas with LoS links blocked remains a challenge, especially
in the scenario with dense obstacles such as buildings and
trees. To resolve this issue, the intelligent reflecting surface (IRS) or reconfigurable intelligent surface (RIS) has emerged as a viable solution [9]–[16]. By properly adjusting the phase shifts of digitally-controlled reflecting elements, the IRS can help reconfigure the wireless propagation environment to create virtual LoS links for sensing targets without LoS connections.”); or
(ii) receiving a reflected signal from the RIS, the reflected signal corresponding to a reflection resulting from an interaction between the sensing signal and the RIS; and
determining a distance between the target object and the RIS based on a time difference between reception of the returning signal and reception of the reflected signal.
Regarding claim 31, Wang discloses the wireless node of claim 30. The remaining limitations of claim 31 are analogous to those of claim 2 and are rejected for similar reasons.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 24-28 and 38-40 are allowed.
Claims 7-8, 10-13, 16-20, 32 and 34 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding claims 7 and 32, Wang does teach bistatic sensing (see Fig. 11). However, Wang does not teach a half-returning sensing beam sweeping mode, and it would not have been obvious to one of ordinary skill at the effective filing date of the claimed invention to send messages configuring the RIS sub-surfaces based on angles to create a half-returning bistatic sensing beam sweeping mode.
Claims 8 and 10-13 depend on claim 7 and are likewise objected to.
Regarding claims 16-19, Wang does teach receiving a sensing result from another wireless node (see at least Fig. 11, “Transmit reflection information 1145” from UE 110 to Base Station 120). However, the bistatic sensing of Wang does not comprise reflections resulting from an interaction between the sensing signal and a target object, or determining position based on a returning signal corresponding to these reflections. It would not be obvious to use the messages of Wang to configure the RIS in a non-returning bistatic sensing sweeping mode that comprises reflections resulting from an interaction between the sensing signal and a target object and determining position based on a returning signal corresponding to these reflections.
Regarding claims 20 and 34, the prior art does not teach or make obvious wherein the one or more messages indicate performing at least two sensing operations, one after another, based on a half-returning bistatic sensing beam sweeping mode and a non-returning bistatic sensing beam sweeping mode, respectively.
Regarding independent claim 24, Wang teaches:
A method of operating a wireless node (see at least Fig. 11, UE 110), comprising:
receiving a (see at least Fig. 11, signal transmitted to RIS in 1130, reflected at RIS in 1140, subsequently received by UE 110),
transmitting a sensing result to the other wireless node based on the returning signal (see at least Fig. 11, 1145 “Transmit reflection information”).
However, the prior art does not teach a sensing signal being sent from an other wireless node, passing via an RIS, interacting with a target object to result in a reflection, and being received by a wireless node separate from the other wireless node. It would not have been obvious in the signal sequence required by claim 24 to receive one or more messages from another wireless node, the one or more messages indicating a sensing beam sweeping mode for a sensing operation performed in conjunction with a reconfigurable intelligence surface (RIS), wherein a relationship between the returning signal and the RIS is identifiable based on the sensing beam sweeping mode for the sensing operation.
Regarding independent claim 38, the same cited section as claim 24 is applied, where Wang fails to disclose the features of receiving one or more messages from another wireless node, the one or more messages indicating a sensing beam sweeping mode for a sensing operation performed in conjunction with a reconfigurable intelligence surface (RIS), wherein a relationship between the returning signal and the RIS is identifiable based on the sensing beam sweeping mode for the sensing operation in the context of a sensing signal being sent from an other wireless node, passing via an RIS, interacting with a target object to result in a reflection, and being received by a wireless node separate from the other wireless node.
Dependent claims 25-28 and 39-40 are also allowed due to their dependency on an allowed independent claim.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure because it discloses using an RIS to assist with radar sensing:
Elbir, A., Vijay, K., Bhavani, S., & Chatzinotas, S. (2022). The Rise of Intelligent Reflecting Surfaces in Integrated Sensing and Communications Paradigms. arXiv preprint arXiv:2204.07265v2.
Prasobh Sankar, R., Prabhakar Chepuri, S., & Eldar, Y. (2022). Beamforming in Integrated Sensing and Communication Systems with Reconfigurable Intelligent Surfaces. arXiv preprint arXiv:2206.07679v1.
Y. -C. Liang, Q. Zhang, J. Wang, R. Long, H. Zhou and G. Yang, "Backscatter Communication Assisted by Reconfigurable Intelligent Surfaces," in Proceedings of the IEEE, vol. 110, no. 9, pp. 1339-1357, published May 2022, doi: 10.1109/JPROC.2022.3169622.
Esmaeilbeig, Z., Mishra, K., & Soltanalian, M. (2022). IRS-Aided Radar: Enhanced Target Parameter Estimation via Intelligent Reflecting Surfaces. arXiv preprint arXiv:2110.13251v3.
/ASHLEY BROWN RAYNAL/Examiner, Art Unit 3648
/OLUMIDE AJIBADE AKONAI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3648