DETAILED ACTION
Priority
The Instant Application, filed 02/21/2025, is a National Stage entry of PCT/US2023/ 032526 with an international filing date of 09/12/2023 which claims priority from Provisional Application 63/406190, filed 09/13/2022 and claims priority from Provisional Application 63/406207, filed 09/13/2022.
Election/Restrictions
Claims 13 and 24 have been withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected Species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 8/13/26.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 14-20 and 22-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to non-statutory subject matter.
The claims recite an apparatus comprising functional blocks which may be interpreted by one of ordinary skill in the art to mean merely software modules. Thus, the claims are not limited to a statutory embodiment. For a claim to be qualified as a machine, as in the four categories of invention, the claimed apparatus should clearly define at least one hardware component in order to fall within the meaning of a machine.
Computer programs claimed as “a device identity assignor” per se, i.e., the descriptions or expressions of the programs, are not physical “things.” They are neither computer components nor statutory processes, as they are not “acts” being performed. Such claimed computer programs do not define any structural and functional interrelationships between the computer program and other claimed elements of a computer which permit the computer program’s functionality to be realized. See: Lowry, 32 F.3d at 1583-84, 32 USPQ2d at 1035; MPEP § 2106.01, specifically the Interim Guidelines for Examination of Patent Applications for Patent Subject Matter Eligibility (1300 O.G. 142 22NOV2005).
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitations are “device that” as recited in claim 1.
Because these claim limitation(s) are being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, they are being interpreted to cover the corresponding structure described in the specification as performing the claimed function, and equivalents thereof.
Claim Objections
Claims 1-3 and 14 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 1, line 4 recites the term, “were” which should read: where. Claim 14 contains similar issue.
Claims 2-3 contain grammatical issues. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-7, 9-10, 14-20 and 22-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Small et al. (2007/0180142) in view of Daruwalla et al. (7,974,201).
As per claim 1, Small et al. teaches a network system comprising: (a) a remote device that maintains a pool of GateIDs, where each of said GateIDs is suitable to be provided to a provider of a call service of said network [Small et al., paragraphs 0093-0094, 0096, 0171 and 0179];
(b) said remote device assigning a GateID to a device, were said GateID is not currently assigned to any other device;
(c) said remote device not assigning any of said GateIDs to said any other device while a corresponding one of GateIDs is assigned to said device;
(d) where said remote device is only capable of assigning said pool of GateIDs among a plurality of devices in a manner such that none of said pool of GateIDs are assigned to more than one device at any particular time [Small et al., paragraphs 0057, 0092-0094, 0097, 0114-0115 and 0119].
But Small et al. fails to explicitly teach, however, Daruwalla et al. in the same field of endeavor teaches, (b) said remote device assigning a set of GateIDs to a device [Daruwalla et al., col. 9, ll. 36-47 and col. 11, ll.46-51].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Small et al. with Daruwalla et al. in order to allow nodes which are members of the same VPN within a shared access network to exchange packets in a manner which does not require the packets to be routed outside the shared access network.
As per claim 2, Small-Daruwalla teaches the network system of claim 1 wherein said remote device said set of GateIDs to said device in response to a request from a device [Daruwalla et al., col. 2, ll. 29-43].
As per claim 3, Small-Daruwalla teaches the network system of claim 1 wherein said remote device said set of GateIDs to said device automatically [Daruwalla et al., col. 7, ll. 36-47].
As per claim 4, Small-Daruwalla teaches the network system of claim 1 further comprising said provider of said service receiving one of said assigned GateIDs of said set of GateIDs from said device [Small et al., 0105].
As per claim 5, Small-Daruwalla teaches the network system of claim 4 wherein said network system provides said service to said device upon verification of said one of said assigned GateIDs being assigned to said device [Small et al., 0118].
As per claim 6, Small-Daruwalla teaches the network system of claim 1 wherein said remote device releases one of said set of GateIDs from being assigned to said device and assigns said one of said set of GateIDs to a different device [Small et al., 0137].
As per claim 7, Small-Daruwalla teaches the network system of claim 1 wherein said remote device assigns said set of GateIDs to include a common attribute [Small et al., 0144].
As per claim 9, Small-Daruwalla teaches the network system of claim 7 wherein said common attribute includes a common set of bits set within an integer part of the set of values [Small et al., 0155].
As per claim 10, Small-Daruwalla teaches the network system of claim 7 wherein said common attribute includes a common range of characters within the set of values [Small et al., 0118].
As per claim 14, Small et al. teaches a network system comprising: (a) a device identity assignor that maintains a pool of unique identifiers, where each of said unique identifiers is suitable to be provided to a provider of a service of said network to receive said service [Small et al., paragraphs 0093-0094, 0096, 0171 and 0179];
(b) said device identity assignor assigning a unique identifier to a device, were said unique identifier is not currently assigned to any other device;
(c) said device identity assignor not assigning any of said unique identifiers to said any other device while a corresponding one of unique identifiers is assigned to said device;
(d) where said device identity assignor is only capable of assigning said pool of unique identifiers among a plurality of devices in a manner such that none of said pool of unique identifiers are assigned to more than one device at any particular time [Small et al., paragraphs 0057, 0092-0094, 0097, 0114-0115 and 0119].
But Small et al. fails to explicitly teach, however, Daruwalla et al. in the same field of endeavor teaches, (b) said device identity assignor assigning a set of unique identifiers to a device [Daruwalla et al., col. 9, ll. 36-47 and col. 11, ll.46-51].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Small et al. with Daruwalla et al. in order to allow nodes which are members of the same VPN within a shared access network to exchange packets in a manner which does not require the packets to be routed outside the shared access network.
As per claim 15, Small-Daruwalla teaches the network system of claim 14 wherein said device identity assigns said set of unique identifiers to said device in response to a request from a device [Daruwalla et al., col. 2, ll. 29-43].
As per claim 16, Small-Daruwalla teaches the network system of claim 14 wherein said device identity assigns said set of unique identifiers to said device automatically [Daruwalla et al., col. 7, ll. 36-47].
As per claim 17, Small-Daruwalla teaches the network system of claim 14 further comprising said provider of said service receiving one of said assigned unique identifiers of said set of unique identifiers from said device [Small et al., 0105].
As per claim 18, Small-Daruwalla teaches the network system of claim 17 wherein said network system provides said service to said device upon verification of said one of said assigned unique identifiers being assigned to said device [Small et al., 0118].
As per claim 19, Small-Daruwalla teaches the network system of claim 14 wherein said device identity assignor releases one of said set of unique identifiers from being assigned to said device and assigns said one of said set of unique identifiers to a different device [Small et al., 0137].
As per claim 20, Small-Daruwalla teaches the network system of claim 14 wherein said device identity assignor assigns said set of unique identifiers to include a common attribute [Small et al., 0144].
Claims 22 and 23 have similar limitations as to the rejected claims above therefore they are being rejected under the same rationale.
There are prior art made of record not relied upon but is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See attached.
Conclusion
Ranodhi N. Serrao
/RANODHI SERRAO/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2444