Detailed Action
Priority
2. Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers submitted under 35 U.S.C. 119(a)-(d), which papers have been placed of record in the file.
Claim Analysis - 35 USC § 112
4. This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitations are: “image collection module”, “brightness difference acquisition module”, “frame rate determination module”, and “screen projection module” in claim 1.
Because the claim limitation is being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, claim 1 is interpreted to cover the corresponding structure described in the specification that achieves the claimed function, and equivalents thereof.
As for the limitations “image collection module”, “brightness difference acquisition module”, “frame rate determination module”, and “screen projection module”, a review of the specification shows that the following appears to be the corresponding structure described in the specification for the 35 U.S.C. 112(f) (pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph): [0100]-[0116] of the specification and Figs. 8-9 of the drawing disclose each of “image collection module”, “brightness difference acquisition module”, “frame rate determination module”, and “screen projection module” correspond to a processor circuit.
If applicant wishes to provide further explanation or dispute the examiner's interpretation of the corresponding structure, applicant must identify the corresponding structure with reference to the specification by page and line number, and to the drawing, if any, by reference characters in response to this Office action.
If applicant does not wish to have the claim limitation treated under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) (pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph), applicant may amend the claim so that it will clearly not invoke 35 U.S.C. 112(f) (pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph), or present a sufficient showing that the claim recites sufficient structure, material, or acts for performing the claimed function to preclude application of 35 U.S.C. 112(f) (pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
5. Claims 1-5, 7, 11, 14-18, and 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by KUO (US 20110084971 A1).
Regarding claim 1, KUO (e.g., Figs. 1-3 and 6) discloses a screen projection frame rate acquisition method, applied to a first terminal (first terminal comprising a video signal source 102 and an adaptive frame rate modulation system 100), and the method comprising: collecting an image frame sequence to be projected (Fig. 6, S200, and [0027], [0045]); acquiring brightness difference information between every two adjacent image frames in the image frame sequence to obtain a brightness difference sequence of the image frame sequence (Fig. 6, S204, S206, and S208, and [0027], [0047]-[0049]; brightness difference between two adjacent image frames); determining a picture state type of the image frame sequence and a screen projection frame rate corresponding to the picture state type based on the brightness difference sequence (Fig. 6, S210, and [0033], [0050]; static image or dynamic image based on the brightness difference); sending image frames in the image frame sequence to a second terminal at the screen projection frame rate (Fig. 1 and [0027]; second terminal comprising a display device 104).
Regarding claim 2, KUO (e.g., Figs. 1-3 and 6) discloses the method according to claim 1, wherein the acquiring the brightness difference information between every two adjacent image frames in the image frame sequence comprises: acquiring first brightness information based on pixel information of a preset area in a first image frame (Figs. 2 and 3A; and [0028]-[0033]; first image frame); acquiring second brightness information based on pixel information of a preset area in a second image frame (Figs. 2 and 3B; and [0028]-[0033]; second image frame); wherein the first image frame and the second image frame are two adjacent image frames in the image frame sequence (Figs. 3A and 3B; and [0028]-[0033]; two adjacent image frames); calculating a difference value between the first brightness information and the second brightness information to obtain the brightness difference information between the first image frame and the second image frame (Fig. 6, S200-S210, and [0028]-[0033], [0045]-[0050]; brightness difference between two adjacent image frames).
Regarding claim 3, KUO (e.g., Figs. 1-3 and 6) discloses the method according to claim 2, wherein the preset area comprises a first area with a first reference line as a center line and a second area with a second reference line as a center line; wherein the first reference line and the second reference line are reference lines with different directions (Figs. 2-3; e.g., a first area 122b with a first virtual reference center line extended along horizontal direction, a second area 122a with a second virtual reference center line extended along vertical direction).
Regarding claim 4, KUO (e.g., Figs. 1-3 and 6) discloses the method according to claim 2, wherein the preset area comprises a first rectangular area with a first reference line as a center line and a second rectangular area with a second reference line as a center line; wherein the first reference line is parallel to a horizontal axis of an image frame, and the second reference line is parallel to a vertical axis of the image frame (Figs. 2-3; e.g., a first rectangular area 122b with a first virtual reference center line extended along horizontal direction, a second rectangular area 122a with a second virtual reference center line extended along vertical direction).
Regarding claim 5, KUO (e.g., Figs. 1-3 and 6) discloses the method according to claim 3, before acquiring the brightness difference information between every two adjacent image frames in the image frame sequence, further comprising: determining the first reference line and the second reference line based on a center point of the image frame in the image frame sequence (Figs. 2-3; each image frame has a center point, the first reference line and the second reference line are defined based on the center point); determining the preset area in the first image frame and the preset area in the second image frame based on the first reference line and the second reference line (Figs. 2-3; the preset area in the first image frame and the preset area in the second image frame based on the first reference line and the second reference line).
Regarding claim 7, KUO (e.g., Figs. 1-3 and 6) discloses the method according to claim 1, wherein the picture state type comprises a dynamic picture type and a static picture type ([0003]; dynamic image and static image); the determining the picture state type of the image frame sequence and the screen projection frame rate corresponding to the picture state type based on the brightness difference sequence comprises: if a continuous preset number of brightness difference information in the brightness difference sequence are all greater than a first brightness threshold, determining that the image frame sequence is the dynamic picture type, and determining that the screen projection frame rate is a first frame rate (Fig. 6, S210, and [0033], [0050]; dynamic image when the brightness difference greater than a brightness threshold, dynamic image has a first frame rate); if the continuous preset number of brightness difference information in the brightness difference sequence are all less than or equal to the first brightness threshold, determining that the image frame sequence is the static picture type, and determining that the screen projection frame rate is a second frame rate; wherein the first frame rate is greater than the second frame rate (Fig. 6, S210, and [0033], [0050]; static image when on the brightness difference smaller than the brightness threshold, static image has a second frame rate less than the first frame rate).
Regarding claim 11, KUO (e.g., Figs. 1-3 and 6) discloses the method according to claim 1, after determining the screen projection frame rate corresponding to the picture state type, further comprising: sending the screen projection frame rate to the second terminal so that the second terminal displays a received image frame according to the screen projection frame rate (Fig. 1 and [0027]; second terminal comprising a display device 104 to display a received image with a second frame rate).
Regarding claim 14, KUO discloses a screen projection frame rate acquisition apparatus (e.g., Figs. 1-3 and 6), wherein the apparatus comprises: an image collection module configured to collect an image frame sequence to be projected (Fig. 1, and Fig. 6, S200, and [0027], [0045]); a brightness difference acquisition module configured to acquire brightness difference information between every two adjacent image frames in the image frame sequence to obtain a brightness difference sequence of the image frame sequence (Fig. 1, and Fig. 6, S204, S206, and S208, and [0027], [0047]-[0049]; brightness difference between two adjacent image frames); a frame rate determination module configured to determine a picture state type of the image frame sequence and a screen projection frame rate corresponding to the picture state type based on the brightness difference sequence (Fig. 1, and Fig. 6, S210, and [0033], [0050]; static image or dynamic image based on the brightness difference); a screen projection module configured to send image frames in the image frame sequence to a second terminal at the screen projection frame rate (Fig. 1 and [0027]; second terminal comprising a display device 104).
Regarding claim 15, KUO discloses the apparatus according to claim 14, wherein the brightness difference acquisition module is configured to: acquire first brightness information based on pixel information of a preset area in a first image frame (Figs. 2 and 3A; and [0028]-[0033]; first image frame); acquire second brightness information based on pixel information of a preset area in a second image frame (Figs. 2 and 3B; and [0028]-[0033]; second image frame), wherein the first image frame and the second image frame are two adjacent image frames in the image frame sequence (Figs. 3A and 3B; and [0028]-[0033]; two adjacent image frames); calculate a difference value between the first brightness information and the second brightness information to obtain the brightness difference information between the first image frame and the second image frame (Fig. 6, S200-S210, and [0028]-[0033], [0045]-[0050]; brightness difference between two adjacent image frames) (Fig. 6, S200-S210, and [0028]-[0033], [0045]-[0050]; brightness difference between two adjacent image frames).
Regarding claim 16, KUO discloses the apparatus according to claim 15, wherein the preset area comprises a first area with a first reference line as a center line and a second area with a second reference line as a center line; wherein the first reference line and the second reference line are reference lines with different directions (Figs. 2-3; e.g., a first area 122b with a first virtual reference center line extended along horizontal direction, a second area 122a with a second virtual reference center line extended along vertical direction).
Regarding claim 17, KUO discloses the apparatus according to claim 15, wherein the preset area comprises a first rectangular area with a first reference line as a center line and a second rectangular area with a second reference line as a center line; wherein the first reference line is parallel to a horizontal axis of an image frame, and the second reference line is parallel to a vertical axis of the image frame (Figs. 2-3; e.g., a first rectangular area 122b with a first virtual reference center line extended along horizontal direction, a second rectangular area 122a with a second virtual reference center line extended along vertical direction).
Regarding claim 18, KUO discloses the apparatus according to claim 16, wherein the brightness difference acquisition module is further configured to: determine the first reference line and the second reference line based on a center point of the image frame in the image frame sequence (Figs. 2-3; each image frame has a center point, the first reference line and the second reference line are defined based on the center point); and determine the preset area in the first image frame and the preset area in the second image frame based on the first reference line and the second reference line (Figs. 2-3; the preset area in the first image frame and the preset area in the second image frame based on the first reference line and the second reference line).
Regarding claim 22, KUO discloses the apparatus according to claim 14, wherein the picture state type comprises a dynamic picture type and a static picture type ([0003]; dynamic image and static image); the frame rate determination module is further configured to determine that the image frame sequence is the dynamic picture type and the screen projection frame rate is a first frame rate if a continuous preset number of brightness difference information in the brightness difference sequence are all greater than a first brightness threshold (Fig. 6, S210, and [0033], [0050]; dynamic image when the brightness difference greater than a brightness threshold, dynamic image has a first frame rate); and to determine that the image frame sequence is the static picture type and the screen projection frame rate is a second frame rate if the continuous preset number of brightness difference information in the brightness difference sequence are all less than or equal to the first brightness threshold; wherein the first frame rate is greater than the second frame rate (Fig. 6, S210, and [0033], [0050]; static image when on the brightness difference smaller than the brightness threshold, static image has a second frame rate less than the first frame rate).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
7. Claims 6 and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as unpatentable over KUO (US 20110084971 A1) in view of ANDO (US 20020015513 A1).
Regarding claim 6, KUO (e.g., Figs. 1-3 and 6) discloses the method according to claim 1, but does not disclose before acquiring the brightness difference information between every two adjacent image frames in the image frame sequence, further comprising: acquiring a differential pixel point between the first image frame and the second image frame; determining the first reference line and the second reference line in the second image frame and the first image frame based on the differential pixel point; acquiring the preset area in the first image frame and the preset area in the second image frame based on the first reference line and the second reference line. However, ANDO discloses acquiring a differential pixel point between the first image frame and the second image frame; determining the first reference line and the second reference line in the second image frame and the first image frame based on the differential pixel point; acquiring the preset area in the first image frame and the preset area in the second image frame based on the first reference line and the second reference line (Figs. 2, 6-12, 15-18, 24-25, and 28; [0024]-[0025], [0127]-[0128], [0130], [0151], [0212]-[0226], and [0231]-[0232]; determination of preset areas). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art at the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching from ANDO to the frame rate control of the display device of KUO. The combination/motivation would be to provide an image processing method to precisely and efficiently determine static image or dynamic image.
Regarding claim 21, KUO discloses the apparatus according to claim 16, but does not disclose wherein the brightness difference acquisition module is further configured to: acquire a differential pixel point between the first image frame and the second image frame; determine the first reference line and the second reference line in the second image frame and the first image frame based on the differential pixel point; acquire the preset area in the first image frame and the preset area in the second image frame based on the first reference line and the second reference line. However, ANDO discloses wherein the brightness difference acquisition module is further configured to: acquire a differential pixel point between the first image frame and the second image frame; determine the first reference line and the second reference line in the second image frame and the first image frame based on the differential pixel point; acquire the preset area in the first image frame and the preset area in the second image frame based on the first reference line and the second reference line (Figs. 2, 6-12, 15-18, 24-25, and 28; [0024]-[0025], [0127]-[0128], [0130], [0151], [0212]-[0226], and [0231]-[0232]; determination of preset areas). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art at the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching from ANDO to the frame rate control of the display device of KUO. The combination/motivation would be to provide an image processing method to precisely and efficiently determine static image or dynamic image.
8. Claims 8 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as unpatentable over KUO (US 20110084971 A1) in view of LEEM (US 20070120963 A1).
Regarding claim 8, KUO (e.g., Figs. 1-3 and 6) discloses the method according to claim 1, but does not disclose before acquiring the brightness difference information between every two adjacent image frames in the image frame sequence to obtain the brightness difference sequence of the image frame sequence, further comprising: acquiring a transmission bandwidth between the first terminal and the second terminal; the acquiring the brightness difference information between every two adjacent image frames in the image frame sequence to obtain the brightness difference sequence of the image frame sequence comprises: if the transmission bandwidth is greater than a preset bandwidth threshold, acquiring the brightness difference information between every two adjacent image frames in the image frame sequence to obtain the brightness difference sequence of the image frame sequence. However, LEEM discloses a frame rate control method comprising: acquiring a transmission bandwidth between the first terminal and the second terminal; the acquiring the brightness difference information between every two adjacent image frames in the image frame sequence to obtain the brightness difference sequence of the image frame sequence comprises: if the transmission bandwidth is greater than a preset bandwidth threshold, acquiring the brightness difference information between every two adjacent image frames in the image frame sequence to obtain the brightness difference sequence of the image frame sequence (Fig. 11, S210 and S215, Fig. 13, S410 and S415, and [0103]-[0104] and [0123]-[0124]; transmission bandwidth is directly proportional to frame rate, a higher frame rate means more data is transmitted each second, corresponding to a larger bandwidth, when an amount of variation of the frame rate is more than a reference frame rate, brightness variation is measured). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art at the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching from LEEM to the frame rate control of the display device of KUO. The combination/motivation would be to provide a method to control frame rate in accordance with an input image signal.
Regarding claim 9, KUO in view of LEEM discloses the method according to claim 1, LEEM discloses after acquiring the transmission bandwidth between the first terminal and the second terminal, further comprising: if the transmission bandwidth is less than or equal to the preset bandwidth threshold, sending the image frames in the image frame sequence to the second terminal at a fixed frame rate (Fig. 11, S210 and S215, Fig. 13, S410 and S415, and [0103]-[0104] and [0123]-[0124]; when an amount of variation of the frame rate is less than a reference frame rate, frame rate is fixed or unchanged). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art at the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching from LEEM to the frame rate control of the display device of KUO for the same reason above.
9. Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as unpatentable over KUO (US 20110084971 A1) in view of JEONG (US 20230171376 A1).
Regarding claim 10, KUO (e.g., Figs. 1-3 and 6) discloses the method according to claim 1, but does not disclose wherein the sending the image frames in the image frame sequence to the second terminal at the screen projection frame rate comprises: determining a screen projection interval time based on the screen projection frame rate; acquiring a latest collected target image frame in the image frame sequence and an actual interval time between the target image frame and a previously sent image frame; if the actual interval time is less than the screen projection interval time, discarding the target image frame; if the actual interval time is greater than or equal to the screen projection interval time, sending the target image frame to the second terminal. However, JEONG discloses a frame rate control method, determining a screen projection interval time based on the screen projection frame rate; acquiring a latest collected target image frame in the image frame sequence and an actual interval time between the target image frame and a previously sent image frame; if the actual interval time is less than the screen projection interval time, discarding the target image frame; if the actual interval time is greater than or equal to the screen projection interval time, sending the target image frame to the second terminal (Figs. 3-4 and 8 and [0082], [0091], [0095]; frame rate is inversely proportional to time interval, a higher frame rate corresponds to a shorter time interval between frames, if a frame rate of a first terminal 310/320 is greater than a second terminal 350, discarding the image frame, if a frame rate of the first terminal 310/320 is smaller than the second terminal 350, transmitting the image to the second terminal 350). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art at the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching from LEEM to the frame rate control of the display device of KUO. The combination/motivation would be to provide a method to control frame rate in accordance with an input image signal.
10. Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as unpatentable over KUO (US 20110084971 A1) in view of YIN (US 20240089611 A1).
Regarding claim 12, KUO (e.g., Figs. 1-3 and 6) discloses the method according to claim 1, but does not disclose wherein the calculating the difference value between the first brightness information and the second brightness information to obtain the brightness difference information between the first image frame and the second image frame comprises: calculating by a formula
to obtain the brightness difference information between the first image frame and the second image frame; wherein the first brightness information comprises brightness values of each pixel point in a preset area of a n-th image frame, respectively denoted as
Y
1
1
,
Y
2
1
…
Y
X
1
the second brightness information comprises brightness values of each pixel point in a preset area of a (n-1)-th image frame, respectively denoted as
Y
1
2
,
Y
2
2
…
Y
X
2
, Si represents a sum of difference values of the brightness values of each pixel point in an i-th preset area between the n-th image frame and the (n-1)-th image frame; f(n) represents the brightness difference information between the n-th image frame and the (n-1)-th image frame. However, YIN discloses wherein the calculating the difference value between the first brightness information and the second brightness information to obtain the brightness difference information between the first image frame and the second image frame comprises calculating by the formula as claimed (Figs. 1-4 and [0050]-[0051]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art at the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching from YIN to the frame rate control of the display device of KUO. The combination/motivation would be to provide an image processing method to precisely and efficiently determine static image or dynamic image.
11. Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as unpatentable over KUO (US 20110084971 A1) in view of ZHANG (WO 2021169402 A1) and LIU (CN 112198954 A; using US 20230393643 A1 as a corresponding English translation).
Regarding claim 13, KUO (e.g., Figs. 1-3 and 6) discloses the method according to claim 1, but does not disclose wherein the picture state type comprises a game picture type, a video picture type, and a PPT picture type; the determining the picture state type of the image frame sequence and the screen projection frame rate corresponding to the picture state type based on the brightness difference sequence comprises: if a continuous preset number of brightness difference information in the brightness difference sequence are greater than a second brightness threshold, determining the image frame sequence is the game picture type, and determining the screen projection frame rate is a third frame rate; if the continuous preset number of brightness difference information in the brightness difference sequence are less than or equal to the second brightness threshold and greater than a third brightness threshold, determining the image frame sequence is the video picture type, and determining the screen projection frame rate is a fourth frame rate; if the continuous preset number of brightness difference information in the brightness difference sequence is less than the third brightness threshold, determining the image frame sequence is the PPT picture type, and determining the screen projection frame rate is a fifth frame rate; wherein the third frame rate is greater than the fourth frame rate, and the fourth frame rate is greater than the fifth frame rate. However, ZHANG and LIU discloses the features as claimed claim 13 (ZHANG’s page 6, paragraph 2; a first brightness corresponding to a text scenario, a second brightness corresponding to a video scenario, and a third brightness corresponding to a game scenario, the first brightness<the second brightness>third brightness; LIU’s [0003] and [0057], still image corresponding to a first rate (e.g., 30Hz), video corresponding to a second frame rate (e.g., 60Hz), game application corresponding to a third frame rate (e.g., 120 Hz)). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art at the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching from YIN to the frame rate control of the display device of KUO. The combination/motivation would be to provide an image processing method to determine and display different image signals.
Inquiry
/YUZHEN SHEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2623