Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 07/21/2026 is being
considered by the examiner. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37
CFR 1.97.
Response to Amendment
The office action is responding to the arguments filed on 06/25/2026. Claims 1-3, 5-17 and 19-20 are pending. Claim 4 and 18 are cancelled. Applicant’s amendments have been considered and accepted. The rejection of 35 U.S.C. 101 is withdrawn.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 6-7, 9, 11-16 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being
unpatentable over LIU et al. (CN 112000625 A) in view of LIAO et al. (CN 113704273
A) hereinafter LIU and LIAO.
Regarding claim 1, LIU teaches A storage system comprising a terminal device and a data node; (See Fig 1, page 6, paragraph 9, illustrates data and mark processing component which is considered as client is connected with data storage device node)
the client is configured to receive a tagging operation instruction for a data file, (See Fig 2, page 7, paragraph 3, illustrates at step S210, mark processing component receives one or more application files for mark or tagging operation)
parse the tagging operation instruction to obtain tagging operation information, (See Fig 2, page 7, paragraph 3, illustrates after receiving at step S210, mark processing component after receiving application files makes determination of the target file based on processing request)
generate a data operation request corresponding to a target data node according to the tagging operation information, and send the data operation request to the target data node; and (See Fig 2, page 7, paragraph 3, illustrates after receiving at step S210, mark processing component after determination or parsing the target file, process or generates the processing request of target file processing type and send it to data processing component)
the target data node is configured to receive the data operation request, and perform a tagging processing on data interval to be operated associated with the data file in a local storage space according to the data operation request. (See Fig 2, page 7, paragraph 6, illustrates at step S220, data processing component performs a marking process on the target file based on the determined processing type and processing request and may store the file it in data storage device of the computing device 100)
LIU teaches data processing method of storage system above. However, LIU does not explicitly teach the terminal device is further configured to query storage state information of the tagging operation instruction and execute an operation processing corresponding to the storage state information upon determining that operation feedback information corresponding to the data operation request is an operation failure,
wherein the operation processing is sending the data operation request to the target data node, or sending a processing result information corresponding to the tagging operation instruction to an index system corresponding to the storage system, and the index system is configured to resend the tagging operation instruction to the storage system
On the other hand, LIAO which also relates to data processing method of storage system teaches the terminal device is further configured to query storage state information of the tagging operation instruction and (See Fig 3, page 11, paragraph 4, illustrates tag query instruction according to the tag modification request may carry target field or storage state information of tagging operation)
execute an operation processing corresponding to the storage state information upon determining that operation feedback information corresponding to the data operation request is an operation failure, (See Fig 2, page 10, paragraph 1 and 2, illustrates when database operation is finished success or failure information is fed back to user terminal service system to display the corresponding operation results)
wherein the operation processing is sending the data operation request to the target data node, or sending a processing result information corresponding to the tagging operation instruction to an index system corresponding to the storage system, and the index system is configured to resend the tagging operation instruction to the storage system (See Fig 4, page 11, paragraph 7-10 illustrates label query request is sent to the database, label query result is fed back by the database, generating data modification instruction which may include target field/target record; target tag data. In other words, data modification instruction which is generated from query result may include target index or field)
Both LIU and LIAO relate to data processing method of storage system (see
LIU, abstract, and see LIAO, abstract, regarding data processing method of storage system).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill at the time the
invention was effectively filed to combine LIU with LIAO by incorporating
data processing method of storage system for tagging or marking data, as taught by
LIAO; to illustrate when database operation is finished success or failure information is fed back to user terminal service system to display the corresponding operation results and label query request is sent to the database, label query result is fed back by the database, generating data modification instruction which may include target field/target record; target tag data. In other words, data modification instruction which is generated from query result may include target index or field. The combined system of LIU – LIAO allows a data management method, a device, a computer readable storage medium and a server, which can be used as the mark unit, increasing the tag data for the effective data in the element, improving the precision of the data mark, and improving the reading speed of the tag data as mentioned in page 2, paragraph 3.
Therefore, the combination of LIU - LIAO improves the precision of the data mark and the reading speed of the tag data. See LIAO, page 2, paragraph 3.
Regarding claim 6, LIU in view of LIAO teaches data processing method of storage system in claim 1. However, LIU - LIAO combination does not explicitly teach The system according to claim 1, wherein the target data node is further configured to receive a data writing instruction for target data, determine a data interval to be used in the local storage space in response to the data writing instruction, delete data in the data interval to be used, and write the target data into the data interval to be used, wherein the data interval to be used belongs to the data interval to be operated
On the other hand, LIU which also relates to data processing method of storage system teaches The system according to claim 1, wherein the target data node is further configured to receive a data writing instruction for target data, determine a data interval to be used in the local storage space in response to the data writing instruction, delete data in the data interval to be used, and write the target data into the data interval to be used, wherein the data interval to be used belongs to the data interval to be operated. (See Fig 2, page 6, paragraph 4-6, illustrates files may be stored or written in a form of file folder implying file or data interval where mark or tag processing method 200 can be realized as a single file or folder of files and also it comprises modifying the mark of the file, deleting the mark of the file and so on)
The same motivation that was utilized for combining LIU with LIAO as set forth in claim 1 is equally applicable to claim 6.
Regarding claim 7, LIU in view of LIAO teaches data processing method of storage system in claim 1. However, LIU - LIAO combination does not explicitly teach The system according to claim 1, wherein the terminal device is further configured to receive a data reading instruction for the data file and send a data reading request to the target data node according to the data reading instruction; and
the target data node is further configured to receive the data reading request, generate a feedback result according to the data reading request, and send the feedback result to a client
On the other hand, LIU which also relates to data processing method of storage system teaches The system according to claim 1, wherein the terminal device is further configured to receive a data reading instruction for the data file and send a data reading request to the target data node according to the data reading instruction; and (See Fig 2, page 7, paragraph 3, illustrates in step S210 mark processing component receives processing request of target file which may include process type like reading or writing of the target file)
the target data node is further configured to receive the data reading request, generate a feedback result according to the data reading request, and send the feedback result to a client. (See page 3, paragraph 4, illustrates mark processing component sends the updated result of data processing which can be read or write to each application)
The same motivation that was utilized for combining LIU with LIAO as set forth in claim 1 is equally applicable to claim 7.
Regarding claim 9, LIU in view of LIAO teaches data processing method of storage system in claim 1. However, LIU - LIAO combination does not explicitly teach The system according to claim 1, wherein the terminal device is configured to receive a tagging operation instruction for the data file, store the tagging operation information associated with the tagging operation instruction in an operation log, and
update a data operation table associated with the data file according to the tagging operation information recorded in the operation log in a case that the operation log meets a log information processing condition; and
generate a data operation request corresponding to the target data node based on the updated data operation table, and send the data operation request to the target data node
On the other hand, LIU which also relates to data processing method of storage system teaches The system according to claim 1, wherein the terminal device is configured to receive a tagging operation instruction for the data file, store the tagging operation information associated with the tagging operation instruction in an operation log, and (See Fig 2, page 6, paragraph 8, illustrates computing device 100 may establish a file tag mapping table based on the association relationship between each file and the tag, and store the file tag mapping table in the data storage device
update a data operation table associated with the data file according to the tagging operation information recorded in the operation log in a case that the operation log meets a log information processing condition; and (See Fig 2, page 6, paragraph 8, illustrates when file mark operation is processed it may update or delete according to marking or tagging operation of the file)
generate a data operation request corresponding to the target data node based on the updated data operation table, and send the data operation request to the target data node. (See Fig 2, page 8, paragraph 3, illustrates if mapping table does not comprise target file, it adds or generates new mark to file mark table and sends to mark processing component)
The same motivation that was utilized for combining LIU with LIAO as set forth in claim 1 is equally applicable to claim 9.
Regarding claim 11, LIU teaches A data processing method applied to a terminal device in a storage system, comprising:
receiving a tagging operation instruction for a data file; (See Fig 2, page 7, paragraph 3, illustrates at step S210, mark processing component receives one or more application files for mark or tagging operation)
parsing the tagging operation instruction to obtain tagging operation information; (See Fig 2, page 7, paragraph 3, illustrates after receiving at step S210, mark processing component after receiving application files makes determination of the target file based on processing request)
generating a data operation request corresponding to a target data node according to the tagging operation information, and sending the data operation request to the target data node. (See Fig 2, page 7, paragraph 3, illustrates after receiving at step S210, mark processing component after determination or parsing the target file, process or generates the processing request of target file processing type and send it to data processing component)
LIU teaches data processing method of storage system above. However, LIU does not explicitly teach and querying storage state information of the tagging operation instruction and execute an operation processing corresponding to the storage state information upon determining that operation feedback information corresponding to the data operation request is an operation failure,
wherein the operation processing is sending the data operation request to the target data node, or sending a processing result information corresponding to the tagging operation instruction to an index system corresponding to the storage system, and the index system is configured to resend the tagging operation instruction to the storage system
On the other hand, LIAO which also relates to data processing method of storage system teaches and querying storage state information of the tagging operation instruction and (See Fig 3, page 11, paragraph 4, illustrates tag query instruction according to the tag modification request may carry target field or storage state information of tagging operation)
executing an operation processing corresponding to the storage state information upon determining that operation feedback information corresponding to the data operation request is an operation failure, (See Fig 2, page 10, paragraph 1 and 2, illustrates when database operation is finished success or failure information is fed back to user terminal service system to display the corresponding operation results)
wherein the operation processing is sending the data operation request to the target data node, or sending a processing result information corresponding to the tagging operation instruction to an index system corresponding to the storage system, and the index system is configured to resend the tagging operation instruction to the storage system (See Fig 4, page 11, paragraph 7-10 illustrates label query request is sent to the database, label query result is fed back by the database, generating data modification instruction which may include target field/target record; target tag data. In other words, data modification instruction which is generated from query result may include target index or field)
Both LIU and LIAO relate to data processing method of storage system (see
LIU, abstract, and see LIAO, abstract, regarding data processing method of storage system).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill at the time the
invention was effectively filed to combine LIU with LIAO by incorporating
data processing method of storage system for tagging or marking data, as taught by
LIAO; to illustrate when database operation is finished success or failure information is fed back to user terminal service system to display the corresponding operation results and label query request is sent to the database, label query result is fed back by the database, generating data modification instruction which may include target field/target record; target tag data. In other words, data modification instruction which is generated from query result may include target index or field. The combined system of LIU – LIAO allows a data management method, a device, a computer readable storage medium and a server, which can be used as the mark unit, increasing the tag data for the effective data in the element, improving the precision of the data mark, and improving the reading speed of the tag data as mentioned in page 2, paragraph 3.
Therefore, the combination of LIU - LIAO improves the precision of the data mark and the reading speed of the tag data. See LIAO, page 2, paragraph 3.
Regarding claim 12, LIU in view of LIAO teaches data processing method of storage system in claim 11. However, LIU - LIAO combination does not explicitly teach A data processing method applied to a target data node in a storage system, wherein the target data node is configured to interact with the terminal device in claim 11, the method comprises: receiving a data operation request for a data file; performing a tagging processing on a data interval to be operated associated with the data file in a local storage space according to the data operation request
On the other hand, LIU which also relates to data processing method of storage system teaches A data processing method applied to a target data node in a storage system, wherein the target data node is configured to interact with the terminal device in claim 11, the method comprises: receiving a data operation request for a data file; performing a tagging processing on a data interval to be operated associated with the data file in a local storage space according to the data operation request. (See Fig 2, page 7, paragraph 6, illustrates at step S220, data processing component performs a marking process on the target file based on the determined processing type and processing request and may store the file it in data storage device of the computing device 100)
The same motivation that was utilized for combining LIU with LIAO as set forth in claim 11 is equally applicable to claim 12.
Regarding claim 13, LIU in view of LIAO teaches data processing method of storage system in claim 11. However, LIU - LIAO combination does not explicitly teach A computing device, comprising a memory, a processor, and computer instructions stored in the memory and executable on the processor, wherein when the processor executes the computer instructions, the steps of the method according to claim 11 are implemented
On the other hand, LIU which also relates to data processing method of storage system teaches A computing device, comprising a memory, a processor, and computer instructions stored in the memory and executable on the processor, wherein when the processor executes the computer instructions, the steps of the method according to claim 11 are implemented. (See Fig 3, page 10, paragraph 3, illustrates the processor is configured for according to the instruction stored in the program code stored in the memory, executing the method of the data of file processing)
The same motivation that was utilized for combining LIU with LIAO as set forth in claim 11 is equally applicable to claim 13.
Regarding claim 14, LIU in view of LIAO teaches data processing method of storage system in claim 11. However, LIU - LIAO combination does not explicitly teach A non-transitory computer-readable storage medium storing computer-executable instructions, and when the computer instructions are executed by a processor, the steps of the method according to claim 11 are implemented
On the other hand, LIU which also relates to data processing method of storage system teaches A non-transitory computer-readable storage medium storing computer-executable instructions, and when the computer instructions are executed by a processor, the steps of the method according to claim 11 are implemented. (See Fig 3, page 10, paragraph 3, illustrates the processor is configured for according to the instruction stored in the program code stored in the memory which can be computer-readable storage medium, executing the method of the data of file processing by processor)
The same motivation that was utilized for combining LIU with LIAO as set forth in claim 11 is equally applicable to claim 14.
Regarding claim 15, LIU in view of LIAO teaches data processing method of storage system in claim 12. However, LIU - LIAO combination does not explicitly teach A computing device, comprising a memory, a processor, and computer instructions stored in the memory and executable on the processor, wherein when the processor executes the computer instructions, the steps of the method according to claim 12 are implemented
On the other hand, LIU which also relates to data processing method of storage system teaches A computing device, comprising a memory, a processor, and computer instructions stored in the memory and executable on the processor, wherein when the processor executes the computer instructions, the steps of the method according to claim 12 are implemented. (See Fig 3, page 10, paragraph 3, illustrates the processor is configured for according to the instruction stored in the program code stored in the memory which can be computer-readable storage medium, executing the method of the data of file processing by processor)
The same motivation that was utilized for combining LIU with LIAO as set forth in claim 11 is equally applicable to claim 15.
Regarding claim 16, LIU in view of LIAO teaches data processing method of storage system in claim 12. However, LIU - LIAO combination does not explicitly teach A non-transitory computer-readable storage medium storing computer-executable instructions, and when the computer instructions are executed by a processor, steps of the method according to claim 12 are implemented
On the other hand, LIU which also relates to data processing method of storage system teaches A non-transitory computer-readable storage medium storing computer-executable instructions, and when the computer instructions are executed by a processor, steps of the method according to claim 12 are implemented. (See Fig 3, page 10, paragraph 3, illustrates the processor is configured for according to the instruction stored in the program code stored in the memory which can be computer-readable storage medium, executing the method of the data of file processing by processor)
The same motivation that was utilized for combining LIU with LIAO as set forth in claim 11 is equally applicable to claim 16.
Regarding claim 20, LIU in view of LIAO teaches data processing method of storage system in claim 12. However, LIU - LIAO combination does not explicitly teach The data processing method according to claim 12, further comprising: receiving a data writing instruction for target data, determining a data interval to be used in the local storage space in response to the data writing instruction, deleting data in the data interval to be used, and writing the target data into the data interval to be used, wherein the data interval to be used belongs to the data interval to be operated
On the other hand, LIU which also relates to data processing method of storage system teaches The data processing method according to claim 12, further comprising: receiving a data writing instruction for target data, determining a data interval to be used in the local storage space in response to the data writing instruction, deleting data in the data interval to be used, and writing the target data into the data interval to be used, wherein the data interval to be used belongs to the data interval to be operated. (See Fig 2, page 6, paragraph 4-6, illustrates files may be stored or written in a form of file folder implying file or data interval where mark or tag processing method 200 can be realized as a single file or folder of files and also it comprises modifying the mark of the file, deleting the mark of the file and so on)
The same motivation that was utilized for combining LIU with LIAO as set forth in claim 11 is equally applicable to claim 20.
Claim(s) 2-3, 5, 10, 17 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being
unpatentable over LIU in view of LIAO and further in view of McCarthy et al. (US 20210334241 A1) hereinafter McCarthy.
Regarding claim 2, LIU in view of LIAO teaches data processing method of storage system in claim 1. However, LIU - LIAO combination does not explicitly teach The system according to claim 1, wherein the terminal device is configured to determine logical address information corresponding to the data file according to the tagging operation information, and generate the data operation request corresponding to the target data node based on the logical address information
On the other hand, McCarthy which also relates to data processing method of storage system teaches The system according to claim 1, wherein the terminal device is configured to determine logical address information corresponding to the data file according to the tagging operation information, and generate the data operation request corresponding to the target data node based on the logical address information. (See Fig 1, paragraph [0026], illustrates client 120 may issue input/output (I/O) requests where request may include logical block address (LBA))
Both LIU, LIAO and McCarthy relate to data processing method of storage system (see LIU, abstract, and see LIAO, abstract, and see McCarthy, abstract, regarding data processing method of storage system).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill at the time the
invention was effectively filed to combine LIU - LIAO combination with McCarthy by incorporating data processing method of storage system for tagging or marking data, as taught by McCarthy; to enable client 120 to issue input/output (I/O) requests where request may include logical block address (LBA). The combined system of LIU - LIAO – McCarthy allows to provide maximum degrees of data protection as offered by the different DPSs and deduplicate the data blocks across a volume as mentioned in paragraph [0012]. Therefore, the combination of LIU - LIAO - McCarthy improves storage utilization for various data protection schemes that may be advantageously employed. See McCarthy, paragraph [0047].
Regarding claim 3, LIU in view of LIAO teaches data processing method of storage system in claim 1. However, LIU - LIAO combination does not explicitly teach The system according to claim 1, wherein the target data node is configured to determine operation description information according to logical address information carried in the data operation request,
determine the data interval to be operated associated with the data file in the local storage space according to the operation description information, and modify and save attribute information of the data interval to be operated as the tagging processing for the data interval to be operated
On the other hand, McCarthy which also relates to data processing method of storage system teaches The system according to claim 1, wherein the target data node is configured to determine operation description information according to logical address information carried in the data operation request, (See Fig 3A, paragraph [0026], illustrates storage service 300 implemented in each node 200 includes a metadata layer 310 having one or more metadata services 320a-n configured to determine process and store the metadata)
determine the data interval to be operated associated with the data file in the local storage space according to the operation description information, and modify and save attribute information of the data interval to be operated as the tagging processing for the data interval to be operated. (See Fig 3B, paragraph [0027], illustrates metadata layer 310 may be organized as one or more volume services 350a-n where each volume service 350 may perform the functions of a metadata service 320 at the granularity of a data volume or data interval and process and store the metadata for the volume)
Both LIU, LIAO and McCarthy relate to data processing method of storage system (see LIU, abstract, and see LIAO, abstract, and see McCarthy, abstract, regarding data processing method of storage system).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill at the time the
invention was effectively filed to combine LIU - LIAO combination with McCarthy by incorporating data processing method of storage system for tagging or marking data, as taught by McCarthy; to storage service 300 to implement in each node 200 includes a metadata layer 310 having one or more metadata services 320a-n configured to determine process and store the metadata and metadata layer 310 may be organized as one or more volume services 350a-n where each volume service 350 may perform the functions of a metadata service 320 at the granularity of a data volume or data interval and process and store the metadata for the volume. The combined system of LIU - LIAO – McCarthy allows to provide maximum degrees of data protection as offered by the different DPSs and deduplicate the data blocks across a volume as mentioned in paragraph [0012]. Therefore, the combination of LIU - LIAO - McCarthy improves storage utilization for various data protection schemes that may be advantageously employed. See McCarthy, paragraph [0047].
Regarding claim 5, LIU in view of LIAO teaches data processing method of storage system in claim 1. However, LIU - LIAO combination does not explicitly teach The system according to claim 1, wherein the terminal device is configured to execute a step of sending the data operation request to the target data node based on a persistent data operation request in a case that the storage state information is in a persistent storage state; and
generate processing result information corresponding to the tagging operation instruction in a case that the storage state information is in a non-persistent storage state and send the processing result information to an index system corresponding to the storage system, wherein the index system is configured to resend the tagging operation instruction to the storage system
On the other hand, McCarthy which also relates to data processing method of storage system teaches The system according to claim 1, wherein the terminal device is configured to execute a step of sending the data operation request to the target data node based on a persistent data operation request in a case that the storage state information is in a persistent storage state; and (See Fig 4, paragraph [0026] and [0045], illustrates metadata for data storage information for each volume in slice files are stored in SSD, NVRAM which is persistent storage)
generate processing result information corresponding to the tagging operation instruction in a case that the storage state information is in a non-persistent storage state and send the processing result information to an index system corresponding to the storage system, wherein the index system is configured to resend the tagging operation instruction to the storage system. (See Fig 3B, paragraph [0053], illustrates slice service 360a also notifies slice services 360b and 360c of the update to the slice file 610 and provides the metadata for the update. In other words, slice service 360a generates updates of the tag operation in the metadata and notifies slice services 360b and 360c)
Both LIU, LIAO and McCarthy relate to data processing method of storage system (see LIU, abstract, and see LIAO, abstract, and see McCarthy, abstract, regarding data processing method of storage system).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill at the time the
invention was effectively filed to combine LIU - LIAO combination with McCarthy by incorporating data processing method of storage system for tagging or marking data, as taught by McCarthy; to enable storage service 300 to implement in each node 200 includes a metadata layer 310 having one or more metadata services 320a-n configured to determine process and store the metadata and metadata layer 310 may be organized as one or more volume services 350a-n where each volume service 350 may perform the functions of a metadata service 320 at the granularity of a data volume or data interval and process and store the metadata for the volume. The combined system of LIU - LIAO – McCarthy allows to provide maximum degrees of data protection as offered by the different DPSs and deduplicate the data blocks across a volume as mentioned in paragraph [0012]. Therefore, the combination of LIU - LIAO - McCarthy improves storage utilization for various data protection schemes that may be advantageously employed. See McCarthy, paragraph [0047].
Regarding claim 10, LIU in view of LIAO teaches data processing method of storage system in claim 1. However, LIU - LIAO combination does not explicitly teach The system according to any one of claims 1, wherein the storage system is a distributed file system, and the terminal device comprises a tagging operation interface;
wherein the terminal device is configured to call the tagging operation interface to parse the tagging operation instruction and obtain the tagging operation information, wherein the tagging operation information comprises file identification information, file offset information and file tagging length information
On the other hand, McCarthy which also relates to data processing method of storage system teaches The system according to any one of claims 1, wherein the storage system is a distributed file system, and the terminal device comprises a tagging operation interface; (See Fig 1, 2 and 3A, paragraph [0019] and [0020], illustrates client 120 illustratively issues packets including block-based access protocols using various interfaces and nodes 200 provides distributed storage architecture of the cluster 100)
wherein the terminal device is configured to call the tagging operation interface to parse the tagging operation instruction and obtain the tagging operation information, wherein the tagging operation information comprises file identification information, file offset information and file tagging length information. (See Fig 1, 2, paragraph [0026], illustrates storage request may include data for storage on the volume as well as client addressing in the form of a logical block address (LBA) or index into the volume based on the logical block size of the volume and a length)
Both LIU, LIAO and McCarthy relate to data processing method of storage system (see LIU, abstract, and see LIAO, abstract, and see McCarthy, abstract, regarding data processing method of storage system).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill at the time the
invention was effectively filed to combine LIU - LIAO combination with McCarthy by incorporating data processing method of storage system for tagging or marking data, as taught by McCarthy; to enable client 120 to issue packets including block-based access protocols using various interfaces and nodes 200 provides distributed storage architecture of the cluster 100 and storage request may include data for storage on the volume as well as client addressing in the form of a logical block address (LBA) or index into the volume based on the logical block size of the volume and a length. The combined system of LIU - LIAO – McCarthy allows to provide maximum degrees of data protection as offered by the different DPSs and deduplicate the data blocks across a volume as mentioned in paragraph [0012]. Therefore, the combination of LIU - LIAO - McCarthy improves storage utilization for various data protection schemes that may be advantageously employed. See McCarthy, paragraph [0047].
Regarding claim 17, LIU in view of LIAO teaches data processing method of storage system in claim 11. However, LIU - LIAO combination does not explicitly teach The data processing method according to claim 11, further comprising: determining logical address information corresponding to the data file according to the tagging operation information, and generating the data operation request corresponding to the target data node based on the logical address information
On the other hand, McCarthy which also relates to data processing method of storage system teaches The data processing method according to claim 11, further comprising: determining logical address information corresponding to the data file according to the tagging operation information, and generating the data operation request corresponding to the target data node based on the logical address information. (See Fig 1, paragraph [0026], illustrates client 120 may issue input/output (I/O) requests where request may include logical block address (LBA))
Both LIU, LIAO and McCarthy relate to data processing method of storage system (see LIU, abstract, and see LIAO, abstract, and see McCarthy, abstract, regarding data processing method of storage system).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill at the time the
invention was effectively filed to combine LIU - LIAO combination with McCarthy by incorporating data processing method of storage system for tagging or marking data, as taught by McCarthy; to enable client 120 to issue input/output (I/O) requests where request may include logical block address (LBA). The combined system of LIU - LIAO – McCarthy allows to provide maximum degrees of data protection as offered by the different DPSs and deduplicate the data blocks across a volume as mentioned in paragraph [0012]. Therefore, the combination of LIU - LIAO - McCarthy improves storage utilization for various data protection schemes that may be advantageously employed. See McCarthy, paragraph [0047].
Regarding claim 19, LIU in view of LIAO teaches data processing method of storage system in claim 12. However, LIU - LIAO combination does not explicitly teach The data processing method according to claim 12, further comprising: determining operation description information according to logical address information carried in the data operation request,
determining the data interval to be operated associated with the data file in the local storage space according to the operation description information, and modifying and saving attribute information of the data interval to be operated as the tagging processing for the data interval to be operated
On the other hand, McCarthy which also relates to data processing method of storage system teaches The data processing method according to claim 12, further comprising: determining operation description information according to logical address information carried in the data operation request, (See Fig 3A, paragraph [0026], illustrates storage service 300 implemented in each node 200 includes a metadata layer 310 having one or more metadata services 320a-n configured to determine process and store the metadata)
determining the data interval to be operated associated with the data file in the local storage space according to the operation description information, and modifying and saving attribute information of the data interval to be operated as the tagging processing for the data interval to be operated. (See Fig 3B, paragraph [0027], illustrates metadata layer 310 may be organized as one or more volume services 350a-n where each volume service 350 may perform the functions of a metadata service 320 at the granularity of a data volume or data interval and process and store the metadata for the volume)
Both LIU, LIAO and McCarthy relate to data processing method of storage system (see LIU, abstract, and see LIAO, abstract, and see McCarthy, abstract, regarding data processing method of storage system).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill at the time the
invention was effectively filed to combine LIU - LIAO combination with McCarthy by incorporating data processing method of storage system for tagging or marking data, as taught by McCarthy; to enable storage service 300 to implement in each node 200 includes a metadata layer 310 having one or more metadata services 320a-n configured to determine process and store the metadata and metadata layer 310 may be organized as one or more volume services 350a-n where each volume service 350 may perform the functions of a metadata service 320 at the granularity of a data volume or data interval and process and store the metadata for the volume. The combined system of LIU - LIAO – McCarthy allows to provide maximum degrees of data protection as offered by the different DPSs and deduplicate the data blocks across a volume as mentioned in paragraph [0012]. Therefore, the combination of LIU - LIAO - McCarthy improves storage utilization for various data protection schemes that may be advantageously employed. See McCarthy, paragraph [0047].
Claim(s) 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over LIU in view of LIAO teaches and further in view of GUO et al. (WO 2025025124 A1) hereinafter GUO.
Regarding claim 8, LIU in view of LIAO teaches data processing method of storage system in claim 7. However, LIU - LIAO combination does not explicitly teach The system according to claim 7, wherein the target data node is configured to generate a feedback result indicating that the data is in an unreadable state in a case that the data operation request is successfully executed;
take original data in the data interval to be operated as the feedback result in a case that the data operation request fails to be executed; and
take original data corresponding to failed execution of the data operation request in the data interval to be operated as a first feedback result in a case that the data operation request partially fails to be executed, and
generate a second feedback result according to data corresponding to successful execution of the data operation request in the data interval to be operated, and generate a feedback result based on the first feedback result and the second feedback result
On the other hand, GUO which also relates to data processing method of storage system teaches The system according to claim 7, wherein the target data node is configured to generate a feedback result indicating that the data is in an unreadable state in a case that the data operation request is successfully executed;
take original data in the data interval to be operated as the feedback result in a case that the data operation request fails to be executed; and (See page 19, paragraph 10, illustrates IoT device 102 determines that the operation on the first information is unsuccessful or fails and sends feedback information. In other words, if the operation is unsuccessful then IoT device 102 sends a feedback)
take original data corresponding to failed execution of the data operation request in the data interval to be operated as a first feedback result in a case that the data operation request partially fails to be executed, and
generate a second feedback result according to data corresponding to successful execution of the data operation request in the data interval to be operated, and generate a feedback result based on the first feedback result and the second feedback result. (See page 19, paragraph 10, illustrates IoT device 102 determines that the operation on the first information is successful and sends feedback information. In other words, if the operation is successful then IoT device 102 sends a feedback)
Both LIU, LIAO and GUO relate to data processing method of storage system (see LIU, abstract, and see LIAO, abstract, and see GUO, abstract, regarding data processing method of storage system).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill at the time the
invention was effectively filed to combine LIU - LIAO combination with GUO by incorporating data processing method of storage system for tagging or marking data, as taught by GUO; to enable IoT device 102 to determine that the operation on the first information is unsuccessful or fails and sends feedback information. In other words, if the operation is unsuccessful then IoT device 102 sends feedback. Also, IoT device 102 to determine that the operation on the first information is successful and sends feedback information. In other words, if the operation is successful then IoT device 102 sends feedback. The combined system of LIU - LIAO – GUO allows improving the security performance of the Internet of Things device as mentioned in page 5, paragraph 6. Therefore, the combination of LIU - LIAO - GUO improves security performance. See GUO, page 5, paragraph 6.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed on 06/25/2026 have been fully considered but they
are not persuasive.
Applicant’s first argument is claims 1 and 11 amendment mapping by primary reference and secondary references in page 8-10 of the response: From the foregoing disclosure of LIU, it can be clearly seen that LIU at most discloses the tag processing component is configured to parse the processing request to obtain the target file to be processed, the tag associated with the target file, and the processing type requested for processing the target file, and send the target file, the tag associated with the target file, and the processing type to the data processing component directly, rather than parse the processing request to obtain the target file to be processed, the tag associated with the target file, and the processing type requested for processing the target file, generate a data operation request according to the target file, the tag associated with the target file, and the processing type, and send the data operation request to the data processing component. By contrast, according to newly filed claim 1, the terminal device is configured to parse the tagging operation instruction
to obtain tagging operation information, generate a data operation request corresponding to a target data node according to the tagging operation information, and send the data operation request to the target data node. Therefore, LIU fails to disclose the above feature a) of amended claim 1
In summary, applicant argued that primary reference LIU and secondary references McCarthy and GUO do not teach generating data operation request corresponding to target node according to tagging operation information. Examiner respectfully disagrees. For further clarification examiner cites portion from LIU. Also, for applicant’s understanding examiner would like to explain the teachings of LIU and examiner’s interpretation in more detail here. See Fig 3, page 9, paragraph 6, illustrates mark processing component 351 can receive one or more application 310 processing request of the target file, determining the target file based on the processing request, associated with the target file of the mark, processing type, and the target file, and the target file associated with the mark and the processing type is sent to the data processing component 352 where Data processing component 352 based on the processing type to mark processing the target file. The cited portion clearly teaches mark processing component generates the processing request of target file processing type and generates data operation request based on mark processing type information. Thus, the rejection of amended claims 1 and 11 are maintained.
Applicant’s second argument is claims 1 and 11 amendment mapping by primary reference and secondary references in page 8 of the response: LIU does not mentioned anything regarding whether operation feedback information corresponding to the tag processing request is an operation success or an operation failure. In fact, according to the disclosure of "the data processing component further updates a file tag mapping table in a data storage device based on the processed target file and its associated tag" in LIU, it appears that the updating is performed when the tag processing is successful by default. Moreover, LIU also does not mentioned anything regarding the storage state information of the tag processing request or a corresponding operation processing corresponding to the storage state information. Therefore, LIU fails to disclose the above feature b) of amended claim 1
In summary, applicant argued that primary reference LIU and secondary references McCarthy and GUO do not teach anything regarding whether operation feedback information corresponding to the tag processing request and storage state is an operation success or an operation failure and sending a processing result information corresponding to the tagging operation instruction to an index system corresponding to the storage system. The amendment necessitates adding secondary reference LIAO in this regard. For further clarification examiner cites portion from LIAO. Also, for applicant’s understanding examiner would like to explain the teachings of LIAO and examiner’s interpretation in more detail here. See Fig 3, page 11, paragraph 4, LIAO teaches tag query instruction according to the tag modification request may carry target field or storage state information of tagging operation. Also, See Fig 2, page 10, paragraph 1 and 2, LIAO teaches when database operation is finished success or failure information is fed back to user terminal service system to display the corresponding operation results. Also See Fig 4, page 11, paragraph 7-10 illustrates label query request is sent to the database, label query result is fed back by the database, generating data modification instruction which may include target field/target record; target tag data. In other words, data modification instruction which is generated from query result may include target index or field. The cited portions clearly teach database operation and storage state successful or failure information is fed back to user terminal service system. Thus, the rejection of amended claims 1 and 11 are maintained.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/S.K.C./Examiner, Art Unit 2132
/HOSAIN T ALAM/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2132