DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
Claims 1-20 are pending and currently under consideration for patentability under 37 CFR 1.104
Foreign Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant's claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119(a)-(d). The certified copies have been received.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 02/21/2025, 08/02/2025, 11/09/2025, 01/23/2026, and 06/09/2026 has been considered by the examiner.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the included angle of a preset angle (claim 1) must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the endoscope (claims 11-20) must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 6-8, 13-15, and 18-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Konstorum et al. (U.S. 2014/0053940).
With respect to claim 1, Konstorum et al. teaches a bending portion of an endoscope, comprising a hollow tube, wherein a plurality of groups of gap portions are disposed on the hollow tube(33a,33b); the plurality of groups of gap portions extends in sequence along an axial direction of the hollow tube (FIG. 2);
each group of the gap portions comprises at least one gap (33a,33b); the gaps are distributed in a circumferential direction of the hollow tube (FIG. 2);
an included angle of a preset angle is present along the length direction of the gap between a length direction of one end or a length direction of two ends of the gap and a radial direction of the hollow tube (FIG. 2); and
the radial direction of the hollow tube is perpendicular to the axial direction of the hollow tube (FIG. 2).
With respect to claim 2, Konstorum et al. teaches each group of the gap portions comprises two gaps: a first gap (33a) and a second gap (33b);
the first gap is distributed in a first circumferential direction of the hollow tube; the second gap is distributed in a second circumferential direction of the hollow tube (FIG. 2); and
the first gap and the second gap have a relative position difference of a preset length along the circumferential direction of the hollow tube (FIG. 2).
With respect to claim 3, Konstorum eta l. teaches the gap is bent around an axial center of the axial direction by a preset arc length; and the positions where the both sides of the gap are contacted are in line contact or surface contact (FIG. 2).
With respect to claim 6, Konstorum et al. teaches the hollow tube is further provided with a plurality of groups of wiring groove portions (35a,35b); and the plurality of groups of wiring groove portions extend in sequence in the axial direction of the hollow tube (FIG. 2);
each group of the wiring groove portions comprises two wiring grooves: a first wiring groove (35a) and a second wiring groove (35b); and
the first wiring groove and the second wiring groove are respectively disposed on opposite sides of the hollow tube (FIG. 2).
With respect to claim 7, Konstorum et al. teaches the first wiring groove is symmetrical to the second wiring groove (FIG. 2).
With respect to claim 8, Konstorum et al. teaches the hollow tube has a wall thickness less than a preset wall thickness value (FIG. 4, 5 for example).
With respect to 13-15 and 18-20, Konstorum et al. teaches an endoscope (para [0034])
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4, 5, 9-12, 16 and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Konstorum et al. (U.S. 2014/0053940) in view of Yu et al. (U.S. 2013/0035551).
Konstorum et al. teaches a bending portion as set forth above. However, Konstorum et al. does not teach the gap is curved along the length direction.
With respect to claim 4, Yu et al. teaches an analogous gap that is curved along the length direction of the gap (FIG. 3C).
With respect to claim 5, Yu et al. teaches the gap is crescent along the length direction of the gap (FIG. 3C).
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date to modify the gaps of Konstorum et al. to be curved in the manner taught by Yu et al. in order to reduce the amount of force required to deviate the device to its curved position (para [0020] of Yu et al.).
With resect to claim 9, Yu et al. teaches the preset angle is any value between 10° and 45° (FIG. 3C).
With respect to claim 10, Yu et al. teaches the hollow tube is stainless steel (para [0017]).
With respect to 11-12 and 16-17, Konstorum et al. teaches an endoscope (para [0034]).
Conclusion
/ALEXANDRA L NEWTON/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3799