DETAILED ACTION
The present application and its arguments have been reviewed and currently claims 1, 3-9, 11, 12, and 14-23 are rejected and claims 2, 10, and 13 are cancelled.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1, 3-9, 11, 12, and 14-23 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Objections
Claim 12 is objected to because of the following informalities:
In claim 12, line 3, “the first surface” should be “a first surface”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3-7, 9, 11, 12, and 15-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Murias et al. (U.S. PGPub No. 2014/0252755) in view of Chisnell (U.S. Patent No. 7,407,165) and in further view of Schroeder et al. (U.S. Patent No. 6,834,893).
In regards to claim 1, Murias discloses:
A block fitting device (see fig. 3 hereinafter) for making a secure connection in a fluid line system, the block fitting device comprising:
an adapter body (see near 140) having a passage (142) with two outlets (148, 144) and an adapter bead (140) radially and outwardly formed around the adapter body;
a primary block (110) formed with at least one bore (ex., near 120) along a longitudinal axis and an inward directed step (122) around the at least one bore to receive the adapter body such that the primary block and the adapter body are joined together, and
the at least one bore and the passage are aligned and communicated to define a fluid channel along the longitudinal axis (see fig. 3);
a mating block (170) having at least one mating bore (172),
the mating block securely coupled with the primary block and the adapter body (ex., by 182); and
a seal washer (160) placed in the inward directed step for a sealing contact with the adapter body and the primary block in an assembled configuration (see fig. 3 near 160),
wherein the seal washer can be used in conjunction with O-rings (see paragraph 0013),
wherein the primary block includes a first aperture (ex., near 114) and a second aperture (ex., 116),
wherein the second aperture of the primary block receives the seal washer (see fig. 4),
but does not disclose:
the seal washer having an inner seal member and an outer seal member,
wherein the seal washer includes a body portion having an inner radial channel to receive the inner seal member and an outer radial channel to receive the outer seal member,
wherein the second aperture of the primary block receives the seal washer and the adapter bead, which is radially enclosed by an inner radial surface of the second aperture.
In regards to the inner and outer seals in channels, Chisnell discloses a similar washer (26, fig. 5) pressed directly against a flange (48, fig. 4) of an adaptor (44, figs. 4-5),
wherein the washer comprises an inner and outer rubber annular seal (see near 32 in fig. 5) comprises in inner and outer annular grooves (see fig. 5) to create a seal between the adaptor and an inner surface of a bore (66, fig. 5; see 4:1-8).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date to modify the washer of Murias with the provision of an rubber O-ring in an annular groove in both the innermost and outermost annular surface of the washer to further provide sealing contact with the adapter body and the primary block, as taught by Chisnell (4:1-8, where a seal is created between the female block and the adaptor).
In regards to the steps positioning, Schroeder discloses a similar device comprising two configurations where:
a first configuration (see fig. 1) an adaptor (30) is placed within an annular groove (25) of a male block (12) and an O-ring seal (34) is placed in an annular groove of a female block (14), and
a second configuration (see fig. 3) where an adaptor (30’) and an O-ring seal (34’) are both placed within a stepped groove of a female block (14’) and pressed by a mating surface (see near 64’) of a male block (62’).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date to modify device of Murias in view of Chisnell such that at least a portion of the annular bead of the adaptor is radially enclosed by an inner radial surface of the second aperture to meet the limitation of the claim because Schroeder discloses that there are a finite number of identified and predictable solutions of positioning the annular bead of the adaptor either within the stepped bore of male block (see fig. 3, where the bore near 26’ is enlarged) or within the stepped bore of the female block (see fig. 1, where bore 26 is smaller and a bore 24 is added; ex., similar to Murias), modifying the thickness of the blocks to re-position at least a portion of the annular bead to be within the stepped surface such that at least a portion of the annular bead is radially enclosed would not have modified the operation of the device (ex., radially enclosing at least the cylindrical portion of the annular bead), and it has been held that claims which read on the prior art except with regard to the position were held unpatentable because shifting the position of an element would not have modified the operation of the device. See In reJapikse, 181 F.2d 1019, 86 USPQ 70 (CCPA 1950) in MPEP 2144.04(VI)(C). A person of ordinary skill could have pursued the known potential solutions with a reasonable expectation of success because modifying the thickness/positions of the device to a known configuration as shown by Schroder to meet the limitation of claim is within their technical grasp and would not have produced any new results.
In regards to claim 3, Murias further discloses:
The block fitting device of claim 1, wherein the inward directed step of the primary block includes a stepped annular surface (124) radially formed around a first bore and an inner radial surface (see adjacent to 124) formed substantially perpendicular to the stepped annular surface.
In regards to claim 4, Murias further discloses:
The block fitting device of claim 3, wherein the stepped annular surface defines a diametric dimension greater than a diametric dimension of the first bore.
In regards to claim 5, Murias further discloses:
The block fitting device of claim 1, wherein, in the assembled configuration, the seal washer is disposed between a stepped annular surface (see near 124) formed in the inward directed step and a first surface (150) of the adapter bead along the longitudinal axis.
In regards to claim 6, Murias in view of Chisnell and Schroeder further discloses:
The block fitting device of claim 1, wherein the inner seal member of the seal washer is frictionally engaged with a first radial outer surface of the adapter body and the outer seal member of the seal washer is frictionally engaged with an inner radial surface formed in the inward directed step of the primary block such that the seal washer is adapted to seal the fluid channel in a radial direction relative to the longitudinal axis (ex., see near 320 and 321 in fig. 2 of Chisnell, where providing O-rings to the washer of Murias would meet the limitation of the claim as the O-ring extend beyond the annular inner and outer surfaces; ex., see fig. 5 of Chisnell, where the O-rings make sealing contact with adaptor and female block).
In regards to claim 7, Murias in view of Chisnell and Schroeder further discloses:
The block fitting device of claim 6, wherein an outer diametric dimension about an outer edge of the outer seal member is larger than a diametric dimension of a stepped annular surface (ex., see the outer seal in fig. 5 of Chisnell), and
an inner diametric dimension about an outer edge of the inner seal member is smaller than a diametric dimension of the first radial outer surface of the adapter body (ex., see fig. 5 of Chisnell, where the O-rings make sealing contact with adaptor and female block such that the deals are deformed).
In regards to claim 9, Murias in view of Chisnell and Schroeder further discloses:
The block fitting device of claim 1, wherein the seal washer has a body portion formed of a metallic material or a polymer material (see paragraph 0002 of Murias, where slim-line washers are metal), and
the inner and outer seal members of the seal washer are each formed of an elastomeric material (see 5:22-25 of Chisnell, where rubber is used for O-rings).
In regards to claim 11, Murias in view of Chisnell and Schroeder further discloses:
The block fitting device of claim 1, wherein, in the assembled configuration, a first outlet (148) of the adapter body is inserted into a first bore of the primary block to connect with the passage of the adapter body, defined as the fluid channel along the longitudinal axis.
In regards to claim 12, Murias in view of Chisnell and Schroeder further discloses:
The block fitting device of claim 1, wherein, in the assembled configuration, the adapter bead of the adapter body is positioned in the inward directed step of the primary block such that “a” first surface of the adapter bead is faced substantially parallel to a stepped annular surface of the primary block (ex., it is inherent that if a portion of the bead is within the second aperture that it would meet the limitation of the claim as the surface 150 is parallel with surface 124 as shown in fig. 4 of Murias).
In regards to claim 15, Murias in view of Chisnell and Schroeder further discloses:
The block fitting device of claim 1, wherein the mating block includes a first mating bore (172) to couple with a second outlet (144) of the adapter body, and
the second outlet of the adapter body receives a second tube (26).
In regards to claim 16, Murias discloses:
A method of assembling a block fitting device for making a secure connection in a fluid line system (see fig. 4 hereinafter), the method comprising the steps of:
providing an adapter body (see near 140) formed with a passage (142) with at least two outlets (148, 144) and an adapter bead (140);
providing a primary block (110) formed with a first bore (120) along a longitudinal axis and an inward directed step (116) formed around the first bore;
placing a seal washer (160) between the primary block and the adapter body along the longitudinal axis;
inserting a first outlet (148) of the adapter body into the first bore of the primary block such that the first bore and the passage are aligned and communicated to define a fluid channel along the longitudinal axis;
providing a mating block (170) having at least one mating bore (172); and
coupling securely a second outlet (144) of the adapter body with a first mating bore (172) of the mating block;
wherein, in an assembled configuration of the block fitting device, the seal washer is disposed in a sealing contact with the adapter body and the primary block in a radial direction relative to the longitudinal axis (see fig. 4),
wherein the primary block includes a first aperture (ex., near 114) and a second aperture (ex., 116),
wherein the second aperture of the primary block receives the seal washer (see fig. 4),
but does not disclose:
the seal washer having an inner seal member and an outer seal member,
wherein the second aperture of the primary block receives the seal washer and the adapter bead, which is radially enclosed by an inner radial surface of the second aperture.
In regards to the inner and outer seals in channels, Chisnell discloses a similar washer (26, fig. 5) pressed directly against a flange (48, fig. 4) of an adaptor (44, figs. 4-5),
wherein the washer comprises an inner and outer rubber annular seal (see near 32 in fig. 5) comprises an inner and outer annular grooves (see fig. 5) to create a seal between the adaptor and an inner surface of a bore (66, fig. 5; see 4:1-8).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date to modify the washer of Murias with the provision of an rubber O-ring in an annular groove in both the innermost and outermost annular surface of the washer to further provide sealing contact with the adapter body and the primary block, as taught by Chisnell (4:1-8, where a seal is created between the female block and the adaptor).
In regards to the steps positioning, Schroeder discloses a similar device comprising two configurations where:
a first configuration (see fig. 1) an adaptor (30) is placed within an annular groove (25) of a male block (12) and an O-ring seal (34) is placed in an annular groove of a female block (14), and
a second configuration (see fig. 3) where an adaptor (30’) and an O-ring seal (34’) are both placed within a stepped groove of a female block (14’) and pressed by a mating surface (see near 64’) of a male block (62’).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date to modify device of Murias in view of Chisnell such that at least a portion of the annular bead of the adaptor is radially enclosed by an inner radial surface of the second aperture to meet the limitation of the claim because Schroeder discloses that there are a finite number of identified and predictable solutions of positioning the annular bead of the adaptor either within the stepped bore of male block (see fig. 3, where the bore near 26’ is enlarged) or within the stepped bore of the female block (see fig. 1, where bore 26 is smaller and a bore 24 is added; ex., similar to Murias), modifying the thickness of the blocks to re-position at least a portion of the annular bead to be within the stepped surface such that at least a portion of the annular bead is radially enclosed would not have modified the operation of the device (ex., radially enclosing at least the cylindrical portion of the annular bead), and it has been held that claims which read on the prior art except with regard to the position were held unpatentable because shifting the position of an element would not have modified the operation of the device. See In reJapikse, 181 F.2d 1019, 86 USPQ 70 (CCPA 1950) in MPEP 2144.04(VI)(C). A person of ordinary skill could have pursued the known potential solutions with a reasonable expectation of success because modifying the thickness/positions of the device to a known configuration as shown by Schroder to meet the limitation of claim is within their technical grasp and would not have produced any new results.
In regards to claim 17, Murias in view of Chisnell further discloses:
The method of claim 16, further includes the step of inserting a fastening member (182) through a second mating bore (178) formed in the mating block to be securely tightened in a second bore (see near 110) formed in the primary block.
In regards to claim 18, Murias in view of Chisnell further discloses:
The method of claim 16, wherein the step of placing the seal washer between the primary block and the adapter body along the longitudinal axis includes the step of placing the seal washer around the first outlet of the adapter body (ex., see fig. 3 of Murias, where the first outlet is directly against the washer) such that the inner seal member of the seal washer is frictionally engaged with the first outlet of the adapter body (it is inherent that providing a washer with an inner and outer seal would meet the limitation of the claims based on fig. 3 of Murias).
In regards to claim 19, Murias in view of Chisnell further discloses:
The method of claim 16, wherein, when the adapter body with the seal washer is inserted into the first bore of the primary block (ex., see fig. 3 of Murias),
the outer seal member of the seal washer is frictionally engaged with an inner radial surface formed in the inward directed step (it is inherent that providing a washer with an inner and outer seal would meet the limitation of the claim based on fig. 3 of Murias).
In regards to claim 20, Murias in view of Chisnell further discloses:
The method of claim 16, wherein, in an assembled configuration of the block fitting device, the seal washer is disposed in a sealing contact with the adapter body and the primary block in a radial direction relative to the longitudinal axis (ex., see fig. 3 of Murias).
In regards to claim 21, Murias further discloses:
The method of claim 16, further includes the step of inserting a first tube (20) into a first aperture (114) formed in the primary block to be connected in a firmly bonded manner.
In regards to claim 22, Murias further discloses:
The method of claim 16, further includes the step of inserting a second tube (22) into a second outlet (144) formed in the adapter body to be connected in a firmly bonded manner.
In regards to claim 23, Murias further discloses:
The block fitting device of claim 1, wherein the block fitting device is a part of a refrigerant or coolant circuit arranged in a vehicle (see 0001).
Claim(s) 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Murias in view of Chisnell and Schroeder as applied to claim 6 above and in further view of Chanon (U.S. Patent No. 12,038,244).
In regards to claim 8, Murias in view of Chisnell and Schroeder discloses:
The block fitting device of claim 6,
but does not disclose:
wherein, in the assembled configuration, the block fitting device has a first radial gap defined between a stepped annular surface of the primary block and a first plane surface of the seal washer, and a second radial gap define between a second plane surface of the seal washer and a first surface of the adapter bead.
In regards to the radial gap on both sides of the seal, Chanon discloses a similar device comprising a male block (202) comprising a stepped surface (see near 238) comprising a seal washer (226, fig. 2) pressed against an adaptor (216) such that there is a radial gap between the adaptor and seal and a radial gap between the stepped surface of the male block and the seal washer to provide a reduction in galvanic corrosion (13:5-11).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date to modify the seal washers of Murias in view of Chisnell and Schroeder with the provision of radial gaps between the stepped annular surface and the seal and radial gaps between the adaptor bead and the seal such that the thickness of the washer is less than the thickness of the seal because Chanon discloses that providing radial gaps between the metal washer and the stepped annular surface and between the metal washer and bead of the adaptor provide a reduction in galvanic corrosion (13:5-11).
Claim(s) 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Murias in view of Chisnell and Schroeder as applied to claim 1 above and in further view of Schroeder et al. (U.S. Patent No. 6,834,893).
In regards to claim 14, Murias in view of Chisnell disclose:
The block fitting device of claim 1, wherein the first aperture (ex., near 114, fig. 4) receives a first tube (20) in a firmly bonded manner, and
a second aperture (ex., near 116) having the inward directed step formed in a planar inner end surface,
but does not disclose:
the first aperture extending from a planar outer end surface.
In regards to the aperture shape, Schroeder discloses a similar device comprising two configurations where:
a first configuration (see fig. 2) where a primary block comprises a aperture (see near 70) formed in a planar end surface comprising a pipe (72), and
a second configuration (see fig. 3) where a primary block comprises an aperture (see near 84) extending from a planar outer end surface (ex., planar outer end surface near 84).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date to modify the shape of the aperture of Murias in view of Chisnell and Schroeder such that the aperture extends from a planar outer end surface because Schroeder discloses that there are a finite number of identified and predictable solutions of having the aperture either formed in a planar end surface (see fig. 2) or extending from a planar end surface (see fig. 3), modifying the shape of the aperture to extend from the planar outer end surface would not have produced any new or unexpected results, and a change of shape (ex., a bore within a planar surface vs an extruded bore) has been held to be a design consideration within the skill of the art. In re Dailey 357 F.2d 669, 672-73 (CCPA 1966) (referred to in MPEP 2144.04(IV)(B)). A person of ordinary skill could have pursued the known potential solutions with a reasonable expectation of success because modifying the bore of Murias in view of Chisnell and Schroeder such that the bore is extruded from the planar end surface (ex., as shown by Schroeder) is within their technical grasp and would produce no new results.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Schroeder et al. (U.S. Patent No. 6,834,893) which was relied upon above, is considered the second best reference which also discloses that adapters (88, fig. 3) are known to comprise an annular flange (90) and be radially enclosed by the female block (84; ex., compared to Murias adapter comprising a tapered surface and not within the female block).
Fetzer (EP-1548348) discloses a similar device comprising multiple variants of having a flange either within a stepped surface (ex., see figs. 2, 8, 11, and 14) or not within a stepped surface (see figs. 4, 5, 6, and 17) which are obvious variants of each other such that when an annular bead of an adapter is not within the stepped surface less squeezing of an O-ring occurs (ex., see fig. 17).
Anderson (U.S. Patent No. 5,308,125) discloses that it is known to provide radial gaps between a metal washer and a flange to prevent binding (4:23-29) and that it is known to have an annular bead within a stepped surface to allow the bead to fit freely into the stepped surface (3:6-8).
Kim (U.S. Patent No. 7,766,391) discloses that it is obvious to do a reversal of tongue/grooves between the washer and seals (see fig. 9, where the metal washer has a protrusion or the metal washer has a groove to accept a protrusion of the seals). In addition, it is shown that an adaptor (803-2 in fig. 34) can be used instead of a monolithic block comprising a flanged end surface.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/A.T.R./Examiner, Art Unit 3679
/Matthew Troutman/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3679