DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 3-5, 11, 14-16, 18-21, 24-25 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by US 2017/0271875 (Narla).
Regarding claim 1, Narla teaches a power conversion device (Fig. 2 shows system 200) [0032] comprising: an input unit (Fig. 2 shows PV inverter 202 having an input unit) receiving voltage generated from a photovoltaic power generation panel (Fig. 2 shows input unit receiving voltage generated from PV array 201) [0030]; a power conversion unit (Fig. 2 shows PV inverter 202) configured to convert input voltage input to the input unit (Fig. 3-4 shows PV inverter 202 configured to convert input voltage input to the input unit) [0028]; an output unit outputting the converted voltage to a grid or load (Fig. 2 shows an output unit outputting the converted voltage to a grid 203 or load 208) [0027-28]; and a voltage-discharging unit (Fig. 2 shows RSD 209 and DC disconnected switch 224) connected to the input unit and configured to discharge the input voltage (Fig. 2 shows RSD 209 and DC disconnect switch 224 i.e. voltage-discharging unit connected to the input unit and configured to discharge the input voltage) [0028, 0032].
Regarding claim 3, Narla teaches wherein the input voltage is a first DC voltage, and wherein the power conversion unit (Fig. 2 shows inverter 202) comprises: a DC-DC converter unit (Fig. 2 shows DC/DC converter 205) configured to convert the first DC voltage into a second DC voltage (Fig. 2 shows DC/DC converter 205 configured to convert the first DC voltage into a second DC voltage) [0027]; and an inverter unit (Fig. 2 shows DC/AC 207) configured to convert the second DC voltage into a first AC voltage (Fig. 2 shows DC/AC inverter 207 configured to convert the second DC voltage into a first AC voltage) [0027-28].
Regarding claim 4, Narla teaches comprising: a control unit (Fig. 2 shows detection and initiation circuit 204) [0029] configured to operate the voltage-discharging unit (Fig. 2 shows DC disconnect switch 224) according to a state of the input voltage (de) [0032-33].
Regarding claim 5, Narla teaches wherein the control unit monitors the input voltage (Fig. 2 shows detection and initiation circuit 204 monitoring the input voltage via detecting when a signal continually sent through power lines 211 ceases to be transmitted) [0033], and, when the input voltage is lower than a first voltage (when a signal continually sent through power lines 211 ceases to be transmitted i.e. input voltage is lower than a first voltage) [0033], turns off operation of the power conversion unit and operates the voltage-discharging unit (disables operation of inverter 202 and operates the DC disconnect switch 224 i.e. voltage-discharging unit) [0029, 0034].
Regarding claim 11, Narla teaches wherein when the input voltage is in abnormal state, the control unit turns off operation of the power conversion unit and operates the voltage-discharging unit (when the power signal through power line 211 is ceasing to exist i.e. abnormal state, detection and initiation circuit 204 turns off operation of inverter 202 and operates the DC disconnect switch 224 and RSD) [0029, 0034].
Regarding claim 14, Narla teaches wherein the voltage-discharging unit comprises an RSD performing unit which performs rapid shut down (RSD) for the input voltage [0030].
Regarding claim 15, Narla teaches wherein the RSD performing unit operates as standby mode or sleep mode in normal state and operates as wake-up mode in abnormal state [0033, 0035-36].
Regarding claim 16, Narla teaches a photovoltaic power generation system (Fig. 2 shows PV system 200) [0032], comprising:
at least one photovoltaic power generation panel (Fig. 2 shows PV array 201); and
a power conversion module (Fig. 2 shows PV inverter 202) configured to convert voltage generated by the photovoltaic power generation panel and output it to a grid or a load (Fig. 3-4 shows PV inverter 202 configured to convert input voltage input to the input unit) [0028],
wherein the power conversion module (Fig. 2 shows PV inverter 202) comprises:
an input unit receiving voltage generated by the photovoltaic power generation panel (Fig. 2 shows PV inverter 202 having an input unit);
a power conversion unit configured to convert input voltage input to the input unit (Fig. 3-4 shows PV inverter 202 configured to convert input voltage input to the input unit) [0028];
an output unit outputting the converted voltage to a grid or a load (Fig. 2 shows an output unit outputting the converted voltage to a grid 203 or load 208) [0027-28]; and
a voltage-discharging unit (Fig. 2 shows RSD 209 and DC disconnected switch 224) connected to the input unit and configured to discharge the input voltage (Fig. 2 shows RSD 209 and DC disconnect switch 224 i.e. voltage-discharging unit connected to the input unit and configured to discharge the input voltage) [0028, 0032].
Regarding claim 18, Narla teaches wherein the input voltage is a first DC voltage, and wherein the power conversion unit (Fig. 2 shows inverter 202) comprises: a DC-DC converter unit (Fig. 2 shows DC/DC converter 205) configured to convert the first DC voltage into a second DC voltage (Fig. 2 shows DC/DC converter 205 configured to convert the first DC voltage into a second DC voltage) [0027]; and an inverter unit (Fig. 2 shows DC/AC 207) configured to convert the second DC voltage into a first AC voltage (Fig. 2 shows DC/AC inverter 207 configured to convert the second DC voltage into a first AC voltage) [0027-28].
Regarding claim 19, Narla teaches comprising: a control unit (Fig. 2 shows detection and initiation circuit 204) [0029] configured to operate the voltage-discharging unit (Fig. 2 shows DC disconnect switch 224) according to a state of the input voltage (detecting the state of the power signal passing through power line 211) [0032-33].
Regarding claim 20, Narla teaches wherein the control unit monitors the input voltage (Fig. 2 shows detection and initiation circuit 204 monitoring the input voltage via detecting when a signal continually sent through power lines 211 ceases to be transmitted) [0033], and, when the input voltage is lower than a first voltage (when a signal continually sent through power lines 211 ceases to be transmitted i.e. input voltage is lower than a first voltage) [0033], turns off operation of the power conversion unit and operates the voltage-discharging unit (disables operation of inverter 202 and operates the DC disconnect switch 224 i.e. voltage-discharging unit) [0029, 0034].
Regarding claim 21, Narla teaches wherein when the input voltage is in abnormal state, the control unit turns off operation of the power conversion unit and operates the voltage-discharging unit (when the power signal through power line 211 is ceasing to exist i.e. abnormal state, detection and initiation circuit 204 turns off operation of inverter 202 and operates the DC disconnect switch 224 and RSD) [0029, 0034].
Regarding claim 24, Narla teaches wherein the voltage-discharging unit comprises an RSD performing unit which performs rapid shut down (RSD) for the input voltage [0030].
Regarding claim 25, Narla teaches wherein the RSD performing unit operates as standby mode or sleep mode in normal state and operates as wake-up mode in abnormal state [0033, 0035-36].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2, 12-13, 17, 22-23 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2017/0271875 (Narla ‘875) in view of US 2018/0269829 (Narla ‘829).
Regarding claim 2, Narla ‘875 does not teach wherein the input unit is connected to the MLPE, which optimizes voltage of the photovoltaic power generation panel, and receives the input voltage.
However, Narla ‘829 teaches wherein the input unit is connected to the MLPE (Fig. 3 shows input unit connected to MLPE 334), which optimizes voltage of the photovoltaic power generation panel, and receives the input voltage (MLPE 334 comprises of optimizers monitor input voltage) [0034].
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have wherein the input unit is connected to the MLPE, which optimizes voltage of the photovoltaic power generation panel, and receives the input voltage as taught by Narla ‘829 in order to monitor the health of PV module while incorporated within the PV module without requiring additional sensor thereby saving space.
Regarding claim 12, Narla ‘875 teaches wherein the voltage-discharging unit (Fig. 2 shows RSD 209 and DC disconnect switch 224) comprises: a switching unit configured to be turned on when the input voltage is lower than a first voltage (Fig. 2 shows RSD 209 and DC disconnect switch 224 being activated when the input voltage is lower than a first voltage) [0033-34].
However, Narla ‘875 does not teach a resistance element discharging the input voltage to be lower than a second voltage according to operation of the switching unit.
However, Narla’829 teaches a resistance element discharging the input voltage to be lower than a second voltage according to operation of the switching unit.
However, Narla’829 teaches a resistance element discharging the input voltage to be lower than a second voltage according to operation of the switching unit (Fig. 6A-B shows switching elements of Fig. 3-4 comprising a resistance element 606, 608, 6123, 614 discharging the input voltage to be lower than a second voltage according to operation of the switching unit 600) [0036].
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a resistance element discharging the input voltage to be lower than a second voltage according to operation of the switching units as taught by Narla ‘829 in order to monitor the health of the switching element and protect the circuitry from damages due to overvoltage.
Regarding claim 13, Narla ‘875 teaches wherein the switching unit comprises a MOSFET (Fig. 2 shows RSD 209 being MOSFETs) [0024, 0035].
Regarding claim 17, Narla ‘875 does not teach wherein the input unit is connected to the MLPE, which optimizes voltage of the photovoltaic power generation panel, and receives the input voltage.
However, Narla ‘829 teaches wherein the input unit is connected to the MLPE (Fig. 3 shows input unit connected to MLPE 334), which optimizes voltage of the photovoltaic power generation panel, and receives the input voltage (MLPE 334 comprises of optimizers monitor input voltage) [0034].
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have wherein the input unit is connected to the MLPE, which optimizes voltage of the photovoltaic power generation panel, and receives the input voltage as taught by Narla ‘829 in order to monitor the health of PV module while incorporated within the PV module without requiring additional sensor thereby saving space.
Regarding claim 22, Narla ‘875 teaches wherein the voltage-discharging unit (Fig. 2 shows RSD 209 and DC disconnect switch 224) comprises: a switching unit configured to be turned on when the input voltage is lower than a first voltage (Fig. 2 shows RSD 209 and DC disconnect switch 224 being activated when the input voltage is lower than a first voltage) [0033-34].
However, Narla ‘875 does not teach a resistance element discharging the input voltage to be lower than a second voltage according to operation of the switching unit.
However, Narla’829 teaches a resistance element discharging the input voltage to be lower than a second voltage according to operation of the switching unit.
However, Narla’829 teaches a resistance element discharging the input voltage to be lower than a second voltage according to operation of the switching unit (Fig. 6A-B shows switching elements of Fig. 3-4 comprising a resistance element 606, 608, 6123, 614 discharging the input voltage to be lower than a second voltage according to operation of the switching unit 600) [0036].
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a resistance element discharging the input voltage to be lower than a second voltage according to operation of the switching units as taught by Narla ‘829 in order to monitor the health of the switching element and protect the circuitry from damages due to overvoltage.
Regarding claim 23, Narla teaches wherein the switching unit comprises a MOSFET [0036-37].
Conclusion
SWARNA N. CHOWDHURI
Examiner
Art Unit 2836
/S.N.C/Examiner, Art Unit 2836
/REXFORD N BARNIE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2836