Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 9, 13 & 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) or (a)(2) as being anticipated by Makihara et al. (US 20210125758).
9. Makihara et al. teach:
An electric device/test machine 40 comprising:
an electromagnetic induction coil 11;
an elastic body 20 containing a magnetized magnetic powder (abstract) and configured to generate a magnetic field passing through the electromagnetic induction coil (fig 1) and to change a magnetic flux density of the magnetic field when elastically deformed by receiving an external force (figs 2A and 2B show the changing density before and after the elastic body is compressed);
a rectifier unit/power generation system 50 (the rectifier unit is inherent since there is an oscillatory motion to induce the current that is to be stored in the battery 51, figs 9A and 9B and MPEP 2112) configured to rectify an induced current induced in the electromagnetic induction coil by a change in the magnetic flux density (from the compression of the suspension 61, fig 9B);
a load unit/detection device 80 configured to operate by receiving the induced current from the rectifier unit/power generation system 50; and
a case/vehicle body 60B and flange 65T (the vehicle body and flange make a 2-part housing that is similar in function and structure to applicants case, applicant’s fig 3) accommodating the electromagnetic induction coil and the elastic body and being extensible and contractible together with the elastic body (fig 9B).
13. Makihara et al. teach:
The electric device according to claim 9, wherein the load unit includes a wireless circuit (The alarm device 85 has a wireless setup and it is included with the detection device just as applicant’s disclosed load unit, fig 11) configured to output a wireless signal (the detection device sends a wireless signal to the alarm device, para 0076 last three sentences) in response to the receiving of the induced current from the rectifier unit.
14. Makihara et al. teach:
The electric device according to claim 9, wherein the elastic body is a foamed elastomer (abstract).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 10 & 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Makihara et al. in view of Yamaoka et al. (GB 2253677).
10. Makihara et al. has been discussed above, re claim 9; but does not teach that the case is a non-magnetic body.
Yamaoka et al. teach that the case/reservoir tube 112 and outer tube 123 together is a non-magnetic body (page 20 last two sentences). This would prevent interference with the electromagnetic nature of the coil and elastic body and provide protection from the elements, improving the reliability of the device.
Thus, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art prior to the invention of Makihara et al. being effectively filed to modify it such that the case is a non-magnetic body, as taught by Yamaoka et al. so as to improve the reliability of the device.
11. Makihara et al. in view of Yamaoka et al. teach:
The electric device according to claim 9, wherein the case (Of Yamaoka et al.) includes a pair of cylindrical bodies 112 and 123 partially fitted to each other (Yamaoka et al. fig 8).
Claim(s) 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Makihara et al. in view of Wilson (US 20040100100).
12. Makihara et al. has been discussed above, re claim 9; but does not teach that the rectifier unit includes a secondary battery that is charged by the induced current to enable power supply to the load unit.
Wilson teaches that the rectifier unit 76a includes a secondary battery 84 that is charged by the induced current (from coil 32) to enable power supply to the load unit (of Makihara et al.) which ensures that Makihara et al. load unit will be powered which improves its reliability.
As a result, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art prior to the invention of Makihara et al. such that the rectifier unit includes a secondary battery that is charged by the induced current to enable power supply to the load unit, as taught by Wilson so as to improve the devices reliability.
Conclusion
/TERRANCE L KENERLY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2834