DETAILED ACTION
Claims filed 2-24-2025
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 9-9-2026 was filed after the mailing date of the application filed on 2-24-2025. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 4, 6, 11 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 4 recited wherein the source microphone is disposed within “a throw angle” of the source speaker.
Claim 6 recited wherein the suppression microphone disposed within “a throw angle” of the suppression speaker.
Claim 11 recited further comprising: positioning the source speaker to emit the source sound in a first desired throw angle; and orienting the suppression speaker to emit the suppression sound in a second desired throw angle.
It is not clear how to read “a throw angle”
Referred to applicant’s specification para [0030] stated that source speaker is intended to play the desired sound, at a throw angle and magnitude, which may be selectable. The positioning of each speaker may be selected to achieve a desired sound profile, e.g., a desired throw angle and magnitude.
Referred to applicant’s specification para [0039] stated that the speakers may be mounted in various orientations (e.g. back-to-front, back-to-back, one speaker vertical, one on its side, etc.) depending on desired sound profile, e.g., throw angle. The distance between the speakers in the assembled orientation may also vary based on the scenario or location of mounting, and the desired sound profile.
For examination purpose, examiner reads “a throw angle” is a “ sound profile”. “sound profile” by definition is the distinct way an audio frequencies, specifically bass, midrange, and treble.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 5, 8-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Bradford 7088828
Regarding claim 1, Bradford discloses a directional speaker apparatus, comprising: a source speaker (Fig 1, speaker 36, col 5 line 34-42) for emitting a source sound; and
a suppression speaker (Figs 1-2 and 10, a suppression speaker 34, col 5 line 34-42, col 10 line 61 to col 11 line 1-20) for emitting a suppression sound.
Regarding claim 2, Bradford discloses the apparatus of claim 1, further comprising: a processor (Figs 1- 2 and 10, electronic module 32, 60, Fig 3, electronic module 80 includes a computer 82 including a processor 84, col 7 line 16-24, col 13 line 3-15) configured to calculate the suppression sound and send the suppression sound to the suppression speaker (col 13 line 32-51 discloses the electronic module 32 determines the delay for each suppression speaker 34 separately and determines a separate ant-voice signal 68 for each suppression speaker 34, The electronics module 32 outputs the anti-voice signal 68 through the anti-voice signal output 66 of the electronic module 32 to the suppression speaker 34. The suppression speaker 34 outputs the anti-voice output 42 from the suppression speaker 34 to form a voice suppression zone 46 adjacent to the suppression speaker 34, col 6 line 35-40, col 2 line 30-45).
Regarding claim 3, Bradford discloses the apparatus of claim 2, further comprising a source microphone (Fig 2 microphone 30 coupled to the processor (electronic module 32, col 7 line 16-24).
Regarding claim 5, Bradford discloses the apparatus of claim 2, further comprising a suppression microphone (Fig 2 a suppression microphone/microphone 74 coupled to the processor (processor/electronic module 32, col 6 line 30-55).
Regarding claim 8, Bradford discloses a method for directional sound emission, comprising: emitting a source sound from a source speaker (Fig 1, speaker 36, col 5 line 34-42); and emitting a suppression sound (Figs 1-2 a suppression speaker 34, col 5 line 34-42) from a suppression speaker.
Regarding claim 9, Bradford discloses the method of claim 8, further comprising: calculating the suppression sound using a processor and sending, via the processor, the suppression sound to the suppression speaker for emission (Fig 2, electronic module 32, 60, Fig 3, electronic module 80 includes a computer 82 including a processor 84, col 7 line 16-24, col 13 line 3-15, col 13 line 32-67 discloses the electronic module 32 determines the delay for each suppression speaker 34 separately and determines a separate ant-voice signal 68 for each suppression speaker 34, The electronics module 32 outputs the anti-voice signal 68 through the anti-voice signal output 66 of the electronic module 32 to the suppression speaker 34. The suppression speaker 34 outputs the anti-voice output 42 from the suppression speaker 34 to form a voice suppression zone 46 adjacent to the suppression speaker 34, col 6 line 35-40).
Regarding claim 10, Bradford 7088828 discloses the method of claim 8, further comprising: detecting sound characteristic data using a microphone (Fig 2 microphone 30 coupled to the processor (electronic module 32, col 7 line 16-24), sending the sound
characteristic data to the processor (Fig 2, electronic module 32, 60, Fig 3, electronic module 80 includes a computer 82 including a processor 84, col 7 line 16-24, col 13 line 3-15) and wherein calculating includes based on the sound characteristic data (col 13 line 42-51 discloses suppression speaker 34 is associated with an input microphone 30. Typically, each suppression speaker 34 is associated with the input microphone 30 that is closest to it. The electronics module 32 determines the delay for each suppression speaker 34 separately and determines a separate anti-voice signal 68 for each suppression speaker 34. The delay for the anti-voice signal 68 for a particular suppression speaker 34 is based on the distance from that suppression speaker 34 to its associated input microphone 30).
Regarding claim 11, Referred to 112 rejection above. Bradford discloses the method of claim 8, further comprising: positioning the source speaker (Fig 1 and 10, speaker 36 to emit the source sound in a first desired throw angle/first desire frequency range); and orienting the suppression speaker (Figs 1 and 10 suppression speaker 34 to emit the suppression sound in a second desired throw angle/second desire frequency range).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4 and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over
Bradford 7088828 in view of Vautrin 11758317 further in view of Saunders 2004/0234094
Regarding claim 4, Bradford does not explicitly disclose the apparatus of claim 3, wherein the source microphone is disposed within a throw angle of the source speaker.
Referred to 112 rejection above.
Vautrin teaches transducer/speaker can generally refer to audible frequencies above 2KHz, col 11 line 63 to col 12 line 1-6.
Saunders teaches in para [10] teaches electroacoustic transducer/microphone to suppress the sound pressure levels observed by the microphone over a relatively narrow band of frequencies 20 Hz to 1 KHz.
Vautrin teaches speaker frequency above 2KHz and Saunders teaches microphone frequency band 20 Hz to 1KHz, the microphone frequency 20Hz to 1 KHz which is within the speaker frequency above 2KHz.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to incorporate transducer/speaker can generally refer to audible frequencies above 2KHz as taught by Saunders and incorporate the microphone frequency 20Hz to 1 KHz as taught by Vautrin in Bradford’s invention in order to improve sound quality and/or volume of sound emission.
Regarding claim 6, the apparatus of claim 5, wherein the suppression microphone is disposed within a throw angle of the suppression speaker. Referred to 112 rejection above.
By definition: Microphone noise suppression and capture typically operate across standard human vocal and environmental frequency ranges. Human Voice Range: Generally falls between 85 Hz and 255 Hz for fundamental pitches.
By definition: A suppression speaker emitting a 1,000 Hertz (1 kHz) frequency range typically refers to a specialized audio transducer or sound generator utilized for Active Noise Cancellation (ANC), acoustic masking, or diagnostic calibration.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention the suppression microphone (frequency between 85 Hz and 255 Hz) which is disposed within a throw angle of the suppression speaker (1000 Hz) for improving a directional speaker apparatus.
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bradford 7088828 in view of Field 2018/0075712
Regarding claim 7, Bradford does not explicitly disclose the claimed limitation as recited in claim 7.
Field teaches the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the source speaker is a siren and the source sound is a siren sound (para [41] teaches speaker 306 can be a loudspeaker, siren, or other audible notification device). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to implement wherein the source speaker is a siren and the source sound is a siren sound as taught by Siemens in Bradford’s invention, siren make a loud, repeating sound that changes pitch or tone to grab attention and warn people in danger.
Conclusion
/JULIE X DANG/Examiner, Art Unit 2692
/CAROLYN R EDWARDS/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2692