DETAILED ACTION
This is the initial Office action for application SN 19/105,989 having an effective date of 24 February 2025 and a Foreign priority date of 25 August 2022 (European Patent Office). A preliminary amendment was filed on 05 March 2025. Claims 1-16 are pending. The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA .
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Independent claim 1, the only independent claim presented, is drawn to a method of using a metal-free carbon material, without setting forth any steps involved in the method. Attempts to claim a process without setting forth any steps involved in the process generally raises an issue of indefiniteness under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph. For example, a claim which read: "[a] process for using monoclonal antibodies of claim 4 to isolate and purify human fibroblast interferon" was held to be indefinite because it merely recites a use without any active, positive steps delimiting how this use is actually practiced. Ex parte Erlich, 3 USPQ2d 1011 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1986). [AltContent: rect]
Further, independent claim 1 does not contain a transitional phrase, i.e., “comprising”, “consisting essentially of”, “consisting of’, etc., which defines the scope of the claim with respect to what unreacted additional components or steps, if any, are excluded from the scope of the claim.
The term “strictly” in claim 2 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “strictly” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. The claim should recite “wherein the temperature is less than 600°C”.
Regarding claim 5, the phrase "for example" set forth in lines 2, 3 and 5, renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitation(s) following the phrase are part of the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2173.05(d).
Dependent claim 7, drawn to “Method for converting plastic into C2-C4 olefin and/or other hydrocarbons…” fails to further limit the subject matter of independent claim 1 from which it depends. Claims 1 is drawn to a method (“Method of using…”) which differs from the method of dependent claim 7.
In dependent claim 16, there is no proper antecedent basis for “said C5+ liquid hydrocarbon” in claim 1 from which claim 16 depends. Method claim 1 recites “other hydrocarbons” and not “C5+ liquid hydrocarbon”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Guslisty (US 2022/0154074) in view of Maxwell et al (US 2016/0075953).
Guslisty discloses a pyrolysis reactor and process for processing or recycling waste material (Abstract). Guslisty discloses an improved pyrolysis method for processing or recycling waste, for example polymer and plastic waste [0001].
According to an aspect of the invention, Guslisty discloses a pyrolysis reactor for the processing or recycling of waste material, wherein the pyrolysis reactor includes an induction heating apparatus comprising an induction heater outside of an internal cavity of the pyrolysis reactor. Guslisty discloses that the induction heating apparatus is configured to heat feedstock material within the internal cavity of the reactor [0012]. Guslisty discloses that one or more induction heating apparatuses may be used in the process.
Guslisty discloses that the feedstock material may include one or more of elastomeric materials including polymeric materials [0026].
Guslisty discloses that the induction heating apparatus includes susceptor granules which may be made from any suitable inductive material, for example stainless steel or a similar high-grade alloy [0042].
Guslisty discloses that direct contact between susceptor granules and feedstock granules causes the feedstock to be heated to the required temperature (for example 600°C) [0057]. Guslisty discloses that feedstock granules may be formed from a heterogeneous mixture of polymers [0061].
The examiner is of the position that the processed material [0062] produced in Guslisty at least implicitly leads to the conversion into light olefins and/or other hydrocarbons.
The claimed invention differs by using a metal-free carbon material in the conversion (pyrolysis) process which may be selected from graphite, graphene, mesoporous carbon, carbon black, acetylene black, pyrolytic carbon, activated carbon and combinations thereof. However, Maxwell et al [“Maxwell”] is added to teach that electrically conductive materials that can be induction-heated for use in pyrolysis processes include metals such as stainless steel, as well as non-metals carbon, carbon graphite, and graphene [0062]. Maxwell discloses that any hydrocarbon-containing materials may be used in the pyrolysis treatment.
Thus, in view of the prior art references, the examiner is of the position that it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have used non-metals such as carbon, carbon graphite, and graphene, as evidenced by Maxwell, in the process for processing or recycling waste material disclosed in Guslisty, as electrically conductive materials that can be used with induction-heat for use in pyrolysis processes, with the expectation of success. There are no examples in the specification that demonstrate the effectiveness or unexpected results of using metal-free carbon materials for converting plastic under direct induction heating as claimed over conventional susceptors as disclosed in Guslisty.
The examiner is of the position that the dependent claims do not set forth anything that goes beyond the constructive or procedural measures in the immediate reach of a person of ordinary skill in the art. For example, determining an appropriate temperature less than 600°C, such as 100 to 300°C disclosed in Guslisty [0058], and determining an appropriate BET surface area of between 0.10 m2/g and up to 2000 m2/g of the metal-free carbon material, is within the abilities of the skilled artisan. The examiner is of the position that determining a morphology of the metal-free carbon material other than granule is a matter of routine process design. In regard to dependent claim 7, the optional step of pre-cracking the plastic would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art if the known benefits were so desired.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
/ELLEN M MCAVOY/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1771
EMcAvoy
September 29, 2026