DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-8, 10, and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Endle et al (US 2014/0345883 A1).
Regarding claims 1-4, 6, and 8, Endle teaches a mineral wool mat (e.g., a monolithic gravity-laid inorganic fiber web) comprising at least a plurality of mineral fibers (e.g., glass fibers) stacked on top of each other and side by side within the mineral wool mat (e.g., monolithic), the mineral fibers being secured to one another by a bonding element formed by means of thermally bonding fibers; wherein the bonding element is obtained by melting the thermally bonding fibers. (para 3, 28-29, 38, 42).
Endle teaches the inorganic fiber webs may have a thickness greater than 5 cm (i.e., 50 mm); a density of less than 0.1 g/cm3 (i.e., 100 kg/m3); and the thermal bonding fibers (e.g., organic binder fibers may be less than about 20% based on the total weight of inorganic fiber web (para 3, 28-29, 39). These ranges substantially overlap that of the instant claims. It has been held that overlapping ranges are sufficient to establish prima facie obviousness. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to have selected from the overlapping portion of the range taught by Endle, because overlapping ranges have been held to establish prima facie obviousness (MPEP § 2144.05).
Regarding claim 5, Endle teaches wherein the mineral fibers secured to one another by a dry process (para 20, 60).
Regarding claim 7, Endle teaches wherein the thermally bonding fibers comprise a core and a sheath, the core having a melting temperature different from the melting temperature of the sheath (para 28).
Regarding claims 10 and 11, Endle teaches production method for producing a mineral wool mat according to claim 1, the production method implementing at least one first step wherein the thermally bonding fibers and the mineral fibers are mixed together (e.g., mixed in as a binder additive or previously blended), at least one second step wherein the previously mixed mineral fibers and thermally bonding fibers are deposited on a conveyor device (e.g carrier) by means of a mechanical guide means (e.g., rollers) to form a mineral fiber carpet, at least a third step wherein the mineral fiber carpet is conveyed by the conveyor device to an oven wherein the mineral fibers and the thermally bonding fibers are heated to form the mineral wool mat; wherein the mineral fiber carpet is produced continuously during the second step, in a single pass during which the fibers involved in forming the mineral fiber carpet passing through the oven are deposited one on top of the other in series (para 13-17, 28, 32, 47, fig 1).
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Endle as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Nielsen et al (US 2015/0298449 A1).
Endle teaches the mineral wool mat of claim 1; and that the mat is monolithic (i.e., wherein at least the mineral fibers are distributed homogeneously within the mineral wool mat) (abstract).
Endle fails to suggest the homogeneous distribution of the mineral fibers being considered in a transverse and/or vertical direction, each of these transverse and/or vertical directions being perpendicular to a main longitudinal direction of elongation of the mineral wool mat.
Nielsen teaches webs of mineral wool with a vertical fiber orientation (i.e., the mineral fibers being considered in a transverse and/or vertical direction, each of these transverse and/or vertical directions being perpendicular to a main longitudinal direction of elongation of the mineral wool mat); wherein the vertical fiber orientation provides high compression strength in the vertical direction and thereby a relatively high compression (abstract, 23, 25).
Therefore, per Nielsen, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to orient the fibers of Endle in a vertical direction to provide its monolithic inorganic fiber web with high compression strength in the vertical direction and thereby a relatively high compression.
Conclusion
NATHAN VAN SELL
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1783
/NATHAN L VAN SELL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1783