Status of Claims
Cancelled: 13, 14
Examined Herein: 1-12, 15-17
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant's claim for priority under based upon an application filed in PRO 63/373,945 on 8/30/2022 and PCT/EP2023/073801 on 8/30/2023.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 6/5/2025 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Drawings
The drawings received on 2/24/2025 are accepted.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 4-12, 15, and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Goodman (US 2007/0041902 A1, Published 2/22/2007), in view of Brown (Bioisosteres in Medicinal Chemistry, 2012, First Edition, Wiley-VCH Verlag GmbH & Co. KGaA).
With respect to claim 1, Goodman discloses a compound of Formula I, (4-Amino-3-iodo)-D-Phe-c[Cys-(3-iodo)-Tyr-D-Trp-Lys-Val-Cys]-Thr-NH2, that binds selectively to SST2 and SST5.
[Structure retrieved from MedChemExpress, Cat. No.: HY-P2434, AP102, depicting (4-Amino-3-iodo)-D-Phe-c[Cys-(3-iodo)-Tyr-D-Trp-Lys-Val-Cys]-Thr-NH2 disclosed by Goodman. For illustration purposes only.]
Wherein:
X1 is -I;
X2 is -I; and
Y1 is -H. [Goodman, 0012, 0030]
With respect to claim 4, Goodman discloses a compound of Formula I-A, (4-Amino-3-iodo)-D-Phe-c[Cys-(3-iodo)-Tyr-D-Trp-Lys-Val-Cys]-Thr-NH2, that binds selectively to SST2 and SST5;
[Structure retrieved from MedChemExpress, Cat. No.: HY-P2434, AP102, depicting (4-Amino-3-iodo)-D-Phe-c[Cys-(3-iodo)-Tyr-D-Trp-Lys-Val-Cys]-Thr-NH2 disclosed by Goodman. For illustration purposes only.]
Wherein:
X1 is -I; and
X2 is -I. [Goodman, 0012, 0030]
With respect to claim 12, Goodman discloses a pharmaceutical composition comprising the compound and a pharmaceutically acceptable carrier. [Goodman, 0051, 0056]
With respect to claims 15 and 17, Goodman discloses a method of treating an SST2 and SST5 cell proliferative disorder in a subject in need thereof comprising administering to the subject a therapeutically effective amount of the compound. [Goodman, 0019-0021, 0032, 0033, 0035, 0040, 0043]
Goodman does not disclose that X1 and X2 are not both -I.
However, with respect to claims 1 and 4-11, Brown discloses that fluorine, chlorine, bromine, and iodine are bioisosteres. [Brown, Page 23, 2.4.5] Brown discloses that bioisosteres are functional groups that share similar physical or chemical properties and maintain similar activity. Brown further discloses that bioisosterism is used in the discovery and development of a candidate for clinical evaluation by making small modifications to a lead compound to improve properties, such as pharmacological activity, selectivity, and pharmacokinetics. [Brown, Page 15, Paragraph 1]
Modifying the compound disclosed by Goodman by replacing X1 and/or X2 (each represented by iodine) with chlorine, bromine, and/or fluorine results in the compound of claim 1. More specifically:
Modifying the compound disclosed by Goodman by replacing X2 (iodine) with chlorine, bromine, or fluorine results in the compound of claims 1, 4, 6 (compound 1), and/or 7, wherein X1 is -I and X2 is -F, -Cl, or -Br, such that X1 and X2 are not both -I.
Modifying the compound disclosed by Goodman by replacing X1 (iodine) with chlorine results in the compound of claims 1, 4, 6 (compound 2), and/or 8, wherein X1 is -Cl and X2 is -I, such that X1 and X2 are not both -I.
Modifying the compound disclosed by Goodman by replacing each of X1 and X2 (iodine) with chlorine results in the compound of claims 1, 4, 5, 6 (compound 3) and 9, wherein X1 is -Cl and X2 is -Cl.
Modifying the compound disclosed by Goodman by replacing each of X1 and X2 (iodine) with fluorine results in the compound of claims 1, 4, 5, 6 (compound 4) and 10, wherein X1 is -F and X2 is -F.
Modifying the compound disclosed by Goodman by replacing each of X1 and X2 (iodine) with bromine results in the compound of claims 1, 4, 5, 6 (compound 5) and 11, wherein X1 is -Br and X2 is
-Br.
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the compound disclosed by Goodman by replacing X1 and/or X2 (each represented by iodine) with chlorine, bromine, and/or fluorine and have a reasonable expectation of success. Goodman discloses a compound, (4-Amino-3-iodo)-D-Phe-c[Cys-(3-iodo)-Tyr-D-Trp-Lys-Val-Cys]-Thr-NH2, that binds selectively to SST2 and SST5, comprising substituents X1 and X2 each represented by iodine. Brown discloses that fluorine, chlorine, bromine, and iodine are bioisosteres of each other, that is, functional groups that share similar physical or chemical properties and maintain similar activity. Brown further discloses that bioisosterism is used in the discovery and development of a candidate for clinical evaluation, involving small modifications to a lead compound to improve its properties. Accordingly, the combined teachings of Goodman and Brown reasonably suggest that X1 and/or X2 (each represented by iodine) in the compound disclosed by Goodman may be replaced with their bioisosteres fluorine, chlorine, and/or bromine. One would have been motivated to do so because a prima facie case of obviousness may be made when chemical compounds have very close structural similarities and similar utilities, with the expectation that compounds similar in structure will have similar properties. MPEP 2144.09(I). Moreover, claimed and prior art compounds are expected to have similar activity when the structural difference between the compounds involves a known bioisosteric replacement. MPEP 2144.09(III). Therefore, one would have been motivated to replace X1 and/or X2 (iodine) with chlorine, bromine, and/or fluorine because the halogens are bioisosteres of each other, and the modified compound suggested by Goodman and Brown would be expected to have activity similar to the compound disclosed by Goodman.
Claims 1-3, 5-12, and 15-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mansi (Evaluation of a New 177Lu-Labeled Somatostatin Analog for the Treatment of Tumors Expressing Somatostatin Receptor Subtypes 2 and 5, Molecules, 9/11/2020, 25(18): 4155), in view of Brown.
With respect to claim 1, Mansi discloses a compound of Formula I, DOTA-ST8950, that binds selectively to SST2 and SST5;
[Mansi, Page 3, Figure 1]
Wherein:
X1 is -I;
X2 is -I; and
Y1 is a chelator. [Mansi, Page 3, Figure 1]
With respect to claim 2, Mansi discloses that Y1 is a chelator. [Mansi, Page 3, Figure 1]
With respect to claims 3 and 16, Mansi discloses that the chelator is complexed to the radionuclide 177Lu. [Mansi, Page 3, Figure 1]
With respect to claim 12, Mansi discloses a pharmaceutical composition comprising the compound and a pharmaceutically acceptable carrier, sodium acetate buffer. [Mansi, Page 11, 3.1]
With respect to claims 15 and 17, Mansi discloses a method of treating an SST2 and SST5 cell proliferative disorder in a subject in need thereof comprising administering to the subject a therapeutically effective amount of the compound. [Mansi, Page 11, 3.5.1-3.5.3]
Mansi does not disclose that X1 and X2 are not both -I.
However, with respect to claims 1 and 5-11, Brown discloses that fluorine, chlorine, bromine, and iodine are bioisosteres. [Brown, Page 23, 2.4.5] Brown discloses that bioisosteres are functional groups that share similar physical or chemical properties and maintain similar activity. Brown further discloses that bioisosterism is used in the discovery and development process of a candidate for clinical evaluation by making small modifications to a lead compound to improve properties such as pharmacological activity, selectivity, and pharmacokinetics. [Brown, Page 15, Paragraph 1]
Modifying the compound disclosed by Mansi by replacing X1 and/or X2 (each represented by iodine) with chlorine, bromine, and/or fluorine results in the compound of claim 1. More specifically:
Modifying the compound disclosed by Mansi by replacing X2 (iodine) with chlorine, bromine, or fluorine results in the compound of claims 1, 6 (compound 1), and/or 7, wherein X1 is -I and X2 is -F, -Cl, or -Br, such that X1 and X2 are not both -I.
Modifying the compound disclosed by Mansi by replacing X1 (iodine) with chlorine results in the compound of claims 1, 6 (compound 2), and/or 8, wherein X1 is -Cl and X2 is -I, such that X1 and X2 are not both -I.
Modifying the compound disclosed by Mansi by replacing each of X1 and X2 (iodine) with chlorine results in the compound of claims 1, 5, 6 (compound 3) and 9, wherein X1 is -Cl and X2 is -Cl.
Modifying the compound disclosed by Mansi by replacing each of X1 and X2 (iodine) with fluorine results in the compound of claims 1, 5, 6 (compound 4) and 10, wherein X1 is -F and X2 is -F.
Modifying the compound disclosed by Mansi by replacing each of X1 and X2 (iodine) with bromine results in the compound of claims 1, 5, 6 (compound 5) and 11, wherein X1 is -Br and X2 is -Br.
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the compound disclosed by Mansi by replacing X1 and/or X2 (each represented by iodine) with chlorine, bromine, and/or fluorine and have a reasonable expectation of success. Mansi discloses a compound, DOTA-ST8950, that binds selectively to SST2 and SST5 comprising substituents X1 and X2 each represented by iodine. Brown discloses that fluorine, chlorine, bromine, and iodine are bioisosteres of each other, that is, functional groups that share similar physical or chemical properties and maintain similar activity. Brown further discloses that bioisosterism is used in the discovery and development of a candidate for clinical evaluation, involving small modifications to a lead compound to improve its properties. Accordingly, the combined teachings of Mansi and Brown reasonably suggest that X1 and X2 (each represented by iodine) in the compound disclosed by Mansi may be replaced with their bioisosteres fluorine, chlorine, and/or bromine. One would have been motivated to do so because a prima facie case of obviousness may be made when chemical compounds have very close structural similarities and similar utilities, with the expectation that compounds similar in structure will have similar properties. MPEP 2144.09(I). Moreover, claimed and prior art compounds are expected to have similar activity when the structural difference between the compounds involves a known bioisosteric replacement. MPEP 2144.09(III). Therefore, one would have been motivated to replace X1 and/or X2 (iodine) with chlorine, bromine, and/or fluorine because the halogens are bioisosteres of each other, and the modified compound suggested by Mansi and Brown would be expected to have activity similar to the compound disclosed by Mansi.
Conclusion
/K.A.C./Examiner, Art Unit 1618
/Michael G. Hartley/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1618