DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-12 are currently pending in the application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 4-5, 8-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Yazici (US 2022/0316352 A1).
Regarding independent claim 1, Yazici discloses a gas turbine cooling fluid guide 318, 400 (“flow diverter assembly”, Fig. 3, 4) for guiding a cooling fluid of a gas turbine (cooling air), the gas turbine including a plurality of turbine stator vanes 308 (mid-turbine vanes, Fig. 3) and a turbine casing 320, 602 (Fig. 3, 6A, 6B) which accommodates the plurality of turbine stator vanes (Fig. 3) and in which a cooling fluid supply hole 314 (outlet of a cooling air conduit 310; also see hole 616 in Fig. 6A, 6B) for supplying the cooling fluid to the plurality of turbine stator vanes is formed (Fig. 3, Para. 0052), the gas turbine cooling fluid guide comprising:
a fixed portion 404, 408 (“mounting plate” & “conduit connector”) that is fixed to either a pipe 310 for supplying the cooling fluid to the cooling fluid supply hole or the turbine casing 320 (Fig. 4A, 4B, Para. 0055-58, the fixed portion is fixed to both the casing and to the pipe; Fig. 6A & 6B); and
a first guide portion 318, 420 (flow diverter 318, with first portion 420 that is a base plate, Fig. 3, 4A-4D, Para. 0059) that is configured to cover at least a portion of the cooling fluid supply hole 314, 616 when viewed from an inside of the gas turbine in a radial direction along a direction of an axis line of the cooling fluid supply hole in a state in which the fixed portion is fixed to the pipe or the turbine casing (Fig. 3, 6A, 6B, the first guide portion is part of the flow diverter body 406, 610 which passes through the cooling fluid supply hole along the axis of the cooling fluid supply hole, and hence covers at least a portion of the hole; the overall fluid guide also completely covers the cooling fluid supply hole via the mounting plate 404, 608).
Regarding claim 2, Yazici discloses the gas turbine cooling fluid guide according to claim 1,
wherein the plurality of turbine stator vanes 308 include an on-extension-line turbine stator vane 308 that is provided on an extension line of the axis line of the cooling fluid supply hole (Fig. 3 below, the vane shown is depicted in line with the cooling fluid supply hole along its axis), and the first guide portion 420 is configured to be located between the on-extension-line turbine stator vane 308 and the cooling fluid supply hole 314 in a state in which the fixed portion is fixed to either the pipe or the turbine casing (Fig. 3 below).
Regarding claim 4, Yazici discloses the gas turbine cooling fluid guide according to claim 1, wherein the first guide portion 318, 420 is formed in a plate shape (Fig. 4A-4B, the base portion 420 is a flat surface as shown, hence “plate shaped”), and the first guide portion is configured to include a surface that intersects an extension line of the axis line of the cooling fluid supply hole in a state in which the fixed portion is fixed to the pipe or the turbine casing (Fig. 3 above, the first guide portion 420/base of the flow diverter 318 is along the axis line of the cooling fluid supply hole as shown).
Regarding claim 5, Yazici discloses the gas turbine cooling fluid guide according to claim 1, wherein the first guide portion 420 is located inside the fixed portion 404, 408 in the radial direction of the gas turbine in a state in which the fixed portion is fixed to the pipe or the turbine casing (Fig. 3 above, Fig. 4A-4D, the first guide portion 318, 420 is radially inward of the fixed portion as shown), and the gas turbine cooling fluid guide is configured to include a second guide portion 406 (cylindrical body of the flow diverter 318, Fig. 4A-4D, Para. 0053-59) that extends outward in the radial direction from the first guide portion 420 to the fixed portion 404, 408 in a state in which the fixed portion is fixed to the pipe or the turbine casing (Fig. 4A, the second guide portion 406 extends radially between the first guide portion and mounting plate/fixed portion 404 as shown).
Regarding claim 8, Yazici discloses the gas turbine cooling fluid guide according to claim 5, wherein the second guide portion 406 is formed in a cylindrical shape (Fig. 4A above, Para. 0053, “the flow diverter 318 includes a plurality of apertures or flow holes arranged about a circumference of a cylindrical body”), and the fixed portion 404, 408 includes a flange 404 that is connected to an end portion of the second guide portion (Fig. 4A above, the mounting plate forms a flange as shown; Fig. 4E).
Regarding claim 9, Yazici discloses the gas turbine cooling fluid guide according to claim 8, wherein the flange 404 includes an outer-peripheral-side flange portion 404A that protrudes from the end portion of the second guide portion 406 to an outer peripheral side in the cylindrical shape of the second guide portion (Fig. 4B & 4E below, forming the mounting plate 404) and an inner-peripheral-side flange portion 404B that protrudes from the end portion of the second guide portion 406 to an inner peripheral side in the cylindrical shape of the second guide portion (Fig. 4B & 4E below), and an orifice 412 that has a smaller diameter than the cooling fluid supply hole is formed in the inner-peripheral-side flange portion (Fig. 4B & 4E below, the orifice is smaller than the diameter of the cylindrical second guide portion, and hence is smaller than the cooling fluid supply hole).
Regarding claim 10, Yazici discloses the gas turbine cooling fluid guide according to claim 9, wherein a plurality of through-holes 418 are formed in an outer peripheral surface of the second guide portion 406 (Fig. 4A-4E, Para. 0059, “plurality of diverter apertures”).
Regarding claim 11, Yazici discloses the gas turbine cooling fluid guide according to claim 10, wherein the plurality of through-holes 418 include:
a plurality of first through-holes 418 that are provided at intervals in a circumferential direction of the outer peripheral surface of the second guide portion 406 at a first position in an axial direction of the cylindrical shape of the second guide portion (Fig. 4A, 4B above, any of the rows of holes 418 along the cylindrical body of the second guide portion as shown); and
a plurality of second through-holes 418 that are provided at intervals in the circumferential direction of the outer peripheral surface of the second guide portion at a second position in the axial direction of the cylindrical shape of the second guide portion (Fig. 4A, 4B above, any of the rows of holes 418 along the cylindrical body of the second guide portion that is different from the first plurality of through holes; there are four sets of holes shown spaced along the axial direction of the cylindrical shape).
Regarding claim 12, Yazici discloses a gas turbine comprising:
the gas turbine cooling fluid guide 318 according to claim 1 (Fig. 3);
the turbine casing 320 (Fig. 3); and
the plurality of turbine stator vanes 308 (Fig. 3).
Claims 1-2, 4-7, 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Propheter-Hinckley (US 2009/0232637 A1, cited in the 04/10/2025 Information Disclosure Statement).
Regarding independent claim 1, Propheter-Hinckley discloses a gas turbine cooling fluid guide 124 (Fig. 2) for guiding a cooling fluid A (cooling air) of a gas turbine, the gas turbine including a plurality of turbine stator vanes 112 (Fig. 1-2) and a turbine casing (Fig. 2 below) which accommodates the plurality of turbine stator vanes (Fig. 2) and in which a cooling fluid supply hole 126 for supplying the cooling fluid A to the plurality of turbine stator vanes is formed (Fig. 2, Para. 0021), the gas turbine cooling fluid guide comprising:
a fixed portion 140 (base) that is fixed to either a pipe 120 for supplying the cooling fluid to the cooling fluid supply hole or the turbine casing (Fig. 2-4, the fixed portion/base 140 is coupled to both the turbine casing and to the pipe 120 as shown); and
a first guide portion 128 (air deflector, Para. 0021-23) that is configured to cover at least a portion of the cooling fluid supply hole 126 when viewed from an inside of the gas turbine in a radial direction along a direction of an axis line of the cooling fluid supply hole in a state in which the fixed portion is fixed to the pipe or the turbine casing (Fig. 2, 3, 5, the first guide portion overlaps with the cooling fluid supply hole 126 along the axis of the cooling fluid supply hole 126 as shown, such that cooling air from the hole will impinge upon the first guide portion; Para. 0021-23, “air deflector 128 is positioned outside of opening 126 and in a flow path of the flow of cooling air (depicted by arrow A). This configuration enables the air deflector to redirect at least some of the cooling air”).
Regarding claim 2, Propheter-Hinckley discloses the gas turbine cooling fluid guide according to claim 1, wherein the plurality of turbine stator vanes 112 include an on-extension-line turbine stator vane 112 that is provided on an extension line of the axis line of the cooling fluid supply hole 126 (Fig. 5, see the stator vane 112 that is directly radially inward of the cooling fluid supply hole 126, hence along an “extension line” of the axis of the hole 126), and the first guide portion 128 is configured to be located between the on-extension-line turbine stator vane 112 and the cooling fluid supply hole 126 in a state in which the fixed portion is fixed to either the pipe or the turbine casing (Fig. 5 below).
Regarding claim 4, Propheter-Hinckley discloses the gas turbine cooling fluid guide according to claim 1, wherein the first guide portion 128 is formed in a plate shape (Fig. 4, Para. 0022, “Air deflector 128 is generally planar”), and the first guide portion is configured to include a surface that intersects an extension line 146 of the axis line of the cooling fluid supply hole 126 in a state in which the fixed portion is fixed to the pipe or the turbine casing (Fig. 4, Fig. 5 above, Para. 0023).
Regarding claim 5, Propheter-Hinckley discloses the gas turbine cooling fluid guide according to claim 1, wherein the first guide portion 128 is located inside the fixed portion 140 in the radial direction of the gas turbine in a state in which the fixed portion is fixed to the pipe or the turbine casing (Fig. 3 & Fig. 5 above, the first guide portion is radially inward of the fixed portion relative to the engine), and the gas turbine cooling fluid guide is configured to include a second guide portion 142, 143, 148, 149 (struts) that extends outward in the radial direction from the first guide portion 128 to the fixed portion 140 in a state in which the fixed portion is fixed to the pipe or the turbine casing (Fig. 3, 4, Para. 0024, “In splash plate 124, two pairs of struts (i.e., struts 142, 143 and struts 148, 149) are used. Each of the struts is generally rectangular in shape and extends between an edge 150 of the aperture 144 and an outer periphery 152 of air deflector 128”).
Regarding claim 6, Propheter-Hinckley discloses the gas turbine cooling fluid guide according to claim 5, wherein the second guide portion 142, 143, 148, 149 is formed in a plate shape (Para. 0024, “Each of the struts is generally rectangular in shape”, Fig. 2-4, they are generally rectangular and flat, and hence plate shaped) and the second guide portion is configured to include a surface that intersects an axial direction 138 of the gas turbine in a state in which the fixed portion is fixed to the pipe or the turbine casing (Fig. 4, the second guide portions are arranged in two axially spaced sets 142, 143 and 148, 149, hence they “intersect” an axial direction of the gas turbine; Fig. 4, axis 138 is parallel to the longitudinal axis of the engine, Para. 0022).
Regarding claim 7, Propheter-Hinckley discloses the gas turbine cooling fluid guide according to claim 1, further comprising:
an upstream-side second guide portion 142, 143 that extends from an upstream-side end portion of the first guide portion 128 in an axial direction of the gas turbine to an outside in the radial direction of the gas turbine in a state in which the fixed portion is fixed to the pipe or the turbine casing (Fig. 2-4, the set of struts 142, 143 are on one axial side of the first guide portion along the minor axis 138 that is parallel to the engine longitudinal axis); and
a downstream-side second guide portion 148, 149 that extends from a downstream-side end portion of the first guide portion 128 in the axial direction of the gas turbine to the outside in the radial direction of the gas turbine in a state in which the fixed portion is fixed to the pipe or the turbine casing (Fig. 2-4, the set of struts 148, 149 are on one axial side of the first guide portion opposite the first upstream guide portions, along the minor axis 138 that is parallel to the engine longitudinal axis),
wherein each of the upstream-side second guide portion and the downstream-side second guide portion is formed in a plate shape (Para. 0024, “Each of the struts is generally rectangular in shape”, Fig. 2-4, they are generally rectangular and flat, and hence plate shaped), and
each of the upstream-side second guide portion 142, 143 and the downstream-side second guide portion 148, 149 is configured to include a surface that intersects the axial direction 138 in a state in which the fixed portion is fixed to the pipe or the turbine casing (Fig. 4, the upstream side and downstream side second guide portions are axially spaced with their major surfaces facing the axial direction as shown in Fig. 4, hence they “intersect” an axial direction of the gas turbine; Para. 0022).
Regarding claim 12, Propheter-Hinckley discloses a gas turbine 100 (Fig. 1) comprising:
the gas turbine cooling fluid guide according to claim 1 (Fig. 2-3);
the turbine casing (Fig. 2 & Fig. 5 above); and
the plurality of turbine stator vanes 112 (Fig. 1-3, 5).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yazici in view of Gabriel (US 3,864,056 A).
Regarding claim 3, Yazici discloses the gas turbine cooling fluid guide according to claim 1, wherein each of the turbine stator vanes 308 includes an airfoil portion (the main body of the vane, which would be airfoil shaped, Para. 0042, “The mid-turbine frame 44 may include one or more airfoils 46”) and an outer shroud 316 that is connected to an outer end of the airfoil portion in the radial direction of the gas turbine (Fig. 3).
Yazici fails to disclose an accessory component of the turbine stator vane is attached to an outer surface of the outer shroud in the radial direction, and the first guide portion is configured to be located between the accessory component and the cooling fluid supply hole in a state in which the fixed portion is fixed to the pipe or the turbine casing.
Gabriel teaches an outer shroud 37 (ring segment) having an accessory component 46 (heat shield) attached to an outer surface of the outer shroud in a radial direction, Col. 2, ln. 55 – Col. 3, ln. 9).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have incorporated into the system of Yazici, the accessory component/heat shield attached to the outer surface of the outer shroud, as taught by Gabriel, in order to provide a heat shield on an outer side of the outer shroud that can act as an insulator and prevent heat transfer from the hot fluid flow path to the turbine casing, the heat shield being cooled by cooling air flow provided to the outer shroud (Gabriel Col. 2, ln. 55 – Col. 3, ln. 9). With the heat shield/accessory component incorporated from Gabriel, the first guide portion of Yazici would be located between this accessory component and the cooling fluid supply hole, since the accessory component would be attached to the outer surface of the outer shroud, which the first guide portion is spaced radially away from (Yazici Fig. 3).
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Propheter-Hinckley in view of Gabriel (US 3,864,056 A).
Regarding claim 3, Propheter-Hinckley discloses the gas turbine cooling fluid guide according to claim 1, wherein each of the turbine stator vanes 112 includes an airfoil portion and an outer shroud that is connected to an outer end of the airfoil portion in the radial direction of the gas turbine,
Propheter-Hinckley fails to disclose an accessory component of the turbine stator vane is attached to an outer surface of the outer shroud in the radial direction, and the first guide portion is configured to be located between the accessory component and the cooling fluid supply hole in a state in which the fixed portion is fixed to the pipe or the turbine casing.
Gabriel teaches an outer shroud 37 (ring segment) having an accessory component 46 (heat shield) attached to an outer surface of the outer shroud in a radial direction, Col. 2, ln. 55 – Col. 3, ln. 9).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have incorporated into the system of Propheter-Hinckley, the accessory component/heat shield attached to the outer surface of the outer shroud, as taught by Gabriel, in order to provide a heat shield on an outer side of the outer shroud that can act as an insulator and prevent heat transfer from the hot fluid flow path to the turbine casing, the heat shield being cooled by cooling air flow provided to the outer shroud (Gabriel Col. 2, ln. 55 – Col. 3, ln. 9). With the heat shield/accessory component incorporated from Gabriel, the first guide portion 128 of Propheter-Hinckley would be located between this accessory component and the cooling fluid supply hole 126, since the accessory component would be attached to the outer surface of the outer shroud, which the first guide portion is spaced radially away from (Propheter-Hinckley Fig. 5 above).
Pertinent Prior Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Marey (US 5964575 A), Manzoori (US 9920643 B2), Beverley (US 7108479 B2), Hagan (US 9927123 B2, US 9926789 B2), Liang (US 7670108 B2), Zatorski (US 6929445 B2), Tu (US 11698005 B2), & Shapiro (US 10422244 B2) all teach various cooling fluid guides for stator vanes in gas turbine engines.
Contact Information
/ALAIN CHAU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3741