DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
Applicant is reminded of 37 CFR 1.56 and the duty to disclose information material to patentability. The examiner found information on the Internet including videos, and manuals (which reference parts lists) which indicate compressors having features of the claimed invention were available years before the effective filing date of the claimed application. It is noted that no information relating to these compressors was made available to the examiner in order to determine patentability of the claimed invention.
https://www.manualslib.com/manual/1585260/Gea-Grasso-V-Series.html?page=40&term=list&selected=6#manual
https://www.yumpu.com/en/document/view/21545880/grasso-the-new-grasso-v-series-gea-refrigeration-technologies/8
https://www.yumpu.com/en/document/view/9873754/reciprocating-compressors-for-industrial-refrigeration-series-grasso-v
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 37-52 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claim 37 states: a strainer which is mounted in the inlet chamber, the strainer comprising a strainer wall having a cylindrical shape defining a central strainer axis, one end of the cylindrically shaped strainer wall being open and defining a strainer inlet end, the inlet opening of the crankcase emanating in the strainer inlet end, the strainer wall having strainer openings via which, in use, sucked in inlet gas passes to subsequently flow to the at least one suction chamber, wherein, for collecting liquid entrained in the gas upstream from the suction ports, the strainer has a diameter and the strainer openings have dimensions such that, when the piston compressor is operating at maximum capacity, gas passing the strainer wall via the strainer openings from the interior of the strainer into the inlet chamber has a flow speed which is lower than an entrainment speed so that liquid drops remain on the strainer wall and are substantially not dragged along with the gas flow passing the strainer openings.
Claim 40 states: wherein for collecting liquid entrained in the gas upstream from the suction ports, a smallest flow distance between the strainer and any one of the suction ports is such that liquid droplets released from the strainer and dragged along with the gas flow fall down before they reach the suction ports.
Claim 44 states: wherein for collecting liquid entrained in the gas upstream from the suction ports, a lower part of the inlet chamber forms an inlet chamber liquid buffer reservoir.
Claim 45 states: wherein for collecting liquid entrained in the gas upstream from the suction ports, a lower part of the at least one suction chamber forms a suction chamber liquid buffer reservoir.
MPEP2163 II. A. 3. at paragraph three states: "An applicant may show possession of an invention by disclosure of drawings or structural chemical formulas that are sufficiently detailed to show that applicant was in possession of the claimed invention as a whole." Regarding the written description requirement for claim 37, insufficient details of the liquid, the gas passing through the strainer, the entrainment speed, the maximum capacity of the compressor, the structure of the filter including the diameter of the strainer and the dimensions of the strainer openings, an explanation of how liquid drops remain on the strainer wall and are substantially not dragged along with the gas flow passing the strainer openings while applicant also claims in dependent claim 40 that liquid droplets are released from the strainer, and an explanation of how liquid drops remain on the strainer wall and are substantially not dragged along with the gas flow passing the strainer openings while applicant also claims in claims 44-45 that the compressor has an inlet chamber that forms a liquid buffer reservoir and the compressor has a suction chamber that forms a liquid buffer reservoir are provided in the drawings.
MPEP 2163 I. at paragraph two states: "To satisfy the written description requirement, a patent specification must describe the claimed invention in sufficient detail that one skilled in the art can reasonably conclude that the inventor had possession of the claimed invention." Regarding the written description requirement for claim 37, insufficient details of the liquid, the gas passing through the strainer, the entrainment speed, the maximum capacity of the compressor, the structure of the filter including the diameter of the strainer and the dimensions of the strainer openings, an explanation of how liquid drops remain on the strainer wall and are substantially not dragged along with the gas flow passing the strainer openings while applicant also claims in dependent claim 40 that liquid droplets are released from the strainer, and an explanation of how liquid drops remain on the strainer wall and are substantially not dragged along with the gas flow passing the strainer openings while applicant also claims in dependent claims 44-45 that the compressor has an inlet chamber that forms a liquid buffer reservoir and the compressor has a suction chamber that forms a liquid buffer reservoir are provided in the specification as filed.
As set forth in MPEP 2166 at form paragraph 7.31.01, the questions the examiner asked which were not satisfactorily resolved and consequently raised doubt as to possession of the claimed invention at the time of filing, include:
What in particular is the liquid?
What in particular is the gas passing through the strainer?
What in particular is the structure of the filter? For example, what in particular is the diameter of the strainer? For example, what in particular are the dimensions of the strainer openings?
What in particular is the maximum capacity of the compressor?
What in particular is the entrainment speed?
How in particular do liquid drops remain on the strainer wall and are substantially not dragged along with the gas flow passing the strainer openings while applicant also claims in dependent claim 40 that liquid droplets are released from the strainer?
How in particular do liquid drops remain on the strainer wall and are substantially not dragged along with the gas flow passing the strainer openings while applicant also claims in dependent claims 44-45 that the compressor has an inlet chamber that forms a liquid buffer reservoir and has a suction chamber that forms a liquid buffer reservoir?
What in particular is the smallest flow distance between the strainer and any one of the suction ports is such that liquid droplets released from the strainer and dragged along with the gas flow fall down before they reach the suction ports?
Therefore, for the reasons detailed above, claims 37 and 40 contain subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Dependent claims are rejected based on their dependency to the claims rejected in detail above.
Claims 37- 52 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
The term “substantially” in claim 37 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “substantially” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. In claim 37, applicant claims “liquid drops remain on the strainer wall and are substantially not dragged along with the gas flow passing the strainer openings”. It is unclear how a person of ordinary skill in the art can determine if liquid drops are not “substantially” not dragged along with the gas flow passing the strainer openings. The specification does not provide any objective boundaries that can be used to determine “substantially”. With no defined objective way to make a determination about what constitutes “substantially”, the term is subjective and therefore indefinite. See, e.g., Interval Licensing LLC v. AOL, Inc., 766 F.3d 1364, 1371 - 72, 112USPQ2d 1188, 1193 (Fed. Cir. 2014) (observing that although there is no absolute or mathematical precision required, "[t]he claims, when read in light of the specification and the prosecution history, must provide objective boundaries for those of skill in the art"). See MPEP 2173.05 IV. For example, claim 40 requires “wherein for collecting liquid entrained in the gas upstream from the suction ports, a smallest flow distance between the strainer and any one of the suction ports is such that liquid droplets released from the strainer and dragged along with the gas flow fall down before they reach the suction ports” which directly contradicts limitations “liquid drops remain on the strainer wall and are substantially not dragged along with the gas flow passing the strainer openings” present in claim 37 from which it depends. Additionally, claims 44-45 requires a liquid buffer reservoir in the inlet chamber and the suction chamber. This would appear to imply liquid drops would pass through the strainer and collect in the claimed reservoirs yet claim 37 requires “liquid drops remain on the strainer wall and are substantially not dragged along with the gas flow passing the strainer openings”. Therefore, given the claims are contradictory and illogical as written, the intended scope of the claim is unknowable and indefinite.
Additionally, as detailed immediately above, given the contradictions that exist between claim 37 and dependent claim 40 and claim 37 and dependent claims 44-45, it is completely unclear what applicant is attempting to claim in claim 37. Therefore, given the claims are contradictory and illogical as written, the intended scope of the claims is unknowable and indefinite.
Regarding the limitations “when the piston compressor is operating at maximum capacity” in claims 37 and 52, it is unclear exactly what these limitations are referring to. For example, applicant discloses a compressor with six cylinders and pistons, two suction chambers, and two cylinder heads but only claims one suction chamber, one cylinder head, and one cylinder and piston. So, what is meant by maximum capacity of the compressor when only a portion of the disclosed compressor is being claimed? Thus, given the claims are contradictory and illogical as written, the intended scope of the claims is unknowable and indefinite.
Dependent claims are rejected based on their dependency to the claims rejected in detail above. The claims rejected above under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite will be examined as best understood under the broadest reasonable interpretation in light of the specification, and as per MPEP 2173.06 I interpretations of the indefinite limitations will be provided as mappings to the disclosure of the prior art as indicated in the prior art rejections below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 37-38, 40-42, 44-46 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over GEA Grasso V Series Reciprocating Compressor, 10/24/2016, (URL: https://video.gea.com/gea-grasso-v-series-reciprocating).
GEA discloses:
37. (New) A piston compressor comprising: a crankcase bounding an inlet chamber, at least one suction chamber, and a crankshaft chamber forming an oil sump, the crankcase having an inlet opening emanating in the inlet chamber; a crankshaft mounted in the crankshaft chamber; at least one cylinder/piston-assembly each comprising a cylinder being mounted in the crankcase and a piston which is reciprocally movably mounted in the cylinder and driveably connected with the crankshaft; at least one cylinder head being mounted on an associated one of the at least one suction chamber; the at least cylinder/piston-assembly comprising a suction port with an associated suction valve, wherein each suction port fluidly connects an interior of the at least one cylinder with an associated one of the at least one suction chamber; the at least one cylinder/piston-assembly comprising a discharge port with an associated discharge valve, wherein each discharge port fluidly connects the interior of the respective cylinder with an associated one of the at least one cylinder head; a gas inlet pipe which is connected to the crankcase so as to fluidly connect an inlet pipe flow channel bounded by the gas inlet pipe via the inlet opening in the crankcase to the inlet chamber; and a strainer which is mounted in the inlet chamber, the strainer comprising a strainer wall having a cylindrical shape defining a central strainer axis, one end of the cylindrically shaped strainer wall being open and defining a strainer inlet end, the inlet opening of the crankcase emanating in the strainer inlet end, the strainer wall having strainer openings via which, in use, sucked in inlet gas passes to subsequently flow to the at least one suction chamber, wherein, for collecting liquid entrained in the gas upstream from the suction ports (see figures herein some of which include annotations), the strainer has a diameter and the strainer openings have dimensions such that, when the piston compressor is operating at maximum capacity, gas passing the strainer wall via the strainer openings from the interior of the strainer into the inlet chamber has a flow speed which is lower than an entrainment speed so that liquid drops remain on the strainer wall and are substantially not dragged along with the gas flow passing the strainer openings (Firstly, as per the rejections under 112 (b) herein “substantially” makes the intended scope of the claim unknowable and indefinite. Secondly, At any given time these limitations depend on many factors including but not limited to the particular drive used for the compressor and thereby the speed of compressor, the determination of what constitutes a maximum capacity of the compressor [e.g. applicant discloses a six cylinder compressor with two inlet chambers and two cylinder heads but claims only one cylinder and one cylinder head and one inlet chamber making the maximum capacity of the compressor unknowable and indefinite and thereby also indicates a variable capacity compressor could be set e.g. to a configuration in which the maximum capacity of the compressor is only one operating cylinder or partially operating cylinder], the particular liquid being claimed, and the amount of the liquid [if any] in the suctioned gas, and the particular suctioned gas. Applicant has provided none of these details and thus appears to be attempting to claim an extremely broad scope. These limitations would inherently be met with e.g. “substantially” no liquid present in the suction gas and/or with a drive that operates at a speed of the compressor which causes a relatively low flow rate through the compressor and/or with only one variable capacity cylinder being utilized and possibly utilized at a low capacity setting such that the capacity setting allows for a relatively low maximum capacity of the compressor. Therefore, the structure of the compressor of GEA meets the limitation of the apparatus claims as it is capable of being operated in a manner that satisfies the strainer has a diameter and the strainer openings have dimensions such that, when the piston compressor is operating at maximum capacity, gas passing the strainer wall via the strainer openings from the interior of the strainer into the inlet chamber has a flow speed which is lower than an entrainment speed so that liquid drops remain on the strainer wall and are substantially not dragged along with the gas flow passing the strainer openings. See MPEP 2114 II.).
38. (New) The piston compressor according to claim 37, wherein the diameter of the strainer wall and the dimensions of the strainer openings are such that the gas flow speed through the strainer openings is less than 1.7 m/s (At any given time these limitations depend on many factors including but not limited to the particular drive used for the compressor and thereby the speed of compressor, the determination of what constitutes a maximum capacity of the compressor [e.g. applicant discloses a six cylinder compressor with two inlet chambers and two cylinder heads but claims only one cylinder and one cylinder head and one inlet chamber making the maximum capacity of the compressor unknowable and indefinite and thereby also indicates a variable capacity compressor could be set e.g. to a configuration in which the maximum capacity of the compressor is only one operating cylinder or partially operating cylinder]. Applicant has provided none of these details and thus appears to be attempting to claim an extremely broad scope. These limitations would inherently be met with a drive that operates at a speed of the compressor which causes a relatively low flow rate through the compressor and/or with only one variable capacity cylinder being utilized and possibly utilized at a low capacity setting such that the capacity setting allows for a relatively low maximum capacity of the compressor. Therefore, the structure of the compressor of GEA meets the limitation of the apparatus claims as it is capable of being operated in a manner that satisfies wherein the diameter of the strainer wall and the dimensions of the strainer openings are such that the gas flow speed through the strainer openings is less than 1.7 m/s. See MPEP 2114 II.).
40. (New) The piston compressor according to claim 37, wherein for collecting liquid entrained in the gas upstream from the suction ports, a smallest flow distance between the strainer and any one of the suction ports is such that liquid droplets released from the strainer and dragged along with the gas flow fall down before they reach the suction ports (At any given time these limitations depend on many factors including but not limited to the speed of compressor, the configuration of the compressor in terms of operating capacity, the particular liquid being claimed, and the amount of the liquid [if any] in the suctioned gas, and the particular suctioned gas. Applicant has provided none of these details and thus appears to be attempting to claim an extremely broad scope. These limitations would inherently be met with e.g. “substantially” no or little liquid present in the suction gas and/or liquids with a high density and/or with a drive that operates at a speed of the compressor which causes a relatively low flow rate through the compressor and/or with only one variable capacity cylinder being utilized and possibly utilized at a low capacity setting such that the capacity setting allows for a relatively low capacity operation of the compressor. Therefore, the structure of the compressor of GEA meets the limitation of the apparatus claims as it is capable of being operated in a manner that satisfies a smallest flow distance between the strainer and any one of the suction ports is such that liquid droplets released from the strainer and dragged along with the gas flow fall down before they reach the suction ports. See MPEP 2114 II.).
41. (New) The piston compressor according to claim 37, wherein the gas inlet pipe has an inlet end with a flange and an outlet end which is connected to the crankcase, wherein the gas inlet pipe is elbow shaped and the inlet pipe flow channel thereof defines an inlet pipe flow channel center axis which is bent over 90 degrees, and wherein for collecting liquid entrained in the gas upstream from the suction ports, the flange is offset relative to the inlet pipe flow channel center axis towards an outside bend part of the gas inlet pipe so as to promote liquid collection on the outside bend part of the gas inlet pipe (see the figures herein some of which are annotated).
42. (New) The piston compressor according to claim 37, wherein the gas inlet pipe has an inlet end with a flange and an outlet end which is connected to the crankcase, wherein the gas inlet pipe is elbow shaped and the inlet pipe flow channel thereof defines an inlet pipe flow channel center axis which is bent over 90 degrees, and wherein for collecting liquid entrained in the gas upstream from the suction ports, the inlet pipe flow channel has a diverging cross section from the inlet end towards the outlet end so as to reduce the flow speed of gas therein (see the annotated figured herein which show the divergence).
44. (New) The piston compressor according to claim 37, wherein for collecting liquid entrained in the gas upstream from the suction ports, a lower part of the inlet chamber forms an inlet chamber liquid buffer reservoir (see the annotated figures herein).
45. (New) The piston compressor according to claim 37, wherein for collecting liquid entrained in the gas upstream from the suction ports, a lower part of the at least one suction chamber forms a suction chamber liquid buffer reservoir (see the annotated figures herein).
46. (New) The piston compressor according to claim 45, wherein a wall separating the at least one suction chamber from the crankshaft chamber and bounding the suction chamber liquid buffer reservoir comprises a pressure balancing opening connecting the at least one suction chamber with the crankshaft chamber, the pressure balancing opening being positioned at such a height above a bottom of the at least one suction chamber that each suction chamber liquid buffer reservoir has a capacity of at least 0.5 1 per cylinder (Only one cylinder is claimed. These limitations would be met by simply scaling up the compressor of GEA [a larger compressor overall would have a larger capacity for the liquid buffer reservoir] which has been held obvious as per MPEP 2144.04 IV A.).
Conclusion
See form PTO-892 for additional prior art made of record but not relied upon that is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
/Thomas Fink/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3746