DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Applicant’s claim for the benefit of a prior-filed application under 35 U.S.C. 119(e) or under 35 U.S.C. 120, 121, or 365(c) is acknowledged. In addition, acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d). The certified copy has been filed in parent Application No. 19/106,047, filed on February 24, 2025.
Oath/Declaration
Oath/Declaration as filed on February 24, 2025 is noted by the Examiner.
Claim Interpretation – 35 USC § 112(f)
be expressed as a means or step for performing a specified function without the recital of
structure, material, or acts in support thereof, and such claim shall be construed to cover
the corresponding structure, material, or acts described in the specification and
equivalents thereof.
performing a specified function without the recital of structure, material, or acts in
support thereof, and such claim shall be construed to cover the corresponding structure,
material, or acts described in the specification and equivalents thereof.
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) are: “a determiner configured to” recited in seventh line of claim 1, is considered to read on determiner 140b (pg. 31, paragraph[0064]; 140b FIG. 6).
Because these claim limitation(s) are being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, they are being interpreted to cover the corresponding structure described in the specification as performing the claimed function, and equivalents thereof.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 1 limitation(s) “a determiner configured to” invoke 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph. However, the written description fails to clearly disclose the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the entire claimed function and to clearly link the structure, material, or acts to the function. In particular, no structure or material that is capable of performing the claimed functions are present or shown in FIG. 6 and substantively linked to the claimed function. Therefore, claim 1 is indefinite and is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph. Accordingly, any claim(s) dependent on claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, based at least on same above reasoning.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 4-6, and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Hashimoto et al., U.S. Patent Application Publication 2022/0137705 A1 (hereinafter Hashimoto).
Regarding claim 1, Hashimoto teaches a display control apparatus (1 and 2 FIGS. 1-4, and 6, paragraph[0058] of Hashimoto teaches FIG. 1 shows a configuration of a display system including an HMD apparatus of a first embodiment; this display system includes: an HMD 1 which is the HMD apparatus of the first embodiment; a server 3 and a PC 4 which are connected to the HMD 1 by communication; and the like; the HMD 1 includes an operating tool 2; the user wears the HMD 1 on his/her head and uses it; the operating tool 2 is a remote controller communicating with a main body, can be operated by the user with a finger (s), and is one of input means; in a field of view in front of the user, virtual objects (corresponding virtual images) are superimposedly displayed on a scene including a real thing (s) in a real space through a display surface 5; the HMD 1 can cooperate with an apparatus such as a server 3 of a business operator or a PC 4 of a user's home by communication; the server 3 and the PC 4 may, for example, provide various application programs and data of virtual objects to the HMD 1 and store (save) data of the HMD 1; and further, a function described later may be realized by a method of linking the HMD 1 and the server 3 (client-server method or the like), and See also at least paragraphs[0058], [0061], [0066], [0075], and [0088]-[0091] of Hashimoto (i.e., Hashimoto teaches an HMD having a display surface through which virtual objects are displayed)) comprising: a display controller configured to cause a pair of glasses device to display one or more virtual objects included in a field of view of the pair of glasses device in a three-dimensional space and to (16, 5 FIGS. 1-4, 6, 10-12, and 19, paragraph[0091] of Hashimoto teaches the grid controller 14 controls the arrangement of the grid K1 with respect to the display surface 5 and the coordinate system; the grid controller 14 reads and writes data including a configuration (including the information of the point P1 and the ID mark M1) of the grid K1 from and to grid data 33; based on the operating method to be applied, the instruction recognizer 15 uses the image of the camera 6, the detection information of the sensor 70, the signal from the operating tool 2, the input voice of the microphone 81, and the like to recognize an input operation (corresponding instructions) by the user; the instruction recognizer 15 associates a predetermined input operation with a predetermined command, and controls the display controller 16 and the like according to the command; the display controller 16 displays the grid K1 and the virtual object on the display surface 5 based on the control from the instruction recognizer 15 and the grid data 33 and virtual image data 32, and outputs sound (for example, a sound effect associated with the operation) from the speaker 82; and the application controller 17 controls a start and an end of each application program 22 and stores, in the virtual object data 32, data of a virtual object(s) generated by each application program 22, and data of the application icon 415, the application window 413, and the like, and See also at least paragraphs[0058], [0061], [0064], [0066], [0068], [0073], [0075]-[0076], [0087]-[0090], [0101], [0104], [0106], [0113]-[0115], and [0146]-[0148] of Hashimoto (i.e., Hashimoto teaches an HMD having a display surface through which virtual objects are displayed and changed within a three-dimensional space)), based on a line of sight of a user of the pair of glasses device, cause the pair of glasses device to display a virtual indicator for selecting one virtual object from the one or more virtual objects (122 FIGS. 1-4, 6, 10-12, and 19, paragraph[0113] of Hashimoto teaches FIG. 12 shows examples of input operations in various operating methods; (A) shows an example of using, as a pointing means, abeam (for example, infrared rays) emitted from the operating tool 2; the user manually moves the operating tool 2 to hit a tip of the beam on a target virtual object (for example, virtual object V1) or the point P1 in the display surface 5; the HMD 1 may display the cursor at a position ahead of the beam in the display surface 5; (B) shows an example in which a cursor 122 (for example, a cross shape) at the tip of the beam of the operating tool 2 is displayed at the position of the virtual object V1 in the display surface 5; (C) shows an example of displaying a finger-shaped cursor 123 at the position of the virtual object V1; incidentally, the HMD 1 may be superimposedly displayed so that the cursor is aligned with the virtual object or the point P1, or may be displayed in the vicinity thereof; by using the beam or the cursor, the user can designate the target virtual object, the point P1 of the arrangement destination, and the like; for example, the virtual object V1 is pointed to by the cursor 122 or the like for a certain period of time or longer, thereby being put into a selected state; further, the same control can be performed also by using the line-of-sight direction instead of the operating tool 2; and furthermore, the same control can be performed also by using a method of displaying the cursor at the central position of the display surface 5 in the front-face direction of the user's head (corresponding HMD 1), and See also at least paragraphs[0058], [0061], [0066], [0075]-[0076], [0087]-[0091], [0101], [0106], [0114]-[0115], and [0146]-[0148] of Hashimoto (i.e., Hashimoto teaches an HMD having a display surface through which virtual objects are displayed and changed within a three-dimensional space)); and a determiner configured to determine, to be a target for operation, a virtual object indicated by the virtual indicator at a point in time at which an input operation to a wearable terminal device worn on a body of the user is performed (15, 2 FIGS. 1-4, 6, 10-12, and 19, paragraph[0091] of Hashimoto teaches FIG. 12 shows examples of input operations in various operating methods; (A) shows an example of using, as a pointing means, abeam (for example, infrared rays) emitted from the operating tool 2; the user manually moves the operating tool 2 to hit a tip of the beam on a target virtual object (for example, virtual object V1) or the point P1 in the display surface 5; the HMD 1 may display the cursor at a position ahead of the beam in the display surface 5; (B) shows an example in which a cursor 122 (for example, a cross shape) at the tip of the beam of the operating tool 2 is displayed at the position of the virtual object V1 in the display surface 5; (C) shows an example of displaying a finger-shaped cursor 123 at the position of the virtual object V1; incidentally, the HMD 1 may be superimposedly displayed so that the cursor is aligned with the virtual object or the point P1, or may be displayed in the vicinity thereof; by using the beam or the cursor, the user can designate the target virtual object, the point P1 of the arrangement destination, and the like; for example, the virtual object V1 is pointed to by the cursor 122 or the like for a certain period of time or longer, thereby being put into a selected state; further, the same control can be performed also by using the line-of-sight direction instead of the operating tool 2; and furthermore, the same control can be performed also by using a method of displaying the cursor at the central position of the display surface 5 in the front-face direction of the user's head (corresponding HMD 1), and See also at least paragraphs[0058]-[0059], [0061], [0066], [0075]-[0076], [0087]-[0090], [0101]-[0102], [0106], [0113]-[0115], and [0146]-[0148] of Hashimoto (i.e., Hashimoto teaches the HMD includes an instruction recognizer that recognizes an input operation by a user to the HMD, wherein the instruction recognizer is capable of associating the input operation with a predetermined command and control the display controller to display of a virtual object on the display surface of the HMD and even arrange or move the virtual object by pressing, via a finger, a button on an operating tool that is communicatively coupled and included with the HMD worn by the user)).
Regarding claim 4, Hashimoto teaches the display control apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the wearable terminal device includes an input device configured to receive input made by a finger of the user, and wherein the determiner is configured to determine, based on data indicative of the input to the input device, whether the input operation is performed (2 FIGS. 1-4, 6, 10-12, and 19, paragraph[0058] of Hashimoto teaches FIG. 1 shows a configuration of a display system including an HMD apparatus of a first embodiment; this display system includes: an HMD 1 which is the HMD apparatus of the first embodiment; a server 3 and a PC 4 which are connected to the HMD 1 by communication; and the like; the HMD 1 includes an operating tool 2; the user wears the HMD 1 on his/her head and uses it; the operating tool 2 is a remote controller communicating with a main body, can be operated by the user with a finger (s), and is one of input means; in a field of view in front of the user, virtual objects (corresponding virtual images) are superimposedly displayed on a scene including a real thing (s) in a real space through a display surface 5; the HMD 1 can cooperate with an apparatus such as a server 3 of a business operator or a PC 4 of a user's home by communication; the server 3 and the PC 4 may, for example, provide various application programs and data of virtual objects to the HMD 1 and store (save) data of the HMD 1; and further, a function described later may be realized by a method of linking the HMD 1 and the server 3 (client-server method or the like), and See also at least paragraphs[0059], [0061], [0066], [0075]-[0076], [0087]-[0091], [0101]-[0102], [0106], [0113]-[0115], and [0146]-[0148] of Hashimoto (i.e., Hashimoto teaches the HMD includes an operating tool and an instruction recognizer that recognizes an input operation by a user to the HMD, wherein the instruction recognizer is capable of associating the input operation with a predetermined command and control the display controller to display of a virtual object on the display surface of the HMD and even arrange or move the virtual object by pressing, via a finger, a button on an operating tool that is communicatively coupled and included with the HMD worn by the user)).
Regarding claim 5, Hashimoto teaches the display control apparatus according to claim 1 any one of claims 1 to 3, wherein the wearable terminal device includes a sound receiver, and wherein the determiner is configured to determine, based on data indicative of a sound input to the sound receiver, whether the input operation is performed (81 FIGS. 1-4, 6, 10-12, and 19, paragraph[0086] of Hashimoto teaches an example of an operating method in the first embodiment is as follows; the HMD 1 uses at least one operating method; in a case of the voice method, the HMD 1 uses the voice recognition function to recognize a predetermined voice from the user's input voice through the microphone 81 and associates it with a predetermined command; for example, the HMD 1 displays the virtual object on the display surface 5 when “image display on” is inputted as voice, and hides (does not display) the virtual object on the display surface 5 when “image display off” is inputted; for example, when “grid on” is inputted, the HMD 1 displays the grid K1 (including an ID mark M1) on the display surface 5, and when “grid off” is inputted, the grid K1 in the display surface 5 is not displayed; in a case of the gesture method, the HMD 1 detects the gesture of the fingers from the image of the camera 6 and associates the detected gesture with a predetermined command; for example, when the HMD 1 detects a touch or tap gesture with respect to the position of the virtual object in the display surface 5, it associates the detected gesture as the designation of the virtual object; and for example, when the HMD 1 detects a gesture of opening and closing a hand(s), it associates the detected gesture with a command indicating returning to a previous state or indicating cancel, and See also at least paragraphs[0058]-[0059], [0061], [0066], [0071], [0075]-[0076], [0087]-[0091], [0101]-[0102], [0106], [0113]-[0115], and [0146]-[0148] of Hashimoto (i.e., Hashimoto teaches the HMD includes an operating tool, a microphone, and an instruction recognizer that recognizes an input operation by a user to the HMD based on the an input voice of the microphone, wherein the instruction recognizer is capable of associating the input operation including the user’s voice with a predetermined command and control the display controller to display of a virtual object on the display surface of the HMD and even arrange or move the virtual object by pressing, via a finger, a button on an operating tool that is communicatively coupled and included with the HMD worn by the user, and wherein the microphone )).
Regarding claim 6, Hashimoto teaches the display control apparatus according to claim 2, wherein the wearable terminal device includes an input device configured to receive input made by a finger of the user, and wherein the determiner is configured to determine, based on data indicative of the input to the input device, whether the input operation is performed (2 FIGS. 1-4, 6, 10-12, and 19, paragraph[0058] of Hashimoto teaches FIG. 1 shows a configuration of a display system including an HMD apparatus of a first embodiment; this display system includes: an HMD 1 which is the HMD apparatus of the first embodiment; a server 3 and a PC 4 which are connected to the HMD 1 by communication; and the like; the HMD 1 includes an operating tool 2; the user wears the HMD 1 on his/her head and uses it; the operating tool 2 is a remote controller communicating with a main body, can be operated by the user with a finger (s), and is one of input means; in a field of view in front of the user, virtual objects (corresponding virtual images) are superimposedly displayed on a scene including a real thing (s) in a real space through a display surface 5; the HMD 1 can cooperate with an apparatus such as a server 3 of a business operator or a PC 4 of a user's home by communication; the server 3 and the PC 4 may, for example, provide various application programs and data of virtual objects to the HMD 1 and store (save) data of the HMD 1; and further, a function described later may be realized by a method of linking the HMD 1 and the server 3 (client-server method or the like), and See also at least paragraphs[0059], [0061], [0066], [0075]-[0076], [0087]-[0091], [0101]-[0102], [0106], [0113]-[0115], and [0146]-[0148] of Hashimoto (i.e., Hashimoto teaches the HMD includes an operating tool and an instruction recognizer that recognizes an input operation by a user to the HMD, wherein the instruction recognizer is capable of associating the input operation with a predetermined command and control the display controller to display of a virtual object on the display surface of the HMD and even arrange or move the virtual object by pressing, via a finger, a button on an operating tool that is communicatively coupled and included with the HMD worn by the user)).
Regarding claim 8, Hashimoto teaches the display control apparatus according to claim 2, wherein the wearable terminal device includes a sound receiver, and wherein the determiner is configured to determine, based on data indicative of a sound input to the sound receiver, whether the input operation is performed (81 FIGS. 1-4, 6, 10-12, and 19, paragraph[0086] of Hashimoto teaches an example of an operating method in the first embodiment is as follows; the HMD 1 uses at least one operating method; in a case of the voice method, the HMD 1 uses the voice recognition function to recognize a predetermined voice from the user's input voice through the microphone 81 and associates it with a predetermined command; for example, the HMD 1 displays the virtual object on the display surface 5 when “image display on” is inputted as voice, and hides (does not display) the virtual object on the display surface 5 when “image display off” is inputted; for example, when “grid on” is inputted, the HMD 1 displays the grid K1 (including an ID mark M1) on the display surface 5, and when “grid off” is inputted, the grid K1 in the display surface 5 is not displayed; in a case of the gesture method, the HMD 1 detects the gesture of the fingers from the image of the camera 6 and associates the detected gesture with a predetermined command; for example, when the HMD 1 detects a touch or tap gesture with respect to the position of the virtual object in the display surface 5, it associates the detected gesture as the designation of the virtual object; and for example, when the HMD 1 detects a gesture of opening and closing a hand(s), it associates the detected gesture with a command indicating returning to a previous state or indicating cancel, and See also at least paragraphs[0058]-[0059], [0061], [0066], [0071], [0075]-[0076], [0087]-[0091], [0101]-[0102], [0106], [0113]-[0115], and [0146]-[0148] of Hashimoto (i.e., Hashimoto teaches the HMD includes an operating tool, a microphone, and an instruction recognizer that recognizes an input operation by a user to the HMD based on the an input voice of the microphone, wherein the instruction recognizer is capable of associating the input operation including the user’s voice with a predetermined command and control the display controller to display of a virtual object on the display surface of the HMD and even arrange or move the virtual object by pressing, via a finger, a button on an operating tool that is communicatively coupled and included with the HMD worn by the user, and wherein the microphone )).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hashimoto, in view of Rosenfeld et al., U.S. Patent Application Publication 2017/0052701 A1 (hereinafter Rosenfeld).
Regarding claim 2, Hashimoto teach the display control apparatus according to claim 1, but does not expressly teach wherein the display controller is configured to change a location indicated by the virtual indicator in accordance with a change in orientation of the pair of glasses device.
However, Rosenfeld teaches wherein the display controller is configured to change a location indicated by the virtual indicator in accordance with a change in orientation of the pair of glasses device (FIG. 1-3, paragraphs[0040] of Rosenfeld teaches in some implementations, the virtual keyboard 102, 202, 204 includes a cursor; for example, the cursor can be a mouse cursor, a crosshair, a dot, an animated icon, or other such visual cue; in some aspects, a user can move the cursor around the virtual space or select particular keys on the virtual keyboard 102, 202, 204 by turning the user's head; and the VR system 100, 200 moves the cursor based on the HMD's direction sensors which track the rotation of the HMD on the user's head, also known as head tracking, and See also ABSTRACT and paragraph[0056] of Rosenfeld (i.e., Rosenfeld teaches a VR system utilizing a sensor that tracks rotation of an HMD on a user’s head in order to move a location of a cursor)).
Furthermore, Hashimoto and Rosenfeld are considered to be analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor with respect to a virtual reality device, and involve the same problem of forming the virtual reality device to suitably control a cursor. Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the system of Hashimoto based on Rosenfeld wherein the display controller is configured to change a location indicated by the virtual indicator in accordance with a change in orientation of the pair of glasses device. One reason for the modification as taught by Rosenfeld is to have a virtual keyboard graphical user interface for use in a three-dimensional virtual world (paragraph[0009] of Rosenfeld).
Potentially Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 3 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome applicable rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ) 2nd paragraph indicated above, and if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening, because for each of the claim 3 the prior art references of record do not teach the combination of all element limitations as presently claimed. For example, in regard to claim 3 the prior art of record at least does not expressly teach concept of the display control apparatus according to claim 2, wherein the display controller is configured to update, during a continuation of the input operation, a location of the virtual object determined to be the target for operation in the three- dimensional space in accordance with the change in orientation of the pair of glasses device such that a display location of the virtual object determined to be the target for operation on the pair of glasses device is fixed. In addition, claims 7 and 9 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome applicable rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ) 2nd paragraph indicated above, because for each of claims 7 and 9, at least in light of their dependency on dependent claim 3, the prior art references of record do not teach the combination of all element limitations as presently claimed.
Conclusion
/ABDUL-SAMAD A ADEDIRAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2621