Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims which recite a limitation followed by “in particular” and then a more narrow limitation are indefinite since it is unclear whether the limitation following “in particular”. For example.
Claim 1 at line 3 recites the limitation “a refrigeration machine, in particular an absorption refrigeration machine”. The phrase “in particular” renders this claim indefinite since it makes unclear whether an absorption refrigeration machine is required to anticipate claim 1.
Claim 1 at line 4 recites the limitation “the system is designed to compress the gas…, in particular in several stages”. The phrase “in particular” renders this claim indefinite since it makes unclear whether a several stage compression step is required to anticipate claim 1.
In addition to claim 1, claims 3, 5-10, and 13 contain this indefinite language.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 10, and 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US PGPub 2019/0301774 (Yoshida).
In Re claim 1 Yoshida discloses a system for compressing, storing, and providing a hydrogen gas, comprising a compression device (11a), a storage device (tank 14), an expansion machine (11b), and a refrigeration machine (12), wherein the system is designed to compress the gas obtained by means of the compression device, and to store the compressed gas in the storage device, wherein the system is configured to cool the compression device using the refrigeration machine and the expansion machine (Paragraphs 47-52).
the refrigeration machine which is supplied in the return line of the refrigeration machine.
Yoshida as applied to claim 1 above performs the method of claims 10 and 13 during ordinary use and operation.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yoshida in view of US PGPub 2017/0023181 (Inoue).
In Re claim 9 Yoshida discloses many limitations, including a system designed to cool the gas between compressor components via a refrigerant flow (from cooler 12, Paragraph 53).
But fails to disclose the compression device having plurality of compressor stages for multi-stage compression of the gas.
Inoue discloses an apparatus for compression of hydrogen comprising a compressor which comprises multiple stages (102 in Figure 1), to more efficiently compress the gas.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the invention to modify the Yoshida apparatus by using a multi-stage compressor, in order to more efficiently compress the hydrogen.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2-8, 11, and 12 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. US PGPub 2006/0118575 discloses an apparatus and method for compressing and dispensing hydrogen which uses a multi-stage compressor and a cooling system.
/JASON K NIESZ/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3753