Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the enablement requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to enable one skilled in the art to which it pertains, or with which it is most nearly connected, to make and/or use the invention.
The claims (see claim 1) describe a SDN controller controlling communication settings and a “a transmission process in which test data is transmitted in the communication settings”. Setting as understood in the art are not elements through which data is transmitted, or in which data is transmitted, and applicant’s specification provides insufficient insight on what is meant by “a transmission process in which test data is transmitted in the communication settings”. The remaining independent claims recite similar language and are addressed by similar rationale.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
(B) CONCLUSION.—The specification shall conclude with one or more claims particularly pointing out and distinctly claiming the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention.
Claim(s) 1-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which applicant regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 1, applicant' s recitation of “a determination process that determines whether a communication error has occurred during a transmission process in which test data is transmitted in the communication settings” would have been unclear to one of ordinary skill in the art. It is unclear what is meant by “a transmission process in which test data is transmitted in the communication settings” because settings are something in which data is transmitted. It is unclear what a transmission “in” a setting is referring to. One of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the claims and what the process enacted by the apparatus entails. Claims 8-9 recite similar language and are addressed by similar rationale.
Dependent claims not addressed are rejected for incorporating the deficiencies of their respective parent claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 1, 7-10, 12-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20250016066 to Dasari in view of JP2017028629A to Mitsunobe.
Regarding claim 1, Dasari teaches an SDN system for a vehicle, the SDN system comprising:
an SDN switch; and an SDN controller, wherein the SDN controller includes control circuitry configured to execute (abstract, ¶ 12, 19, 26-31):
controlling communication settings of the SDN switch (abstract, ¶ 12, 19, 26-31);
Dasari fails to teach but Mitsunobe teaches:
a determination process that determines whether a communication error has occurred during a transmission process in which test data is transmitted in the communication settings (¶ 16-19, determining whether error has occurred); and
a permission process that permits transmission and reception of data other than the test data in the communication settings when the determination process determines that the communication error has not occurred (¶ 15-19, 30-36, permission of transmission/reception of data when error has not occured), wherein
a normal path is a transmission path for the data and is defined by the communication settings, the normal path including the SDN switch (¶ 16-19, normal route paths); see also 30-36),
the transmission process includes a first test process, the first test process transmits the test data along the normal path (¶ 16-19), and
the determination process determines that the communication error in the communication settings has not occurred on condition that the communication error in the normal path has not been detected during the first test process (¶ 16-19, 30, 36).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include the teachings of Mitsunobe. The motivation to do so is that the teachings of Mitsunobe would have been advantageous in terms of facilitating the verification of communication paths and bandwidth (Mitsunobe, ¶ 3-6).
Regarding claim 7,
Dasari fails to teach but Mitsunobe teaches:
wherein the SDN controller is configured to execute a normality notification process after the permission process, and the normality notification process outputs a signal indicating that the communication settings are normal (¶ 47-50, verification notification). Motivation to include Mitsunobe is the same as presented above.
Claim 8-9 addressed by similar rationale as claim 1.
Regarding claim 10,
Dasari fails to teach but Mitsunobe teaches:
wherein the control circuitry is configured to execute transmitting the test data from the SDN controller to the SDN switch along the normal path during the first test process (¶ 16-19, 30-36). Motivation to include Mitsunobe is the same as presented above.
Regarding claims 12-13
Dasari fails to teach but Mitsunobe teaches:
wherein the control circuitry is configured to execute transmitting the test data to the SDN switch along the normal path during the first test process (¶ 16-19, 30, 36). Motivation to include Mitsunobe is the same as presented above.
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dasari and Mitsunobe in view of US 20230261980 to Padi.
Regarding claim 2,
Dasari fails to teach but Padi teaches:
wherein an abnormal path is a transmission path for the data and is not defined by the communication settings, the transmission process includes a second test process, the second test process transmits the test data from the SDN controller to the SDN switch along the abnormal path, and the determination process determines that the communication error in the communication settings has not occurred on condition that the communication error in the abnormal path has been detected during the second test process. (abstract, ¶ 2, 17-20).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include the teachings of Padi. The motivation to do so is that the teachings of Padi would have been advantageous in terms of facilitating bypass and/or fast re-routing (Padi, ¶ 15-16).
CONCLUSION
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to RYAN J JAKOVAC whose telephone number is (571)270-5003. The examiner can normally be reached on 8-4 PM EST. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Oscar A. Louie can be reached on 572-270-1684. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
/RYAN J JAKOVAC/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2445