DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 5/30/2025 and 4/27/2026 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Ellis (WO2022016130) hereafter Ellis.
Regarding claim 1, Ellis discloses an intraocular lens (abstract, fig. 3 and 7) having an optical zone (fig. 7), the intraocular lens comprising: a solid optical component (12) having a peripheral edge located outside of and surrounding the optical zone of the intraocular lens and an internal chamber (fig. 7, element 38 as the claimed internal chamber) defined by one or more interior walls located within the optical zone of the intraocular lens (fig. 3); and a liquid optical material (par. [0046]) contained within the internal chamber, wherein the one or more interior walls located within the optical zone comprises a textured surface configured to diffuse light (fig. 3, 7, par. [0046]).
Regarding claim 2, Ellis discloses an intraocular lens of claim 1, wherein the one or more interior walls located within the optical zone are vertical or near vertical (fig. 3).
Regarding claim 3, Ellis discloses the intraocular lens of claim 2, wherein the one or more interior walls form a boundary between a first lens component composed of a material having a first refractive index and a second lens component composed of a material having a second refractive index that is different from the first refractive index of the first lens component (fig. 7).
Regarding claim 4, Ellis discloses the intraocular lens of claim 1, wherein the textured surface comprises an irregular surface morphology (fig. 7).
Regarding claim 5, Ellis discloses the intraocular lens of claim 4, wherein the irregular surface morphology has an average roughness depth (R.sub.z) of about 7-15 μm, an arithmetic mean roughness (R.sub.A) of about 1.2-1.9 μm, maximum roughness depth (R.sub.max) of about 7-30 μm, and peak density and overlap (RPC) of about 20-40 per mm (fig. 7, par. [par. [0038]-[0065]).
Regarding claim 6, Ellis discloses the intraocular lens of claim 1, wherein the textured surface is an internal-facing surface or an external-facing surface of the one or more interior walls (fig. 3 and 7).
Regarding claim 7, Ellis discloses the intraocular lens of claim 1, wherein one or more regions of the solid optical component located outside of the optical zone are light-diffusing via particles such as filler or pigment to scatter and/or block light entering the intraocular lens from a periphery (fig. 3, 7, par. [par. [0038]-[0065]).
Regarding claim 8, Ellis discloses the intraocular lens of claim 7, wherein the one or more regions that are light-diffusing are translucent or opaque (fig. 3, 7, par. [par. [0038]-[0065]).
Regarding claim 9, Ellis discloses the intraocular lens of claim 7, wherein the one or more regions that are light-diffusing block about 70%-100% of light rays passing through the one or more regions (fig. 3, 7, par. [par. [0038]-[0065]).
Regarding claim 10, Ellis discloses the intraocular lens of claim 7, wherein the one or more regions incorporate a pigment additive concentration that is about 0.25%-4% by weight (fig. 3, 7, par. [par. [0038]-[0065]).
Regarding claim 11, Ellis discloses the intraocular lens of claim 1, further comprising a second textured surface of a wall of the intraocular lens located outside the optical zone (fig. 7).
4. Claim(s) 12-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Cuevas (WO2019060555) hereafter Cuevas.
Regarding claim 12, Cuevas discloses an apparatus for manufacturing an intraocular lens (par. [0048]-[0050]), the apparatus comprising: a mold component comprising a cavity formed, in part, by a substantially horizontal surface and a substantially vertical surface (fig. 5), wherein the substantially vertical surface is arranged to form a corresponding internal surface located within an optical zone of an intraocular lens component, and wherein at least a portion of the substantially vertical surface of the cavity comprises a texture (fig. 5, par. [0048][0050]) configured to imprint a corresponding texture to the corresponding internal surface that is configured to diffuse light through the intraocular lens component (fig. 5, par. [0048]-[0050]).
Regarding claim 13, Cuevas discloses the apparatus of claim 12, wherein the texture comprises an irregular surface morphology (par. [0055]-[0056]).
Regarding claim 14, Cuevas discloses the apparatus of claim 13, wherein the irregular surface morphology has an average roughness depth (R.sub.z) of about 7-15 μm, an arithmetic mean roughness (R.sub.A) of about 1.2-1.9 μm, maximum roughness depth (R.sub.max) of about 7-30 μm, and peak density and overlap (RPC) of about 20-40 per mm (fig. 5, par. [0048]-[0050]).
Regarding claim 15, Cuevas discloses the apparatus of claim 12, wherein the texture on the substantially vertical surface extends less than an entirety of the substantially vertical surface forming an untextured border region on the substantially vertical surface (fig. 5, par. [0048]-[0050]).
Regarding claim 16, Cuevas discloses the apparatus of claim 15, wherein the untextured border region extends between the substantially vertical surface and an adjacent second surface of the mold component (fig. 5, par. [0048]-[0050]).
Regarding claim 17, Cuevas discloses the apparatus of claim 15, wherein a width of the untextured border region is about 1-50 μm (fig. 5, par. [0048]-[0050]).
Regarding claim 18, Cuevas discloses the apparatus of claim 12, wherein the texture configured to imprint the corresponding texture is located directly on the at least a portion of the substantially vertical surface of the cavity(fig. 5, par. [0048]-[0050]).
Regarding claim 19, Cuevas discloses the apparatus of claim 12, wherein the texture configured to imprint the corresponding texture is applied to a coating on the at least a portion of the substantially vertical surface of the cavity(fig. 5, par. [0048]-[0050]).
Regarding claim 20, Cuevas discloses the apparatus of claim 19, wherein the coating comprises a material configured to improve release of the intraocular lens component from the mold component(fig. 5, par. [0048]-[0050]).
Conclusion
/JAMES C. JONES/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2872