DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I, claims 1-2, in the reply filed on 06 July 2026 is acknowledged. The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claim 3 is withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 06 July 2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Oh et al. (US 2019/0010595 – cited by applicant).
Considering claim 1, Oh teaches a plated steel material including a plated layer (abstract). The plating layer comprises by weight al: 0.5-14%, Mg: 0.5-5%, balance Zn (i.e. ~81-99%) and inevitable impurities (Paragraph 18) on a base steel (Paragraph 17). The surface of the plated layer has a greater Mg content than the Mg content at half thickness (Paragraph 8) and an example is disclosed where the thickness of the portion having a greater Mg content is about 1.5 µm and the overall layer thickness is about 12 µm (Fig. 1A -reproduced below; Paragraph 66). Oh teaches where the microstructure of the plating a single phase Zn and an intermetallic of a Zn/Al/MgZn2 ternary eutectic structure (Paragraph 28), but does not teach the claimed total area ratio. However, Oh teaches where the plating is formed by immersion in a plating bath at preferably 440-460 °C (Paragraph 34), and undergoes a primary cooling at 5 °/C or less and preferably 3 °/C or less to 380-420 °C (Paragraphs 46-47) and a secondary cooling at 10 °/C or more and preferably 15 °/C or more to a temperature of 320 °C or less (Paragraphs 51-52). These conditions are substantially identical to those set forth in Paragraph 67 of the originally filed specification and therefore one would reasonably expect the steel of Oh to possess the claimed area ratio as substantially identical materials treated in a substantially identical manner are expected to behave the same, absent an objective showing. See MPEP 2112.
While not expressly teaching a singular example of the claimed coated steel this would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date in view of the teachings of Oh as the steel, plating composition, and Mg enriched portion overlap the claimed composition and thickness and the courts have held that where claimed ranges overlap or lie inside of those disclosed in the prior art a prima facie case of obviousness exists. See MPEP 2144.05.
Considering claim 2, Fig.1A above depicts a Al-Fe alloy layer from about 7-12 µm from the surface.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Honda et al. (US 6,465,114), Warnecke et al. (US 2010/0024925), Sengoku et al. (US 2020/0032360), and Tokuda et al. (US 2022/0356547) teach plated steels demonstrating the ordinary level of skill in the art.
SETH DUMBRIS
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1784
/SETH DUMBRIS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1784