CTNF 19/106,260 CTNF 77802 DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 07-06 AIA 15-10-15 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. 07-07-aia AIA 07-07 The following is a quotation of the appropriate paragraphs of 35 U.S.C. 102 that form the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action: A person shall be entitled to a patent unless – 07-08-aia AIA (a)(1) the claimed invention was patented, described in a printed publication, or in public use, on sale, or otherwise available to the public before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. 07-15-aia AIA Claim s 1-7 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 a1 as being clearly anticipated by Mandegaran (US 2018/0083591 cited by applicant) . Mandegaran (e.g. Figs. 1 ,2A, 3E) teaches a hybrid/filter composite device including: Regarding Claims 1 and 9, a first hybrid including a 90 degree hybrid coupler (e.g. 204) including a first port (e.g. ISO) and a second port (e.g. IN) and a third port (e.g. COUP) and a fourth port (e.g. QUAD) to which a signal input to the first or second port is distributed; a first filter (e.g. 201) connected to the second port and having a first passband (e.g. f1); a second filter (e.g. 205) connected to the third port (e.g. COUP) and having a second passband (e.g. f2) that does not overlap the first passband (e.g. see [0033], f2 is a second passband and f2 has stopbands that include f1 thus f1 and f2 do not overlap since f1 is in the stopband of F2 rather than the passband of f2); and a third filter (e.g. 206) connected to the fourth port (e.g. QUAD) and having the second passband (e.g. f2), wherein when a first part is an electrical section from the first filter to the first hybrid, and a second part is a combination of an electrical section from the second filter to the first hybrid and an electrical section from the third filter to the first hybrid, and for Claim 1, at least one of the first part or the second part does not include a matching network containing an inductor including a conductor of a multilayer substrate (e.g. see [0043], capacitors 210, 211, and 212 are matching networks but do not include any inductors), or in Claim 9 at least one of the first part or the second part includes a matching network containing a capacitor (e.g. capacitors 210, 211, and 212 are matching networks, see [0043]). Regarding Claim 2, wherein at least one of the first part or the second part does not include a matching network containing an inductor (e.g. see [0043], capacitors 210, 211, and 212 are matching networks but do not include any inductors). Regarding Claim 3, wherein the second part does not include a matching network (e.g. see Fig. 1, the matching capacitors are not included as compared to Fig. 2A which has the capacitors). Regarding Claim 4, wherein the first part does not include a matching network (e.g. see Fig. 1, the matching capacitors are not included as compared to Fig. 2A which has the capacitors). Regarding Claim 5, wherein at least one of the first part or the second part includes a matching network containing a capacitor (e.g. see [0043], capacitors 210, 211, and 212 are matching networks). Regarding Claim 6, further comprising: a matching network (e.g. see Fig. 3E, capacitor 316) electrically connected to an opposite side of the second filter (e.g. 305) from a side of the second filter to which the first hybrid (e.g. 304) is connected, and a matching network (e.g. see Fig. 3E, matching capacitors 317) electrically connected to an opposite side of the third filter (e.g. 306) from a side of the third filter to which the first hybrid (e.g. 304) is connected. Regarding Claim 7, further comprising: a common terminal (e.g. Common Port) connected to the first port (e.g. ISO); a first terminal (e.g. 202) electrically connected to an opposite side of the first filter (e.g. 201) from a side of the first filter to which the first hybrid (e.g. 204) is connected; a second hybrid (e.g. 207) including a 90 degree hybrid coupler including a fifth port (e.g. IN of 207) electrically connected to an opposite side of the second filter (e.g. 205) from a side of the second filter to which the first hybrid (e.g. 204) is connected, a sixth port (e.g. ISO of 207) electrically connected to an opposite side of the third filter (e.g. 206) from a side of the third filter to which the first hybrid (e.g. 204) is connected, and a seventh port (e.g. COUP of 207) and a eighth port (e.g. QUAD of 207) to which a signal from the fifth port or the sixth port is distributed; a second terminal (e.g. 209) connected to a port that is one port among the seventh port and the eighth port and at which a signal that passes through the first port, the third port, and the fifth port in that order and a signal that passes through the first port, the fourth port, and the sixth port in that order are in phase with each other (e.g. the ports of the hybrids are arranged identically to the claimed system), and a termination resistor (e.g. 208) connected to another port among the seventh port and the eighth port . Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-21-aia AIA Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mandegaran (US 2018/0083591 cited by applicant) in view of Mages (US 2006/0019611) . Mandegaran teaches a device as described above including that the filters can be acoustic filters (e.g. see [0028]). However, Mandegaran does not appear to teach a multilayer substrate having a chip mounted on the first substrate and containing at least one acoustic wave filter that is at least one of the first, second and third filters. Mages provides the general teaching of a multilayer circuit board/substrate including mounting couplers and acoustic wave filters which can be in chip form (e.g. see [0039], [0043], [0013]). It would have been considered obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified the Mandegaran device to have the hybrid/filter composite device to be on a multilayer circuit substrate and the filters in chips on the multilayer substrate such as taught by Mages, because the chips and circuit board substrate would have provided the advantageous benefits of integration of the filter/hybrid components with additional system devices and compactness of the circuitry such as generally taught by Mages (e.g. see [0043] and [0039]) . 07-21-aia AIA Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mandegaran (US 2018/0083591 cited by applicant) in view of Mizoguchi et al. (US 2019/0097675 cited by applicant) . Mandegaran teaches a device as described above However, Mandegaran does not appear to teach an antenna connected to the first port; and an integrated circuit element electrically connected to an opposite side of each of the first filter, the second filter, and the third filter from the first hybrid. Mizoguchi (e.g. Fig. 10) teaches generally the same arrangement of an antenna (e.g. 2) connected to the first port; and an integrated circuit element (e.g. 4) electrically connected to an opposite side of each of the first filter, the second filter, and the third filter from the first hybrid (e.g. see 1A in Fig. 1 and Fig. 10, as compared to Fig. 9 of the present application). It would have been considered obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified the Mandegaran device to have been in an integrated circuit antenna communication system such as generally taught by Mizoguchi, because it would have provided the advantageous benefit of forming the composite hybrid/filter as part of a full communications transceiver system having a shared antenna for receiving and transmitting such as generally taught by Mizoguchi (e.g. see [0209-0220]). Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to STEPHEN E JONES whose telephone number is (571)272-1762. The examiner can normally be reached 9AM to 5PM. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Andrea Lindgren Baltzell can be reached at 571-272-5918. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /Stephen E. Jones/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2843 Application/Control Number: 19/106,260 Page 2 Art Unit: 2843 Application/Control Number: 19/106,260 Page 3 Art Unit: 2843 Application/Control Number: 19/106,260 Page 4 Art Unit: 2843 Application/Control Number: 19/106,260 Page 5 Art Unit: 2843 Application/Control Number: 19/106,260 Page 6 Art Unit: 2843 Application/Control Number: 19/106,260 Page 7 Art Unit: 2843