DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-11 are pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-11 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites “a connecting shaft connected to an end portion of the shaft on a first side in the axial direction” and “a shaft having a tubular shape that is disposed at a position on a second side opposite to the first side in the axial relative to the impeller,” and “a nut that is disposed on the first side in the axial direction relative to the impeller.” Applicant’s figure 2 shows the connecting shaft (6) and the sleeve (7) and the impeller (41) and the nut (8) and the shaft (5). Applicant has claimed “a first side” on both the left side of impeller (41) to connect the nut (8) and “a first side” on the right side of impeller (41) to connect shaft (3) to shaft (5). Therefore, it is unclear what applicant intends to claim with “a first side.” For the limited purpose of examination “a first side” with regard to the nut (8) will be interpreted as “a second face” of the impeller. Claim 1 is rejected for indefiniteness. Dependent claims 2-11 are correspondingly rejected.
Claim 5 dependent on claim 2, recites “a protruding portion protruding in a tubular shape from the impeller body,” claim 2 recites “a plurality of second protrusions.” Applicant discloses only “second protrusions (481) to refer to protrusions off of the impeller end face; applicant does not disclose other features extending from the impeller. It is unclear whether “a protruding portion” refers to a single protrusion from the plurality of protrusions, or to the entirety of the protrusions, or to an entirely different thing than “a plurality of second protrusions.” For the limited purpose of examination “a protruding portion” will be considered to refer to the same thing as “a plurality of second protrusions.” Therefore claim 5 is rejected for indefiniteness.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-6 and 9-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Land (US 2,577,134).
Annotations on Lang fig 1
Land fig 2 and 3, showing tooth 21 and slot 22, c 2 ln 50-53, which are analogous to teeth 23 and slots 24 on the opposite side of impeller 8, c 3 ln 17-25
Claim 1, Land discloses a rotor (fig 1, rotor 8) comprising:
a shaft (3) extending in an axial direction in which an axis extends centered on the axis (axis of 3);
a connecting shaft (4) connected to an end portion of the shaft (4 connects to screw part at 6, which is integral to shaft 3) on a first side in the axial direction (connecting shaft 4 comes from the side of the impeller which is a first side, see applicant’s spec fig 2, da1 is first side, da2 is second side, par 0016) and having a screw part (screw threads on 4) formed at a tip portion of the connecting shaft (fig 1 depicts threads at the tip of 4 at connection to 6);
an impeller (8) including an impeller body (8) formed in a disc-like shape (fig 1, shows 8 as disk shaped) centered on the axis and an insertion hole (bore at 9, c 2 ln 13-20) which is formed in a center portion of the impeller body passing through in the axial direction and through which the connecting shaft is inserted (in 9, shaft 4 passes);
a sleeve (collar 11, c 2 ln 20-25) having a tubular shape (11 encircles shaft 3 and is described as a collar, which indicates it has a tubular shape) that is disposed at a position on a second side opposite to the first side (fig 1, collar 11 is on the side of shaft 3 opposite impeller 8) in the axial direction relative to the impeller (id.) and is fixed to the shaft in such a manner as to cover the shaft on an outer side in a radial direction (fig 1 shows collar 11 radially outside of shaft 3) based on the axis relative to the shaft (id.); and
a nut (15) that is disposed on the first side in the axial direction relative to the impeller (15 is attached to impeller 8 in the same manner as applicant’s nut 8 in fig 2 ), and pinches and fixes the impeller together with the sleeve in the axial direction by being fastened to the screw part (nut 15 pushes the impeller into engagement with collar 11, c 2 ln 21-35), wherein
a position of a sleeve end face of the sleeve (face of collar 11 with radial slots 24, c 3 ln 23) facing the first side in the axial direction and a position of an impeller end face of the impeller (face of the impeller 8 with radial teeth 23, c 3 ln 22) facing the second side in the axial direction are constrained mutually in a circumferential direction around the axis and the radial direction in a state of the sleeve end face and the impeller end face being in contact with each other (the radial splines on the impeller and collar interengage, c 3 ln 15-25; the term “interengage” is taken to plainly mean that the end faces are in contact and engaged, fig 1 shows the teeth overlapping in profile view; reasonably the radial splines are constrained in order to transmit rotation in the same manner as the radial splines on the nosepiece and impeller, c 2 ln 44-56).
Claim 2, Land discloses the rotor according to claim 1, wherein
the sleeve includes a first fitting part (surface which includes radial slots 24 on collar 11, c 3 ln 20-25) which is formed on the sleeve end face (11) and in which
a plurality of first protrusions (the raised surface between slots 24, similar to the arrangement in Land fig 3, showing raised spots between slots 22) protruding in the axial direction from a first surface (upper surface of collar 11 between slots 24, c 3 ln 20-25) facing the first side in the axial direction (side of collar 11 facing the impeller 8) and
a plurality of first recesses (radial slots 24 on collar 11, c 3 ln 20-25) recessed in the axial direction from the first surface are disposed in the circumferential direction (c 3 ln 20-25),
the impeller (8) includes a second fitting part (surface of the radial teeth 23 on impeller 8, c 3 ln 20-25) which is formed on the impeller end face (face of impeller facing the collar 11) and in which
a plurality of second protrusions (radial teeth 23 on impeller 8, c 3 ln 20-25) protruding in the axial direction from a second surface (surface of impeller 8) facing the second side in the axial direction and
a plurality of second recesses (the recesses between each tooth 23 on the impeller 8) recessed in the axial direction from the second surface are disposed in the circumferential direction (c 3 ln 20-25),
the first protrusion is fitted to the second recess while mutually restricting movements in the circumferential direction, and the first recess is fitted to the second protrusion while mutually restricting movements in the circumferential direction (c 3 ln 20-25; the term “interengage” is taken to plainly mean that the end faces are in contact and engaged, fig 1 shows the teeth overlapping in profile view; reasonably the radial splines are constrained in order to transmit rotation in the same manner as the radial splines on the nosepiece and impeller, c 2 ln 44-56).
Claim 3, Land discloses the rotor according to claim 2, wherein the first fitting part (surfaces with slots 24 on collar 11, c 3 ln 20-25) includes
a plurality of the first surfaces facing the axial direction (the raised portion of the surface between slots 24),
a plurality of first separation surfaces (slots 24) each disposed separately in the circumferential direction to be alternately arranged with respect to the first surface when viewed from the axial direction and formed at a position shifted in the axial direction relative to the first surface (slots 24 are recessed in ration to the high points between slots 24), and
a plurality of first connection surfaces (sloped sides of the slots 24) each disposed between the first surface and the first separation surface in the circumferential direction and connecting the first surface and the first separation surface (the slopes of the sides of slots 24 would necessarily connect the bottom of the slot 24 to the top surface of the slot 24 which is the high point between slots),
the second fitting part (surfaces with teeth 23 which is on the impeller 8, c 3 ln 20-25) includes a plurality of the second surfaces facing the axial direction and each disposed at a position overlapping the first surface when viewed from the axial direction (the teeth 23 of impeller 8 and slots 24 of collar 11 overlap as the interengage with each other, c 3 ln 20-25),
a plurality of second separation surfaces (lower parts between teeth 23) each disposed at a position overlapping the first separation surface when viewed from the axial direction and formed at the position shifted in the axial direction relative to the second surface (these sections overlap to make the connection between collar 11 and impeller 8, id.), and
a plurality of second connection surfaces (sides of teeth 23 which connect the lowest part of the teeth with the highest part) each disposed at a position overlapping the first connection surface when viewed from the axial direction and connecting the second surface and the second separation surface (this overlap occurs when the sections interengage, c 3 ln 20-25), and the plurality of first connection surfaces are in contact with at least part of the plurality of second connection surfaces (id.).
Claim 4, Land discloses the rotor according to claim 3, wherein the first surface (surface of the slots 24 on collar 11, c 3 ln 20-25) is located on the first side in the axial direction relative to the first separation surface when viewed from the radial direction (the interengagement of collar 11 slots and impeller 8 teeth causes this, c 3 ln 20-25), and the plurality of first connection surfaces (sides of slots 24 which connect the tops and bottom of the slots), when viewed from the radial direction, each stretch to be away from the first surface in the circumferential direction as the plurality of first connection surfaces extend from the first side toward the second side in the axial direction (the sides of slots 24 are sloped toward the axis in order to connect the tops and bottoms of slots 24, since they are sloped along the axis of the shaft, they extend and stretch as claimed. Stretch is interpreted as synonymous with extend).
Claim 5, Land discloses the rotor according to claim 2, wherein the impeller (8) includes a protruding portion (teeth 23, c 3 ln 22) protruding in a tubular shape (fig 2, teeth 23 are arranged in the same way as the teeth 21 on the other side of the impeller, c 3 ln 17-19, teeth 21 are arranged around the shaft, c 2 ln 50-55) from the impeller body toward the second side in the axial direction (teeth on impeller 8 which face collar 11 are facing the second side), and the second fitting part is formed on the protruding portion (surface of radial teeth 23 on the impeller 8 protrude and form a protruding portion, c 3 ln 20-25).
Claim 6, Land discloses the rotor according to claim 5, wherein the protruding portion is formed at intervals on the outer side in the radial direction (teeth 23 on the impeller 8 encircle the shaft 3, they are similar to the teeth on eth other side of the impeller, c 3 ln 15-20, c 2 ln 50-51) with respect to the connecting shaft and the shaft (teeth 23 meets slots 24 around the shaft, c 3 ln 20-25, c 2 ln 50-51).
Claim 9, Land discloses the rotor according to claim 1, further comprising:
a sealing portion (the collar 11 is held tightly to the shaft 3 by the tightening of nut 15 which presses the collar against radially shoulder 12 of the shaft, c 2 ln 21-29; this fits the plain meaning of the term seal; meaning something that secures with tightness) configured to seal a space between an outside surface of the shaft and an inside surface of the sleeve (since collar 11 is pressed against a shoulder 12 that rises radially outward from the shaft 3, then that space between the inner side of collar 11 and shoulder 12 / shaft 3 is reasonably closed, c 2 ln 21-29).
Claim 10, Land discloses a rotary machine (c 1 ln 1, turbo charger), comprising:
the rotor according to claim 1; and
a casing (fig 1 shows the volute for impeller 8)configured to cover the rotor from the outer side in the radial direction (fig 1, volute covers the impeller radially).
Claim 11, Land discloses a method for assembling the rotor according to claim 1, the method comprising:
fixing the sleeve to the shaft (11 is attached to the outside of shaft 3, c 2 ln 21-35);
connecting the connecting shaft to the shaft (4 and 3 are connected via wheel 6, c 2 ln 3-10);
constraining a position of the impeller end face (face of impeller 8 with teeth 23, c 3 ln 20-25) and a position of the sleeve end face (face of collar with slots 24, c 3 ln 20-25) by inserting the connecting shaft into the insertion hole of the impeller from the axial direction to bring the impeller end face and the sleeve end face into contact with each other (rod 4 holds the impeller against the shaft axially, c 2 ln 29-35; reasonably this axial force causes the teeth 23 and slots 24 to stay in contact); and fastening the nut to the screw part of the connecting shaft (nut 15 maintains the shaft 4 in position, c 2 ln 30-31).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 7 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Land in view of Yagi (US 9,664,055).
Claim 7, Land discloses the rotor according to claim 1. Land is silent on wherein the sleeve and the shaft are fitted to each other by shrink fit.
Yagi teaches shrink fitting the thin portion (231) of a sleeve to a rotation shaft (5) in order to aid construction of the impeller (510).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in eth art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the connection of collar (11) and shaft (3) of Land by shrink fit taught by Yagi, in order to easily assembly and disassemble the impeller, thereby decreasing the cost of assembly (Yagi, c 1 ln 50-60; c 10 ln 25-36).
Claim 8, Land discloses the rotor according to claim 7, wherein the shaft includes a hole forming portion (shaft 3 is hollow) having an insertion hole into which the connecting shaft is inserted (rod 4 is insert into the hollow shaft 3, c 2 ln 4-5), and
a solid portion (shaft 3 is solid along its length, including at radial shoulder 12 of the shaft, c 2 ln 25; reasonably it is solid enough at the shoulder 12 to receive tightening force from the rod 4) formed on the second side in the axial direction relative to the hole
forming portion, and the sleeve (11) and the shaft (3) are fitted to each other by shrink fit at a position overlapping the solid portion in the axial direction (sleeve 11 and shaft 3 are fit to each other, c 2 ln 20-25).
Land is silent on the fit between 11 and 3 as “shrink fit.”
Yagi teaches shrink fitting the thin portion (231) of a sleeve to a rotation shaft (5) in order to aid construction of the impeller (510).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in eth art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the connection of collar (11) and shaft (3) of Land by shrink fit taught by Yagi, in order to easily assembly and disassemble the impeller, thereby decreasing the cost of assembly (Yagi, c 1 ln 50-60; c 10 ln 25-36).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Haugen (US 6,499,958) discloses an impeller connected to a main shaft with a connecting shaft, which includes protrusions to aid in the transmission of torque.
Asano (US 2015/0093247) discloses an impeller attached to a main shaft via a connecting shaft with axial protrusions between the main shaft and the impeller which aid in torque transfer.
/GEOFFREY S LEE/Examiner, Art Unit 3746
/DOMINICK L PLAKKOOTTAM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3746