This action is in response to the preliminary amendment filed on 02/25/2025.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 02/25/2025 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed, i.e. including a contactless exchange of electrical energy at the frequency of the AC voltage of the network by way of three switching arms forming two inverter/rectifiers.
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities: On page 5 of the Specification, in line 8, “between the primary subcircuit 3 and the secondary subcircuit 6” appears that it should read as “between the primary subcircuit 4 and the secondary subcircuit 6”, because reference numeral 3 designates the control unit and reference numeral 4 designates the primary subcircuit. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Objections
Claims 1, 4, 6-8, 10, 12-14, 16, and 18-20 are objected to because of the following informalities: Regarding claim 1, in line 20, “the first, second, and third arms” appears that it should read as “the first, second, and third switching arms”, because of consistency with the switching arms introduced in lines 11, 13, and 17;
in line 21, “these first, second, and third switching arms” appears that it should read as “the first, second, and third switching arms”, because of grammar.
Regarding claim 4, in line 3, “these two arms” appears that it should read as “the second and third arms”, because of grammar.
Regarding claim 6, in line 3, “these two arms” appears that it should read as “the first and second arms”, because of grammar.
Regarding claim 7, in line 5, “this third inverter/rectifier” appears that it should read as “the third inverter/rectifier”, because of grammar.
Regarding claim 8, in line 3, “these two arms” appears that it should read as “the two switching arms”, because of grammar;in line 6, “said AC voltage” appears that it should read as “the AC voltage”, because of consistency.
Regarding claim 10, in line 2, “the electrical circuit” appears that it should read as “the electric power supply circuit”, because of antecedent basis.
Regarding claim 12, in line 2, “these two arms” appears that it should read as “the second and third arms”, because of grammar.
Regarding claim 13, in line 2, “these two arms” appears that it should read as “the first and second arms”, because of grammar.
Regarding claim 14, in line 5, “this third inverter/rectifier” appears that it should read as “the third inverter/rectifier”, because of grammar.
Regarding claim 16, in line 2, “the electrical circuit” appears that it should read as “the electric power supply circuit”, because of antecedent basis.
Regarding claim 18, in line 2, “these two arms” appears that it should read as “the second and third arms”, because of grammar.
Regarding claim 19, in line 2, “these two arms” appears that it should read as “the first and second arms”, because of grammar.
Regarding claim 20, in line 5, “this third inverter/rectifier” appears that it should read as “the third inverter/rectifier”, because of grammar. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention. Regarding claim 1, in lines 4-5, the recitation “a secondary subcircuit able to be connected to an electrical energy storage unit” renders the claim indefinite, because “an electrical energy storage unit” is also recited in the preamble in line 1, and it is unclear whether the electrical energy storage unit recited in lines 4-5 is the same as, or is in addition to, the electrical energy storage unit recited in the preamble. For purposes of examination, the electrical energy storage unit recited in lines 4-5 is interpreted as being the same electrical energy storage unit as that recited in the preamble.
Regarding claim 1, in lines 8-9, the recitation “the AC voltage at the input of the primary subcircuit” lacks proper antecedent basis, because the claim previously recites only “a voltage network” in line 3, which is not required to supply an AC voltage, and it is therefore unclear whether the voltage network is positively required to be an AC network. For purposes of examination, the voltage network is interpreted as an AC voltage network, and the recited AC voltage at the input of the primary subcircuit is interpreted as the AC voltage supplied by the voltage network at the input of the primary subcircuit.
Regarding claim 1, in line 10, the recitation “for each phase of the AC voltage, at its input” renders the claim indefinite, because it is unclear whether “its” refers to the primary subcircuit or to the AC voltage. For purposes of examination, “its” is interpreted as referring to the primary subcircuit.
Regarding claim 1, in line 12, the recitation “a first terminal of the phase of the network” lacks proper antecedent basis, because the claim previously recites “each phase of the AC voltage” in line 10 and “a voltage network” in line 3, and it is further unclear which one of the phases is being referred to. For purposes of examination, “the phase of the network” is interpreted as any one phase of the AC voltage supplied by the voltage network, and a single-phase voltage network is interpreted as satisfying the limitation.
Regarding claim 1, in line 16, the recitation “the contactless exchange of energy” lacks proper antecedent basis. For purposes of examination, “the contactless exchange of energy” is interpreted as referring to the contactless exchange of electrical energy recited in lines 7-9.
Regarding claim 2, in lines 3-4, the recitation “a frequency greater than at least five times, in particular than at least ten times, the frequency at which the second arm switches” renders the claim indefinite, because the phrase “in particular” makes it unclear whether the limitation that follows is part of the claimed invention, and because it is further unclear whether the recited frequency is required to be greater than five times, or at least five times, the frequency at which the second arm switches. See MPEP 2173.05(d). For purposes of examination, the limitation is interpreted as requiring only that the first arm switch at a frequency at least five times the frequency at which the second arm switches, the recitation introduced by “in particular” not being given patentable weight.
Regarding claim 3, in lines 2-3, the recitation “a frequency of less than or equal to 60 Hz, in particular less than or equal to 50 Hz” renders the claim indefinite, because the phrase “in particular” makes it unclear whether the limitation that follows is part of the claimed invention. See MPEP 2173.05(d). For purposes of examination, the limitation is interpreted as requiring only a frequency of less than or equal to 60 Hz, the recitation introduced by “in particular” not being given patentable weight.
Regarding claim 5, in lines 2-3, the recitation “a frequency of less than or equal to 60 Hz, in particular less than or equal to 50 Hz” renders the claim indefinite, because the phrase “in particular” makes it unclear whether the limitation that follows is part of the claimed invention. See MPEP 2173.05(d). For purposes of examination, the limitation is interpreted as requiring only a frequency of less than or equal to 60 Hz, the recitation introduced by “in particular” not being given patentable weight.
Regarding claim 8, in line 7, the recitation “the AC current flowing through the secondary inductive cell” lacks proper antecedent basis. For purposes of examination, the limitation is interpreted as an AC current flowing through the secondary inductive cell recited in claim 7.
Regarding claim 8, in line 8, the recitation “the voltage at the AC input of the third inverter/rectifier” lacks proper antecedent basis. For purposes of examination, the limitation is interpreted as a voltage at the AC input of the third inverter/rectifier recited in claim 7.
Regarding claim 9, in line 2, the recitation “the various switching arms” renders the claim indefinite, because claim 1 recites only a first switching arm, a second switching arm, and a third switching arm, and it is therefore unclear which switching arms are encompassed by “the various switching arms”. For purposes of examination, “the various switching arms” is interpreted as the first switching arm, the second switching arm, and the third switching arm recited in claim 1.
Regarding claim 10, in line 3, the recitation “the component in particular defining a structure supporting the primary subcircuit and the secondary subcircuit such that they are rigidly coupled to one another” renders the claim indefinite, because the phrase “in particular” makes it unclear whether the limitation that follows is part of the claimed invention. See MPEP 2173.05(d). For purposes of examination, the recitation introduced by “in particular” is not given patentable weight, and claim 10 is interpreted as requiring only a component for supplying electric power to an electrical energy storage unit, comprising the electric power supply circuit of claim 1.
Regarding claim 11, in lines 6-7, the recitation “a component able to be placed on board a hybrid or electric vehicle” renders the claim indefinite, because “a hybrid or electric vehicle” is also recited in lines 3-4, and it is unclear whether the hybrid or electric vehicle recited in lines 6-7 is the same as, or is in addition to, the hybrid or electric vehicle recited in lines 3-4. For purposes of examination, the hybrid or electric vehicle recited in lines 6-7 is interpreted as being the same hybrid or electric vehicle as that recited in lines 3-4.
Regarding claim 15, in line 2, the recitation “the various switching arms” renders the claim indefinite, because claim 1 recites only a first switching arm, a second switching arm, and a third switching arm, and it is therefore unclear which switching arms are encompassed by “the various switching arms”. For purposes of examination, “the various switching arms” is interpreted as the first switching arm, the second switching arm, and the third switching arm recited in claim 1.
Regarding claim 16, in lines 2-4, the recitation “the component in particular defining a structure supporting the primary subcircuit and the secondary subcircuit such that they are rigidly coupled to one another” renders the claim indefinite, because the phrase “in particular” makes it unclear whether the limitation that follows is part of the claimed invention. See MPEP 2173.05(d). For purposes of examination, the recitation introduced by “in particular” is not given patentable weight, and claim 16 is interpreted as requiring only a component for supplying electric power to an electrical energy storage unit, comprising the electric power supply circuit of claim 2.
Regarding claim 17, in lines 5-6, the recitation “a component able to be placed on board a hybrid or electric vehicle” renders the claim indefinite, because “a hybrid or electric vehicle” is also recited in line 3, and it is unclear whether the hybrid or electric vehicle recited in lines 5-6 is the same as, or is in addition to, the hybrid or electric vehicle recited in line 3. For purposes of examination, the hybrid or electric vehicle recited in lines 5-6 is interpreted as being the same hybrid or electric vehicle as that recited in line 3.
Dependent claims 2, 4, 6, 7, 9, 10, and 11 of claim 1 inherit the deficiencies of claim 1 and are therefore also rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph.
Dependent claims 3 and 12-17 of claim 2 inherit the deficiencies of claims 1 and 2 and are therefore also rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph.
Dependent claims 18-20 of claim 3 inherit the deficiencies of claims 1-3 and are therefore also rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph.
Dependent claim 5 of claim 4 inherits the deficiencies of claims 1 and 4 and is therefore also rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph.
Dependent claim 8 of claim 7 inherits the deficiencies of claims 1 and 7 and is therefore also rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-6, 10, 12, 13, 16, 18, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mizutani et al. (US Patent Application Publication US 2020/0287468 A1, hereinafter “Mizutani”) in view of Yamakawa et al. (M. Yamakawa et al., “Wireless Power Transmission into a Space Enclosed by Metal Walls Using Magnetic Resonance Coupling,” Wireless Engineering and Technology, Vol. 5, No. 1, pp. 19-24, January 2014, hereinafter “Yamakawa”).
Regarding claim 1, as best understood, Mizutani discloses (see Fig. 1) an electric power supply circuit (power conversion apparatus 5000, which converts AC power supplied from AC power supply 1 to DC power and supplies the DC power to DC load 13, see [0081] of Mizutani) for an electrical energy storage unit (DC load 13, which is a high voltage battery for vehicle driving, see [0084] of Mizutani), this electric power supply circuit comprising: a primary subcircuit (power factor-improving reactor 2, DC capacitor 4, third leg 300, first leg 500, second leg 600, series resonance reactor 7, parallel resonance reactor 8, series resonance capacitor 10, and the primary-side winding of transformer 9, see [0082] of Mizutani) able to be connected to a voltage network (AC power supply 1, which is a commercial AC system, see [0083] of Mizutani), a secondary subcircuit (the secondary-side winding of transformer 9, secondary-side rectifying circuit 11, which rectifies AC output from the secondary-side winding of transformer 9, and output smoothing circuit 1200, which is disposed between secondary-side rectifying circuit 11 and DC load 13, see [0082], [0096], and [0097] of Mizutani) able to be connected to an electrical energy storage unit (13), and a control unit (control circuit 14, which performs arithmetic operation on the detected values of the voltages and the currents and outputs the arithmetic operation results to the gate terminals of semiconductor devices 301 to 302, 501 to 502, and 601 to 602, see [0100] of Mizutani), the primary subcircuit comprising, for each phase of the AC voltage, at its input: a first switching arm (third leg 300) comprising two controllable electronic switches in series (fifth semiconductor device 301 and sixth semiconductor device 302 connected in series, see [0086] of Mizutani), between which a first terminal of the phase of the network is able to be connected (third AC end ND3 is connected to the other end of AC power supply 1, see [0090] of Mizutani), a second switching arm (first leg 500) comprising two controllable electronic switches in series (first semiconductor device 501 and second semiconductor device 502 connected in series, see [0086] of Mizutani), between which a second terminal of the phase of the network is able to be connected (first AC end ND1 is connected to one end of AC power supply 1 through power factor-improving reactor 2, see [0090] of Mizutani), and between which a first terminal of a primary inductive cell (series resonance reactor 7, parallel resonance reactor 8, and series resonance capacitor 10, which constitute a resonance circuit, and the primary-side winding of transformer 9, see [0082] and [0095] of Mizutani) for the contactless exchange of energy is connected (one end of the primary-side winding of transformer 9 is connected to first AC end ND1 through series resonance reactor 7, see [0093] of Mizutani), and a third switching arm (second leg 600) comprising two controllable electronic switches in series (third semiconductor device 601 and fourth semiconductor device 602 connected in series, see [0086] of Mizutani), between which a second terminal of the primary inductive cell for the contactless exchange of energy is connected (the other end of the primary-side winding of transformer 9 is connected to second AC end ND2 through series resonance capacitor 10, see [0093] of Mizutani), the first, second, and third arms being connected in parallel (first leg 500, second leg 600, third leg 300, and DC capacitor 4 are connected in parallel, see [0085] of Mizutani), and the control unit being configured to control these first, second, and third switching arms in such a way that: the first and second arms form a first inverter/rectifier (third leg 300 performs rectifying operation in accordance with the polarity of voltage of AC power supply 1 and first leg 500 performs high power factor control, power conversion apparatus 5000 having the configuration of a bridgeless rectifier, see [0112] and [0122] of Mizutani), and the second and third arms form a second inverter/rectifier (inverter circuit 655 includes first leg 500 and second leg 600, see [0082] of Mizutani).
Mizutani does not disclose the primary subcircuit and the secondary subcircuit being configured to contactlessly exchange electrical energy by way of inductive coupling at the frequency of the AC voltage at the input of the primary subcircuit.
However, Yamakawa teaches (see Fig. 6(b)) a primary subcircuit and a secondary subcircuit being configured to contactlessly exchange electrical energy by way of inductive coupling at the frequency of the AC voltage at the input of the primary subcircuit (a transmitter resonator comprising an inductance Lt of 89.0 mH and a series-connected capacitance Ct of 114 μF and a receiver resonator comprising an inductance Lr of 71.4 mH and a capacitance Cr of 144 μF each have a resonance frequency of 50.0 Hz, see p. 20, Table 1 and p. 21, section 3.3 of Yamakawa; the resonance frequency of 50 Hz is the power source AC frequency, which is the frequency of the commercial power supply, see p. 20, section 2 of Yamakawa; and a switching AC power supply is used to drive the transmitter resonator, see p. 20, section 3.1 of Yamakawa).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the electric power supply circuit of Mizutani wherein the primary subcircuit and the secondary subcircuit are configured to contactlessly exchange electrical energy by way of inductive coupling at the frequency of the AC voltage at the input of the primary subcircuit, as taught by Yamakawa, because it can help avoid eddy current loss on the metals surrounding the transmitter and the receiver and can help achieve deep penetration of the magnetic field into such metals (see p. 19, Abstract and p. 20, section 2 of Yamakawa), a result that is of particular benefit where the electrical energy storage unit is a high voltage battery for vehicle driving as in Mizutani, and because Yamakawa expressly identifies electric vehicles as an application field of magnetic resonance coupling (see p. 20 of Yamakawa). Regarding claim 2, as best understood, Mizutani discloses (see Fig. 1) the control unit being configured to control the first and second arms (fifth semiconductor device 301 and sixth semiconductor device 302 that constitute third leg 300, and first semiconductor device 501 and second semiconductor device 502 that constitute first leg 500, are subjected to high power factor control, and control circuit 14 controls third leg 300 by pulse width modulation control and pulse frequency modulation control, see [0333] and [0335] of Mizutani).
Mizutani does not disclose the first arm switching at a frequency greater than at least five times, in particular than at least ten times, the frequency at which the second arm switches, the second arm switching at the frequency of the AC voltage at the input of the primary subcircuit.
However, Yamakawa teaches (see Fig. 6(b)) the second arm switching at the frequency of the AC voltage at the input of the primary subcircuit (the transmitter resonator, which comprises an inductance Lt of 89.0 mH and a series-connected capacitance Ct of 114 μF and which is driven by a switching AC power supply, has a resonance frequency of 50.0 Hz, which is the frequency of the commercial power supply, see p. 20, section 2, section 3.1, and Table 1 of Yamakawa).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the electric power supply circuit of Mizutani wherein the first arm switches at a frequency greater than at least five times, in particular than at least ten times, the frequency at which the second arm switches, the second arm switching at the frequency of the AC voltage at the input of the primary subcircuit, as taught by Yamakawa, because the second arm and the third arm of Mizutani together excite the primary inductive cell, so that exciting the primary inductive cell at the frequency of the AC voltage as taught by Yamakawa results in the second arm switching at that frequency, while the first arm continues to be controlled by pulse width modulation control and pulse frequency modulation control (see [0335] of Mizutani) in order to provide high power factor control (see [0333] of Mizutani), and because it can help avoid eddy current loss on the metals surrounding the transmitter and the receiver (see p. 19, Abstract of Yamakawa). Examiner’s Note: regarding the recitation that the first arm switches at a frequency greater than at least five times the frequency at which the second arm switches, Mizutani subjects the first arm to high power factor control (see [0333] of Mizutani) by pulse width modulation control and pulse frequency modulation control (see [0335] of Mizutani), and such high power factor control generates a target sinusoidal current waveform of AC power supply 1 in phase with sinusoidal voltage vac of AC power supply 1 (see [0202] of Mizutani), which waveform cannot be generated by pulse width modulation control unless the first arm switches a plurality of times within each cycle of the voltage of AC power supply 1. Accordingly, when the second arm switches at the frequency of the AC voltage at the input of the primary subcircuit as set forth above, the first arm of Mizutani necessarily switches at a frequency greater than at least five times the frequency at which the second arm switches. Furthermore, Mizutani controls the first arm by pulse frequency modulation control (see [0335] of Mizutani), so that the switching frequency of the first arm is a result-effective variable, and it therefore would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to select for the first arm a switching frequency greater than at least five times the frequency at which the second arm switches, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or working ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
Regarding claim 3, as best understood, Mizutani does not disclose the second arm switching at a frequency of less than or equal to 60 Hz, in particular less than or equal to 50 Hz.
However, Yamakawa teaches (see Fig. 6(b)) a frequency of less than or equal to 60 Hz, in particular less than or equal to 50 Hz (the transmitter resonator and the receiver resonator each have a resonance frequency of 50.0 Hz, see p. 20, Table 1 of Yamakawa).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the electric power supply circuit of Mizutani wherein the second arm switches at a frequency of less than or equal to 60 Hz, in particular less than or equal to 50 Hz, as taught by Yamakawa, because it can help achieve deep penetration of the magnetic field into the metals surrounding the transmitter and the receiver, the depth of penetration into metal being 60.4 mm at 50 Hz (see p. 23 and Figure 12 of Yamakawa).
Regarding claim 4, as best understood, Mizutani discloses (see Fig. 1) the control unit being configured to control the second and third arms in such a way that these two arms switch at the same frequency (control circuit 14 controls first semiconductor device 501, second semiconductor device 502, third semiconductor device 601, and fourth semiconductor device 602 such that switching frequency fs common to those devices changes, see [0153] of Mizutani), and that the third arm is phase-shift modulated with respect to the second arm (control circuit 14 controls second leg 600 by pulse width modulation control, pulse frequency modulation control, and phase shift modulation control, and the pulse phase for third semiconductor device 601 and the pulse phase for fourth semiconductor device 602 are shifted from an initial state in which the turn-on timing of fourth semiconductor device 602 is synchronized with the turn-on timing of first semiconductor device 501 and the turn-off timing of third semiconductor device 601 is synchronized with the turn-off timing of second semiconductor device 502, see [0114] and [0153] of Mizutani).
Mizutani does not disclose these two arms switching at the frequency of the AC voltage at the input of the primary subcircuit.
However, Yamakawa teaches (see Fig. 6(b)) switching at the frequency of the AC voltage at the input of the primary subcircuit (the transmitter resonator, which is driven by a switching AC power supply, has a resonance frequency of 50.0 Hz, which is the frequency of the commercial power supply, see p. 20, section 2, section 3.1, and Table 1 of Yamakawa).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the electric power supply circuit of Mizutani wherein the second and third arms switch at the frequency of the AC voltage at the input of the primary subcircuit, as taught by Yamakawa, because the second arm and the third arm of Mizutani together excite the primary inductive cell, and because exciting the primary inductive cell at the frequency of the AC voltage can help avoid eddy current loss on the metals surrounding the transmitter and the receiver (see p. 19, Abstract and p. 20, section 2 of Yamakawa).
Regarding claim 5, as best understood, Mizutani does not disclose the second and third arms switching at a frequency of less than or equal to 60 Hz, in particular less than or equal to 50 Hz.
However, Yamakawa teaches (see Fig. 6(b)) a frequency of less than or equal to 60 Hz, in particular less than or equal to 50 Hz (the transmitter resonator and the receiver resonator each have a resonance frequency of 50.0 Hz, see p. 20, Table 1 of Yamakawa).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the electric power supply circuit of Mizutani wherein the second and third arms switch at a frequency of less than or equal to 60 Hz, in particular less than or equal to 50 Hz, as taught by Yamakawa, because it can help achieve deep penetration of the magnetic field into the metals surrounding the transmitter and the receiver, the depth of penetration into metal being 60.4 mm at 50 Hz (see p. 23 and Figure 12 of Yamakawa).
Regarding claim 6, as best understood, Mizutani discloses (see Fig. 1) the control unit being configured to control the first and second arms in such a way that these two arms furthermore perform a power factor correction function (fifth semiconductor device 301 and sixth semiconductor device 302 that constitute third leg 300, and first semiconductor device 501 and second semiconductor device 502 that constitute first leg 500, are subjected to high power factor control, see [0333] of Mizutani).
Regarding claim 10, as best understood, Mizutani discloses (see Fig. 1) a component (power conversion apparatus 5000) for supplying electric power to an electrical energy storage unit (13), comprising the electrical circuit as claimed in claim 1, the component in particular defining a structure supporting the primary subcircuit and the secondary subcircuit such that they are rigidly coupled to one another (power conversion apparatus 5000 supports the primary side connected to AC power supply 1 with respect to transformer 9 and the secondary side connected to DC load 13 with respect to transformer 9, see [0082] and [0092] of Mizutani).
Regarding claim 12, as best understood, Mizutani discloses (see Fig. 1) the control unit being configured to control the second and third arms in such a way that these two arms switch at the same frequency (control circuit 14 controls first semiconductor device 501, second semiconductor device 502, third semiconductor device 601, and fourth semiconductor device 602 such that switching frequency fs common to those devices changes, see [0153] of Mizutani), and that the third arm is phase-shift modulated with respect to the second arm (control circuit 14 controls second leg 600 by pulse width modulation control, pulse frequency modulation control, and phase shift modulation control, and the pulse phase for third semiconductor device 601 and the pulse phase for fourth semiconductor device 602 are shifted from an initial state in which the turn-on timing of fourth semiconductor device 602 is synchronized with the turn-on timing of first semiconductor device 501 and the turn-off timing of third semiconductor device 601 is synchronized with the turn-off timing of second semiconductor device 502, see [0114] and [0153] of Mizutani).
Mizutani does not disclose these two arms switching at the frequency of the AC voltage at the input of the primary subcircuit.
However, Yamakawa teaches (see Fig. 6(b)) switching at the frequency of the AC voltage at the input of the primary subcircuit (the transmitter resonator, which is driven by a switching AC power supply, has a resonance frequency of 50.0 Hz, which is the frequency of the commercial power supply, see p. 20, section 2, section 3.1, and Table 1 of Yamakawa).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the electric power supply circuit of Mizutani wherein the second and third arms switch at the frequency of the AC voltage at the input of the primary subcircuit, as taught by Yamakawa, because the second arm and the third arm of Mizutani together excite the primary inductive cell, and because exciting the primary inductive cell at the frequency of the AC voltage can help avoid eddy current loss on the metals surrounding the transmitter and the receiver (see p. 19, Abstract and p. 20, section 2 of Yamakawa).
Regarding claim 13, as best understood, Mizutani discloses (see Fig. 1) the control unit being configured to control the first and second arms in such a way that these two arms furthermore perform a power factor correction function (fifth semiconductor device 301 and sixth semiconductor device 302 that constitute third leg 300, and first semiconductor device 501 and second semiconductor device 502 that constitute first leg 500, are subjected to high power factor control, see [0333] of Mizutani).
Regarding claim 16, as best understood, Mizutani discloses (see Fig. 1) a component (power conversion apparatus 5000) for supplying electric power to an electrical energy storage unit (13), comprising the electrical circuit as claimed in claim 2, the component in particular defining a structure supporting the primary subcircuit and the secondary subcircuit such that they are rigidly coupled to one another (power conversion apparatus 5000 supports the primary side connected to AC power supply 1 with respect to transformer 9 and the secondary side connected to DC load 13 with respect to transformer 9, see [0082] and [0092] of Mizutani).
Regarding claim 18, as best understood, Mizutani discloses (see Fig. 1) the control unit being configured to control the second and third arms in such a way that these two arms switch at the same frequency (control circuit 14 controls first semiconductor device 501, second semiconductor device 502, third semiconductor device 601, and fourth semiconductor device 602 such that switching frequency fs common to those devices changes, see [0153] of Mizutani), and that the third arm is phase-shift modulated with respect to the second arm (control circuit 14 controls second leg 600 by pulse width modulation control, pulse frequency modulation control, and phase shift modulation control, and the pulse phase for third semiconductor device 601 and the pulse phase for fourth semiconductor device 602 are shifted from an initial state in which the turn-on timing of fourth semiconductor device 602 is synchronized with the turn-on timing of first semiconductor device 501 and the turn-off timing of third semiconductor device 601 is synchronized with the turn-off timing of second semiconductor device 502, see [0114] and [0153] of Mizutani).
Mizutani does not disclose these two arms switching at the frequency of the AC voltage at the input of the primary subcircuit.
However, Yamakawa teaches (see Fig. 6(b)) switching at the frequency of the AC voltage at the input of the primary subcircuit (the transmitter resonator, which is driven by a switching AC power supply, has a resonance frequency of 50.0 Hz, which is the frequency of the commercial power supply, see p. 20, section 2, section 3.1, and Table 1 of Yamakawa).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the electric power supply circuit of Mizutani wherein the second and third arms switch at the frequency of the AC voltage at the input of the primary subcircuit, as taught by Yamakawa, because the second arm and the third arm of Mizutani together excite the primary inductive cell, and because exciting the primary inductive cell at the frequency of the AC voltage can help avoid eddy current loss on the metals surrounding the transmitter and the receiver (see p. 19, Abstract and p. 20, section 2 of Yamakawa).
Regarding claim 19, as best understood, Mizutani discloses (see Fig. 1) the control unit being configured to control the first and second arms in such a way that these two arms furthermore perform a power factor correction function (fifth semiconductor device 301 and sixth semiconductor device 302 that constitute third leg 300, and first semiconductor device 501 and second semiconductor device 502 that constitute first leg 500, are subjected to high power factor control, see [0333] of Mizutani).
Claims 7, 9, 11, 14, 15, 17, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mizutani in view of Yamakawa, and further in view of Abe et al. (US Patent Application Publication US 2015/0001958 A1, hereinafter “Abe”).
Regarding claim 7, as best understood, Mizutani does not disclose the secondary subcircuit comprising: a secondary inductive cell for the contactless exchange of energy, and a third inverter/rectifier able to carry out impedance matching on the impedance at the AC input of this third inverter/rectifier independently of the impedance of the electrical energy storage unit.
However, Abe teaches (see Fig. 1) the secondary subcircuit (the secondary side of contactless power transfer device 30 and inverter unit 40) comprising: a secondary inductive cell for the contactless exchange of energy (secondary-side coil 32, parallel capacitor 34, and inductor 35 connected to the secondary-side coil 32 in series, see [0056] of Abe), and a third inverter/rectifier (inverter unit 40) able to carry out impedance matching on the impedance at the AC input of this third inverter/rectifier independently of the impedance of the electrical energy storage unit (inverter unit 40 comprises four switching units Q1, Q2, Q3, and Q4, each formed of a switching element and a feedback diode connected in anti-parallel to the switching element, the connection points of which are individually connected to the secondary side of contactless power transfer device 30, and the controller turns the switching elements on and off so that inverter unit 40 either converts direct current of secondary battery 4 into alternating current or rectifies alternating current output from the secondary side, see [0055], [0057], [0061], and [0062] of Abe).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the electric power supply circuit of Mizutani as modified in view of Yamakawa to comprise the secondary subcircuit comprising a secondary inductive cell for the contactless exchange of energy, and a third inverter/rectifier able to carry out impedance matching on the impedance at the AC input of this third inverter/rectifier independently of the impedance of the electrical energy storage unit, as taught by Abe, because it can help easily control voltage and current on the power receiving side and can achieve low cost (see [0023] of Abe).
Regarding claim 9, as best understood, Mizutani does not disclose the control unit being configured to control the various switching arms so as to selectively: charge the electrical energy storage unit from the voltage network, or charge the voltage network from the electrical energy storage unit.
However, Abe teaches (see Fig. 1) the control unit (the controller that performs switching among high power factor converter unit 10, inverter unit 20, and inverter unit 40, see [0054] of Abe) being configured to control the various switching arms (the switching unit arms in which Q1 and Q2 are connected in series and in which Q3 and Q4 are connected in series, in each of high power factor converter unit 10, inverter unit 20, and inverter unit 40, see [0055] of Abe) so as to selectively: charge the electrical energy storage unit (secondary battery 4) from the voltage network (commercial power supply 1), or charge the voltage network from the electrical energy storage unit (G2V (Grid to Vehicle) and V2G can be executed only by switching operations of the first, second, and third power converters, see [0025] of Abe).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the electric power supply circuit of Mizutani as modified in view of Yamakawa wherein the control unit is configured to control the various switching arms so as to selectively charge the electrical energy storage unit from the voltage network, or charge the voltage network from the electrical energy storage unit, as taught by Abe, because it can help enable power stored in the secondary battery to be used in a power system or at home as necessary (see [0001] of Abe).
Regarding claim 11, as best understood, Mizutani does not disclose a device for supplying electric power to an electrical energy storage unit, comprising the electric power supply circuit of claim 1, wherein the primary subcircuit is placed in a charging station for a hybrid or electric vehicle, and the secondary subcircuit is placed in a component able to be placed on board a hybrid or electric vehicle.
However, Abe teaches (see Fig. 12) a device for supplying electric power to an electrical energy storage unit (secondary battery 104 of a plug-in hybrid vehicle, see [0003] of Abe), wherein the primary subcircuit is placed in a charging station for a hybrid or electric vehicle (on the ground side, the contactless power transfer system includes rectifier 110, inverter 120, power transmission coil 131, and series capacitor 133, which are supplied from commercial power supply 105, see [0005] of Abe), and the secondary subcircuit is placed in a component able to be placed on board a hybrid or electric vehicle (on the vehicle side, the contactless power transfer system includes power reception coil 132, rectifier 140, and parallel capacitor 134, see [0005] of Abe).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the electric power supply circuit of Mizutani as modified in view of Yamakawa wherein the primary subcircuit is placed in a charging station for a hybrid or electric vehicle, and the secondary subcircuit is placed in a component able to be placed on board a hybrid or electric vehicle, as taught by Abe, because it can help supply power in a contactless manner to a secondary battery installed in a moving body such as an electric vehicle (see [0001] of Abe).
Regarding claim 14, as best understood, Mizutani does not disclose the secondary subcircuit comprising: a secondary inductive cell for the contactless exchange of energy, and a third inverter/rectifier able to carry out impedance matching on the impedance at the AC input of this third inverter/rectifier independently of the impedance of the electrical energy storage unit.
However, Abe teaches (see Fig. 1) the secondary subcircuit (the secondary side of contactless power transfer device 30 and inverter unit 40) comprising: a secondary inductive cell for the contactless exchange of energy (secondary-side coil 32, parallel capacitor 34, and inductor 35 connected to the secondary-side coil 32 in series, see [0056] of Abe), and a third inverter/rectifier (inverter unit 40) able to carry out impedance matching on the impedance at the AC input of this third inverter/rectifier independently of the impedance of the electrical energy storage unit (inverter unit 40 comprises four switching units Q1, Q2, Q3, and Q4, each formed of a switching element and a feedback diode connected in anti-parallel to the switching element, the connection points of which are individually connected to the secondary side of contactless power transfer device 30, and the controller turns the switching elements on and off so that inverter unit 40 either converts direct current of secondary battery 4 into alternating current or rectifies alternating current output from the secondary side, see [0055], [0057], [0061], and [0062] of Abe).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the electric power supply circuit of Mizutani as modified in view of Yamakawa to comprise the secondary subcircuit comprising a secondary inductive cell for the contactless exchange of energy, and a third inverter/rectifier able to carry out impedance matching on the impedance at the AC input of this third inverter/rectifier independently of the impedance of the electrical energy storage unit, as taught by Abe, because it can help easily control voltage and current on the power receiving side and can achieve low cost (see [0023] of Abe).
Regarding claim 15, as best understood, Mizutani does not disclose the control unit being configured to control the various switching arms so as to selectively: charge the electrical energy storage unit from the voltage network, or charge the voltage network from the electrical energy storage unit.
However, Abe teaches (see Fig. 1) the control unit (the controller that performs switching among high power factor converter unit 10, inverter unit 20, and inverter unit 40, see [0054] of Abe) being configured to control the various switching arms (the switching unit arms in which Q1 and Q2 are connected in series and in which Q3 and Q4 are connected in series, in each of high power factor converter unit 10, inverter unit 20, and inverter unit 40, see [0055] of Abe) so as to selectively: charge the electrical energy storage unit (secondary battery 4) from the voltage network (commercial power supply 1), or charge the voltage network from the electrical energy storage unit (G2V (Grid to Vehicle) and V2G can be executed only by switching operations of the first, second, and third power converters, see [0025] of Abe).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the electric power supply circuit of Mizutani as modified in view of Yamakawa wherein the control unit is configured to control the various switching arms so as to selectively charge the electrical energy storage unit from the voltage network, or charge the voltage network from the electrical energy storage unit, as taught by Abe, because it can help enable power stored in the secondary battery to be used in a power system or at home as necessary (see [0001] of Abe).
Regarding claim 17, as best understood, Mizutani does not disclose a device for supplying electric power to an electrical energy storage unit, comprising the electric power supply circuit of claim 2, wherein the primary subcircuit is placed in a charging station for a hybrid or electric vehicle, and the secondary subcircuit is placed in a component able to be placed on board a hybrid or electric vehicle.
However, Abe teaches (see Fig. 12) a device for supplying electric power to an electrical energy storage unit (secondary battery 104 of a plug-in hybrid vehicle, see [0003] of Abe), wherein the primary subcircuit is placed in a charging station for a hybrid or electric vehicle (on the ground side, the contactless power transfer system includes rectifier 110, inverter 120, power transmission coil 131, and series capacitor 133, which are supplied from commercial power supply 105, see [0005] of Abe), and the secondary subcircuit is placed in a component able to be placed on board a hybrid or electric vehicle (on the vehicle side, the contactless power transfer system includes power reception coil 132, rectifier 140, and parallel capacitor 134, see [0005] of Abe).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the electric power supply circuit of Mizutani as modified in view of Yamakawa wherein the primary subcircuit is placed in a charging station for a hybrid or electric vehicle, and the secondary subcircuit is placed in a component able to be placed on board a hybrid or electric vehicle, as taught by Abe, because it can help supply power in a contactless manner to a secondary battery installed in a moving body such as an electric vehicle (see [0001] of Abe).
Regarding claim 20, as best understood, Mizutani does not disclose the secondary subcircuit comprising: a secondary inductive cell for the contactless exchange of energy, and a third inverter/rectifier able to carry out impedance matching on the impedance at the AC input of this third inverter/rectifier independently of the impedance of the electrical energy storage unit.
However, Abe teaches (see Fig. 1) the secondary subcircuit (the secondary side of contactless power transfer device 30 and inverter unit 40) comprising: a secondary inductive cell for the contactless exchange of energy (secondary-side coil 32, parallel capacitor 34, and inductor 35 connected to the secondary-side coil 32 in series, see [0056] of Abe), and a third inverter/rectifier (inverter unit 40) able to carry out impedance matching on the impedance at the AC input of this third inverter/rectifier independently of the impedance of the electrical energy storage unit (inverter unit 40 comprises four switching units Q1, Q2, Q3, and Q4, each formed of a switching element and a feedback diode connected in anti-parallel to the switching element, the connection points of which are individually connected to the secondary side of contactless power transfer device 30, and the controller turns the switching elements on and off so that inverter unit 40 either converts direct current of secondary battery 4 into alternating current or rectifies alternating current output from the secondary side, see [0055], [0057], [0061], and [0062] of Abe).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the electric power supply circuit of Mizutani as modified in view of Yamakawa to comprise the secondary subcircuit comprising a secondary inductive cell for the contactless exchange of energy, and a third inverter/rectifier able to carry out impedance matching on the impedance at the AC input of this third inverter/rectifier independently of the impedance of the electrical energy storage unit, as taught by Abe, because it can help easily control voltage and current on the power receiving side and can achieve low cost (see [0023] of Abe).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 8 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims, and if the rejections under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) set forth above are overcome. The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: Regarding claim 8, none of the cited prior art alone or in combination discloses or teaches the claimed invention in which “one of these two arms switches at the frequency of the AC voltage at the input of the primary subcircuit and with a duty cycle of 50%, and the other of these two arms switches at a frequency greater than that of said AC voltage and with a duty cycle modulated according to the AC current flowing through the secondary inductive cell and the voltage at the AC input of the third inverter/rectifier”. The closest prior art, Abe, discloses that in inverter unit 40 the switching elements in Q1 and Q4 and the switching elements in Q2 and Q3 alternately operate into on and off states in cycles corresponding to the frequency f0 (see [0062] of Abe), but Abe switches both switching unit arms of inverter unit 40 at the same frequency f0 and does not modulate the duty cycle of either arm according to the AC current flowing through the secondary inductive cell and the voltage at the AC input of the third inverter/rectifier. Yamakawa discloses that a diode bridge rectifier circuit and a smoothing capacitor were used for rectification at the receiver (see p. 22, section 4 of Yamakawa), but Yamakawa does not employ any switching arm on the receiver side and therefore fails to disclose or teach the above limitation.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure: CN 113765358 A discloses a single-stage interleaved parallel AC-DC resonant conversion circuit having three bridge arms connected in parallel between a positive DC bus and a negative DC bus, a resonant module and a transformer primary winding being connected in series between the midpoints of two of the bridge arms. US 2020/0014245 A1 discloses a single-stage transmitter for wireless power transfer having first, second, and third legs each including two switches connected in series, the second leg being shared between a rectifier stage and an inverter stage. US 10,516,342 B1 discloses a three arm rectifier and inverter circuit having a low frequency switching arm whose conducting state is synchronized with the mains power voltage. US 2021/0281112 A1 discloses controlling an active rectifier of a wireless power receiver by driving at least one transistor in the rectifier with a PWM signal.
/MONICA LEWIS/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2838
/JYE-JUNE LEE/Examiner, Art Unit 2838