Claims 1-21 and 22 are pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Marshall, Bioorganic & Medicinal Chemistry, Volume 23, Issue 13,2015, Pages 3796-3808; Liu, Journal of Chemical Sciences (2014), 69(7), 817-822; and Wang, New J. Chem.,2021, 45,373-382 (Applicant filed references in the IDS).
Marshall teaches at column A page 3797 compounds
and similar compounds at page 3800. The (red) box and arrow are Examiner emphasized for reasons discussed below.
Wang also at column A page 374 teaches the above pictured compounds.
These compounds relate to the instant base claim formula as correlated below:
R3=R4 =C1 alkyl; R1=H; X=N; R8= H (RA); Y=Absent;
R5=(instantly, conveniently) excluded
As per Marshall Chemistry guidance at page 3797 morpholine was introduced (attached) by displacement of a leaving group at the indicated 2 position (see arrow) of the bicyclic ring with morpholine.
Further as per Marshall and Wang these compounds are inhibitors of phosphoinositide 3-kinase (PI3K), see instant claim 23.
The instant claims exclude one specific substituent Y-R5 out of the plethora of possibilities decorating the core template of Marshall and Wang. The claimed compounds are otherwise fall under the scope of the base claim formula, made by the same chemistry procedure taught in the prior art. For example, see instant disclosure at page 102:
, the second claimed compound of claim 19 representing replacement of O (of morpholine) by CH2. Such modification is routine elementary medicinal chemistry art as per the principles of isosteric modification.
The claim term
, implies that 2 or 3 substituted morpholine compounds would not be deleterious to the PI3K binding activity. More on this later.
Liu also teaches at page 819 PI3K binding compound by isosteric modification, by replacing the O of Marshall and Wang by NH and phenyl by thiazole. Bioisosteric modification, though largely mythical, cannot be overlooked because it does offer foundational elementary design for making analogs of otherwise known compounds.
The above boxed Liu compounds fall under the scope of the instant claims (see section under 35 USC § 102 for correlation).
Dependent claims 2-21 represent routinely used substituents on the periphery of the invariable core structure taught by Marshall, Wang and Liu.
Marshall teach that the morpholine O contributes, in the binding model, in part, by hydrogen bonding to Val 854. See Figure 2. Later filed Wang teaching, as per Figure 3, the morpholine is not even involved in the binding, suggesting other groups could be used as substitute for morpholine. That substituted morpholine (and C of morpholine) are included in the claim also suggests the morpholine binding pocket could be modified.
Marshall and Wang thus teach one of skill in the art to optimized the invariable core bicyclic structure by substituents (listed in the dependent claims). Further, Liu teaches how to do this by replacing the excluded morpholine with piperazine.
No exceptional property (binding activity) or comparative data is present in the specification for secondary considerations.
Obviousness can be established by combining or modifying the teachings of the prior art to produce the claimed invention where there is some teaching, suggestion, or motivation to do so found either in the references themselves or in the knowledge generally available to one of ordinary skill in the art.
Accordingly, the claims do not recite an unobvious distinction over the prior art. Further, a reference is relevant not only for what it expressly teaches, but also for what it would have conveyed to one of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Opprecht, 12 USPQ2d 1235, 1236 (Fed. Cir. 1989); In re Bode, 193 USPQ 12 (CCPA 1976). In light of the foregoing discussion, the Examiner finds that the claimed subject matter as a whole would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made, in view of the cited references and the knowledge generally available in the art. Accordingly, the claims are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-5, 7, 8, 9, 21 and 22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Liu, Journal of Chemical Sciences (2014), 69(7), 817-822;
Instant
, Liu
R4=C1 alkyl=R3; X=N; R1=H=R8 (RA); Y=absent; R5=6-memebered heterocyclyl;
R2 = phenyl (for first entry), (5-membered heteroaryl for second entry) and 6-membered (heterocyclyl for third entry) of compound claims.
Since the Liu teachings include the biological activity of these compounds, the Liu also teaches the method claim of 23 in anticipatory fashion.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112, first paragraph, because the specification, while being enabling for making some compounds of the claims, does not reasonably provide enablement for using the compounds for treating any and all disease or disorder modulated by phosphoinositide 3-kinase (PI3K). The specification does not enable any person skilled in the art to which it pertains, or with which it is most nearly connected, to make and use the invention commensurate in scope with these claims.
The determination that "undue experimentation" would have been needed to make and use the claimed invention is not a single, simple factual determination. Rather, it is a conclusion reached by weighing all the relevant factual considerations.
Enablement is considered in view of the Wands factors (MPEP 2164.01 (a)). These include: (1) breadth of the claims; (2) nature of the invention; (3) state of the prior art; (4) amount of direction provided by the inventor; (5) the level of predictability in the art; (6) the existence of working examples; (7) quantity of experimentation needed to make or use the invention based on the content of the disclosure; and (8) relative skill in the art.
All of the factors have been considered with regard to the claims, with the most relevant factors discussed below:
The claimed formula has substituents layered on top of substituents encompassing large number of conceivable structures that vary widely in physical and chemical properties. These properties are known in the art to have major effect on pharmacological properties relevant for the intended use. As such the scope of the ingredients is wide and finds little support, as per the disclosure with respect to binding activity and cell viability as per Tables at page 292 and 298 (more on this later). Biological properties are unpredictable and are ultimately tide to the chemical structure. See “Role of the Development Scientist in Compound Lead Selection and Optimization” by Venkatesh, J. Pharm. Sci. 89, 145-154 (2000) (p. 146, left column). Likewise, J. G. Cannon, Chapter Nineteen in Burger's Medicinal Chemistry and Drug Discovery, Fifth Edition, Volume I: Principles and Practice, Wiley-Interscience 1995, pp. 783-802, 784, teaches many caveats in analog design and states
The above teaching is consistent with the above mentioned disclosed data. Structurally similar compounds show wide range of activities, ranging from nanomolar activity (IC%)s) to being inactive >10000 nM. There is no structural guidance as what combination of the plethora possibilities defined with generic umbrella terms for example for R2,
is needed to obtain compounds with predictable activity. As per the teaching by Mishra, Int. J. Mol. Sci. 2021, 22, 3464, titled PI3K Inhibitors in Cancer: Clinical Implications and Adverse Effects ‘The phospatidylinositol-3 kinase (PI3K) pathway is a crucial intracellular signaling pathway which is mutated or amplified in a wide variety of cancers including breast, gastric, ovarian, colorectal, prostate, glioblastoma and endometrial cancers. PI3K signaling plays an important role in cancer cell survival, angiogenesis and metastasis, making it a promising therapeutic target’. Mishra also teaches the drug-related toxicities, challenges associated with these PI3K inhibitors and the adverse events leading to treatment failure. In addition, Mishra teaches novel PI3K drugs that have potential to be translated in the clinic. Mishra concludes that ‘Resistance to current PI3K therapies continues to push the need to expand our understanding of cancer treatment. Further research is needed to understand whether using a dual or multi-targeted approach inhibiting two or more PI3K enzymes or direct inhibition of PI3Kγ could help to achieve maximal efficacy against these inhibitors. Language, phrases and terms found in Mishra ‘promising’, ‘potential’, ‘could help, ‘further research’ are not tantamount to ‘predictable use’ of modulation of phosphoinositide 3-kinase activity.
Similar teachings with respect to state of the art is also found in the post filing date review by Kumar, Journal of Saudi Chemical Society (2025) 29:45, titled
PI3Kα inhibitors: structural advances, synthesis strategies, and anticancer potential, which teaches that “phosphoinositide 3-kinase alpha (PI3Kα) continues to be a validated oncogenic driver and a central therapeutic target across multiple malignancies. Despite the clinical success of the first-generation ATP-competitive inhibitors, their therapeutic outcomes remain constrained by suboptimal isoform selectivity, dose-limiting toxicities, and the rapid onset of resistance mechanisms. concerted efforts are expected to yield next-generation PI3Kα inhibitors that are not only safer and more efficacious but also capable of overcoming the mechanistic barriers that hinder current therapies, ultimately transforming the management of PI3Kα-driven cancers”.
More specifically with respect to the unpredictability in the art, as per, In re Application of Hozumi et al., 226 USPQ 353: “In spite of the vast expenditure of human and capital resources in recent years, no one drug has been found which is effective in treating all types of cancer. Cancer is not a simple disease, nor is it even a single disease, but a complex of a multitude of different entities, each behaving in a different way”. Accordingly, there is substantive “reason for one skilled in the art to question the objective truth of the statement of utility or its scope” (In re Langer, 183 USPQ 288, 297), specifically, the scope of covering cancer generally.
Similarly, In re Novak, 134 USPQ 335, 337-338, says “unless one with ordinary skill in the art would accept those allegations as obviously valid and correct, it is proper for the examiner to ask for evidence which substantiates them.”
MPEP 2164.03 states: “The scope of the required enablement varies inversely with the degree of predictability involved. In cases involving unpredictable factors, such as most chemical reactions and physiological activity, more may be required. In re Fisher, 427 F.2d 833, 839, 166 USPQ 18, 24 (CCPA 1970) (contrasting mechanical and electrical elements with chemical reactions and physiological activity). See also In re Wright, 999 F.2d 1557, 1562, 27 USPQ2d 1510, 1513 (Fed. Cir. 1993); In re Vaeck, 947 F.2d 488, 496, 20 USPQ2d 1438, 1445 (Fed. Cir. 1991).
MPEP 2164.01(a) states, “A conclusion of Iack of enablement means that, based on the evidence regarding each of the above factors, the specification, at the time the application was filed, would not have taught one skilled in the art how to make and/or use the full scope of the claimed invention without undue experimentation. ln re Wright, 999 F.2d 1557,1562, 27 USPQ 2d 1510, 1513 (Fed. Cir. 1993).'' That conclusion is clearly justified here. Thus, undue experimentation would be required to make and use Applicants' invention.
Genentech Inc. v. Novo Nordisk A/S (CA FC) 42 USPQ2d 1001, states “a patent is not a hunting license. It is not a reward for search, but compensation for its successful conclusion” and “[p]atent protection is granted in return for an enabling disclosure of an invention, not for vague intimations of general ideas that may or may not be workable”.
/NIZAL S CHANDRAKUMAR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1625