DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-8, 11-14, 23-27, 35 & 38-39 are currently pending and have been examined in this application. This communication is the first action on the merits.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 2/25/25 & 5/13/26 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 11-14 & 23-27, 38-39 would potentially be allowable if it overcomes the 101 rejection above.
Claims 5-6 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim 5. The method according to claim 4, wherein the second registration acceptance message comprises a target network capability parameter, the target network capability parameter is configured to characterize whether a target network has the capability to support the terminal device to register in the plurality of communication networks, the target network comprises at least one of the first communication network or the second communication network; and sending the first registration request message to the first network function comprises: sending the first registration request message to the first network function in a case of determining that the target network has the capability to support the terminal device to register in the plurality of communication networks.
Claim 6.
The method according to claim 5, wherein the first registration acceptance message comprises the target network capability parameter.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-8, 11-14 & 23-27, 35 & 38-39 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
The claims are either directed to a system or method, which is one of the statutory categories of invention. (Step 1: YES).
The Examiner has identified method Claim 1 as the claim that represents the claimed invention for analysis and is similar to method Claims 11 & 23. Claim 1 recites the limitations of (additional elements emphasized in bold and are considered to be parsed from the remaining abstract idea):
A registration method, performed by a terminal device, and comprising: sending a first registration request message to a first network function through a first access network device, wherein the first registration request message comprises a first parameter, the first parameter is configured to characterize registration of the terminal device with a plurality of communication networks, the communication networks comprise a first communication network, and the first network function is a network function in the first communication network; and in response to receiving a first registration acceptance message sent, through the first access network device, by the first network function, determining that the terminal device is successfully registered in the first communication network, wherein the first registration acceptance message is a message sent by the first network function in a case of determining, according to the first registration request message, that the terminal device and the first communication network have a capability to support the terminal device to register in the plurality of communication networks.
which is a process that, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitation(s) as a Certain method of organizing human activity (fundamental economic practice-mitigating risk), or a Mental process (concept performed in the human mind) of determining the capability of multi-network support.
If a claim limitation, under its broadest reasonable interpretation (BRI), covers performance of the limitation as a certain method of a fundamental economic practice, then it falls within the “Certain Methods of Organizing Human Activity” grouping of abstract ideas.
Similarly if a claim limitation under its BRI, covers performance of the limitation in the human mind but for the recitation of generic computer components, then it falls within the “Mental Processes” grouping of abstract ideas. (Claims can recite a mental process even if they are claimed as being performed on a computer Gottschalk v. Benson, 409 U.S. 63; "Courts have examined claims that required the use of a computer and still found that the underlying, patent-ineligible invention could be performed via pen and paper or in a person’s mind." Versata Dev. Group v. SAP Am., Inc., 793 F.3d 1306, 1335, 115 USPQ2d 1681, 1702 (Fed. Cir. 2015).)
Accordingly, the claim recites an abstract idea. (Step 2A-Prong 1: YES. The claims are abstract)
This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application. Limitations that are not indicative of integration into a practical application include: (1) Adding the words “apply it” (or an equivalent) with the judicial exception, or mere instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer, or merely uses a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea (MPEP 2106.05.f), (2) Adding insignificant extra-solution activity to the judicial exception (MPEP 2106.05.g), (3) Generally linking the use of the judicial exception to a particular technological environment or field of use (MPEP 2106.05.h). The terminal device, network device, communication networks and network function in Claim 1 (in addition, the UDM function of Claim 11) and are just using generic computer components. The computer hardware is recited at a high-level of generality (i.e., as a generic processor performing a generic computer function) such that it amounts to no more than mere instructions to implement an abstract idea by adding the words “apply it” (or an equivalent) with the judicial exception. Accordingly, these additional elements, when considered separately and as an ordered combination, do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because they do not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea. Therefore claim 1 is directed to an abstract idea without a practical application. (Step 2A-Prong 2: NO. The additional claimed elements are not integrated into a practical application)
The claims do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because, when considered separately and as an ordered combination, they do not add significantly more (also known as an “inventive concept”) to the exception. As discussed above with respect to integration of the abstract idea into a practical application, the additional element of using computer hardware amounts to no more than mere instructions to implement an abstract idea by adding the words “apply it” (or an equivalent) with the judicial exception. Mere instructions to implement an abstract idea on or with the use of generic computer components, cannot provide an inventive concept - rendering the claim patent ineligible. Thus claim 1 is not patent eligible. (Step 2B: NO. The claims do not provide significantly more)
The dependent claims further define the abstract idea that is present in their respective independent claims and hence are abstract for at least the reasons presented above. The dependent claims do not include any additional elements (including Claims 5 & 14 – target network – which further applies the abstract idea on a generic computer component) that integrate the abstract idea into a practical application or are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception when considered both individually and as an ordered combination. Therefore, the dependent claims are directed to an abstract idea. Thus, the aforementioned claims are not patent-eligible.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3-4, 8 & 35 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chandramouli-A (US 20240188021) in view of Chandramouli-B (US 20240188021).
Claim 1.
Chandramouli teaches the following limitations:
A registration method, performed by a terminal device, and comprising: sending a first registration request message to a first network function through a first access network device,
(Fig. 1, UE sends a first registration request message to a network node or access network device, RAN, associated with a first/second network with an indication of capability to support dual-registration of the UE to two different networks. RAN connects to an AMF or first network function; [0003] The at least one memory and the computer program code are configured to, with the at least one processor, cause the apparatus to transmit, to a network node associated with a first network, a registration request message.)
wherein the first registration request message comprises a first parameter, the first parameter is configured to characterize registration of the terminal device with a plurality of communication networks,
([0042] As illustrated at 202, the UE may transmit, and the first AMF may receive, a registration message (e.g., a registration request). For example, the registration message may include an identifier associated with the UE, such as a subscriber concealed identifier (SUCI). In another example, the registration message may include an indication whether the UE supports dual registration (to different 5G networks).)
the communication networks comprise a first communication network, and the first network function is a network function in the first communication network; and
(Fig. 1)
in response to receiving a first registration acceptance message sent, through the first access network device, by the first network function, determining that the terminal device is successfully registered in the first communication network,
([0042] As illustrated at 204, the first AMF may transmit, and the UDM may receive, a registration-related message to register the UE at the first AMF. For example, the registration-related message may include a Nudm_UECM_registration message). As illustrated at 206, the first AMF may transmit, and the UE may receive, a registration accept message from the first network.)
Chandramouli-A does not explicitly teach the following limitations, however Chandramouli-B teaches:
wherein the first registration acceptance message is a message sent by the first network function in a case of determining, according to the first registration request message, that the terminal device and the first communication network have a capability to support the terminal device to register in the plurality of communication networks.
([0070] In this way, certain embodiments described herein may apply to UE(s) supporting dual registration over a 5GS with two equivalent networks (e.g., PLMN and PLMN, SNPN and SNPN, and PLMN and SNPN). As explained herein, when the UE performs initial registration, the UE may indicate that it supports dual registration capability towards the network. [claim 1] transmit, to a network node associated with a first network, a registration request message, wherein the registration request message comprises at least: an indication that the apparatus supports dual registration with two different networks supporting next generation radio access network, or an identifier for the apparatus associated with a second network; and receive, from the network node, a registration accept message. [claim 5] determine the dual registration to the first network and the second network. [0037] Some embodiments described herein may provide for simultaneous registration to multiple networks. For example, certain embodiments may provide for simultaneous registration to multiple 5GS networks using a set of credentials, such as a USIM or a set of credentials configured in a mobile equipment (ME). In certain embodiments, a UE may use a single set of credentials to register to multiple networks. Certain embodiments may provide for a UE to perform dual registration between a 5GS of equivalent PLMNs, equivalent SNPNs, or a combination of PLMNs and SNPNs. In dual-registration mode, the UE may handle independent registrations for a core network (e.g., a 5G core (5GC)) in a first network (network-1) and a core network in a second network (network-2) using separate radio resource control (RRC) connections. In this mode, the UE may maintain a first identifier for the first network (e.g., a first globally unique temporary identifier (GUTI-1)) and second identifier for the second network (e.g., a second GUTI (GUTI-2)) independently. During registration, the UE may provide one identifier assigned by a network, if previously allocated by the core network, for registrations towards another core network in another network. In this way, the UE may be registered to a first core network and a second core network and both core networks may be aware of the UEs registration and identifier of the other network., 0044])
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to be motivated to modify Chandramouli-A with Chandramouli-B in order to determine capability to support the terminal device or UE for registration in multiple networks either simultaneously or sequentially [Chandramouli-B - 0037].
Claim 3.
Chandramouli in combination with the references taught in Claim 1 teach those respective limitations. Chandramouli-A further teaches:
wherein sending the first registration request message to the first network function through the first access network device comprises:
(Fig. 1, UE sends a first registration request message to a network node or access network device, RAN, associated with a first/second network with an indication of capability to support dual-registration of the UE to two different networks. RAN connects to an AMF or first network function; [0003] The at least one memory and the computer program code are configured to, with the at least one processor, cause the apparatus to transmit, to a network node associated with a first network, a registration request message.)
Chandramouli-A does not explicitly teach the following limitation(s), however Chandramouli-B teaches:
in a case where the terminal device is successfully registered with a second communication network, sending the first registration request message to the first network function.
([0070] In this way, certain embodiments described herein may apply to UE(s) supporting dual registration over a 5GS with two equivalent networks (e.g., PLMN and PLMN, SNPN and SNPN, and PLMN and SNPN). As explained herein, when the UE performs initial registration, the UE may indicate that it supports dual registration capability towards the network. [claim 1] transmit, to a network node associated with a first network, a registration request message, wherein the registration request message comprises at least: an indication that the apparatus supports dual registration with two different networks supporting next generation radio access network, or an identifier for the apparatus associated with a second network; and receive, from the network node, a registration accept message. [claim 5] determine the dual registration to the first network and the second network. [0037] Some embodiments described herein may provide for simultaneous registration to multiple networks. For example, certain embodiments may provide for simultaneous registration to multiple 5GS networks using a set of credentials, such as a USIM or a set of credentials configured in a mobile equipment (ME). In certain embodiments, a UE may use a single set of credentials to register to multiple networks. Certain embodiments may provide for a UE to perform dual registration between a 5GS of equivalent PLMNs, equivalent SNPNs, or a combination of PLMNs and SNPNs. In dual-registration mode, the UE may handle independent registrations for a core network (e.g., a 5G core (5GC)) in a first network (network-1) and a core network in a second network (network-2) using separate radio resource control (RRC) connections. In this mode, the UE may maintain a first identifier for the first network (e.g., a first globally unique temporary identifier (GUTI-1)) and second identifier for the second network (e.g., a second GUTI (GUTI-2)) independently. During registration, the UE may provide one identifier assigned by a network, if previously allocated by the core network, for registrations towards another core network in another network. In this way, the UE may be registered to a first core network and a second core network and both core networks may be aware of the UEs registration and identifier of the other network., 0044])
Examiner Note: The reference discloses that the UE can dual-register with two networks, either register with one network before sending a registration request to the other network, or send a registration request to both networks simultaneously. It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to send a registration request to a first network if successful registration with a first, similar to the other way around.
Claim 4.
Chandramouli in combination with the references taught in Claim 3 teach those respective limitations. Chandramouli-A further teaches:
wherein the second registration request message comprises a second parameter, the second parameter is configured to characterize that the terminal device has a capability to register with the plurality of communication networks,
([0042] As illustrated at 202, the UE may transmit, and the first AMF may receive, a registration message (e.g., a registration request). For example, the registration message may include an identifier associated with the UE, such as a subscriber concealed identifier (SUCI). In another example, the registration message may include an indication whether the UE supports dual registration (to different 5G networks).)
the communication networks further comprise the second communication network, and the second network function is a network function in the second communication network; and
(Fig. 1)
in response to receiving a second registration acceptance message sent, through the second access network device, by the second network function, determining that the terminal device is successfully registered with the second communication network.
([0042] As illustrated at 204, the first AMF may transmit, and the UDM may receive, a registration-related message to register the UE at the first AMF. For example, the registration-related message may include a Nudm_UECM_registration message). As illustrated at 206, the first AMF may transmit, and the UE may receive, a registration accept message from the first network.)
Examiner Note: the method comprises a user equipment, UE, initiating registration to a network node, RAN, associated with a first/second network, wherein a capability indication of the UE to dual-register to two different networks is supported; a Unified Data Management, UDM, is used to maintain registration status for two different networks applicable to two PLMN networks (equivalent to the terminal device registering with the second communication network by: sending a second registration request message to a second network function via a second access network device; wherein second parameters characterizing that the terminal device is capable of registering with a plurality of the communication networks are included in the second registration request message, the communication networks further comprising a second communication network, the second network function being a network function in the second communication network). On this basis, in response to receipt of a second registration accept message transmitted by the second network function through the second access network device, it is obvious to one skilled in the art that it can be determined that the terminal device registered successfully with the second communication network to complete registration.
Chandramouli-A does not explicitly teach the following limitations, however Chandramouli-B teaches:
wherein the terminal device is registered with the second communication network in the following manner: sending a second registration request message to a second network function through a second access network device,
(Fig. 1, [0044] the UE may transmit, and the second AMF may receive, a registration message associated with registering the UE at the second network.)
Claim 8.
Chandramouli in combination with the references taught in Claim 4 teach those respective limitations. Chandramouli-A does not explicitly teach the following limitations, however Chandramouli-B teaches:
wherein the first registration request message and the second registration request message comprise the same terminal identification parameter, and
([0044] As illustrated at 214, the second AMF may transmit, and the UE may receive, a registration accept message from the second network. The registration accept message at 214 may include an indication that a dual registration of the UE has been accepted.)
Examiner Note: dual registration obviously necessitates the same ID parameter associated with a first and second request message.
the terminal identification parameter is an identity corresponding to the terminal device.
([0005] The registration request message may include at least: an indication that a user equipment supports dual registration with two different networks supporting next generation radio access network, or an identifier for the user equipment associated with a second network)
Claim 35.
A registration apparatus, comprising: a processor; and a memory configured to store instructions executable by the processor, wherein the processor is configured to perform
([Claim 1] An apparatus, comprising: at least one processor; and at least one memory including computer program code, wherein the at least one memory and the computer program code are configured to, with the at least one processor, cause the apparatus at least to: transmit, to a network node associated with a first network, a registration request message)
steps of the method according to claim 1.
Rejected using the same rationale as claim 1.
Claim(s) 2 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chandramouli-A (US 20240188021) in view of Chandramouli-B (US 20240188021), and further in view of Xu (20210227438).
Claim 2.
Chandramouli in combination with the references taught in Claim 1 teach those respective limitations. Chandramouli does not explicitly teach the following limitation(s), however Xu (US 20210227438) teaches:
wherein the first parameter is a registration type parameter, and a value of the registration type parameter is a first type.
([0211] the registration request message may include a registration type value, and the first parameter value is one of registration type values.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to be motivated to modify Chandramouli with Xu in order to allow for a terminal device to determine a UE policy to be used and how to choose a rule by which a UE policy may be divided using specific message details [Xu – 0004, 0211].
Claim(s) 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chandramouli-A (US 20240188021) in view of Chandramouli-B (US 20240188021), and further in view of Li (US 20230262113).
Claim 7.
Chandramouli in combination with the references taught in Claim 4 teach those respective limitations. Chandramouli-A does not explicitly teach the following limitations, however Li teaches:
wherein the first registration request message further comprises the second parameter.
[0365] the registration request may include the following parameters: a first set of information, a second set of information and a third set of information
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to be motivated to modify Chandramouli with Li in order to provide more convenient and simple exposition of the registration procedure by including multiple parameters in a single registration request message [Li – 0363, 0365].
Conclusion
The prior art made of record, and not relied upon, considered pertinent to applicant' s disclosure or directed to the state of art is listed on the enclosed PTO-892.
The following is a brief description for relevant prior art that was cited but not applied:
Xu (US 20220321418) provides a network function registration method, and a network function discovery method.
Liu (US 20220394566) provides systems and methods for acquiring channel state information.
/ABDULMAJEED AZIZ/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2875