DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
Claims 1-17 are pending and currently under consideration for patentability.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-17 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Friske (US 9011395 B2) in view of Weinberg (US 20190328572 A1).
Regarding Claim 1, Friske teaches A drainable pouch, comprising:
a barrier side wall (14);
a distal wall (12);
an outlet defining a discharge opening, wherein the barrier side wall and the distal wall are joined along their peripheral edges to define a cavity and to define the outlet, the outlet being foldable upward toward the cavity (figs. 1 and 2) (column 4, lines 33-43); and
at least one closure member (22 and 24) located on and attached to a surface of the outlet and having a kink line that is formed in and extending across the closure member and protruding in a direction away from the surface of the outlet (column 5, lines 19-40) (annotated fig. 3), wherein the at least one closure member is configured to bend in the direction away from the surface of the outlet when opening the outlet (column 6, lines 61-column 7, line 14).
Friske fails to teach a kink line that is defined by a crease formed-in-and-extending across the closure member and protruding in a direction away from the surface of the outlet or formed by a fold line extending across the closure member and protruding in a direction away from the surface of the outlet. Weinberg teaches an ostomy pouch with a kink line that is defined by a crease formed-in-and-extending across the closure member (236)(238) and protruding in a direction away from the surface of the outlet(224) or formed by a fold line extending across the closure member and protruding in a direction away from the surface of the outlet(224) (paragraph [0055])(figs. 7 and 8). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the closure member so it is formed or formed by a fold line extending across the closure member and protruding in a direction away from the surface of the outlet, similar Weinberg, so that the fastener is configured to engage and lock the outlet portion.
Regarding Claim 2, Friske in view of Weinberg teaches a drainable pouch of claim 1. Friske further teaches: a securing member (34) located on the barrier side wall (14) of the outlet and a cover flap (26) located on the distal side wall (12) of the outlet for receiving and securing the securing member when the outlet is folded up (column 7, lines 25-46) (figure 5B).
Regarding Claim 3, Friske in view of Weinberg teaches a drainable pouch of claim 1. Friske further teaches wherein the at least one closure member is configured to bend and open the outlet when a force beyond a threshold force is applied to outer edges of the at least one closure member (column 7, lines 25-35).
Regarding Claim 4, Friske in view of Weinberg teaches a drainable pouch of claim 1. Friske further teaches wherein the at least one closure member comprises first and second closure members, the first and second closure members including first and second kink lines (annotated figure below), respectively, and wherein the first closure member (22) is located on the barrier side wall of the outlet (14), and wherein the second closure member (24) is located on the distal side wall (12) of the outlet (figure 4) .
Regarding Claim 5, Friske in view of Weinberg teaches a drainable pouch of claim 4. Friske further teaches wherein the first closure member is located near the discharge opening, and wherein the second closure member is positioned to align with the first closure member and to overlie a portion of the outlet at which the first closure member is located, when the outlet is folded up (annotated figure 4) (figure 5A-5D).
Regarding Claim 6, Friske in view of Weinberg teaches a drainable pouch of claim 1. Friske further teaches wherein the at least one closure member comprises a first closure member (22) including a first kink line extending across the first closure member and protruding in a direction away from a barrier side surface of the outlet and a second closure member including a second kink line extending across the second closure member (24) (figures 5A-5E)and protruding in a direction away from a distal surface of the outlet, wherein the first closure member is attached to the barrier side wall of the outlet and the second closure member is attached to the distal wall of the outlet and arranged vertically spaced apart from the first closure member such that an accordion-like folds are formed in the outlet (column 5, lines 19-55)(figures 5A-5E).
Regarding Claim 7, Friske in view of Weinberg teaches a drainable pouch of claim 6. Friske further teaches wherein the first and second closure members are configured and arranged such that the first closure member nests over the second closure member after a first folding up of the outlet (figure 5B).
Regarding Claim 8, Friske in view of Weinberg teaches a drainable pouch of claim 7. Friske further teaches wherein the first and second closure members are configured to provide a tactile feedback when first closure member correctly nests over the second closure member to facilitate leak-free closure of the outlet (column 6, lines 37-47).
Regarding Claim 9, Friske in view of Weinberg teaches a drainable pouch of claim 7. Friske further teaches wherein the first and second kink lines are formed across the corresponding closure members in a direction perpendicular to the direction of the outlet extending from the cavity (figure 3).
Regarding Claim 10, Friske in view of Weinberg teaches a drainable pouch of claim 4. Friske further teaches wherein the first and second closure members are configured to bend away from the outlet in opposite directions (fig. 3).
Regarding Claim 11, Friske in view of Weinberg teaches a drainable pouch of claim 1. Friske further teaches wherein the kink line is formed by a fold line extending across the corresponding closure member and protruding away from the outlet (column 5, lines 19-55)(figures 5A-5E).
Regarding Claim 12, Friske in view of Weinberg teaches a drainable pouch of claim 1. Friske further teaches wherein the kink line is defined by a crease extending across the corresponding closure member (figure 5).
Regarding Claim 13, Friske in view of Weinberg teaches a drainable pouch of claim 1. Friske further teaches wherein each of the at least one closure member includes a cross-kink line arranged approximately in a midpoint of the closure member and configured to facilitate the closure member to bend at the midpoint in a direction away from the outlet when an inward force is applied to outer edges of the closure member to open the outlet (column 6, lines 61-67).
Regarding Claim 14, Friske in view of Weinberg teaches a drainable pouch of claim 13. Friske further teaches wherein the cross-kink line extends vertically in the direction of the outlet extending from the cavity (column 6, lines 61-67).
Regarding Claim 15, Friske in view of Weinberg teaches a drainable pouch of claim 13. Friske further teaches wherein the cross-kink line is formed by a fold line, score line, crease line, or an embossed line (column 6, lines 37-47).
Regarding Claim 16, Friske in view of Weinberg teaches a drainable pouch of claim 1. Friske further teaches wherein the at least one closure member is formed from a polymeric material (column 4, lines 55-63).
Regarding Claim 17, Friske in view of Weinberg teaches a drainable pouch of claim 16. Friske further comprising: a tab attached to a surface of the outlet and configured to facilitate opening the outlet to drain the cavity (column 7, lines 25-35).
Conclusion
/KATE ELIZABETH STRACHAN/Examiner, Art Unit 3781
/Adam Marcetich/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3781