DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-14 are pending.
Priority
Applicant’s claim for the benefit of prior-filed applications under 35 U.S.C. 119(e) or under 35 U.S.C. 120, 121, 365(c), or 386(c) is acknowledged. Applicant has received benefit for
an earlier priority date of 08/25/2022.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 02/25/2025 has been accepted by the examiner.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they do not include the following reference sign(s) mentioned in the description: “305”. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Specification
Applicant is reminded of the proper language and format for an abstract of the disclosure.
The abstract should be in narrative form and generally limited to a single paragraph on a separate sheet within the range of 50 to 150 words in length. The abstract should describe the disclosure sufficiently to assist readers in deciding whether there is a need for consulting the full patent text for details.
The language should be clear and concise and should not repeat information given in the title. It should avoid using phrases which can be implied, such as, “The disclosure concerns,” “The disclosure defined by this invention,” “The disclosure describes,” etc. In addition, the form and legal phraseology often used in patent claims, such as “means” and “said,” should be avoided.
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
On page 1, line 11, “factories and industrial plant” should read “factories and industrial plants”.
On page 3, line 13, “monitoring and diagnosing and maintaining” should read “monitoring, diagnosing and maintaining”.
On page 5, line 6, “first and second and third” should read “first, second and third”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Objections
Claims 1-7, 9-12, and 14 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 1 recited the limitation “the first diagnostic user component” when they
should cite “the first diagnostic component” for consistency.
Claims 2-7, 9-12 and 14, which are dependent on claim 1, are similarly objected to.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 8 recites the limitation "the first communication interface portion" in line 9. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Regarding claim 11, the phrase "for example" renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitation(s) following the phrase are part of the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2173.05(d).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 4-6, 8-10 and 12-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Balaiah et al. USPGPUB 2020/0274782 (hereinafter “Balaiah”) in view of Ngo et al. USPGPUB 2010/0257583 (hereinafter “Ngo”).
As to claim 1, Balaiah teaches a tool for monitoring a complex technical system (paragraph 0006, “monitoring of network access between one or more users”) having at least one diagnostic user and a plurality of system users (paragraph 0002, “administrators of the monitored digital user experience” and paragraph 0077, “an IT admin enables appropriate services for end users”, the IT admins are diagnostic users and digital/end users are system users), the tool comprising:
a first diagnostic component for a first diagnostic user (paragraph 0002, “administrators of the monitored digital user experience” and paragraph 0097, “the cloud system … enables digital experience monitoring. The cloud system 800 has the ability to monitor, diagnose, generate alerts, and perform remedial actions”), the first diagnostic user component comprising:
a first communication interface for selectively communicating with multiple system users (paragraph 0152, “notification that is sent, such as email, Webhook, etc. This can be accomplished via an action screen of the GUI” and paragraph 0160, “alert actions can include sending email notifications to one user or a list of users”) and having a filter for sorting communications with individual system users into individual conversation streams (paragraph 0149, “Filters can also be selected… these filters can include one or more locations, groups, departments, users”, paragraph 0158, “The list view of the users impacted can include columns for a user identification”, and paragraph 0160, “alert actions can include sending email notifications to one user”, the GUI’s list view visually filters system users into individual users, where communication is facilitated), wherein individual communications are assigned time stamps (paragraph 0108, “The metrics can be tagged with metadata (user, time, app, etc.)”);
a first communication display interface for selectively displaying an individual conversation stream relating to an individual system user as a continuous sequence (paragraph 0093, “a single architecture that is leveraged by the systems and methods to provide real-time, continuous digital experience monitoring, as opposed to conventional approaches… This means data is accessible in real-time for individual users”) wherein the first communication interface portion is arranged to update in response to further communication (paragraph 0033, “these components perform inline processing, enabling a real-time collection of data for the digital experience monitoring platform”);
a first parameter display interface for displaying technical system parameters in a first subset of monitored parameters relating to the individual system user's technical configuration status and usage history (paragraph 0139, “wanting to see user device details to troubleshoot system performance… scheduling a monitor to periodically collect system performance metrics on the user device”);
technical event identification logic arranged to identify technical events or changes in parameters in a second subset of monitored parameters relevant to an individual system user's interaction with the system (paragraph 0115, “provide additional data including metrics based on input from a user in the graphical user interface” and paragraph 0143, “any combination of rules can be established relative to the inline monitoring and the data and metrics collected therewith. For example, the rules can include… any of the metrics of the inline monitoring meets a predetermined or selected threshold for the respective metric, such as a UX score”), each technical event associated with a technical event time (paragraph 0144, “Triggering events based on the alert rules can be checked in real time or can be checked on a predetermined or selected interval, for example, every five minutes. The predetermined or selected interval can be aligned and synchronized with the monitors/inline monitoring described above”);
event description logic arranged to generate a textual description for each identified technical event (paragraph 0159, “The alert detail page can further list the rules (expression triggers) that define the events that trigger the alert”);
hybrid conversation logic arranged to insert the generated textual descriptions in sequence into the individual conversation stream based on the technical event time and the timestamps of communications with the individual user (paragraph 0146, “a GUI of a rules tab of an alerts dashboard. The rules tab can include an alert rule list that lists the rules established for triggering alerts. The list can include a rule name, a state of whether the rule is active, muted or inactive, a date and time the rule was last triggered, the type of monitoring associated with the rule, and an application associated with the rule”).
Balaiah does not explicitly teach a first parameter configuration interface arranged to permit the first diagnostic user to adjust a first set of adjustable user parameters.
However, Ngo teaches a first parameter configuration interface arranged to permit the first diagnostic user to adjust a first set of adjustable user parameters (paragraph 0024, “The remote access and control appliance 101 also enables the administrator 127 to change settings (configuration parameters)”);
Balaiah and Ngo are analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor and contain overlapping structural and functional similarities. They both relate to remote technology support control and diagnostic systems.
Therefore, at the time of effective filing date, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the above remote technology support control and diagnostic system, as taught by Balaiah, to permit the first diagnostic user to adjust a first set of adjustable user parameters, as taught by Ngo.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to apply advanced management techniques, as suggested by Ngo, in order to provide more control over remote access and control technologies used, as taught by Ngo (paragraph 0003).
As to claim 2, Balaiah and Ngo teach all the limitations of the base claim as outlined above.
Balaiah further teaches the tool further comprising:
a second diagnostic component for a second diagnostic user (paragraph 0002, “administrators of the monitored digital user experience”, paragraph 0097, “the cloud system … enables digital experience monitoring. The cloud system 800 has the ability to monitor, diagnose”, paragraph 0083, “the device 604 can broadcast the request to multiple clouds” and paragraph 0073, “a cloud system 500 for implementing the systems and methods described… In general, the cloud system 500 can be configured to perform any function in a multi-tenant environment”, two cloud systems are shown, both of which can act as a diagnostic component of a second diagnostic administrator user) including:
a second communication interface for selectively communicating with multiple system users (paragraph 0152, “notification that is sent, such as email, Webhook, etc. This can be accomplished via an action screen of the GUI”, paragraph 0160, “alert actions can include sending email notifications to one user or a list of users” and paragraph 0073, “a cloud system 500 for implementing the systems and methods described”) and having a filter for sorting communications with individual system users into individual conversation streams (paragraph 0149, “Filters can also be selected… these filters can include one or more locations, groups, departments, users”, paragraph 0158, “The list view of the users impacted can include columns for a user identification”, and paragraph 0160, “alert actions can include sending email notifications to one user”, the GUI’s list view visually filters system users into individual users, where communication is facilitated), wherein individual communications are assigned time stamps (paragraph 0108, “The metrics can be tagged with metadata (user, time, app, etc.)”);
a second communication display interface for selectively displaying an individual conversation stream relating to an individual system user as a continuous sequence (paragraph 0093, “a single architecture that is leveraged by the systems and methods to provide real-time, continuous digital experience monitoring, as opposed to conventional approaches… This means data is accessible in real-time for individual users” and paragraph 0073, “a cloud system 500 for implementing the systems and methods described”) wherein the second communication interface portion is arranged to update in response to further communication (paragraph 0033, “these components perform inline processing, enabling a real-time collection of data for the digital experience monitoring platform”);
a second parameter display interface for displaying technical system parameters in a third subset of monitored parameters relating to the individual system user's technical configuration status and usage history (paragraph 0139, “wanting to see user device details to troubleshoot system performance… scheduling a monitor to periodically collect system performance metrics on the user device”); and
wherein at least one of the first and second communication display interfaces is arranged to display communications between an individual system user and both the first and second diagnostic users (paragraph 0093, “a single architecture that is leveraged by the systems and methods to provide real-time, continuous digital experience monitoring, as opposed to conventional approaches… This means data is accessible in real-time for individual users” and paragraph 0115, “generating and displaying an alert responsive to any user… updating the display based on input… provide additional data including metrics based on input from a user in the graphical user interface”, paragraph 0113, “administrators can set alerts” and paragraph 0147, “The Alert rule can be associated with an application and one or more monitors”) and said generated textual descriptions in a single conversation stream (paragraph 0093, “a single architecture that is leveraged by the systems and methods to provide real-time, continuous digital experience monitoring, as opposed to conventional approaches… This means data is accessible in real-time for individual users”).
Ngo further teaches a second parameter configuration interface arranged to permit the second diagnostic user to adjust a second set of adjustable user parameters (paragraph 0024, “The remote access and control appliance 101 also enables the administrator 127 to change settings (configuration parameters)” and paragraph 0026, “remote access and remote control by the remote vendor system 117 to internal customer systems 115 and customer applications 109… to control access rights, remote control permissions, and other parameters and guidelines. Consequently, the vendor support agents are provided with only the level of access to the respective systems 113, 115, and/or 117”);
As to claim 4, Balaiah and Ngo teach all the limitations of the base claim as outlined above.
Balaiah further teaches wherein technical system parameters relating to groups of system users are identified (paragraph 0155, “aggregating the user experience for users into groups of users… providing a graphical user interface displaying data related to the groups of users” and paragraph 0113, “With the various device, application, and network-related metrics, such as in the logging and analytics 804, it is possible to aggregate these metrics to provide a User Experience (UEX) score… Scores can be aggregated for a group of users”).
As to claim 5, Balaiah and Ngo teach all the limitations of the base claim as outlined above.
Balaiah further teaches logic for correlating interactions with individual system users with technical system parameters associated with the group of users to which each individual system user belongs (paragraph 0013, “Scores can be aggregated for a group of users (e.g. department, location) or for the whole organization. Administrators are provided UEX score reports over time based on user, department, locations, etc. via a Graphical User Interface (GUI)” and paragraph 0115, “aggregating the user experience for users into groups of users”).
As to claim 6, Balaiah and Ngo teach all the limitations of the base claim as outlined above.
Balaiah further teaches including logic for estimating one or more further affected users or likely level of interactions based on received interactions and affected technical system parameters (paragraph 0110, “continuously capture user experience metric data and to historically log such data in the logging and analytics 804 service. As such, a network administrator can have a long-term detailed view of the network and associated user experience” and paragraph 0124, “isolate common factors affecting the UEX score. For example, Wi-Fi network coverage could be poor in a location… With the logging and analytics 804, it is possible to review historical data to train the AI/ML anomaly detection engine for ongoing detection”).
As to claim 8, Balaiah teaches a method comprising:
communicating with a particular system user of a plurality of users of a technical system (paragraph 0152, “notification that is sent, such as email, Webhook, etc. This can be accomplished via an action screen of the GUI” and paragraph 0160, “alert actions can include sending email notifications to one user or a list of users”);
capturing data in respect of each communication with a system user (paragraph 0093, “data is accessible in real-time for individual users” and paragraph 0033, “a real-time collection of data for the digital experience monitoring platform”);
applying a timestamp to each communication with a system user (paragraph 0108, “ The metrics can be tagged with metadata (user, time, app, etc.)”);
sorting communications with individual system users into individual conversation streams (paragraph 0149, “Filters can also be selected… these filters can include one or more locations, groups, departments, users”, paragraph 0158, “The list view of the users impacted can include columns for a user identification”, and paragraph 0160, “alert actions can include sending email notifications to one user”, the GUI’s list view visually filters system users into individual users, where communication is facilitated);
displaying an individual conversation stream relating to an individual system user as a continuous sequence (paragraph 0093, “a single architecture that is leveraged by the systems and methods to provide real-time, continuous digital experience monitoring, as opposed to conventional approaches… This means data is accessible in real-time for individual users”) wherein the first communication interface portion is arranged to update in response to further communication (paragraph 0033, “these components perform inline processing, enabling a real-time collection of data for the digital experience monitoring platform”);
displaying technical system parameters in a first subset of monitored parameters relating to the particular system user's technical configuration status and usage history (paragraph 0139, “wanting to see user device details to troubleshoot system performance… scheduling a monitor to periodically collect system performance metrics on the user device”);
identifying technical events or changes in parameters in a second subset of monitored parameters relevant to an individual system user's interaction with the system (paragraph 0115, “provide additional data including metrics based on input from a user in the graphical user interface” and paragraph 0143, “any combination of rules can be established relative to the inline monitoring and the data and metrics collected therewith. For example, the rules can include… any of the metrics of the inline monitoring meets a predetermined or selected threshold for the respective metric, such as a UX score”), each technical event associated with a technical event time (paragraph 0144, “Triggering events based on the alert rules can be checked in real time or can be checked on a predetermined or selected interval, for example, every five minutes. The predetermined or selected interval can be aligned and synchronized with the monitors/inline monitoring described above”);
automatically generating a textual description for each identified technical event (paragraph 0115, “provide additional data including metrics based on input from a user in the graphical user interface” and paragraph 0143, “any combination of rules can be established relative to the inline monitoring and the data and metrics collected therewith. For example, the rules can include… any of the metrics of the inline monitoring meets a predetermined or selected threshold for the respective metric, such as a UX score”); and
inserting the generated textual descriptions in sequence into the individual conversation stream based on the technical event time and the timestamps of communications with the individual user (paragraph 0146, “a GUI of a rules tab of an alerts dashboard. The rules tab can include an alert rule list that lists the rules established for triggering alerts. The list can include a rule name, a state of whether the rule is active, muted or inactive, a date and time the rule was last triggered, the type of monitoring associated with the rule, and an application associated with the rule”).
Balaiah does not explicitly teach adjusting a first set of adjustable user parameters for the particular system user.
However, Ngo teaches adjusting a first set of adjustable user parameters for the particular system user (paragraph 0024, “The remote access and control appliance 101 also enables the administrator 127 to change settings (configuration parameters)”).
As to claim 9, Balaiah and Ngo teach all the limitations of the base claim as outlined above.
Balaiah further teaches wherein the hybrid conversation logic is arranged to:
insert the generated textual descriptions in sequence into the individual conversation stream based on the technical event times and the timestamps of communications with the individual user (paragraph 0146, “a GUI of a rules tab of an alerts dashboard. The rules tab can include an alert rule list that lists the rules established for triggering alerts. The list can include a rule name, a state of whether the rule is active, muted or inactive, a date and time the rule was last triggered, the type of monitoring associated with the rule, and an application associated with the rule”) to generate a time-based diagnostic log combining technical events in time sequence with user communications (paragraph 0144, “Triggering events based on the alert rules can be checked in real time or can be checked on a predetermined or selected interval, for example, every five minutes. The predetermined or selected interval can be aligned and synchronized with the monitors/inline monitoring described above”).
As to claim 10, Balaiah and Ngo teach all the limitations of the base claim as outlined above.
Balaiah further teaches the tool configured to:
output the diagnostic log to facilitate correlation by the first diagnostic user of technical events with user experience issues and/or identification of probable causal links and root causes (paragraph 0126, “from the logging and analytics system (step 872); responsive to a low user experience, analyzing the low user experience score to determine one or more likely factors (step 873)”).
As to claim 12, Balaiah and Ngo teach all the limitations of the base claim as outlined above.
Balaiah further teaches a tool further configured to:
train a machine learning algorithm based on the diagnostic event logs output (paragraph 0124, “With the logging and analytics 804, it is possible to review historical data to train the AI/ML” and paragraph 0110, “continuously capture user experience metric data and to historically log such data in the logging and analytics 804”) by the hybrid conversation logic and based on knowledge of successful and unsuccessful interventions made based on the event logs (paragraph 0126, “from the logging and analytics system (step 872); responsive to a low user experience, analyzing the low user experience score to determine one or more likely factors (step 873); and causing one or more remedial actions to address the low user experience score”); and
use the trained machine learning algorithm to assist diagnostic users in identifying root causes and remedial actions based on patterns of events (paragraph 0123, “for the purpose of improving the UEX scores, i.e., remedial actions. Here, an analytics service can operate in conjunction with the monitoring service” and paragraph 0124, “an Artificial Intelligence (AI)/Machine Learning (ML) anomaly detection engine that can isolate common factors affecting the UEX score”).
As to claim 13, Balaiah and Ngo teach all the limitations of the base claim as outlined above.
Balaiah further teaches a non-transitory computer-readable medium comprising software code arranged when executed to perform operations implementing the tool (paragraph 0168, “embodiments may include a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium… When stored in the non-transitory computer-readable medium, software can include instructions executable by a processor or device (e.g., any type of programmable circuitry or logic) that, in response to such execution, cause a processor or the device to perform a set of operations, steps, methods, processes, algorithms, functions, techniques, etc. as described herein for the various embodiments”).
As to claim 14, Balaiah and Ngo teach all the limitations of the base claim as outlined above.
Balaiah further teaches wherein the system further comprises a machine learning subsystem (paragraph 0124, “an Artificial Intelligence (AI)/Machine Learning (ML) anomaly detection engine”) comprising:
a training module configured to train a machine learning algorithm (MLA) based on logs created using the tool (paragraph 0124, “With the logging and analytics 804, it is possible to review historical data to train the AI/ML” and paragraph 0110, “continuously capture user experience metric data and to historically log such data in the logging and analytics 804”), the training module configured to expose the MLA to the results of interventions made based on the use of the logs (paragraph 0126, “from the logging and analytics system (step 872); responsive to a low user experience, analyzing the low user experience score to determine one or more likely factors (step 873); and causing one or more remedial actions to address the low user experience score”), including:
successful interventions where an identified root cause and remedial action resolved a problem (paragraph 0126, “analyzing the low user experience score to determine one or more likely factors (step 873); and causing one or more remedial actions to address the low user experience score”, paragraph 0115, “an alert responsive to any user, group of users, location, and organization's user experience score falling below a threshold” and paragraph 0157, “a cleared alert can be shown as green”), and
unsuccessful interventions where an initial remedial action did not resolve a problem (paragraph 0126, “analyzing the low user experience score to determine one or more likely factors (step 873); and causing one or more remedial actions to address the low user experience score”, paragraph 0115, “an alert responsive to any user, group of users, location, and organization's user experience score falling below a threshold” and paragraph 0157, “an active alert can be shown as red”); and
an inference module configured to enable use of the trained MLA by diagnostic users for identifying root causes and/or remedial actions (paragraph 0124, “an Artificial Intelligence (AI)/Machine Learning (ML) anomaly detection engine” and paragraph 0167, “one or more generic or specialized processors… perform a set of operations, steps, methods, processes, algorithms, functions, techniques, etc. as described herein”).
Claims 3, 7 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Balaiah et al. USPGPUB 2020/0274782 (hereinafter “Balaiah”) and Ngo et al. USPGPUB 2010/0257583 (hereinafter “Ngo”) in view of Okita et al. USPGPUB 2019/0089194 (hereinafter “Okita”).
As to claim 3, Balaiah and Ngo teach all the limitations of the base claim as outlined above.
Balaiah and Ngo do not teach wherein the complex system is an energy distribution network, wherein technical system parameters include energy parameters affecting supply to a plurality of system users.
Okita teaches wherein the complex system is an energy distribution network (paragraph 0011, “generate the DR messages… on the energy distribution network”), wherein technical system parameters include energy parameters affecting supply to a plurality of system users (paragraph 0166, “information may come from sensors attached to the motor or motors, or from control circuitry that determines the voltage and/or current supplied to the motor, or even from external power sources” and paragraph 0030, “send demand response messages to users from a message-based demand response service… the energy consumption measurements and indications of user responses to past demand response messages”).
Balaiah, Ngo and Okita are analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor and contain overlapping structural and functional similarities. They all relate to remote technology support control and diagnostic systems.
Therefore, at the time of effective filing date, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the above remote technology support control and diagnostic system, as taught by Balaiah and Ngo, wherein the system is an energy distribution network, wherein technical system parameters include energy parameters affecting supply to a plurality of system users, as taught by Ngo.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to apply advanced monitoring techniques, as suggested by Okita, in order to utilize meter and customer data to communicate with residents and motivate reduction in peak demand, as taught by Okita (paragraph 0004).
As to claim 7, Balaiah and Ngo teach all the limitations of the base claim as outlined above.
Balaiah and Ngo do not teach the tool including logic for triggering a pre-emptive message to a system user based on an estimated effect of a change in a technical system parameter.
Okita teaches the tool including logic for triggering a pre-emptive message to a system user based on an estimated effect of a change in a technical system parameter (paragraph 0019, “pre-event messages… DR message opt-in and opt-out may also be performed independently for each user” and paragraph 0025, “a predictive timing score based on the energy consumption measurements and indications of user responses to past demand response messages; and sending, with the one or more server computers, the demand response message in response to receiving an indication of an energy event, the demand response message sent to the user at the predicted time”).
As to claim 11, Balaiah and Ngo teach all the limitations of the base claim as outlined above.
Balaiah and Ngo do not teach wherein the complex system is an energy distribution network (paragraph 0011, “generate the DR messages… on the energy distribution network”), wherein technical events comprise one or more of: engineer interventions, the upgrading and replacement of network equipment, addition of new circuits, for example to serve a new housing or commercial development, replacing or repair of a substation.
Okita teaches wherein the complex system is an energy distribution network, wherein technical events comprise one or more of: engineer interventions, the upgrading and replacement of network equipment, addition of new circuits, for example to serve a new housing or commercial development, replacing or repair of a substation (paragraph 0252, “recognize and diagnose changes in operating parameters of the HVAC system over time… when the conditioned space was built and/or renovated… make, model and age of HVAC equipment”).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Fisher USP 10025604 teaches a system for providing network-based technical support to a user by providing a solution based on the user’s technical parameters.
Puri et al. USPGPUB 2019/0097909 teaches a collaborative incident management monitoring system for response teams to resolve incidents in networked computer systems.
/NISAT TABASSUM NOSIN/Examiner, Art Unit 2119
/MOHAMMAD ALI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2119