This action is in response to the communication filed on July 13, 2026.
Response to Amendment
Applicant’s amendment filed on July 13, 2026, with respect to claims 1-20 has been received, entered into the record and considered.
As a result of the amendment, claims 1-14, 16-19 and 21 have been amended and claim 20 has been cancelled.
Claims 1-19 and 21 remain pending in this office action.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 08/21/2026. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Objections
As a result of the amendment to the claims, examiner withdrawn the pending objection to the claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C 101 because the claimed invention is directed to non-statutory subject matter.
Claims 1-9 recites, “a computer-readable medium having access to external functionality for searching for digital information in each of one or more external data repositories, the computer readable medium comprising a computer storage medium having stored thereon a software for searching and processing digital information which, when executed by a processor, causes the computer-readable medium to execute …
Claims 1-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C 101 because the claimed invention is directed to non- statutory subject matter. Official Gazette Notice 1351 OG 212, dated February 23, 2010, states "the broadest reasonable interpretation of a claim drawn to a computer readable medium...typically covers forms of non-transitory tangible media and transitory propagating signals per se in view of the ordinary and customary meaning of computer readable media." Applicant discloses, “Software may be distributed on computer readable media, which may comprise computer storage media (or non-transitory media) and communication media (or transitory media), (Specification page 34, line 1-4). This means that the tangible computer readable medium can include non-statutory subject matter such as signals and transmission media.
Given that claim(s) 1-9 are drawn to a computer readable medium, those claims are construed to cover both transitory and non-transitory media.
"A transitory, propagating signal ... is not a 'process, machine, manufacture, or composition of matter.' Those four categories define the explicit scope and reach of subject matter patentable under 35 U.S.C. § 101; thus, such a signal cannot be patentable subject matter." In re Nuijten, 84 USPQ2d 1495, 1503 (Fed. Cir. 2007).
Because the full scope of the claim encompasses non-statutory subject matter (i.e., transitory propagating signals), the claim as a whole is non-statutory. The Examiner suggest adding the limitation "non-transitory" to claims 1-9 to limit the claim scope to encompass only statutory subject matter.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
As a result of the amendment to the claims, examiner withdrawn the pending 112 rejection to the claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Scott et al (US 8,086,591 B2), in view of Hussain et al (US 2021/0158814 A1).
As per claim 1, Scott discloses:
- a computer-readable medium having access to external functionality for searching for digital information in each of one or more external data repositories, the computer readable medium comprising a computer storage medium having stored thereon a software for searching and processing digital information which, when executed by a processor, causes the computer-readable medium to execute (column 6, line 5-20, these components can execute from various computer readable media having various data structures stored thereon, and Fig. 5, item 502, Fig. 10, item 1006, column 3, line 45-55, column 13, lone 22-35, search engine (i.e. software for searching digital information) for searching internet, intranet, websites, (i.e. external functionality for searching digital information),
- a search function configured to: retrieve, via a data retrieving function defining the use of the external functionality for searching, data from the external functionality for searching (column 3, line 45-55, column 7, line 15-45, Fig. 16, focus based search (i.e., search function with data retrieving function) to retrieve topic-based search or query result,
- transform, via a data transforming function defining an output format of data retrieved from the external functionality for searching, data according to the output format and expose, via the transforming function, the transformed data (column 3, line 50-65, column 8, line 10-30, column 10, line 35-45, ranking data retrieved form search engine (i.e., data transformation function defining output format of data retrieved from search engine), Fig. 3, item 320, Fig. 5, item 518),
Scott does not explicitly disclose assess, via an identification declaration a fitness between a search query and the identification declaration. However, in the same field of endeavor Hussain in an analogous art disclose assess, via an identification declaration a fitness between a search query and the identification declaration (Fig. 1, item 120, Fig. 2, item 216, Para [0018] – [0019], [0051], [0065]-[0068], [0070], [0085]-[0086], a statistical or probabilistic model (i.e., assess) to understand the natural language query for application declaring a function or intents based on query parameter (i.e., fitness between search query and third-party or external content provider or identification dealation)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate declaration identification fitness between search query and the topic or subject taught by Hussain as the means to searching and processing digital information using search function in Scott. Scott and Hussain are analogous prior art since they both deal with searching digital information on the internet with user topic or subject of the query. A person of the ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make aforementioned modification to improve accuracy and performance efficiency in searching. This is because one aspect of Scott invention is to facilitate accuracy and efficiency that provides focused result when performing a search over a collection of sites in the internet, as described in column 2, line 50-55, and column 6, line 20-25. Identifying a topic and assessing suitable fitness between search query and topic is part of this search process. However, Scott doesn’t specify any particular manner in which a topic is identified and declared and assessing suitable fitness between search query and topic. This would have lead one of the ordinary skill in the art to seek and recognize the topic and assess suitable fitness between search query and topic as taught by topic is identified and declared and assessing suitable fitness between search query and topic Hussain Kurasawa describes how their application specific function declaration and searching improve natural language query understanding and determine a fulfillment for the user query, as described at least in Para [0067] and [0072], as desired by Scott.
As per claim 2, rejection of claim 1 is incorporated, and further Scott discloses:
- wherein the identification declaration comprises at least one from the list of: topical focus, and objective (column 7, line 15-25, column 10, line 55-65, focused topic of the search (i.e., identification declaration).
As per claim 3, rejection of claim 2 is incorporated, and further Scott discloses:
- wherein the identification declaration is connected to a third-party service or external functionality for accessing or inferring at least parts of the identification declaration (column 23, line 20-30, column 24, line 30-40, inferring part of the topic).
As per claim 4, rejection of claim 1 is incorporated, and further Scott discloses:
- wherein the data transforming function defines a ranking of the data retrieved from the external functionality for searching (column 8, line 10-30, Fig. 5, item 518, ranking search result retrieved from internet search engine).
As per claim 5, rejection of claim 1 is incorporated, and further Scott discloses:
- wherein the data transforming function defines a modification of the data retrieved from the external functionality for searching (column 3, line 30-40, column 12, line 50-60, column 8, line 1-10, Fig. 6, modification of sub webs (i.e., modification of retrieved data)).
As per claim 6, rejection of claim 1 is incorporated, and further Scott discloses:
- wherein data transforming function defines a visualization of the data retrieved from the external functionality for searching (column 4, line 1-10, 25-30, Fig. 6, item 606, displaying the search result (i.e., visualizing data retrieved from internet search engine).
As per claim 7, rejection of claim 1 is incorporated, and further Scott discloses:
- wherein the search function further comprising a data input function configured to receive input data, wherein said input data is used by the data retrieving function when defining the use of the external functionality for searching and/or by the data transforming function when defining the output format of data retrieved from the external functionality for searching (column 16, line 30-40, column 17, line 1-15, input search term relating to the topic to the search engine (i.e., external function) for searching topic related data and provide the result (i.e., output of the search)).
As per claim 8, rejection of claim 1 is incorporated, and further Scott discloses:
- wherein the data retrieving function specifically and/or programmatically defines one or more search queries to be used with the external functionality of searching (column 3, line 25-35, column 24, line 20-40, defining the topic of the search (i.e., defining the search queries)).
As per claim 9, rejection of claim 8 is incorporated, and further Scott discloses:
- wherein the search function further comprises a data input function configured to receive input data, wherein said input data is used by the data retrieving function when defining the use of the external functionality for searching and/or by the data transforming function when defining the output format of data retrieved from the external functionality for searching, and wherein the input data comprises one or more symbols (column 7, line 45-55, receiving search query (i.e., receive input data) which is used to search internet search engine (i.e., search functionality) and retrieve result (i.e., output), column 16, line 30-45, search input with query term, such as golf, fairway, wood, iron, etc., (i.e., input with symbol)).
- wherein the data retrieving function defines the one or more search queries based on the input data (column 3, line 25-35, column 24, line 20-40, defining the topic of the search (i.e., defining the search queries)).
Claims 10-19 and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Scott et al (US 8,086,591 B2), in view of Hussain et al (US 2021/0158814 A1), as applied to claim 1 above and further in view of Liddy et al (US 5,873,056).
As per claim 10, rejection of claim 1 is incorporated, and further Scott discloses:
- a system for searching digital information, the system comprising Fig. 3, item 320, Fig. 14, item 1406, column 6, line 1-10, a system with combination of hardware and software),
- one or more processors (Fig. 22, item 2214),
- and a computer readable medium having access to external functionality for searching for digital information in each of one or more external data repositories, the computer readable medium comprising a computer storage medium having stored thereon: a) a plurality of software for searching and processing digital information, wherein each of the plurality of software is configured to, when executed by the one or more processors, cause the computer readable medium to execute a search function configured to (column 6, line 5-20, these components can execute from various computer readable media having various data structures stored thereon, and Fig. 5, item 502, Fig. 10, item 1006, column 3, line 45-55, column 13, lone 22-35, search engine (i.e. software for searching digital information) for searching internet, intranet, websites, (i.e. external functionality for searching digital information),
- retrieve, via a data retrieving function defining the use of the external functionality for searching, data from the external functionality for searching (column 3, line 45-55, column 7, line 15-45, Fig. 16, focus based search (i.e., search function with data retrieving function) to retrieve topic-based search or query result,
- transform, via a data transforming function defining an output format of data retrieved from the external functionality for searching, data according to the output format and expose, via the transforming function, the transformed data (column 3, line 50-65, column 8, line 10-30, column 10, line 35-45, ranking data retrieved form search engine (i.e., data transformation function defining output format of data retrieved from search engine), Fig. 3, item 320, Fig. 5, item 518),
b) instructions, that when executed by one or more processors, is configured to provide: a query receiving module configured for receiving a search query from a user device (Fig. 1, item 114, column 7, line 45-55, searching component that receive search query from a user),
Scott does not explicitly disclose assess, via an identification declaration a fitness between a search query and the identification declaration; a query decomposition module configured for decomposing the search query. However, in the same field of endeavor Hussain in an analogous art disclose assess, via an identification declaration a fitness between a search query and the identification declaration (Fig. 1, item 120, Fig. 2, item 216, Para [0018] – [0019], [0051], [0065]-[0068], [0070], [0085]-[0086], a statistical or probabilistic model (i.e., assess) to understand the natural language query for application declaring a function or intents based on query parameter (i.e., fitness between search query and third-party or external content provider or identification dealation)), a query decomposition module configured for decomposing the search query (Fig. 2, item 206, Para [0005], [0018], parsing natural language input (i.e., decomposing the search query)),
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate declaration identification fitness between search query and the topic or subject taught by Hussain as the means to searching and processing digital information using search function in Scott. Scott and Hussain are analogous prior art since they both deal with searching digital information on the internet with user topic or subject of the query. A person of the ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make aforementioned modification to improve accuracy and performance efficiency in searching. This is because one aspect of Scott invention is to facilitate accuracy and efficiency that provides focused result when performing a search over a collection of sites in the internet, as described in column 2, line 50-55, and column 6, line 20-25. Identifying a topic and assessing suitable fitness between search query and topic is part of this search process. However, Scott doesn’t specify any particular manner in which a topic is identified and declared and assessing suitable fitness between search query and topic. This would have lead one of the ordinary skill in the art to seek and recognize the topic and assess suitable fitness between search query and topic as taught by topic is identified and declared and assessing suitable fitness between search query and topic. Hussain describes how their application specific function declaration and searching improve natural language query understanding and determine a fulfillment for the user query, as described at least in Para [0067] and [0072], as desired by Scott.
Combined method of Scott and Hussain does not explicitly disclose a feature extracting module configured for extracting a query feature vector from the search query and/or the decomposed query and for extracting a software feature vector from an identification declaration of each of the plurality of software; a mapping component configured for, based on the query feature vector and the plurality of software feature vectors, determining an optimal matched software for the search query; a transmitting module configured for transmitting the optimal matched software to the user device. However, in the same filed of endeavor Liddy in an analogous art discloses a feature extracting module configured for extracting a query feature vector from the search query and/or the decomposed query and for extracting a software feature vector from an identification declaration of each of the plurality of software (Abstract, line 1-10, Fig. 1, item 8, Fig. 10, column 1, line 20-25, column 2, line 25-40, query feature vector and code vector (i.e., software feature vector)) a mapping component configured for, based on the query feature vector and the plurality of software feature vectors, determining an optimal matched software for the search query (column 3, line 35-45, column 4, line 15-30, column 8, line 5-25, correlating (i.e., mapping) and matching code vector (i.e., software feature vector) and query feature vector), a transmitting module configured for transmitting the optimal matched software to the user device (column 1, line 20-27, column 5, line 10-20, 55-65, matched code used for machine searching (i.e., code transmitted to user device)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of Scott, as previously modified with Hussain, with the teaching of Liddy by modifying Scott such that vectors for search engine and vector from a user query are linked to search appropriate topic related domain. The motivation for doing so would enable a user who seeks documents on the same subject matter or topic retrieval more efficient than with conventional key word searching (Liddy, column 2, line 42-50).
As per claim 11, rejection of claim 10 is incorporated, and further Liddy discloses:
- wherein the feature extracting module is further configured for extracting a code feature vector from programmatic code of the search function of each of the plurality of software, wherein the mapping module is configured to, based on the query feature vector, the plurality of software feature vectors and the plurality of code feature vectors determining the optimal matched software for the search query (Fig. 11, column 3, line 35-45, column 4, line 25-35, correlation components (i.e., programmatic code of the search function) correlating similarity vector and code (i.e., software) vector).
As per claim 12, rejection of claim 10 is incorporated, and further Scott discloses:
- run the search function of a specific software among the plurality of software and store the exposed data from the data transforming function of the specific software as stored data corresponding to the specific software in a memory (column 2, line 20-50, column 4, line 1-10, column 7, line 35-55, search engine for searching query related data (i.e., running the search function) and storing sub webs on a hard drive (i.e., in memory), column 3, line 30-40),
- wherein the transmitting module is further configured to retrieve a stored data corresponding to the transmitted software and transmit the retrieved stored data to the user device (Fig. 13, Fig. 19, column 4, line 10-20searching the sub web engine for corresponding to the transmitted software and respected query term).
As per claim 13, rejection of claim 10 is incorporated, and further Scott discloses:
- run the data retrieving function of a specific software among the plurality of software and store the data retrieved by the data retrieving function of the specific software as stored data corresponding to the specific software in a memory, (column 2, line 20-50, column 4, line 1-10, column 7, line 35-55, search engine for searching query related data (i.e., running the data retrieval function) and storing sub webs on a hard drive (i.e., in memory), column 3, line 30-40),
- wherein the transmitting module is further configured to retrieve a stored data corresponding to the transmitted software and transmit the retrieved stored data to the user device (Fig. 13, Fig. 19, column 4, line 10-20searching the sub web engine for corresponding to the transmitted software and respected query term).
As per claim 14, rejection of claim 10 is incorporated, and further Hussain discloses:
- wherein the transmitting module is further configured to transmit the decomposed query to the user device (Para [0040], [0051], [0055], [0058], interaction (i.e., transmitting) between human and computer the parsed audio input (i.e., decomposed query) to identify or invoke an application for intended searching).
As per claim 15, rejection of claim 10 is incorporated, and further Scott discloses:
- wherein the plurality of software is stored in a database, wherein access to the database is exposed externally through an API (column 6, line 25-55, Fig. 1, item 108, Fig. 19, item 1904, sub web (i.e., search engine software) are stored in a data store) which is access by an interface component (i.e., API).
As per claim 16, rejection of claim 10 is incorporated, and further Hussain discloses:
- wherein the system is configured to determine whether the search query comprises executable code, wherein, upon determining that the search query comprises executable code of a predefined type, the system receiving module is configured to transmit the search query to the transmitting module for further transmission to the user device (Para [0067], [0070], determining type of parameter in a query (i.e., executable code type) and sending (i.e., transmit) the query to an application or program to run the query).
As per claim 17, Scott discloses:
- a user device connected to a system for searching digital information, the system comprising Fig. 3, item 320, Fig. 14, item 1406, column 6, line 1-10, a system with combination of hardware and software),
- one or more processors (Fig. 22, item 2214),
- and a computer readable medium having access to external functionality for searching for digital information in each of one or more external data repositories, the computer readable medium comprising a computer storage medium having stored thereon: a) a plurality of software for searching and processing digital information, wherein each of the plurality of software is configured to, when executed by the one or more processors, cause the computer readable medium to execute a search function configured to (column 6, line 5-20, these components can execute from various computer readable media having various data structures stored thereon, and Fig. 5, item 502, Fig. 10, item 1006, column 3, line 45-55, column 13, lone 22-35, search engine (i.e. software for searching digital information) for searching internet, intranet, websites, (i.e. external functionality for searching digital information),
- retrieve, via a data retrieving function defining the use of the external functionality for searching, data from the external functionality for searching (column 3, line 45-55, column 7, line 15-45, Fig. 16, focus based search (i.e., search function with data retrieving function) to retrieve topic-based search or query result,
- transform, via a data transforming function defining an output format of data retrieved from the external functionality for searching, data according to the output format and expose, via the transforming function, the transformed data (column 3, line 50-65, column 8, line 10-30, column 10, line 35-45, ranking data retrieved form search engine (i.e., data transformation function defining output format of data retrieved from search engine), Fig. 3, item 320, Fig. 5, item 518),
b) instructions, that when executed by one or more processors, is configured to provide: a query receiving module configured for receiving a search query from a user device (Fig. 1, item 114, column 7, line 45-55, searching component that receive search query from a user),
- the user device having functionality to: transmit a search query to the receiving component of the system (column 7, line 45-65, receiving a search query (i.e., user transmitting a search query from the user device),
- receive a software from the transmitting component of the system (column 10, line 5-20, column 11, line 5-15, receiving sub web engine (i.e., software from transmitting component),
- run the search function the software locally on the user device (column 2, line 20-50, column 4, line 1-10, column 7, line 35-55, search engine for searching query related data (i.e., running the data retrieval function) and storing sub webs on a hard drive (i.e., in memory), column 3, line 30-40),
- display the exposed data of the data transforming function the software (column 4, line 1-10, display the classified data (i.e., exposed data),
Scott does not explicitly disclose assess, via an identification declaration a fitness between a search query and the identification declaration; a query decomposition module configured for decomposing the search query. However, in the same field of endeavor Hussain in an analogous art disclose assess, via an identification declaration a fitness between a search query and the identification declaration (Fig. 1, item 120, Fig. 2, item 216, Para [0018] – [0019], [0051], [0065]-[0068], [0070], [0085]-[0086], a statistical or probabilistic model (i.e., assess) to understand the natural language query for application declaring a function or intents based on query parameter (i.e., fitness between search query and third-party or external content provider or identification dealation)), a query decomposition module configured for decomposing the search query (Fig. 2, item 206, Para [0005], [0018], parsing natural language input (i.e., decomposing the search query)),
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate declaration identification fitness between search query and the topic or subject taught by Hussain as the means to searching and processing digital information using search function in Scott. Scott and Hussain are analogous prior art since they both deal with searching digital information on the internet with user topic or subject of the query. A person of the ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make aforementioned modification to improve accuracy and performance efficiency in searching. This is because one aspect of Scott invention is to facilitate accuracy and efficiency that provides focused result when performing a search over a collection of sites in the internet, as described in column 2, line 50-55, and column 6, line 20-25. Identifying a topic and assessing suitable fitness between search query and topic is part of this search process. However, Scott doesn’t specify any particular manner in which a topic is identified and declared and assessing suitable fitness between search query and topic. This would have lead one of the ordinary skill in the art to seek and recognize the topic and assess suitable fitness between search query and topic as taught by topic is identified and declared and assessing suitable fitness between search query and topic. Hussain describes how their application specific function declaration and searching improve natural language query understanding and determine a fulfillment for the user query, as described at least in Para [0067] and [0072], as desired by Scott.
Combined method of Scott and Hussain does not explicitly disclose a feature extracting module configured for extracting a query feature vector from the search query and/or the decomposed query and for extracting a software feature vector from an identification declaration of each of the plurality of software; a mapping component configured for, based on the query feature vector and the plurality of software feature vectors, determining an optimal matched software for the search query; a transmitting module configured for transmitting the optimal matched software to the user device. However, in the same filed of endeavor Liddy in an analogous art discloses a feature extracting module configured for extracting a query feature vector from the search query and/or the decomposed query and for extracting a software feature vector from an identification declaration of each of the plurality of software (Abstract, line 1-10, Fig. 1, item 8, Fig. 10, column 1, line 20-25, column 2, line 25-40, query feature vector and code vector (i.e., software feature vector)) a mapping component configured for, based on the query feature vector and the plurality of software feature vectors, determining an optimal matched software for the search query (column 3, line 35-45, column 4, line 15-30, column 8, line 5-25, correlating (i.e., mapping) and matching code vector (i.e., software feature vector) and query feature vector), a transmitting module configured for transmitting the optimal matched software to the user device (column 1, line 20-27, column 5, line 10-20, 55-65, matched code used for machine searching (i.e., code transmitted to user device)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of Scott, as previously modified with Hussain, with the teaching of Liddy by modifying Scott such that vectors for search engine and vector from a user query are linked to search appropriate topic related domain. The motivation for doing so would enable a user who seeks documents on the same subject matter or topic retrieval more efficient than with conventional key word searching (Liddy, column 2, line 42-50).
As per claim 18, rejection of claim 17 is incorporated, and further Scott discloses:
- run the search function of a specific software among the plurality of software and store the exposed data from the data transforming function of the specific software as stored data corresponding to the specific software in a memory (column 2, line 20-50, column 4, line 1-10, column 7, line 35-55, search engine for searching query related data (i.e., running the search function) and storing sub webs on a hard drive (i.e., in memory), column 3, line 30-40),
- wherein the transmitting module is further configured to retrieve a stored data corresponding to the transmitted software and transmit the retrieved stored data to the user device (Fig. 13, Fig. 19, column 4, line 10-20searching the sub web engine for corresponding to the transmitted software and respected query term),
- and wherein the user device further has functionality to: receive a stored data corresponding to received software; display the stored data; and hide the displaced stored data (column 8, line 1-10, display and delete (i.e., hide) stored data by user device).
As per claim 19, rejection of claim 17 is incorporated, and further Scott discloses:
- run the data retrieving function of a specific software among the plurality of software and store the data retrieved by the data retrieving function of the specific software as stored data corresponding to the specific software in a memory (column 2, line 20-50, column 4, line 1-10, column 7, line 35-55, search engine for searching query related data (i.e., running the search function) and storing sub webs on a hard drive (i.e., in memory), column 3, line 30-40),
- wherein the transmitting module is further configured to retrieve a stored data corresponding to the transmitted software and transmit the retrieved stored data to the user device (Fig. 13, Fig. 19, column 4, line 10-20searching the sub web engine for corresponding to the transmitted software and respected query term),
- wherein the user device further has functionality to: receive a stored data corresponding to received software (column 6, line 25-35, searching stored data (i.e., receive stored data),
- provide the stored data to the data transforming function of the software to modify the stored data (column 11, line 15-25, modifying the sub web data (i.e., modify stored data),
- and after providing the stored data to the data transforming function of the software hide the displayed stored data (column 8, line 1-10, display and delete (i.e., hide) stored data by user device).
As per claim 21, ejection of claim 17 is incorporated, and further Scott discloses:
- wherein the search function of the received software of the user device further comprises a data input function configured to receive input data, wherein said input data is used by the data retrieving function when defining the use of the external functionality for searching and/or by the data transforming function when defining the output format of data retrieved from the external functionality for searching (column 16, line 30-40, column 17, line 1-15, input search term relating to the topic to the search engine (i.e., external function) for searching topic related data and provide the result (i.e., output of the search)).
Scott does not explicitly disclose wherein the transmitting module of the system is further configured to transmit the decomposed query to the user device; wherein the user device further has functionality receive decomposed search query from the transmitting component of the system; transmitting at least parts of the decomposed search query to the data input function of the software. However, in the same field of endeavor Hussain in an analogous art disclose wherein the transmitting module of the system is further configured to transmit the decomposed query to the user device (Fig. 2, item 206, Para [0005], [0018], parsing natural language input (i.e., decomposing the search query), wherein the user device further has functionality receive decomposed search query from the transmitting component of the system (Fig. 2, 1tem 118, Para [0024], transmitting parsed (i.e., decomposed) query to search application), transmitting at least parts of the decomposed search query to the data input function of the software (Para [0024], [065], [0067], transmitting parsed query to a specific function for searching).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate declaration identification fitness between search query and the topic or subject taught by Hussain as the means to searching and processing digital information using search function in Scott. Scott and Hussain are analogous prior art since they both deal with searching digital information on the internet with user topic or subject of the query. A person of the ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make aforementioned modification to improve accuracy and performance efficiency in searching. This is because one aspect of Scott invention is to facilitate accuracy and efficiency that provides focused result when performing a search over a collection of sites in the internet, as described in column 2, line 50-55, and column 6, line 20-25. Identifying a topic and assessing suitable fitness between search query and topic is part of this search process. However, Scott doesn’t specify any particular manner in which a topic is identified and declared and assessing suitable fitness between search query and topic. This would have lead one of the ordinary skill in the art to seek and recognize the topic and assess suitable fitness between search query and topic as taught by topic is identified and declared and assessing suitable fitness between search query and topic. Hussain describes how their application specific function declaration and searching improve natural language query understanding and determine a fulfillment for the user query, as described at least in Para [0067] and [0072], as desired by Scott.
Response to Arguments
Applicants’ arguments filed on July 13, 2026, with respect to claims 1-21 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection necessitated by the amendment to the claims.
In response to applicants’ argument in page 18, applicants argued that neither Scott nor Kurasawa describes the specific features of the inventive technology in claim 1 as amended. Specifically, neither Scott nor Kurasawa discloses the limitation "assess, via an identification declaration, a fitness between a search query and the identification declaration”.
Examiner respectfully response that, after an updated search, examiner found Hussain et al. Hussain teaches assess, via an identification declaration a fitness between a search query and the identification declaration, at least in Fig. 1, item 120, Fig. 2, item 216, Para [0018] – [0019], [0051], [0065]-[0068], [0070], [0085]-[0086], a statistical or probabilistic model (i.e., assess) to understand the natural language query for application declaring a function or intents based on query parameter (i.e., fitness between search query and third-party or external content provider or identification dealation).
In response to applicants’ argument in page 22, applicants argued that neither Scott nor Kurasawa describes the specific features of the inventive technology in claim 10 as amended. Specifically, neither Scott, Kurasawa, nor Glover discloses the limitations "a feature extracting module configured for extracting a query feature vector from the search query and/or the decomposed query and for extracting a software feature vector from an identification declaration of each of the plurality of software," and "a mapping component configured for, based on the query feature vector and the plurality of software feature vectors, determining an optimal matched software for the search query”.
Examiner respectfully response that, after an updated search, examiner found Liddy et al. Liddy teaches a feature extracting module configured for extracting a query feature vector from the search query and/or the decomposed query and for extracting a software feature vector from an identification declaration of each of the plurality of software, at least in Abstract, line 1-10, Fig. 1, item 8, Fig. 10, column 1, line 20-25, column 2, line 25-40, query feature vector and code vector (i.e., software feature vector)) a mapping component configured for, based on the query feature vector and the plurality of software feature vectors, determining an optimal matched software for the search query in column 3, line 35-45, column 4, line 15-30, column 8, line 5-25, correlating (i.e., mapping) and matching code vector (i.e., software feature vector) and query feature vector.
Therefore, examiners firmly believe that Scott, Hussain and Liddy alone or in combination reasonably teaches claim 1, 10 and 17 as claimed.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Contact Information
/MOHAMMED R UDDIN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2161