DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Claims 14 and 15 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Applicant timely traversed the restriction (election) requirement in the reply filed on 6/25/26.
Applicant's election with traverse of Group I, claims 1-13, in the reply filed on 6/25/26 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that Lin fails to teach each of the elements of the shared technical feature of Groups I and II. This is not found persuasive because as described below, Larimer in view of Lin describe each of the share elements of Groups I and II and thus the shared technical feature is not a special technical feature and thus there exists no unity of invention.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-5, 12, and 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Larimer et al. (US 2017/0174906, “Larimer”) in view of Lin et al. (US 2018/0037708, “Lin”).
Regarding claim 1, Larimer teaches a composition (may be considered a plastisol in that it may contain particles, e.g., [0033]) that may comprise an acrylate polymer ([0018], may include (meth)acrylate resins), and an epoxy resin having more than one epoxide groups per molecule ([0028]), a hardener ([0028]), and a plasticizer ([0044]). Larimer teaches that its epoxy components are not specifically limited ([0019]) but fails to specifically teach that the epoxy should not be based on bisphenol structural units or that it is liquid at room temperature. However, in the same field of endeavor of resin compositions ([0001] – [0010]), Lin teaches a liquid epoxy resin is suitable for use as a reactive diluent ([0014] – [0018] and see [0023], including for example, preferred epoxide D.E.R. ® 736 from Dow, which is a diepoxide that is not derived from a bisphenol compound). It would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to have substituted one of the epoxy resins of Lin for that of Larimer in order to use the component in applications where pumping or moving the material at room temperature is desirable (see, e.g., Lin [0002] – [0009]). The Examiner notes that the simple substitution of a known element or compound that would have had predictable results (in this case an epoxy resin component that would react) would have been obvious to the ordinarily skilled artisan at the time of filing. Please see MPEP 2143.
Regarding claim 2, Larimer additionally teaches that the epoxy functionality may be two ([0028]) and that the epoxy may have an epoxy equivalent weight of greater than 400 ([0020] – [0023]).
Regarding claims 3 and 4, Larimer teaches that epoxy and acrylate components may be used ([0018]) and that either or both may be used in an amount of from 15 weight % to 93 weight % ([0025]). The Examiner notes that in the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990). Please see MPEP 2144.05.
Regarding claim 5, Larimer additionally teaches that the acrylate may be a (meth)acrylate ([0018]).
Regarding claim 12, Larimer additionally teaches that the composition may include, for example, fillers (e.g., [0044], [0045]).
Regarding claim 13, Larimer additionally teaches that the epoxy described above may be the only epoxy (e.g., [0018]) and does not teach the inclusion of PVC (e.g., [0020] – [0030], wherein Larimer does not teach to include a PVC compound).
Claim(s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Larimer in view of Lin as applied to claim 1, above, and further in view of Holtgrewe et al. (US 2019/0112437, “Holtgrewe”)
Regarding claim 6, Larimer fails to specifically teach the viscosity of the epoxy resin. However, in the same field of endeavor of epoxy resins compositions ([0001] – [0010]), Holtgrewe teaches that a suitable viscosity is less than 100 mPas in order to be able to wet fiber materials, for example, and thus it would have been obvious to the ordinarily skilled artisan to have adopted an epoxy component having such a viscosity (i.e., for improved workability, Holtgrewe [0016]).
Claim(s) 7, 8, and 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Larimer in view of Lin as applied to claim 1, above, and further in view of Aoyama et al. (JP 2001585247, “Aoyama” a machine translation of which is provided and used as the citation copy).
Regarding claim 7, while Larimer teaches the inclusion of a hardener, it fails to teach a specific type of hardener. However, in the same field of endeavor of epoxy resin compositions (e.g., pp. 1-2), Aoyama teaches to use, for example, a dicyandiamide latent hardener and that such a curing agent improves storage stability and viscosity properties (p. 3, latent hardeners suitably activated at temperature higher than 60C, see also pp 4-5). It therefore would have been obvious to have included the latent hardener of Aoyama in the composition of Larimer in order to improve storage stability and viscosity properties of the composition of modified Larimer (pp 3-5). Additionally, the simple substitution of a known element or compound that would have had predictable results (in this case effective hardening of an epoxy system) would have been obvious to the ordinarily skilled artisan at the time of filing. Please see MPEP 2143.
Regarding claim 8, modified Larimer (Aoyama) additionally teaches to include the hardener in an amount of from 40:1 to 10:1 epoxy to hardener (Aoyama, pp. 4-5).
Regarding claim 11, modified Larimer (Aoyama) additionally teaches to include an amount reading on the range of from 0.1 to 1.5 wt% of latent hardener (Aoyama, pp. 3-5).
Claim(s) 9 and 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Larimer in view of Lin as applied to claim 1, above, and further in view of Zhou et al. (US 2019/099991, “Zhou”).
Regarding claims 9 and 10, Larimer teaches to include a plasticizer but fails to teach that this plasticizer is liquid at room temperature of the amount to be included. However, in the same field of endeavor of resin compositions ([0001] – [0010]), Zhou teaches that it is known to use a plasticizer in a PLA or aliphatic polyester and that is liquid at room temperature in order to decreases the tensile modulus of a film and increase its tensile elongation ([0128] – [0130]). Zhou additionally teaches to use the plasticizer in an amount of from 5 to 35 wt% (Zhou, [0129]). It therefore would have been obvious to have substituted the plasticizer of Zhou for a plasticizer of Larimer in order to decreases the tensile modulus of the resin of Larimer while increasing its tensile elongation ([0128] – [0130]).
Conclusion
/ANTHONY J FROST/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1782