Drawings
The drawings are objected to because: Figures 1-10b have poor line quality such that they would result in unsatisfactory reproduction characteristics. See 37 CFR 1.84(L). The lines are faint and gray, but must be durable and black.
.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 3 recites “a resiliently deformable material”. However, parent claim 2 already recites “a resiliently deformable material”. It is unclear if the newly recited “a resiliently deformable material” is the same or different from what was already introduced.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kegg (US 20120186036 A1), in view of Chodak (US 5421053 A).
Regarding claim 1, Kegg teaches a drive system for a floor cleaner, comprising:
a motor (Fig 3, 42);
a cooling fan (Fig 3, fan 38, Para 0002, airflow directed to motor for cooling); and
a longitudinally extending drive housing (Fig 3, Para 0016, housing 44 and 58),
wherein the motor and the cooling fan are longitudinally disposed with respect to one another within the drive housing (Fig 3, fans 38 and motor 42 are at least partially within the housing, as seen, see also Para 0016-0017), and wherein a drive output of the motor (see following elements) is configured to drive the cooling fan via a driveshaft (Fig 3, shaft 46) and a drive connector (Fig 3, shaft head of 46 nearest fan 38 coupled with nut, as seen).
Kegg is not explicit on wherein the drive connector comprises a fan-side connector element and a motor-side connector element, wherein the fan-side connector element is configured to interlock with the motor-side connector element.
Chodak teaches the drive connector comprises a fan-side connector element (Fig 2, rotatable element side connector 32, this is the fan as a modification) and a motor-side connector element (Fig 2, connector 38 and 42), wherein the fan-side connector element is configured to interlock with the motor-side connector element (Fig 2, interlocks via the protrusion and grooves, as seen e.g. 66 in groove 68).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the invention disclosed by Kegg by having the drive coupling as disclosed by Chodak because it allow for easy replacement of the rotatable part through easy removal (Column 1, lines 30-35).
Regarding claim 2, Kegg as modified teaches wherein the fan-side connector element and/or the motor-side connector element comprises a resiliently deformable material (Fig 7 of Chodak, motor side connector has 42 which is a “spring retainer”).
Regarding claim 3, Kegg as modified teaches wherein only the motor-side connector element comprises a resiliently deformable material (Fig 7 of Chodak, motor side connector has 42 which is a “spring retainer”).
Regarding claim 4, Kegg as modified teaches wherein the connector elements each comprise one or more inter-engaging formations configured to interlock with one or more corresponding inter-engaging formations of the other connector element (Fig 2 of Chodak, interlocks via the protrusion and grooves, as seen e.g. 66 in groove 68).
Regarding claim 5, Kegg as modified teaches wherein one of the connector elements comprises a plurality of grooves and the other of the connector elements comprises a plurality of protrusions corresponding to the plurality of grooves, wherein each of the plurality of protrusions is configured to interlock with one of the plurality of grooves (Fig 2 of Chodak, interlocks via the protrusion and grooves, as seen e.g. 66 in groove 68).
Regarding claim 6, Kegg as modified teaches wherein the connector elements comprise inter-engaging drive dogs (Fig 2 of Chodak, interlocks via the protrusion and grooves, as seen e.g. 66 in groove 68; these are dogs).
Regarding claim 7, Kegg teaches wherein the cooling fan comprises a radial flow impeller (Fig 2, fan 38 is a radial flow impeller).
Regarding claim 8, Kegg teaches a diffuser located between the cooling fan and the motor (Fig 2, diffuser 50).
Regarding claim 9, Kegg teaches wherein a centre of rotation of the cooling fan is offset from a central axis of the diffuser (Fig 2, center of rotation is axially offset from the central axis/middle of 50).
Regarding claim 10, Kegg teaches wherein the drive connector is located at least partially within the longitudinal extent of the diffuser (Fig 3, connector may additionally be construed as comprising bearing portion which supports 46 at diffuser 50).
Claim(s) 11-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kegg (US 20120186036 A1), in view of Chodak (US 5421053 A), in view of Nishimura (US 20020079761 A1).
Regarding claim 11, Kegg teaches drive system according to claim 1 (see parent claim) for a cleaning system (Fig 1), Kegg is silent on an agitator head assembly for a floor cleaner comprising a drive system, comprising an agitation member mounted for rotation about the drive system.
Nishimura teaches an agitator head assembly for a floor cleaner comprising a drive system (Fig 1, Fig 3, drive including shaft 9 in a cleaning system), comprising an agitation member mounted for rotation about the drive system (Fig 1, agitators 2).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the invention disclosed by Kegg by having the drive system utilized with the floor cleaner with an agitator as disclosed by Nishimura because it would allow for the implementation of a cleaner’s drive system in a device which is compact and lightweight (Para 0004) and there would no change in the function of each component separately.
Regarding claim 12, Kegg as modified teaches a cleaner head for a floor cleaner comprising one or more agitator head assemblies according to claim 11 mounted within a cleaner head housing (see Figs 6-8, and head housing 22, see Fig 8 in particular of Nishimura. See parent claim, as well).
Regarding claim 13, Kegg as modified teaches a floor cleaner comprising the cleaner head according to claim 12 (see Figs 6-8, and head housing 22, see Fig 8 in particular of Nishimura. See parent claim, as well).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See PTO-892.
/THEODORE N YAO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3676