DETAILED ACTION
Double Patenting
Claims 3-4 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 4-5 of copending Application No. 18/257,178 in view of Lee et al. (KR20210000027 – machine translation). Instant claim 3 recites a high-strength hot-dip galvanized steel composition set forth below with a coating weight of 20-120 g/m2, and oxygen content of 0.030-0.40 g/m2, a maximum length of oxides of 6.0 µm or less and a number of oxides with a length of 1.0 µm or more is 20 or less. This is patentably indistinct of claim 4 of the ‘178 application which recites a hot-dip galvanized steel sheet with composition set forth below, a microstructure of ferrite, martensite, and bainite, and oxygen present as oxides on a surface in an amount of 0.05-0.50 g/m2, and where the hot dip layer is Fe, Al, and Zn with a coating weight of 20 g/m2 or more. The difference between the instant claims and the ‘178 application is the recited oxide size and number.
Element (wt.%)
Claim 3 (wt.%)
‘178 Application (wt.%)
C
0.08-0.25
0.09-0.17
Si
0.1-2.0
0.3-0.9
Mn
1.5-3.5
1.9-2.7
P
0.02≥
0.1≥
S
0.01≥
0.050≥
Al
0.10≥
0.01-0.20
N
0.006≥
0.10≥
Fe
Balance
Balance
In a related field of endeavor, Lee teaches a hot-dip galvanized high-strength steel sheet (Paragraph 1) with a tensile strength of 490 MPa or higher (Paragraph 32) for use in automotive materials (Paragraph 2). The steel comprises by wt.% the composition set forth below (Paragraphs 11 and 13). The steel has internal oxides formed within a depth of 3 µm composed of grains of oxides of one or more of Mn, Si, Al, Cr, and B with a spherical shape and a diameter of 0.5 µm or less (Paragraph 64) and this prevents plating-interfering elements from diffusing to the surface of the steel sheet (Paragraph 65). This is considered to teach where the length of the oxides is less than 1 µm and therefore the number of oxides having a length of 1.0 µm or more is ~zero.
As the instant claims, the ‘178 application, and Lee are directed toward galvanized steel, they are considered analogous. The instant claims would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date in view of the teachings of Lee as the surface oxide particles and size are taught to prevent plating interfering elements from diffusion and one would have had a reasonable expectation of success. Further, the claimed composition, coating weight, oxygen content, oxide particle size and number thereof overlap those of the ‘178 application and the courts have held that this establishes a prima facie case of obviousness. See MPEP 2144.05.
Instant claim 4 recites materials overlapping claim 5 of the ‘178 application.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee et al. (KR20210000027 – machine translation) in view of Yoshida et al. (US 2013/0295411).
Considering claim 3, Lee teaches a hot-dip galvanized high-strength steel sheet (Paragraph 1) with a tensile strength of 490 MPa or higher (Paragraph 32) for use in automotive materials (Paragraph 2). The steel comprises by wt.% the composition set forth below (Paragraphs 11 and 13). The steel has internal oxides formed within a depth of 3 µm composed of grains of oxides of one or more of Mn, Si, Al, Cr, and B with a spherical shape and a diameter of 0.5 µm or less (Paragraph 64). This is considered to teach where the length of the oxides is less than 1 µm and therefore the number of oxides having a length of 1.0 µm or more is ~zero. However, Lee does not teach the claimed coating weight or oxygen content.
Element (wt.%)
Claim 3 (wt.%)
Lee (wt.%)
C
0.08-0.25
0.05-0.3
Si
0.1-2.0
0.1-2.0
Mn
1.5-3.5
1.5-8.0
P
0.02≥
0.04≥
S
0.01≥
0.015≥
Al
0.10≥
0.005-1.5
N
0.006≥
0.02≥
Fe
Balance
Balance
In a related field of endeavor, Yoshida teaches a hot-dip Al-Zn coated steel sheet (abstract) for use in automobile bodies (Paragraph 6). The steel comprises by mass C: 0.01-0.18% (Paragraph 54), Si: 0.001-2.0% (Paragraph 55), Mn: 0.1-3.0% (Paragraph 56), P: 0.005-0.060% (Paragraph 58), S: 0.01% (Paragraph 59), Al: 0.001-1.0% (Paragraph 57), etc., balance Fe (Paragraph 68). The hot dip coating is formed in an amount of 20-120 g/m2 to ensure corrosion resistance and afford peel resistance (Paragraph 93). The surface steel sheet is oxidized and reduced prior to hot dip galvanizing to form surface oxides with a weight of 0.06-1.0 g/m2 per surface to decrease uncoated portions and afford high corrosion resistance (Paragraph 16).
As both Lee and Yoshida teach galvanized steel sheets for automotive applications they are considered analogous. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the teachings of Lee with the coating amount and oxygen amount as taught by Yoshida as this is known to ensure corrosion resistance and afford peel resistance and one would have had a reasonable expectation of success. Further, the composition, coating weight, oxygen content, oxide particle size and number thereof overlap those which are claimed and the courts have held that where claimed ranges overlap or lie inside of those disclosed in the prior art a prima facie case of obviousness exists. See MPEP 2144.05.
Considering claim 4, Lee teaches where the steel may include Ti: 0.2% or less, Mo: 0.2% or less, B: 0.005% or less, Sb: 0.05% or less, etc. (Paragraphs 11 and 13). See MPEP 2144.05.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 1-2 are allowed.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: The closest prior art to the instant claims is that of Lee and Yoshida as outlined above. Lee and Yoshida do not teach or suggest the use of the claimed atmosphere of SO2 and/or HCl combined with the other features of the claims. Attention is also directed to the International Search Report dated 21 November 2023 listing only “A” references of record.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Tanaka et al. (US 7,695,826) teaches a galvanized steel containing oxide particles. Fushiwaki et al. (US 2011/0253263) teaches galvanize steel sheet with oxygen content.
SETH DUMBRIS
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1784
/SETH DUMBRIS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1784