DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: a first contour information acquisition unit, a second contour information acquisition unit, a condition acquisition unit and an evaluation unit, in claim 10.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 2-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 2 recites a limitation of “calculating …first inter-contour distance information indicating a distance from an individual point of at least one first contour indicated by the first contour information toward at least one second contour indicated by the second contour information and second inter-contour distance information indicating a distance from an individual point of the at least one second contour toward the at least one first contour, and generating the evaluation information based on the condition provided for inter-contour distance information based on the first inter-contour distance information and the second inter- contour distance information”, its unclear if there are two different inter-contour distance information is claimed or just one, as the distance between A to B will be same as B to A. This makes the claim indefinite.
Claims 3 and 4 depend on claim 2 and therefore are rejected as well.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 5-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Peng (US Pub. 2020/0401854).
With respect to claim 1, Peng discloses A method, comprising: by a computer:
inputting a subject image in which at least one subject to be detected is imaged to a learning model and acquiring first contour information indicating a contour of the at least one subject to be detected in the subject image;
acquiring second contour information indicating a contour of the at least one subject to be detected and serving as a reference for evaluating the first contour information (see paragraph 0016-0017, wherein …the annotated evaluation image “first contour information” and the existing segmentation annotation “second contour information”…);
generating, based on the first contour information, the second contour information, and the
However, Peng fails to explicitly disclose acquiring a condition to be satisfied by the first contour information; and generating, based on the first contour information, the second contour information, and the condition, evaluation information in which performance of the learning model is evaluated, (emphasis added), as claimed.
But, Peng in paragraph 0095 teaches, …In this embodiment, this is done by determining whether a difference between the results generated by the trained model and the annotation data associated with the annotated images (or ‘ground truth images’) 66 employed in step 74 are below a predefined threshold… this teaching of predefined threshold is read as “acquiring a condition to be satisfied”, as claimed.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one ordinary skilled in the art at the effective date of invention to simply utilize the teaching of Peng in paragraph 0095 to be incorporated, in to the Peng’s system, as acquiring a condition in order to yield the predictable result of evaluation of the performance of learning model as claimed.
With respect to claim 5, Peng further discloses the acquiring second contour information includes acquiring the second contour information stored in a storage unit as information indicating a contour of at least one reference subject in an acquired image, (see figure 1B, memory 36 with storage of evaluation images), as claimed.
With respect to claim 6, Peng further discloses generating setting screen information for displaying a condition setting screen including the subject image for a user, wherein the acquiring a condition to be satisfied by the first contour information includes acquiring the condition from the user through the condition setting screen, (see figure 3, numerical 20 GUI and numerical 108 for user interactions), as claimed.
With respect to claim 7-9, Peng further discloses wherein the acquiring second contour information includes acquiring the second contour information acquired from the user through the condition setting screen; generating output screen information for displaying, for the user, an output screen including the subject image, a predicted image based on the first contour information, and the evaluation information; and generating evaluation information further includes generating comparison information indicating a difference between the first contour information and the second contour information, and the output screen further includes the comparison information, (see figure 3 and paragraph 0103, wherein … GUI 20 “display” includes a preliminary result window 102 and an annotated image window 104; annotated image window 104 includes a plurality of annotation tools 106. Annotation tools 106 include both manual “user” and semi-manual annotation tools, displayable to and manipulable “the condition setting screen” by an annotator. These tools are depicted schematically in FIG. 4, and include manual tools including a brush 130 and an eraser 132. Brush 130 can be controlled by an annotator to label the pixels of different structures or material into different values or colours; eraser 132 can be controlled by an annotator to remove over-segmented or over-identified pixels from targeted structures or material. The semi-manual annotation tools include a flood fill tool 134 that can be controlled by an annotator to draw a contour enclosing a targeted structure or material prompting annotated image window 104 to annotate all of the pixels/voxels inside that contour, and a region grow tool 136 that can be controlled by an annotator, after having annotated a small part of a targeted structure or material, to control annotated image window 104 to expand the annotation to cover the entire structure or material), as claimed.
Claims 10 and 11 are rejected for the same reasons as set forth in the rejections for claim 1, because claims 10 and 11 are claiming subject matter of similar scope as claimed in claim 1. Furthermore, Peng discloses the system in figure 1A, and computer program in paragraph 0027, as claimed.
Conclusion
/VIKKRAM BALI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2663