DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
As directed by the amendment filed on 9 February 2026: claim(s) 5-6 have been amended.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-11 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "it further comprises an upper fluid absorbent core". It’s unclear what “it” is referring to. For present prosecution, “it” is best interpreted to refer to the absorbent thermal effect pad.
The remaining claim(s) is/are rejected due to dependency upon a rejected claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3, 5-8, and 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee et al. (US 20070142807 A1) in view of Chen et al. (US 6673982 B1).
Regarding Claim 1, Lee discloses A disposable ("disposable" [0052])) absorbent thermal effect pad to be worn in the urogenital region of a wearer ("article for absorbing fluid from the perineal area of a woman and simultaneously cooling the perineum" [0018]), said pad exhibiting
a width (y-) extension, corresponding to a left-right orientation on a wearer during use; a longitudinal (x-) extension corresponding to a line reaching from the navel of a wearer through the crotch region to the small of the back; a thickness (z-) extension perpendicular to both (implied in [0054-0064]; FIG. 1); comprising
- a topsheet to be positioned towards a wearer during use ("topsheet (10)" [0054]; FIG. 1);
- a thermal effect providing element (TEPE) ("cooling medium" [0060]), positioned z-directionally away from a wearer, relative to the topsheet (see FIG. 1);
- a backsheet (" backsheet (16)" [0058]; FIG. 1) positioned opposite of said topsheet, adapted to hinder fluid penetration ("impermeable sheets (13 and 16) may be of any flexible material that prevents the transfer of fluid through it" [0063]),
- a lower fluid absorbent core ("second absorbent web (15)" [0056]; FIG. 1), positioned between said topsheet and said backsheet and z-directionally away from a wearer, relative to said topsheet (see FIG. 1); characterized in that
- it further comprises an upper fluid absorbent core ("first absorbent web (12)" [0056]; FIG. 1), positioned between said TEPE and said topsheet in fluid communication with said lower absorbent core (see FIG. 1);
- said TEPE is positioned between said upper and lower absorbent core (see FIG. 1).
Lee fails to specify said upper absorbent core comprises a user-oriented surface comprising at least one opening and said TEPE is positioned under said at least one opening(s). However, Chen teaches “a surrounding outer absorbent member” (col. 6 ln. 25-26) comprising at least one opening (“longitudinal slit 512” col. 66 ln. 30) wherein said upper absorbent core comprises a user-oriented surface comprising at least one opening ("first layer 542 folded around a second layer 544 in a C-fold configuration" col. 68 ln. 19-20), and a separate element positioned under said at least one opening(s) (see FIG. 25B). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Lee to arrive at the claimed invention as taught by Chen to suitably prevent leakage and reduce “wetted area in contact with skin” (col. 1 ln. 5-15).
Regarding Claim 2, Lee discloses said thermal absorbent effect pad is a cooling pad ("Liquid Absorbing Cooling Pad" Title).
Regarding Claim 3, Lee discloses a fluid distribution and thermal insulation (FDTI) layer ("fluid distribution layer (11)" [0055]; FIG. 1) positioned z-directionally between said topsheet and said TEPE (see FIG. 1).
Regarding Claim 5, Lee discloses the TEPE is of the instant cool pack type ("cold pack operates via a change of phase of the components of the cold pack. Still another type of cold pack employs chemical components that are endotherm-producing on dissolution in a solvent" [0048]), and the pad does not comprise a FDTI ("optional fluid distribution layer (11)" [0055]).
Regarding Claim 6, Lee fails to specify the upper absorbent core is formed by overfolded portions of a wider lower absorbent core. However, Chen teaches the upper absorbent core is formed by overfolded portions of a wider lower absorbent core ("C-fold configuration" col. 68 ln. 19-20; FIG. 25B). ). Therefore, it would have been obvious to modify the device of Lee to arrive at the claimed invention as taught by Chen to suitably prevent leakage and reduce “wetted area in contact with skin” (col. 1 ln. 5-15).
Regarding Claim 7, Lee discloses said topsheet is a hydrophobic apertured nonwoven or film material ("body facing first fluid permeable web is a non woven or a formed or apertured film" [0020]; "topsheet comprises a spunbond non woven comprising polypropylene fiber" [0054]); and said absorbent upper and/or lower absorbent core(s) comprise superabsorbent material ("absorbent core may contain any material that absorbs bodily secretions including, but not limited to pulp, polymeric fibers and filaments, spagnum moss, natural fibers, superabsorbent polymers" [0057]).
Regarding Claim 8, Lee discloses one or more additives is odour reducing agents "absorbent core may also include additional materials such as odor control material" [0057]).
Regarding Claim 10, Lee discloses said TEPE comprises gel type cooling material ("Examples of cold packs that employ an insulating material are cold packs that contain a gel" [0051]).
Claim(s) 4 and 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee/Chen in view of Campbell et al. (US 20200085614 A1).
Regarding Claim 4, Lee fails to specify said opening of said upper absorbent core is a longitudinally extending gap between two lateral portions of said upper absorbent core positioned laterally outwardly of the longitudinal centreline of said absorbent thermal effect pad. However, Chen teaches said opening of said upper absorbent core is a longitudinally extending gap between two lateral portions of said upper absorbent core positioned laterally outwardly of the longitudinal centreline of said absorbent thermal effect pad ("C-fold configuration" col. 68 ln. 19-20; FIG. 25B). Therefore, it would have been obvious to modify the device of Lee to arrive at the claimed invention as taught by Chen to suitably prevent leakage and reduce “wetted area in contact with skin” (col. 1 ln. 5-15).
Lee/Chen fails to specify the temperature in the lateral core region is more about than 2°C, higher than in the gap, when tested according to the temperature measurement test as described herein. However, Campbell teaches “a cooling pad 110 for alleviation of pain or discomfort” (Abstract) comprising multiple layers (see FIGs. 3 & 5) wherein the temperature in the lateral core region is more about than 2°C, higher than in the gap ("Each chamber 14, 16, 17, 18 and 19 contains a fluid for cooling" [0072]; "may be cooled to −4 degrees Celsius" [0121]; FIG. 7A shows lateral region is not cooled and would be warmer than the central portion), when tested according to the temperature measurement test as described herein (It is the Office’s position that the testing method for a material or structural property does not impart a patentable weight. The property is attributed to the material and structure, not the testing method. As such, a reference does not need to recite using the temperature measurement test to read on the claim language). Therefore, it would have been obvious to modify the device of Lee/Chen to arrive at the claimed invention as taught by Campbell to suitably “aid in relieving discomfort and help healing from swelling” while also absorbing body fluid ([0028]).
Regarding Claim 9, Lee/Chen fails to specify said TEPE is adapted to be cooled to less than 2°C. However, Campbell teaches said TEPE is adapted to be cooled to less than 2°C ("cooling pad of the invention may be cooled to −4 degrees Celsius" [0121]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to modify the device of Lee/Chen to arrive at the claimed invention as taught by Campbell to suitably “aid in relieving discomfort and help healing from swelling” ([0028]).
Claim(s) 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee/Chen in view of Klofta et al. (US 20180161474 A1).
Regarding Claim 11, Lee/Chen fails to specify said at least one of said odour reducing agents is of the cyclodextrin type. However, Klofta teaches absorbent articles ([0005]) wherein said at least one of said odour reducing agents is of the cyclodextrin type ("perfume carrier may be selected from the group consisting of cyclodextrins" [0259]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to modify the device of Lee/Chen to arrive at the claimed invention as taught by Klofta to suitably control odor ([0253-0257]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure. The references provided on the attached PTO-892 form are considered relevant to applicant’s disclosure and are cited to further show the general state of the art.
/Adam Marcetich/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3781
Cheng Fong "Ted" Yang
Examiner
Art Unit 3781