DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 5 recites the limitation "the side frame" in the second line of the claim. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. In this regard, a “main frame,” a “side bracket,” and “sides of the inner plate” have all previously been defined in the claim, and it is wholly unclear what “the side frame” is intended to reference. As such, Claims 5-8 are rejected for failing to point out and distinctly claim the subject matter of the invention.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Jung et al. (hereinafter “Jung” US 2017 / 0295655).
As pertaining to Claim 1, Jung discloses (see Fig. 1, Fig. 2, and Fig. 3) a display device (1) comprising:
a flexible display panel (10);
a bottom cover (20, 110) disposed at a rear of the display panel (10) and coupled to the display panel (10; see Page 3, Para. [0077]-[0079] and [0082]);
a driving module (120; see Fig. 4) disposed at a rear of the bottom cover (20, 110) and including a moving block (122, 131) that makes a reciprocal movement (i.e., an outer/inner linear movement; see Page 3, through Page 4, Para. [0083]-[0089] and [0091]-[0093]);
a wing bracket (141) fixed to the rear of the bottom cover (20, 110) at a position adjacent to the driving module (120); and
a wing (140, 133) elongated with a first end (i.e., a right end) fixed (i.e., via (131, 132)) to the moving block (122, 131) and a second end (i.e., a left end) coupled to the bottom cover (20, 110), the wing (140, 133) pivotally connected (i.e., see Fig. 5 and Fig. 6) to the wing bracket (141) between the first end (i.e., the right end) and the second end (i.e., the left end; see Page 4, Para. [0099]-[0101] and [0103]-[0104]),
wherein the bottom cover (20, 110) comprises (see Fig. 16, Fig. 17, and Fig. 18):
an inner plate (81) coupled to the display panel (see (11) corresponding to (10));
a flexible main frame (70) coupled to sides of the inner plate (81);
an outer plate (80) opposite the display panel (11) with respect to the inner plate (81); and
a side bracket (82) disposed between the inner plate (81) and the outer plate (80) and coupled to the main frame (70),
wherein the main frame (70) is fixed to the side bracket (82), and the side bracket (82) is coupled to the inner plate (81) in a manner that allows for slip therebetween (see Page 6 through Page 7, Para. [0149]-[0152], [0154]-[0158], [0162]-[0163], and [0167]-[0173]).
As pertaining to Claim 2, Jung discloses (see Fig. 16, Fig. 17, and Fig. 18) that the main frame (70) comprises:
a horizontal part (i.e., any arbitrary horizontal part of (70)) disposed between the side bracket (82) and the inner plate (81), the horizontal part (i.e., the arbitrary part of (70)) having a through-hole (see (72), for example); and
a vertical part (i.e., any arbitrary vertical part of (70)) covering a side surface of the inner plate (81) and the outer plate (80), the vertical part (i.e., the arbitrary vertical part of (70)) connected to the horizontal part (i.e., the arbitrary horizontal part of (70)),
wherein the side bracket (82) comprises a front fastening part (60-1) that extends by protruding toward the display panel (11) and is inserted into the through-hole (see (72)), the side bracket (82) fixed to the main frame (70; again, see Page 6 through Page 7, Para. [0154]-[0158], [0162]-[0163], and [0167]-[0173]).
As pertaining to Claim 3, Jung discloses (see Fig. 16, Fig. 17, and Fig. 18) that the inner plate (81) has a long hole (i.e., see the space to the left of (45b-1) in Fig. 17 and Fig. 18) formed in the inner plate (81) and corresponding to the through-hole (72),
wherein the front fastening part (60-1) of the side bracket (82) is inserted (i.e., via (84)) into the long hole (i.e., the space to the left of (45b-1)) of the inner plate (81; see Fig. 18 and note that the fastening part (60-1) protrudes through (72) and (84) into the long hole to the left of (45b-1); again, see Page 6 through Page 7, Para. [0154]-[0158], [0162]-[0163], and [0167]-[0173]).
As pertaining to Claim 4, Jung discloses (see Fig. 16, Fig. 17, and Fig. 18) that the front fastening part (60-1) has a cylindrical shape (i.e., a screw shape), and a diameter of the through-hole (72) is substantially equal to a diameter of the front fastening part (60-1),
wherein a length (i.e., a vertical length) of the long hole (i.e., the space to the left of (45b-1)) is greater than the diameter of the front fastening part (60-1), and a width (i.e., an arbitrary width) of the long hole (i.e., the space to the left of (45b-1)) is substantially equal to the diameter of the front fastening part (see (60-1); and again, see Page 6 through Page 7, Para. [0154]-[0158], [0162]-[0163], and [0167]-[0173]).
As pertaining to Claim 5, Jung discloses (see Fig. 16, Fig. 17, and Fig. 18) that the outer plate (80) has a slip hole (i.e., a spacing to the left of (80) and to the right of (82)) disposed adjacent to the side frame (i.e., the main frame (70)) and formed through the outer plate (80), wherein the main frame (70) comprises:
a horizontal part (i.e., any arbitrary horizontal part of (70)) disposed between the side bracket (82) and the inner plate (81); and
a vertical part (i.e., any arbitrary vertical part of (70)) covering a side surface of the inner plate (81) and the outer plate (80), the vertical part (i.e., the arbitrary vertical part of (70)) connected to the horizontal part (i.e., the arbitrary horizontal part of (70)),
wherein the side bracket (82) comprises a rear fastening part (60-1) that extends by protruding toward the outer plate (80), and is inserted into the slip hole (i.e., the spacing to the left of (80) and to the right of (82), see the space to the left of (45b-1); again, see Page 6 through Page 7, Para. [0154]-[0158], [0162]-[0163], and [0167]-[0173]).
As pertaining to Claim 6, Jung discloses (see Fig. 16, Fig. 17, and Fig. 18) a sliding mount (83) to which the second end (i.e., the left end) of the wing (140, 133) is slidably coupled (again, see Fig. 5 and Fig. 6),
wherein the rear fastening part (60-1) of the side bracket (82) passes through the slip hole (i.e., the spacing to the left of (80) and to the right of (82), see the space to the left of (45b-1)) to be fixed to the sliding mount (83; again, see Page 6 through Page 7, Para. [0154]-[0158], [0162]-[0163], and [0167]-[0173]).
As pertaining to Claim 7, Jung discloses (see Fig. 16, Fig. 17, and Fig. 18) that the rear fastening part (60-1) has a cylindrical shape (i.e., a screw shape),
wherein a length (i.e., a vertical length) of the slip hole (i.e., again, see the space to the left of (45b-1)) is greater than a diameter of the rear fastening part (60-1), and a width (i.e., an arbitrary width) of the slip hole (i.e., again, see the space to the left of (45b-1)) is substantially equal to a width of the rear fastening part (see (60-1); and again, see Page 6 through Page 7, Para. [0154]-[0158], [0162]-[0163], and [0167]-[0173]).
As pertaining to Claim 8, Jung discloses (see Fig. 16, Fig. 17, and Fig. 18) that the sliding mount (83) is fixed (i.e., via (60-1) and/or (45a-1)) to a rear surface of the outer plate (80; again, see Page 6 through Page 7, Para. [0154]-[0158], [0162]-[0163], and [0167]-[0173]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 9-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jung in view of Kang et al. (hereinafter “Kang” US 2017 / 0347466).
As pertaining to Claim 9, Jung does not explicitly disclose a magnet disposed between the side bracket and the outer plate, the magnet fixed to the side bracket, wherein the outer plate comprises metal.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Kang discloses (see Fig. 1 and Fig. 2 along with Fig. 20 and Fig. 21) a display device (100) comprising a flexible display panel (110) and a flexible outer plate (120; see Page 3, Para. [0062]-[0064]) wherein a magnet (176, 178) is disposed between sides of the outer plate (120) and the outer plate (120), the magnet being fixed, wherein the output plate (120) comprises metal (see Page 6, Para. [0119]). It is a goal of Kang to provide a means for freely changing a curvature of a display device using a structure that allows for the prevention of damage to the display device.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Jung with the teachings of Kang, such that a magnet is disposed between the side bracket and the outer plate, the magnet fixed to the side bracket, wherein the outer plate comprises metal, in order to provide a means for freely changing a curvature of a display device using a structure that allows for the prevention of damage to the display device.
As pertaining to Claim 10, Jung does not explicitly disclose that the display panel is coupled to the inner plate by an adhesive member, wherein the inner plate is coupled to the side bracket by the adhesive member.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Kang discloses (see Fig. 1 and Fig. 2 along with Fig. 20 and Fig. 21) a display device (100) comprising a flexible display panel (110) and a flexible inner plate (120; see Page 3, Para. [0062]-[0064]) wherein the display panel (110) is coupled to the inner plate (120) by an adhesive member (172, 174), wherein the inner plate (120) is coupled to a side bracket (130) by the adhesive member (see (172, 174); and see Page 6, Para. [0115]-[0119]). It is a goal of Kang to provide a means for freely changing a curvature of a display device using a structure that allows for the prevention of damage to the display device.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Jung with the teachings of Kang, such that the display panel is coupled to the inner plate by an adhesive member, wherein the inner plate is coupled to the side bracket by the adhesive member, in order to provide a means for freely changing a curvature of a display device using a structure that allows for the prevention of damage to the display device.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
The reference to Yoon et al. (US 12,356,566), commonly assigned with the instant application, recites an invention at independent Claim 1 that is similar to that of Claim 1 of the instant application. While the claimed inventions recite similar features, Claim 1 of Yoon et al. recites a number of adhesive members and a rear plate that are not presented in Claim 1 of the instant application.
/JASON M MANDEVILLE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2623