DETAILED ACTION
The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA . In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status.
Information Disclosure Statement (IDS)
The Examiner notes foreign patent document 2 in the IDS filed February 25, 2025 has been deleted for being a substantial duplicate of foreign patent document 1.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(h)(3) because hatching is not used to indicate section portions of an object in a cross-sectional view of the invention shown in Figure 4.
Specification
The lengthy specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant’s cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 6-11 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Claim 6 sets forth “a tenth interface” in line 4, “an eleventh interface” in line 5, “a twelfth interface” in line 9, and “a thirteenth interface” in line 10. It is unclear from the claim how a tenth through thirteenth interface can exist without first having an eighth and ninth interface. Claims 7-11 inherit this issue for depending upon claim 6.
Claim 16 recites “an eleventh radial constraint” in line 5, “a twelfth radial constraint” in line 7, “a thirteenth radial constraint” in line 10, and “a fourteenth radial constraint” in line 12. In is unclear from the claim how a twelfth through fourteenth radial constraint can exist without first having a ninth and tenth radial constraint.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2, 4, and 6-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 6,322,280 (Coyne).
Regarding claim 1, Coyne discloses a system (20; see Figures 1 and 2, and annotated Figure 1 below) for coupling a first subassembly (at 16) with a second subassembly (at 18, 24), the system comprising:
a fastener (50, 120, 124) configured to maintain a preload between a first bushing (64) and a second bushing (70) along an axis (30) of the fastener, the fastener comprising a first interface (see annotated Figure 1 below) concentric with the axis of the fastener, a second interface (see annotated Figure 1 below) concentric with the axis of the fastener, and a third interface (annotated Figure 1 below) concentric with the axis of the fastener (see Figure 2), wherein the first interface is configured to provide at least a radial constraint between the fastener and the first subassembly relative to the axis of the fastener (the fastener constraining bearing 40 on an interior surface, while the first subassembly is constrained on an outer surface of the bearing; see Figure 2);
the first bushing (64) comprising:
a fourth interface (66) configured to couple with the second interface in accordance with at least a radial constraint relative to the axis of the fastener (see Figure 2); and
a fifth interface (104) configured to:
couple the first bushing with the second subassembly (via further member 108) in accordance with at least a radial constraint relative to an axis of the first bushing while the preload is maintained (see Figure 2); and
provide at least a radial degree of freedom between the first bushing and the second subassembly relative to the axis of the first bushing while the preload is removed (the fifth interface being shaped such that the surface at 104 slides along surface 112 of further member 108, providing a radial degree of freedom; see column 3, line 19, through column 4, line 7); and
the second bushing (70) comprising:
a sixth interface (72) configured to couple with the third interface in accordance with at least a radial constraint relative to the axis of the fastener; and
a seventh interface (106) configured to:
couple the second bushing with the second subassembly (via further member 110) in accordance with at least a radial constraint relative to an axis of the second bushing while the preload is maintained (see Figure 2); and
provide at least a radial degree of freedom relative to the axis of the second bushing while the preload is removed (the seventh interface being shaped such that the surface at 106 slides along surface 114 of further member 110, providing a radial degree of freedom; see column 3, line 19, through column 4, line 7).
Figure 1. Annotated Figure 2 of Coyne
Regarding claim 2, Coyne discloses a bearing (40) comprising:
an eighth interface (42) configured to couple with the first interface in accordance with at least a radial constraint relative to the axis of the fastener (50, 120, 124); and
a ninth interface (28) configured to couple the bearing with the first subassembly (at 16) in accordance with at least a radial constraint relative to an axis of the bearing (see Figure 2).
Regarding claim 4, Coyne discloses the first interface, the second interface, and the third interface (see annotated Figure 1 above) each correspond to a respective portion of a common cylindrical surface of the fastener (50, 120, 124; see Figure 2).
Regarding claim 6, Coyne discloses a third bushing (108) comprising:
a tenth interface (112) configured to couple with the fifth interface (104); and
an eleventh interface (116) configured to couple with the second subassembly (at 18, 24) in accordance with at least a radial constraint relative to an axis of the third bushing (see Figure 2);
and
a fourth bushing (110) comprising:
a twelfth interface (114) configured to couple with the seventh interface (106); and
a thirteenth interface (118) configured to couple with the second subassembly in accordance with at least a radial constraint relative to an axis of the fourth bushing (see Figure 2).
Regarding claim 7, Coyne discloses a retainer (122) configured to couple with the fourth bushing (110); via fastener 50, 120, 124) and limit a displacement of the second bushing (70), relative to the fourth bushing, along the axis of the second bushing in a direction opposite the seventh interface (106; see Figure 2).
Regarding claim 8, Coyne discloses the third bushing (108) comprises a first opening (see annotated Figure 1 above) to receive the first bushing (64), wherein a cross-sectional area of the first opening is larger than a cross-sectional area of the first bushing (see Figure 2); and
the fourth bushing (110) comprises a second opening (see annotated Figure 1 above) to receive the second bushing (70), wherein a cross-sectional area of the second opening is larger than a cross-sectional area of the first bushing (see Figure 2).
Regarding claim 9, Coyne discloses the second bushing (70) comprises a fourteenth interface (130); and
the fourth bushing (110) comprises a fifteenth interface (128) configured to limit rotation of the second bushing about the axis of the second bushing based at least in part on contact with the fourteenth interface (via pin 128; see Figure 2).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Coyne in view of US 5,320,307 (Spofford).
Coyne discloses the system of claim 2, but does not expressly disclose the bearing (40) comprises a spherical bearing configured to provide a spherical degree of freedom between a first portion of the spherical bearing and a second portion of the spherical bearing, the first portion comprising the eighth interface (42) and the second portion comprising the ninth interface (28).
Spofford teaches formed a center bearing (110) as a spherical bearing configured to provide a spherical degree of freedom between a first portion (inner portion with a spherical outer surface) of the spherical bearing and a second portion (outer portion with a spherical inner surface) of the spherical bearing, the first portion comprising the eighth interface and the second portion comprising the ninth interface (see Figure 4) in order to allow slight rotation in three orthogonal planes of the associated system (see column 1, lines 43-47). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Coyne such that the bearing comprises a spherical bearing configured to provide a spherical degree of freedom between a first portion of the spherical bearing and a second portion of the spherical bearing, the first portion comprising the eighth interface and the second portion comprising the ninth interface, as taught in Spofford, in order to allow slight rotation in three orthogonal planes of the system.
Claim 12-15 and 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Coyne in view of US 10,598,219 (Voisine).
Regarding claim 12, Coyne discloses an apparatus (see Figures 1 and 2) comprising:
a first subassembly (at 16) associated with a first coupling location;
a second subassembly (at 18, 24) associated with a third coupling location;
a first fastener (50, 120, 124) associated with a first axis (30), the first fastener configured to couple with the first coupling location in accordance with a first radial constraint (formed at the first interface in annotated Figure 1 above);
a first bushing (64) having a first opening configured to couple with the first fastener in accordance with a second radial constraint (formed at the second interface in annotated Figure 1 above);
a second bushing (70) having a second opening configured to couple with the first fastener in accordance with a third radial constraint (formed at the third interface in annotated Figure 1 above);
wherein:
the first bushing and the second bushing are configured to couple with the third coupling location (on second subassembly at 18, 24), based at least in part on a preload of the first fastener between the first bushing and the second bushing, in accordance with a seventh radial constraint (formed at 34, 38 in Figure 2).
Coyne does not expressly disclose the first subassembly is associated with a second coupling location and the second subassembly is associated with a fourth coupling location. Therefore, Coyne also does not expressly disclose a second fastener associated with a second axis, the second fastener configured to couple with the second coupling location in accordance with a fourth radial constraint; a third bushing having a third opening configured to couple with the second fastener in accordance with a fifth radial constraint; and a fourth bushing having a fourth opening configured to couple with the second fastener in accordance with a sixth radial constraint, the third bushing and the fourth bushing are configured to couple with the fourth coupling location, based at least in part on a preload of the second fastener between the third bushing and the fourth bushing, in accordance with an eighth radial constraint.
Voisine teaches it is known in the art of apparatus including first and second subassemblies connected via such fastener and bushing mounting systems to provide a second set of fastener and bushings corresponding to a second and fourth coupling location (see Figures 3 and 9) in order to allow the apparatus to cope with considerable repeated stresses (see column 2, line 28).
Applicant is further reminded that it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed the prior art, mere duplication of parts has no patentable significance unless a new and unexpected result is produced. In re Harza, 274 F.2d 669, 124 USPQ 378 (CCPA 1960).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the apparatus of Coyne, such that the first subassembly is associated with a second coupling location and the second subassembly is associated with a fourth coupling location via a second fastener, third bushing, and fourth bushing, as taught in Voisine, as Voisine teaches it is known in the art of apparatus including first and second subassemblies connected via such fastener and bushing mounting systems to provide a second set of fastener and bushings corresponding to a second and fourth coupling location in order to allow the apparatus to cope with considerable repeated stresses. Further, such a modification would entail a mere duplication of parts, where no new and expected result is produced.
The Examiner notes such a combination would provide, from Coyne, a second fastener (50, 120, 124) associated with a second axis (30), the second fastener configured to couple with the second coupling location in accordance with a fourth radial constraint (formed at the first interface in annotated Figure 1 above);
a third bushing (64) having a third opening configured to couple with the second fastener in accordance with a fifth radial constraint (formed at the second interface in annotated Figure 1 above); and
a fourth bushing (70) having a fourth opening configured to couple with the second fastener in accordance with a sixth radial constraint (formed at the third interface in annotated Figure 1 above);
the third bushing and the fourth bushing are configured to couple with the fourth coupling location (on second subassembly at 18, 24), based at least in part on a preload of the second fastener between the third bushing and the fourth bushing, in accordance with an eighth radial constraint (formed at 34, 38 in Figure 2).
Regarding claim 13, The combination of Coyne and Voisine teaches a configuration to couple in accordance with the fifth radial constraint is based at least in part on a surface of the first bushing (64 of Coyne) that is non-perpendicular with the first axis (30; see tapered surfaces at 104, 112 of Coyne) and a surface of the second bushing (70 of Coyne) that is non-perpendicular with the first axis (see the tapered surfaces at 106, 114 of Coyne); and
a configuration to couple in accordance with the sixth radial constraint is based at least in part on a surface of the third bushing (64 of Coyne) that is non-perpendicular with the second axis (see tapered surfaces at 104, 112 of Coyne) and a surface of the fourth bushing (70 of Coyne) that is non-perpendicular with the second axis (see the tapered surfaces at 106, 114 of Coyne).
Regarding claim 14, The combination of Coyne and Voisine teaches a configuration to couple in accordance with the fifth radial constraint is based at least in part on a first surface (32 of Coyne) of the second subassembly (at 18, 24 of Coyne) that is non-perpendicular with the first axis and a second surface (34 of Coyne) of the second subassembly that is non-perpendicular with the first axis (30 of Coyne); and
a configuration to couple in accordance with the sixth radial constraint is based at least in part on a third surface (32 of Coyne) of the second subassembly that is non-perpendicular with the second axis and a fourth surface (34 of Coyne) of the second subassembly that is non-perpendicular with the second axis (see Figure 2).
Regarding claim 15, The combination of Coyne and Voisine teaches a fifth bushing (108) coupled with the second subassembly (at 18, 24) at the third coupling location in accordance with a seventh radial constraint (112; see Figure 2);
a sixth bushing (110) coupled with the second subassembly at the third coupling location in accordance with an eighth radial constraint (116);
a seventh bushing (108 of Coyne, duplicated as taught by Voisine) coupled with the second subassembly at the fourth coupling location in accordance with a ninth radial constraint (112); and
an eighth bushing (110 of Coyne, duplicated as taught by Voisine) coupled with the second subassembly at the fourth coupling location in accordance with a tenth radial constraint (116), wherein:
a configuration to couple in accordance with the fifth radial constraint (formed at the second interface in annotated Figure 1 above) is based at least in part on a surface of the fifth bushing that is non-perpendicular with the first axis and a surface of the sixth bushing that is non-perpendicular with the first axis (see Figure 2); and
a configuration to couple in accordance with the sixth radial constraint (formed at the third interface in annotated Figure 1 above) is based at least in part on a surface of the seventh bushing that is non-perpendicular with the second axis and a surface of the eighth bushing that is non-perpendicular with the second axis (see Figure 2).
Regarding claim 18, Coyne discloses a method (see Figure 2) comprising:
inserting a first fastener (50, 120, 124) through a first opening of a first bushing (64), a second opening associated with a first subassembly (at 16), and a third opening of a second bushing (70), based at least in part on a radial degree of freedom between the first bushing and a second subassembly (at 18, 24) and a radial degree of freedom between the second bushing and the second subassembly (see Figure 2, where the tapered surfaces of the bushings provide a radial degree of freedom as they provide a sliding effect along the surfaces);
constraining the first subassembly and the second subassembly in directions radial to an axis (30) of the first fastener based at least in part on preloading, using the first fastener (see column 3, line 47, through column 4, line 7), a first surface (104) of the first bushing with a second surface (112) associated with the second subassembly and a third surface (106) of the second bushing with a fourth surface (114) associated with the second subassembly, wherein preloading the first surface with the second surface is associated with a radial constraint between the first bushing and the second subassembly (see Figure 2), and wherein preloading the third surface with the fourth surface is associated with a radial constraint between the second bushing and the second subassembly (see column 3, line 19, through column 4, line 7).
Coyne does not expressly disclose inserting a second fastener () through a fourth opening of a third bushing, a fifth opening associated with the first subassembly, and a sixth opening of a fourth bushing, based at least in part on a radial degree of freedom between the third bushing and the second subassembly and a radial degree of freedom between the fourth bushing and the second subassembly; and constraining the first subassembly and the second subassembly in directions radial to an axis of the second fastener based at least in part on preloading, using the second fastener, a fifth surface of the third bushing with a sixth surface associated with the second subassembly and a seventh surface of the fourth bushing with an eighth surface associated with the second subassembly, wherein preloading the fifth surface with the sixth surface is associated with a radial constraint between the third bushing and the second subassembly, and wherein preloading the seventh surface with the eighth surface is associated with a radial constraint between the fourth bushing and the second subassembly.
Voisine teaches it is known in the art of apparatus including first and second subassemblies connected via such fastener and bushing mounting systems to provide a second set of fastener and bushings (see Figures 3 and 9) in order to allow the apparatus to cope with considerable repeated stresses (see column 2, line 28).
Applicant is further reminded that it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed the prior art, mere duplication of parts has no patentable significance unless a new and unexpected result is produced. In re Harza, 274 F.2d 669, 124 USPQ 378 (CCPA 1960).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the apparatus of Coyne, such that the method includes coupling via a second fastener, third bushing, and fourth bushing, as taught in Voisine, as Voisine teaches it is known in the art of apparatus including first and second subassemblies connected via such fastener and bushing mounting systems to provide a second set of fastener and bushings corresponding to a second and fourth coupling location in order to allow the apparatus to cope with considerable repeated stresses. Further, such a modification would entail a mere duplication of parts, where no new and expected result is produced.
The Examiner notes such a combination would provide, from Coyne, a second fastener (50, 120, 124) through a fourth opening of a third bushing (64), a fifth opening associated with the first subassembly, and a sixth opening of a fourth bushing (70), based at least in part on a radial degree of freedom between the third bushing and the second subassembly and a radial degree of freedom between the fourth bushing and the second subassembly (see Figure 2, where the tapered surfaces of the bushings provide a radial degree of freedom as they provide a sliding effect along the surfaces);
constraining the first subassembly and the second subassembly in directions radial to an axis (30) of the second fastener based at least in part on preloading, using the second fastener, a fifth surface (104) of the third bushing with a sixth surface (112) associated with the second subassembly and a seventh surface (106) of the fourth bushing with an eighth surface (114) associated with the second subassembly, wherein preloading the fifth surface with the sixth surface is associated with a radial constraint between the third bushing and the second subassembly (see Figure 2), and wherein preloading the seventh surface with the eighth surface is associated with a radial constraint between the fourth bushing and the second subassembly (see column 3, line 19, through column 4, line 7).
Regarding claim 19, The combination of Coyne and Voisine teaches the first surface (104 of Coyne), the second surface (112 of Coyne), the third surface, and the fourth surface (114) are non-perpendicular to the axis of the first fastener (50, 120, 124; see Figure 2 of Coyne); and
the first surface, the second surface, the third surface, and the fourth surface are non- perpendicular to the axis of the first fastener (see Figure 2 of Coyne).
Regarding claim 20, The combination of Coyne and Voisine teaches rotating the second subassembly (at 18, 24 of Coyne) relative to the first subassembly (at 16 of Coyne), after preloading the first surface (104 of Coyne) with the second surface (112 of Coyne) and preloading the third surface (106 of Coyne) with the fourth surface (114 of Coyne), based at least in part on a rotational degree of freedom between the first subassembly and the second subassembly about the axis of the first fastener (see column 2, line 67, through column 3, line 46).
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the combination of Coyne and Voisine, and further in view of Spofford.
The combination of Coyne and Voisine teaches the apparatus of claim 12, further comprising first and second bearings (40 of Coyne; multiple bearings taught by Voisine), but does not expressly teach the first and second bearings being in the form of:
a first spherical bearing configured for a spherical degree of freedom between a first portion and a second portion, wherein the first portion comprises a fifth opening configured to couple with the first fastener in accordance with an eleventh radial constraint, and wherein the second portion is configured to couple with the first subassembly (at 16) at the first coupling location in accordance with a twelfth radial constraint; and
a second spherical bearing configured for a spherical degree of freedom between a third portion and a fourth portion, wherein the third portion comprises a sixth opening configured to couple with the second fastener in accordance with a thirteenth radial constraint, and wherein the fourth portion is configured to couple with the first subassembly at the second coupling location in accordance with a fourteenth radial constraint.
Spofford teaches a first spherical bearing (100) configured for a spherical degree of freedom between a first portion (inner portion with a spherical outer surface) and a second portion (outer portion with a spherical inner surface), wherein the first portion comprises a fifth opening configured to couple with the first fastener (50) in accordance with an eleventh radial constraint, and wherein the second portion is configured to couple with the first subassembly (30) at the first coupling location in accordance with a twelfth radial constraint (see Figure 4); and
a second spherical bearing (100) configured for a spherical degree of freedom between a third portion (inner portion with a spherical outer surface) and a fourth portion (outer portion with a spherical inner surface), wherein the third portion comprises a sixth opening configured to couple with the second fastener (50) in accordance with a thirteenth radial constraint, and wherein the fourth portion is configured to couple with the first subassembly (30) at the second coupling location in accordance with a fourteenth radial constraint (see Figure 4).
Spofford teaches this structure allows slight rotation in three orthogonal planes of the associated apparatus (see column 1, lines 43-47). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the apparatus of the combination of Coyne and Voisine such that the first and second bearings are in the form of first and second spherical bearings comprising all the limitations of claim 16 as set forth above, as taught in Spofford, in order to allow slight rotation in three orthogonal planes of the apparatus.
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the combination of Coyne and Voisine, and further in view of US 10,640,194 (Zimmerman).
The combination of Coyne and Voisine teaches the apparatus of claim 12, but does not expressly teach one of the first subassembly (at 16 of Coyne) or the second subassembly (at 18, 24 of Coyne) comprises a mounting pedestal; and
the other of the first subassembly or the second subassembly comprises an antenna assembly.
Zimmerman teaches it is known in the art of such fastener and bushing mounting systems to utilize such a mounting system in an apparatus where one of a first subassembly or a second subassembly in the form of a mounting pedestal (22); and the other of the first subassembly or the second subassembly in the form of an antenna assembly (24; see column 1, lines 14-16). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the apparatus of the combination of Coyne and Voisine, such that one of the first subassembly or the second subassembly comprises a mounting pedestal; and the other of the first subassembly or the second subassembly comprises an antenna assembly, as taught in Zimmerman, as Zimmerman teaches it is known in the art of such fastener and bushing mounting systems to utilize such a mounting system in an apparatus where one of a first subassembly or a second subassembly in the form of a mounting pedestal; and the other of the first subassembly or the second subassembly in the form of an antenna assembly.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5, 10, and 11 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Coyne discloses the system of claim 1,wherein: the fastener (50, 120, 124) comprises an external threaded portion (formed at 120 in Figure 2); and
an internal threaded portion (formed inside 124 in Figure 2),
wherein the preload is based at least in part on mating the external threaded portion with the internal threaded portion (see column 3, line 47, through column 4, line 7).
Coyne fails to disclose the second bushing (70) comprising the internal threaded portion. The prior art fails to fairly show or suggest a modification to Coyne such that the second bushing comprising the internal threaded portion. Further, one of ordinary skill in the art would not have been motivated to make such a modification to Coyne, as such a modification would required substantially repackaging of the components of Coyne which would undoubtedly teach away from the intended structure of Coyne. Further still, providing threads on the second bushing would affect the sealing of the bushing to a fastener part (50) which would no longer allow for proper lubrication of the system.
Regarding claims 10 and 11, Coyne discloses the fifth interface (104) comprises a first convex surface;
the seventh interface (106) comprises a second convex surface;
the tenth interface (112) comprises a first concave surface; and
the twelfth interface (114) comprises a second concave surface (see Figure 2).
Coyne fails to disclose the respective convex and concave surfaces being spherical convex and spherical concave surfaces. The prior art fails to fairly show or suggest a modification to Coyne such that the respective convex and concave surfaces being spherical convex and spherical concave surfaces. Further, one of ordinary skill in the art would not have been motivated to make such a modification to Coyne, as such a modification would destroy the intended structure of Coyne which relies on cooperating tapered surfaces (104, 112; 106, 114) on respective bushings (64, 108; 70, 110) to achieve the desired degree of frictional engagement (see column 3, line 47, through column 4, line 7).
Conclusion
The prior art set forth in the attached Notice of References Cited (PTO-892) made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to Applicant's disclosure in the field of connections between subassemblies.
/Josh Skroupa/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3678
July 23, 2026