DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “a first deformation execution unit” and “a second deformation execution unit” as initialized in claim 1, “a contour position detection unit” as initialized in claim 2, “an alignment execution unit” as initialized in claim 3, and “a third deformation execution unit” as initialized in claim 7.
Because this/these claim limitation(s) is/are being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, it/they is/are being interpreted to cover the corresponding structure described in the specification as performing the claimed function, and equivalents thereof. In this case, paragraph [0113] states that “in a case where the computer 1000 functions as the information processing apparatus 10 according to the embodiment, the CPU 1100 of the computer 1000 implements the functions of the above-described units by executing the information processing program loaded on the RAM 1200.”
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2, 4-7, 10-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(a)(2) as being anticipated by Bhat et al. (US 2016/0328628 A1).
In regards to claim 1, Bhat teaches an information processing apparatus comprising:
a first deformation execution unit (e.g. [0083]: process 1100 may be performed by a computing system, such as … the computer system 1200 shown in Fig.12; Fig.12: processor 1210) that deforms a face model of an actor on a basis of positions of a plurality of markers in a face image of the actor to which the plurality of markers are attached, and generates a first deformed face model (e.g. [0084],Fig.11: at 1102, the process 1100 includes obtaining input data corresponding to a pose performed by the subject, the input data including position information defining positions on a face of the subject; for example, as previously described, an image capture setup may be implemented to capture images in which a relatively sparse set of features associated with the subject's face is used for attaining position information; [0085]: in some embodiments, the positions on the face are determined from markers applied to the face at a sparse set of positions; [0087]: at 1106, the process 1100 includes matching one or more of the positions on the face with one or more corresponding positions on the animation model); and
a second deformation execution unit (e.g. as above, Fig.12: processor 1210) that deforms a shape of a low reproduction portion of the first deformed face model on a basis of the face image of the actor so that a position of a contour of the low reproduction portion having relatively low reproducibility in the first deformed face model matches a position of a contour of the low reproduction portion in the face image of the actor, and generates a second deformed face model (e.g. [0044]: in some instances, the sparse set of markers may be unable to provide sufficient detail to allow the computing system 102 to reconstruct the small nuances expressed by the subject, such as when the subject performs a pose or expression with a subtle emotion; for example, areas around the eyelids and the mouth are often found to be problematic in animation due to frequent self-occlusions seen from the camera; the animation system 100 is able to capture such nuances by also using contour information; [0090]: in some embodiments, the input data obtained in step 1102 may include contour information defining one or more contours of the face; in such embodiments, the process 100 may further include minimizing a distance between at least one of the one or more contours of the face and data representing one or more corresponding contours of the animation model).
In regards to method claim 10 and medium claim 11, claim(s) 10-11 recite(s) limitations that is/are similar in scope to the limitations recited in claim 1. Therefore, claim(s) 10-11 is/are subject to rejections under the same rationale as applied hereinabove for claim 1.
In regards to claim 2, Bhat teaches an apparatus, further comprising a contour position detection unit (e.g. as above, Fig.12: processor 1210) that specifies the position of the contour of the low reproduction portion in the face image of the actor on a basis of positions of one or more landmarks extracted from the face image of the actor (e.g. as above, [0084]: obtaining input data corresponding to a pose performed by the subject, the input data including position information defining positions on a face of the subject; an image capture setup may be implemented to capture images in which a relatively sparse set of features associated with the subject's face is used for attaining position information; [0090]: input data obtained in step 1102 may include contour information defining one or more contours of the face; further in [0090]: contour information defining the one or more contours of the face may include two-dimensional data that is determined in screen space; the one or more contours of the face may include an inner eye contour of the subject, an inner mouth contour of the subject, or other contours on the subject's face).
In regards to claim 4, Bhat teaches an apparatus, wherein the second deformation execution unit sets a region in the vicinity of the low reproduction portion where no marker is arranged in the face image of the actor as a deformation target region, and selectively deforms the shape of the first deformed face model in the deformation target region (e.g. as above, [0090]: input data obtained in step 1102 may include contour information defining one or more contours of the face; in such embodiments, the process 100 may further include minimizing a distance between at least one of the one or more contours of the face and data representing one or more corresponding contours of the animation model; contour information defining the one or more contours of the face may include two-dimensional data that is determined in screen space; the one or more contours of the face may include an inner eye contour of the subject, an inner mouth contour of the subject, or other contours on the subject's face).
In regards to claim 5, Bhat teaches an apparatus, wherein the low reproduction portion is an eyelid (e.g. as above, [0044]: in some instances, the sparse set of markers may be unable to provide sufficient detail to allow the computing system 102 to reconstruct the small nuances expressed by the subject, such as when the subject performs a pose or expression with a subtle emotion; for example, areas around the eyelids … are often found to be problematic in animation due to frequent self-occlusions seen from the camera; the animation system 100 is able to capture such nuances by also using contour information).
In regards to claim 6, Bhat teaches an apparatus, wherein the second deformation execution unit deforms a shape of the eyelid of the first deformed face model so as to be matched with a position of an eyeball set in advance in the face model of the actor (e.g. [0066]: for some facial features, other information may be used for assisting with defining silhouette contours and their relation to mesh curves; for example, since eyelids slide over the surface of the cornea, the geometry of the eye may be used for projecting the eyelid curves onto the cornea to attain three-dimensional contour curve information).
In regards to claim 7, Bhat teaches an apparatus, further comprising a third deformation execution unit that performs deformation processing reflecting individuality of the actor on the second deformed face model and generates a third deformed face model (e.g. [0046]: animation model 108 may also include adjustable controls that control the animation model 108; for example, the adjustable controls can define the geometries of the shapes of the animation model 108; [0076]: in some embodiments, an animation guide 408 (or “recipe”) may be generated and used to guide the solver 306 in determining which adjustable controls to use, which values to use for the adjustable controls, or the like; the animation guide 408 can be generated based on the performance of the subject, and can further reduce the degrees of freedom that the solver must consider when solving for the adjustable control values; in one example, a subject (for a given scene or for an entire production) may typically perform a limited number of poses or expressions; an animation guide for that subject can be created and used to limit the adjustable controls of that subject's animation model to those controls that cause the computer-generated representation of the subject or fictional character to perform the limited number of expressions or to not perform certain expressions).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim(s) 3, 8-9 is/are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/JED-JUSTIN IMPERIAL/Examiner, Art Unit 2616
/DANIEL F HAJNIK/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2616