Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 03/04/2025 was filed and is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Objections
Claims 3 and 14 are objected to because of the following informalities: “…based on the study protocol based on the received study protocol…”. It is unclear to the examiner if there are two sturdy protocol or one sturdy protocol. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 6 and 17 are objected to because of the following informalities: “…defines if the one or more ordering criteria one of…”. Appropriate correction is required.
Though the examiner have points to two different parts of claim with minor informalities, there are potentially other parts of the claims that may contain minor informalities as well. Examiner advise the applicant to take a closer look at the claims and clear up any languages that may lead to confusion to the meaning of the claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 6 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 6 and 17 recites the limitation “…when the reviewer selects the user-defined order…” in Line 1 of both claims. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claims as neither claims 6 and 17 or the parent claims 1 and 12 introduces “the user-defined order”. Examiner suggests either rewrite the claims to introduce “the user-defined order” or have the claims be dependent upon claims 5 and 16 respectively as claims 5 and 16 did introduces a “ user defined order”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3, 8, 10, 12, 14, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kisiel (US 2002/0065856 A1, hereinafter Kisiel) in view of Samantapudi et al. (US 2026/0278014 A1, hereinafter Samantapudi).
Regarding claims 1 and 12, Kisiel discloses
Claim 1: An Artificial Intelligence (AI)-based computing system for improving speed and quality of work on literature reviews, the Al-based computing system comprising: one or more hardware processors (Fig. 42, Para [0170]: “An example computer system 4201 is shown in FIG. 42. The computer system 4201 includes one or more processors, such as processor 4204. The processor 4204 is connected to a communication bus 4202.”); and
a memory coupled to the one or more hardware processors, wherein the memory comprises a plurality of modules in the form of programmable instructions executable by the one or more hardware processors (Fig. 42, Para [0172]: “In alternative embodiments, secondary memory 4208 may include other similar means for allowing computer programs or other instructions to be loaded into computer system 4201. Such means can include, for example, a removable storage unit 4222 and an interface 4220. Examples of such can include a program cartridge and cartridge interface (such as that found in video game devices), a removable memory chip (such as an EPROM, or PROM) and associated socket, and other removable storage units 4222 and interfaces 4220 which allow software and data to be transferred from the removable storage unit 4222 to computer system 4201.”), and wherein the plurality of modules comprises:
Claim 12: An Artificial Intelligence (AI)-based method for system for improving speed and quality of work on literature reviews, the Al-based method comprising:
a data receiver module configured to receive a study protocol from one or more electronic devices associated with a reviewer, wherein the study protocol defines one or more terms and one or more concepts to search for a set of documents (Para [0013]: “The Requirements phase is where the user records the objectives for the research project. The requirements may be referred to by the user at any time during the remaining research phases to serve as a focal point for the collection and interpretation of data. In addition, the requirements entered by the user can be used to automatically perform database searches to compile data for the research project.”, Para [0042]: “The process begins with step 202, where a user creates a requirement set that defines the basis for the research being conducted.”, Para [0043]: “Next, as step 206 indicates, the collection and filtering of data are performed. As described below, the present invention provides several valuable tools that assist the user during the Collection phase 104 so that large quantities of data can be quickly and efficiently compiled, viewed and filtered according to the user specified requirements from steps 202 and 204.”);
a result obtaining module configured to obtain the set of documents based on the received study protocol by using one or more relevant search engines (Para [0057]: “After the requirements have been recorded, using the above method, the user can begin collecting information pertaining to the requirement 610. As stated above, one embodiment of the present invention assists the user in data compilation. In this embodiment, the requirement data entered by the user during the Requirements phase 102, is used to initiate a search on one or more external data sources, such as the Internet, database files, or files in the users directories. The interface provided by the present invention preferably allows the user a enter plain text description of the requirement, for example, in the details 704 section of the requirements dialog box 700. The present invention then extracts the concepts from the plain text description and initiates a search based on those concepts.”, Para [0058]: “Preferably, data items that match the concepts from the requirements are presented back to the user.”, Para [0080]: “The analysis task typically begins with the user reviewing the research documents that have been deemed relevant and saved into the repository as described above.”);
an element determination module configured to determine one or more relevant fragments of each of the obtained set of documents based on the received study protocol, the content, the context of each of the obtained set of documents, relevance of phrases to the received study protocol, and a set of keywords defined by the reviewer by using at least one of: the document management based-Al model and rule-based inference (Para [0076]: “Once a Personal Dictionary has been created, the user can now request that the present invention automatically review the document. This is accomplished by scanning the content of text document for the occurrence(s) of items of interest and/or associated aliases.”, Para [0077]: “Referring now to FIG. 15, a review screen, similar to that presented in FIG. 11 is depicted. In this example the user directs the present invention to automatically scan the document being reviewed in the text window 1102 by pressing the Scan button 1502. In response to this request, the present invention scans the document for all items and their respective aliases, as defined in the Personal Dictionary 1400. The results of the scan is presented in the display window 1504. That is, the display window 1504 displays a list of each item of interest found in the document. Further, in a preferred embodiment, when users select an item of interest in the display window 1504, the corresponding words are highlighted in the text window 1102.”, Para [0080]: “These documents are preferably analyzed from the Analysis/Browse window 1700, shown in FIG. 17. In this example, a document 1706 is listed under the "RESEARCH" category 1708. To begin analysis of the document 1706, the user selects the desired document 1706 and drags it into the right hand display area 1704.”, Para [0081]: “When this occurs, the present invention displays a visual representation 1710 depicting information about the contents of the document 1706, to assist the user in analysis. Specifically, the visual representation 1710 provides the researcher with a means to instantly comprehend the relevancy of the document 1706. This is accomplished by displaying which categories of items of interest are contained within the document 1706. In addition, the visual representation 1710 displays the number of occurrences of items of interest within each category. Para [0082]: “In this example, the visual representation 1710 comprises a document icon 1712, representing the document 1706 being analyzed. The document icon 1712 is surrounded by four category icons 1714-1720, each representing a particular category of items of interest found within the document 1706. In this example, the categories are: Organization 1714; Person 1716; Place 1718; and Product 1720.”, Para [0083]: “The number of items of interest contained in the document 1706, that are within each category is displayed on the connecting line between the document icon 1710 and the corresponding category icon 1714-1720. Accordingly, in this example, the researcher instantly comprehends that the document 1706 contains: one item of interest in the Organization category 1714 ; one item of interest in the Person category 1716; two items of interest in the Place category 1718; and three items of interest in the Product category 1720.”);
an element indication module configured to overlay the determined one or more relevant fragments with one of: one or more color highlights and one or more visual indicators, wherein the one or more visual indicators comprise icons, underscores, call-outs, side notes, arrows, and lines (Para [0076]: “Once a Personal Dictionary has been created, the user can now request that the present invention automatically review the document. This is accomplished by scanning the content of text document for the occurrence(s) of items of interest and/or associated aliases.”, Para [0077]: “Referring now to FIG. 15, a review screen, similar to that presented in FIG. 11 is depicted. In this example the user directs the present invention to automatically scan the document being reviewed in the text window 1102 by pressing the Scan button 1502. In response to this request, the present invention scans the document for all items and their respective aliases, as defined in the Personal Dictionary 1400. The results of the scan is presented in the display window 1504. That is, the display window 1504 displays a list of each item of interest found in the document. Further, in a preferred embodiment, when users select an item of interest in the display window 1504, the corresponding words are highlighted in the text window 1102.”).; and
a data output module configured to output the overlaid one or more relevant fragments on the user interface screen of the one or more electronic devices associated with the reviewer inference (Para [0076]: “Once a Personal Dictionary has been created, the user can now request that the present invention automatically review the document. This is accomplished by scanning the content of text document for the occurrence(s) of items of interest and/or associated aliases.”, Para [0077]: “Referring now to FIG. 15, a review screen, similar to that presented in FIG. 11 is depicted. In this example the user directs the present invention to automatically scan the document being reviewed in the text window 1102 by pressing the Scan button 1502. In response to this request, the present invention scans the document for all items and their respective aliases, as defined in the Personal Dictionary 1400. The results of the scan is presented in the display window 1504. That is, the display window 1504 displays a list of each item of interest found in the document. Further, in a preferred embodiment, when users select an item of interest in the display window 1504, the corresponding words are highlighted in the text window 1102.”).
However Kisiel does not explicitly disclose
a document organizer module configured to sort the obtained set of documents in an order of relevance based on the received study protocol, content, context of each of the obtained set of documents and reviewer's preferences by using a document management based-Al model.
Samantapudi teaches
a document organizer module configured to sort the obtained set of documents in an order of relevance based on the received study protocol, content, context of each of the obtained set of documents and reviewer's preferences by using a document management based-Al model (Para [0050]: “The relevant documents (or items) may then be ranked by determining an ordering of the relevant documents from the most relevant document to the least relevant document. A document may comprise any piece of digital content that can be indexed, such as an electronic message or a hypertext document. A variety of different ranking signals or ranking factors may be used to rank the relevant documents for the user's search query. In some embodiments, the identification and ranking of the relevant documents for the user's search query may take into account user suggested results from the user and/or other users (e.g., from co-workers within the same group as the user or co-located at the same level within a management hierarchy), the amount of time that has elapsed since a user suggested result was established, whether the underlying content was verified by a content owner of the content as being up-to-date or approved content, the amount of time that has elapsed since the underlying content was verified by the content owner, and the recent activity of the user and/or related group members (e.g., a co-worker within the same group as the user recently discussed a particular subject related to the executed search query within a messaging application within the past week).”, Para [0053]: “The permissions-aware search and knowledge management system may utilize natural language processing (NLP) and deep-learning models in order to identify semantic meaning within documents and search queries.”).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Kisiel with ranking documents with NLP and other aspects of Samantapudi, which is in the same field of endeavor of search engine, as Kisiel’s research system retrieves related research document and it is reasonable to incorporate the NLP ranking system of Samantapudi to achieve a predictable improvement of better searching experience.
Regarding claims 3 and 14, dependent upon claims 1 and 12 respectively, Kisiel in view of Samantapudi teaches everything regarding claims 1 and 12.
Samantapudi further teaches
a recommendation generation module configured to generate one or more recommendations about one of: including and excluding each of the obtained set of documents based on the study protocol based on the received study protocol by using the document management based-Al model, wherein the one or more recommendations are outputted on user interface screen of the one or more electronic devices via one or more methods, and wherein the one or more methods comprise recommendation balloons, icons and scrollbar markers (Para [0111]: “ As depicted in FIG. 3B, the search results include a first search result 322 that includes a link to an electronic document "Conventions for Jira" that was last updated on Jul. 1, 2020 by another user "Tony Gwynn." The electronic document "Conventions for Jira" was verified by the document owner and is currently in a verified state as indicated by the verified symbol 332. The search results include a second search result 323 that includes a link to an electronic message that was submitted by another user "Kapil Dev." The electronic message references the electronic document "Conventions for Jira" from the first search result 322 and therefore the display of the second search result 323 is indented to indicate a relationship in which the second search result 323 references or links to the first search result 322. The search results include a third search result 324 that includes a link to a web-based wiki that is authored by the user "Mariel Hamm." As the user has hovered over or positioned a mouse pointer 345 over the third search result 324, the user has the ability to select the pin icon 342 to "pin" the content to a particular search query or to select the star icon 343 to select the third search result 324 as the user's best search result for the entered search query.”, Para [0113]: “In one embodiment, the star icon 340 may be automatically selected if the user selected and followed the first search result 322 without returning to the search results page. In another embodiment, a star icon may be automatically selected if the user enters the same search query twice and subsequently follows the same search result twice without returning to the search results page.”).
Regarding claim 8, dependent upon claims 1 respectively, Kisiel in view of Samantapudi teaches everything regarding claims 1.
Samantapudi further teaches
the one or more relevant fragments have the highest likelihood to influence a decision of the reviewer to one of: include and exclude a document in or from a body of evidence, and wherein the one or more relevant fragments have the highest likelihood to influence a decision of the reviewer to select a fragment for data extraction (Para [0052]: “As the content from different data sources may contain different data formats and document types, incoming documents may be converted to plain text or to a normalized data format. The search index may include portions of text, text summaries, unique words, terms, and term frequency information per indexed document. In some cases, the text summaries may only be provided for documents that are frequently searched or accessed. A text summary may include the most relevant sentences, key words, personal names, and locations that are extracted from a document using natural language processing (NLP).”, Para [0110]: “Each search result may include a link to an underlying document, message, or web page and a snippet or summary of the relevant information found within the search result.”).
Regarding claims 10 and 20, dependent upon claims 1 and 12 respectively, Kisiel in view of Samantapudi teaches everything regarding claims 1 and 12.
Samantapudi further teaches
a link to a full-text version of an article is automatically generated based on a lookup in an open access and related literature databases, and visualized in the user interface (Para [0111]: “ As depicted in FIG. 3B, the search results include a first search result 322 that includes a link to an electronic document "Conventions for Jira" that was last updated on Jul. 1, 2020 by another user "Tony Gwynn." The electronic document "Conventions for Jira" was verified by the document owner and is currently in a verified state as indicated by the verified symbol 332. The search results include a second search result 323 that includes a link to an electronic message that was submitted by another user "Kapil Dev." The electronic message references the electronic document "Conventions for Jira" from the first search result 322 and therefore the display of the second search result 323 is indented to indicate a relationship in which the second search result 323 references or links to the first search result 322. The search results include a third search result 324 that includes a link to a web-based wiki that is authored by the user "Mariel Hamm." As the user has hovered over or positioned a mouse pointer 345 over the third search result 324, the user has the ability to select the pin icon 342 to "pin" the content to a particular search query or to select the star icon 343 to select the third search result 324 as the user's best search result for the entered search query.”)
Claims 4 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kisiel (US 2002/0065856 A1, hereinafter Kisiel) in view of Samantapudi et al. (US 2026/0278014 A1, hereinafter Samantapudi) and Gentilcore et al. (US 2024/0296190 A1, hereinafter Gentilcore).
Regarding claims 4 and 15, dependent upon claims 1 and 12 respectively, Kisiel in view of Samantapudi teaches everything regarding claims 1 and 12.
However Kisiel in view of Samantapudi does not explicitly teach
a list of contextual actions is outputted on the user interface screen of the one or more electronic devices associated with the reviewer in one or more forms selected by the Al-based computing system based on the type of the document, phase of the review and one or more options made available to the reviewer by a project manager, wherein the one or more forms comprise: on- screen buttons, icons and other actions components.
Gentilcore teaches
a list of contextual actions is outputted on the user interface screen of the one or more electronic devices associated with the reviewer in one or more forms selected by the Al-based computing system based on the type of the document, phase of the review and one or more options made available to the reviewer by a project manager (Para [0050]: “In one example, if a fetched document comprises a text file, then the metadata for the document may include information regarding the file size or number of words, an identification of the author or creator of the document, when the document was created and last modified, key words from the document, a summary of the document, and access rights for the document”, Para [0056]: “In some cases, the content connector handlers 209 may fetch access rights and permissions settings associated with the fetched content during the content crawl and store the access rights and permission settings using the identity and permissions store 212. For some data sources, the identity crawl to obtain user and group membership information may be performed before the content crawl to obtain content associated with the user and group membership information. When a document is fetched during the content crawl, the content connector handlers 209 may also fetch the ACL for the document. The ACL may specify the allowed users with the ability to view or access the document, the disallowed users that do not have access rights to view or access the document, allowed groups with the ability to view or access the document, and disallowed groups that do not have access rights to view or access the document. The ACL for the document may indicate access privileges for the document including which individuals or groups have read access to the document.”, Para [0075]: “As depicted in FIG. 3B, the search results also include a fourth search result 325 that includes a link to an issue and project tracking entry. As the issue and project tracking entry has been visited or accessed by the user and/or other users within the same group "Team Phoenix" as the user at least a threshold number of times (e.g., at least five times), an automatic reminder that the link points to unverified content has been displayed and a verification request widget or button 334 has been provided to send a verification request to the content owners of the issue and project tracking entry.”, Para [0117]: “In step 618, the set of relevant documents is ranked based on the user identifier, the set of verified states, the expiration time for the verified state, and/or the degree of matching for the portion of the first document.”, Para [0120]: “In step 632, a searchable document corresponding with a first document is generated. The searchable document may comprise an indexed version of the first document that includes a summary of the first document, keywords from the first document, and access rights for the first document. The first document may comprise, for example, an electronic file, a webpage, a wiki, a spreadsheet, or a database entry. The searchable document may include at least a portion of the first document; the portion of the first document may comprise a paragraph or one or more sentences from the first document. The searchable document may include additional information related to the first document, such as document ownership information and access rights information. In one example, the searchable document may include text from the first document, metadata associated with the first document, an auto-generated summary of the first document, a verification status for the first document, and a pinned search query for the first document. In some case, the searchable document may remove common words or stop words that do not provide distinguishability from the first document.”, Para [0125]: “In step 660, a second subset of the set of relevant documents is displayed based on the ranking of the set of relevant documents and verified states for the set of relevant documents. In this case, the second subset may comprise the top ten highest ranking documents that are currently set into a verified state. The second subset of the set of relevant documents may be displayed using a display of a computing device, such as computing device 154 in FIG. 1.”),
wherein the one or more forms comprise: on- screen buttons, icons and other actions components (Para [0075]: “As depicted in FIG. 3B, the search results also include a fourth search result 325 that includes a link to an issue and project tracking entry. As the issue and project tracking entry has been visited or accessed by the user and/or other users within the same group "Team Phoenix" as the user at least a threshold number of times (e.g., at least five times), an automatic reminder that the link points to unverified content has been displayed and a verification request widget or button 334 has been provided to send a verification request to the content owners of the issue and project tracking entry.”).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Kisiel in view of Samantapudi with verification status of search results and a button for requesting verification of the author of Gentilcore, which is in the same field of endeavor of search engine, to effectively increase the reliability of the search result.
Claims 5 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kisiel (US 2002/0065856 A1, hereinafter Kisiel) in view of Samantapudi et al. (US 2026/0278014 A1, hereinafter Samantapudi) and Khambholja et al. (US 2023/0205779 A1, hereinafter Khambholja).
Regarding claims 5 and 16, dependent upon claims 1 and 12 respectively, Kisiel in view of Samantapudi teaches everything regarding claims 1 and 12.
However Kisiel in view of Samantapudi does not explicitly teach
wherein the document organizer module is configured to perform a dynamic list reordering, wherein the dynamic list reordering corresponds to changing context of what is required to be displayed next based on user defined criteria and user's recent decisions that trigger re-analysis of a likelihood that one or more next documents in a queue are to be one of: included and rejected, wherein a set of available dynamic reordering choices comprise no order, model-defined order, and user defined order, wherein when the reviewer selects the model-defined order, a list of documents is sorted based on the study protocol and a set of previous user decisions based on the document management based-Al model, and wherein the reviewer can select if the Al-based system is required to one of: re-order the list of the documents on the fly and if the user triggers the re-sort.
Khambholja teaches
wherein the document organizer module is configured to perform a dynamic list reordering, wherein the dynamic list reordering corresponds to changing context of what is required to be displayed next based on user defined criteria and user's recent decisions that trigger re-analysis of a likelihood that one or more next documents in a queue are to be one of: included and rejected, wherein a set of available dynamic reordering choices comprise no order, model-defined order, and user defined order, wherein when the reviewer selects the model-defined order, a list of documents is sorted based on the study protocol and a set of previous user decisions based on the document management based-Al model, and wherein the reviewer can select if the Al-based system is required to one of: re-order the list of the documents on the fly and if the user triggers the re-sort (Para [0095]: “FIG. 6B depicts a user interface 604 displaying at least one document and scores of the one or more documents identified based on the document score. The user interface 604 includes one or more options including an accept, a reject and a reset. Based on the information of the at least one document, the user 106 may choose any of the one or more options. If the user 106 chooses the accept option, the system 102 accepts the at least one document and re-ranks the at least one document based on the search query. If the user 106 chooses the reject option, the system 102 rejects the at least one document and re-ranks the at least one document based on the search query. If the user 106 chooses the reset option, the system 102 abandons the search and displays the user interface 602 for entering the user input. In some embodiments, re-ranking the one or more documents in the database 116 using the continuous learning model, which obtains article title, abstract, study information including objective, inclusion, and exclusion criterias, as features and labels are dynamically identified based on the user feedback.”).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Kisiel in view of Samantapudi with re-ranking documents based on user choices of Khambholja, which is in the same field of endeavor of search engine, to effectively increase the search quality of the process.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2, 7, 9, 11, 13, 18-19, and 21 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Relevant Prior Art Directed to State of Art
Zhu et al. (PDFDataExtractor: A Tool for Reading Scientific Text and Interpreting Metadata from the Typeset Literature in the Portable Document Format, hereinafter Zhu) is prior art not applied in the rejection(s) above. Zhu discloses the PDFDataExtractor tool, which can act as a plug-in to ChemDataExtractor. It outperforms other PDF-extraction tools for the chemical literature by coupling its functionalities to the chemical-named entity recognition capabilities of ChemDataExtractor. The intrinsic PDF-reading abilities of ChemDataExtractor are much improved. The system features a template-based architecture. This enables semantic information to be extracted from the PDF files of scientific articles in order to reconstruct the logical structure of articles. While other existing PDF-extracting tools focus on quantity mining, this template-based system is more focused on quality mining on different layouts. PDFDataExtractor outputs information in JSON and plain text, including the metadata of a PDF file, such as paper title, authors, affiliation, email, abstract, keywords, journal, year, document object identifier (DOI), reference, and issue number.
Muralidharan et al. (US 11,586,805 B2, hereinafter Muralidharan) is prior art not applied in the rejection(s) above. Muralidharan discloses methods, apparatuses, systems, computing devices, and/or the like that are configured to effectively and efficiently generate one or more abstractive summaries of one or more multisection documents.
Conclusion
/J. C./Examiner, Art Unit 2665
/Stephen R Koziol/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2665