DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 02/26/2025 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Drawings
The drawings filed on 02/26/2025 are accepted by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2022/0051310 to Graube et al.
With regard to claims 1 and 12, Graube discloses an item identification system comprising:
a user interaction device configured to receive inputs from one or more users identifying a requested item (paragraphs 99-100, Any user mobile device 120 may be configured with a software application that supports the functionality of various embodiments. For example, the software application may provide for BLE beacon receiver functionality, entering or receiving a shopping list);
at least one item identifier communicably coupled to the one or more user interaction devices, and adapted to receive inputs from the one or more users and to perform operations based on inputs provided (paragraphs 100-104, The software application that runs in user mobile devices 120 may also function as a portable access point that can receive wireless (e.g., BLE) and other communications from ESLs 110. Each ESL 110b receiving the responsive BLE signal 123 from the user mobile device 120 may report the received signal to the store management entity server 150 by communicating the information in a signal or message 125 that is sent via an access point 130. the store management entity server 150 may signal individual ESLs 110, such as via an access point 130 that communicates via wireless links 112 to the ESL 110, to control lighting of the LED 117.);
a plurality of antennas (paragraphs 98 and 220, Access points 130 may also be configured with antenna arrays that enable determining the angle of arrival (AOA) of wireless communications, providing further localization information to the store management entity server 150. Additionally, the user mobile device 120 may include an antenna 2304), and
a plurality of indicators operatively coupled to the at least one item identifier, and adapted to transmit a responsive output signal based on inputs received from the at least one item identifier and at least one of the plurality of antennas, the responsive output signal indicating a relative direction of the requested item and a position of an antenna that provided an input (paragraphs 78 and 104, the ESL may provide an audible or tactile (e.g., vibrating) indication. Also in some embodiments, as the picker approaches the ESL even closer, the notification (visual, audible, tactile) may change such as in frequency (e.g., color or tone), periodicity (e.g., flashes per second), or intensity (e.g., brightness or volume). the store management entity server 150 may signal individual ESLs 110, such as via an access point 130 that communicates via wireless links 112 to the ESL 110, to control lighting of the LED 117, vary the brightness of a backlit display or generate another visible indication when an individual or user mobile device 120 is within the vicinity of and product to be selected based on the shopping list.).
With regard to claim 2, Graube discloses the plurality of indicators are static devices installed in static platforms (paragraph 61, The term “electronic shelf label” or “ESL” is used herein to refer to electronic displays that can be placed or secured to, in, on, or near store shelves.).
With regard to claim 3, Graube discloses the responsive output signal includes an audible alert from the plurality of indicators (paragraphs 78 and 81, generate another visible/audible indication in a coordinated fashion to provide a guide the individual towards the ESL associated with the next product on the shopping list (e.g., as flashes LEDs, vary the brightness of a backlit display or generate another visible indication sequentially in a pattern that leads toward the ESL of the next product on the shopping list like runway landing lights). ).
With regard to claim 4, Graube discloses the responsive output signal includes a visual alert from the plurality of indicators (paragraphs 78 and 81).
With regard to claim 5, Graube discloses the visual alert from the plurality of indicators includes polychromatic lights (paragraph 78, the notification (visual, audible, tactile) may change such as in frequency (e.g., color or tone)).
With regard to claim 6, Graube discloses the plurality of indicators is provided to an aisle indicator located at an end of an aisle (paragraph 61, While various embodiments are described with reference to ESLs being placed on shelves within a store, ESLs may also be positioned on large goods (e.g., furniture, appliances, etc.), on or near stands or stacks of goods, on pallets on which products are positioned, and other locations where products may be offered for sale or selection.).
With regard to claim 7, Graube discloses the at least one item identifier is configured as a multi-sided pyramid, each facing having a transmitter (paragraph 88, Each ESL 110 may include a beacon transmitter).
With regard to claim 8, Graube discloses the responsive output signal is based on an availability of an item in an aisle (paragraph 108, for example if a shopping list product is not available or if the substitute or alternative product is on sale. The route may be displayed on the user mobile device of the store picker to guide the individual on an efficient path through the store.).
With regard to claim 9, Graube discloses the at least one item identifier relays the information to at least one item identifier located at another location in proximity (paragraph 137, controlling at least one ESL in the store to generate the indication in response to determining that the approximate location is within the threshold distance of the product placement point in the store of the next product on the shopping list assigned to the user mobile device may include controlling ESLs between the approximate location and the product placement point in the store to flash respective visible indications repeatedly in sequence from a closest ESL to the approximate location to a closest ESL to the product placement point thereby generating a multiple ESL flashing pattern visually perceptible by a user of the user mobile device as a flashing path along the flashing ESLs from the approximate location to the product placement point in the store.).
With regard to claim 10, Graube discloses the at least one user interaction device is further configured to provide signal to a proximity indicator based on the at least one user interaction device in proximity to a wireless identification tag (paragraphs 75, 82-83, and 88, When the user mobile device detects a beacon, the user mobile device can estimate its proximity to the emitting ESL using measured RSSI of the detected signal. Some ESLs 110 may include one or more sensors, such as (but not limited to) a proximity sensor to detect when an individual is standing near the ESL 110. the store management entity server may send navigation information to augmented reality (AR) devices or XR devices, such as smart glasses, worn by store pickers, which may be in addition to product information communicated to AR or XR devices by XR tags on or associated with ESLs.).
With regard to claim 11, Graube discloses further comprises a user interface communicably coupled to the at least one item identifier (paragraph 83, AR display may include path indications and visual indications highlighting the ESL of a next item on the shopping list as the store picker approaches, thereby providing localizing signals to the user that are private.).
With regard to claim 13, Graube discloses the responsive output signal includes signaling via a plurality of indicators (paragraphs 78 and 81).
With regard to claim 14, Graube discloses the responsive output signal includes signaling an audible alert from the plurality of indicators (paragraphs 78 and 81).
With regard to claim 15, Graube discloses the responsive output signal includes signaling a visual alert from the plurality of indicators (paragraphs 78 and 81).
With regard to claim 16, Graube discloses the visual alert from the plurality of indicators includes illuminating a plurality of lights (paragraphs 78 and 81).
Conclusion
Please refer to form 892 for cited references.
/ARIEL J YU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3627