DETAILED ACTION
This Office Action is in response to Application No. 19/106,799 filed 02/26/2025. Claims 1-19 are pending and have been examined.
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 02/26/2025 was considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 5-7, 12-15, 18 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Yoon et al. (US 2022/0156500), Yoon.
Consider claim 1, Yoon clearly teaches a method for collecting information on the location of a sports player in real- time, performed by a computing device, (Fig. 21) the method comprising:
acquiring, based on a positioning sensor, information on the location of a player at a plurality of time points according to a predetermined time interval and at least one positioning state characteristic value, wherein the positioning state characteristic value includes information on the positioning state at the time the positioning sensor determines locational information of the player; (Figs. 2, 3, 11: GPS module 210 continuously acquires location information of a sport participant 1, which includes reliability-related information of the sensor signal , [0095]-[0098], [0107], [0108], [0233]-[0235].) and
determining validity of the information on the location of the player based on the positioning state characteristic value acquired from the positioning sensor. (Figs. 11, 21: Player tracking server 1000 determines the validity of the location information based on the reliability-related information, [0236]-[0240], [0398]-[0400].)
Consider claim 2, Yoon clearly teaches the positioning sensor is a Global Navigation Satellite System (GNSS) sensor. ([0108], [0235])
Consider claim 3, Yoon clearly teaches the positioning state characteristic value includes at least one of: information on the number of satellites used for positioning by the positioning sensor; information on the positioning mode of the positioning sensor; accuracy information on the vertical position of the positioning sensor; or information on the strength of satellite signals received by the positioning sensor. (The reliability-related information includes signal-to-noise ratio of the signal, [0069], [0235], [0400], [0434].)
Consider claim 5, Yoon clearly teaches the determining of the validity of the information on the location of the player includes: determining that a first condition for the positioning state characteristic value is not satisfied at a first time point; (Fig. 11: When the reliability-related information does not satisfy a threshold value player tracking server 1000 determines that the location information is invalid, [0237].) and determining that information on the location of the player obtained after a second time point is invalid in response to the determination that the first condition is not satisfied continuously until the second time point, which is the time point after a predetermined threshold time interval from the first time point. (Fig. 11: The player tracking server 1000 continuously acquires the sport participant 1 location information and while the sport participant 1 remains in first region A1 the positioning sensor data will have low reliability and be determined to be invalid, [0237], [0238], [0243].)
Consider claim 6, Yoon clearly teaches the determining of the validity of the information on the location of the player further includes determining that information on the location of the player obtained after a third time point is valid, wherein the third time point is the first time at which the first condition is satisfied after the second time point. (Fig. 11: The player tracking server 1000 continuously acquires the sport participant 1 location information and when the sport participant 1 moves into second region A2 the positioning sensor data will have high reliability and be determined to be valid, [0237], [0238], [0243].)
Consider claim 7, Yoon clearly teaches the first condition states that all specific conditions for a plurality of positioning state characteristic values included in the first condition are satisfied. (Fig. 11: When the reliability-related information satisfies a threshold value player tracking server 1000 determines that the location information is valid, [0237].)
Consider claim 12, Yoon clearly teaches the computing device is a wearable device attached to a sports player. (Fig. 3: Positioning sensor device 200 is located on sport participant 1, [0066], [0106].)
Consider claim 13, Yoon clearly teaches a device for collecting information on the location of a sports player in real-time, the device comprising a processor; and a memory, wherein the processor is configured to: (Fig. 4, [0125]-[0128])
acquire, based on a positioning sensor, information on the location of a player at a plurality of time points according to a predetermined time interval and at least one positioning state characteristic value, wherein the positioning state characteristic value includes information on the positioning state at the time the positioning sensor determines locational information of the player; (Figs. 2, 3, 11: GPS module 210 continuously acquires location information of a sport participant 1, which includes reliability-related information of the sensor signal , [0095]-[0098], [0107], [0108], [0233]-[0235].) and
determine validity of the information on the location of the player based on the positioning state characteristic value acquired from the positioning sensor. (Figs. 11, 21: Player tracking server 1000 determines the validity of the location information based on the reliability-related information, [0236]-[0240], [0398]-[0400].)
Consider claim 14, Yoon clearly teaches a computer-readable storage medium including commands executable by a processor, wherein the commands are intended to collect information on the location of a sports player in real-time and, by being executed by the processor, are configured to instruct the processor (Fig. 4, [0125]-[0128]) to:
acquire, based on a positioning sensor, information on the location of a player at a plurality of time points according to a predetermined time interval and at least one positioning state characteristic value, wherein the positioning state characteristic value includes information on the positioning state at the time the positioning sensor determines locational information of the player; (Figs. 2, 3, 11: GPS module 210 continuously acquires location information of a sport participant 1, which includes reliability-related information of the sensor signal , [0095]-[0098], [0107], [0108], [0233]-[0235].) and
determine validity of the information on the location of the player based on the positioning state characteristic value acquired from the positioning sensor. (Figs. 11, 21: Player tracking server 1000 determines the validity of the location information based on the reliability-related information, [0236]-[0240], [0398]-[0400].)
Consider claim 15, Yoon clearly teaches a method for collecting information on a sports player in real-time, (Fig. 19) the method comprising:
collecting information on the sports player at a first time point based on a first sensor; (Fig. 3: Image capture device 300 sends image data of sport participants 1, 2, 3 to player tracking server 1000, [0110].)
collecting information on whether movement of an inertial sensor is present at the first time point based on the inertial sensor; (Fig. 9: An inertial sensor worn by players determines if there has been vertical movement of the player, [0222].) and
determining validity of the information on the sports player based on the information on whether movement of the inertial sensor is present. (Fig. 9: Player tracking sever 1000 determines the validity of location of the player based on the vertical movement information from the inertial sensor, [0223]-[0226], [0381].)
Consider claim 18, Yoon clearly teaches a device for collecting information on the location of a sports player in real- time, the device comprising a processor; and a memory, (Fig. 4, [0125]-[0128]) wherein the processor is configured to:
collect information on the sports player at a first time point based on a first sensor; (Fig. 3: Image capture device 300 sends image data of sport participants 1, 2, 3 to player tracking server 1000, [0110].)
collect information on whether movement of an inertial sensor is present at the first time point based on the inertial sensor; (Fig. 9: An inertial sensor worn by players determines if there has been vertical movement of the player, [0222].) and
determine validity of the information on the sports player based on the information on whether movement of the inertial sensor is present.
Consider claim 19, Yoon clearly teaches a computer-readable storage medium including commands executable by a processor, wherein the commands are intended to collect information on a sports player in real- time and, by being executed by the processor, are configured to instruct the processor (Fig. 4, [0125]-[0128]) to:
collect information on the sports player at a first time point based on a first sensor; (Fig. 3: Image capture device 300 sends image data of sport participants 1, 2, 3 to player tracking server 1000, [0110].)
collect information on whether movement of an inertial sensor is present at the first time point based on the inertial sensor; (Fig. 9: An inertial sensor worn by players determines if there has been vertical movement of the player, [0222].) and
determine validity of the information on the sports player based on the information on whether movement of the inertial sensor is present. (Fig. 9: Player tracking sever 1000 determines the validity of location of the player based on the vertical movement information from the inertial sensor, [0223]-[0226], [0381].)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yoon et al. (US 2022/0156500) in view of MacIntosh et al. (US 2008/0284650), herein MacIntosh.
Consider claim 4, Yoon clearly teaches the positioning sensor is a Global Navigation Satellite System (GNSS) sensor.
However, Yoon does not explicitly teach the positioning mode includes information indicating that the positioning sensor operates according to one of Realtime-kinematic (RTK) GPS mode; normal mode; and noise mode.
In an analogous art, MacIntosh, which discloses a system for monitoring athletes, clearly teaches the positioning mode includes information indicating that the positioning sensor operates according to one of Realtime-kinematic (RTK) GPS mode; normal mode; and noise mode. ([0041])
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art to modify the system of Yoon by the positioning mode includes information indicating that the positioning sensor operates according to one of Realtime-kinematic (RTK) GPS mode; normal mode; and noise mode, as taught by MacIntosh, for the benefit of improving the precision of the location information.
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yoon et al. (US 2022/0156500) in view of Davies et al. (US 5,944,132), herein Davies.
Consider claim 8, Yoon clearly teaches the specific conditions.
However, Yoon does not explicitly teach the specific conditions include whether the number of satellites used for positioning by the positioning sensor is six or more.
In an analogous art, Davies, which discloses a system for monitoring location data, clearly teaches the specific conditions include whether the number of satellites used for positioning by the positioning sensor is six or more. (The minimum number of satellites can be set to any number, col. 8 lines 48-63.)
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art to modify the system of Yoon by the specific conditions include whether the number of satellites used for positioning by the positioning sensor is six or more, as taught by Davies, for the benefit of improving the determination of location reliability.
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yoon et al. (US 2022/0156500) in view of Davies et al. (US 5,944,132) in view of MacIntosh et al. (US 2008/0284650).
Consider claim 9, Yoon combined with Davies clearly teaches the specific conditions.
However, Yoon combined with Davies does not explicitly teach the positioning mode includes information indicating that the positioning sensor operates according to one of Realtime-kinematic (RTK) GPS mode; normal mode; and noise mode.
In an analogous art, MacIntosh, which discloses a system for monitoring athletes, clearly teaches the positioning mode includes information indicating that the positioning sensor operates according to one of Realtime-kinematic (RTK) GPS mode; normal mode; and noise mode. ([0041])
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art to modify the system of Yoon combined with Davies by the positioning mode includes information indicating that the positioning sensor operates according to one of Realtime-kinematic (RTK) GPS mode; normal mode; and noise mode, as taught by MacIntosh, for the benefit of improving the precision of the location information.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 10, 11, 16 and 17 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
In the case of amending the claimed invention, applicant is respectfully requested to indicate the portion(s) of the specification which dictate(s) the structure relied on for proper interpretation and also to verify and ascertain the metes and bounds of the claimed invention.
/JOHN R SCHNURR/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2425