DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 25 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 25, the phrase “can be” renders the claim indefinite. Alternative phrasing, such as “is activated” or “is activatable” would overcome this rejection.
Claims 19-22 and 26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends.
Regarding claims 19-22 and 26, claim 18 is directed to a card-form data carrier. Recitations regarding a laser used in coloring the data carrier do not further limit the data carrier itself.
Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 18-22, 24, 26, 27, 29, 30, and 32-33 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Tziovaras et al. (2019/0106837).
Tziovaras discloses a card-form data carrier which comprises at least one film (paragraph 0074) having a first surface and an opposite second surface, wherein the film is produced by an extrusion process (paragraph 0074), wherein at least partially laser-activatable pigments are integrated in the film (paragraph 0076), wherein the pigments are configured in such a way that they can be activated by at least one laser, wherein an irreversible color change of the film can be generated (paragraph 0106).
Regarding claim 19, Tziovaras discloses only one laser.
Regarding claim 20, see paragraph 0107.
Regarding claim 21, see paragraph 0107.
Regarding claim 22, see paragraph 0108.
Regarding claims 27 and 33, see paragraph 0021.
Regarding claim 30, any part of the film can be irradiated and have its color changed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 23 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tziovaras et al. (2019/0106837) in view of Takeda et al. (2019/0255874).
Tziovaras discloses the invention substantially as claimed, as set forth above. However, Tziovaras does not disclose metal or metal oxide as part of the pigmentation. Takeda teaches using metal oxide as a laser-activatable pigment (paragraph 0055). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use metal oxide as a laser-activatable pigment in the card disclosed by Tziovaras, as taught by Takeda, as a matter of design choice.
Claim 28 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tziovaras et al. (2019/0106837).
Tziovaras discloses the invention substantially as claimed, as set forth above. However, it is not known what size the pigments are. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to make the pigments at least 1 µm and at most 60 µm, because it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. See MPEP § 2144.05(II)(A).
Claims 31 and 34 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tziovaras et al. (2019/0106837) in view of Rack et al. (2021/0276359).
Tziovaras discloses the invention substantially as claimed, as set forth above. However, Tziovaras does not disclose a light-refracting structure. Rack teaches providing such a structure in order to create a lenticular image. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide a lens structure to the card disclosed by Tziovaras, as taught by Rack, in order to create a lenticular image.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 25 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The prior art of record does not disclose or suggest a laser-activatable pigment that is activatable at a temperature greater than an extrusion temperature of the film.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. The relevance of each reference is explained below, unless the relevance is deemed to be readily apparent.
/GARY C HOGE/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3631