DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Preliminary Amendments
This office action is responsive to the preliminary amendment filed on 02/26/2025. As directed by the amendment: claim(s) 1-10 has/have been amended, no claim(s) has/have been cancelled, and no new claim(s) has/have been added. Thus, claims 1-10 are presently pending in this application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 2-3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Re claim 2, the recitation “the main bore” renders the claim indefinite as it is unclear as to which of the bores the Applicant is referring back to, since there are “plunger bore” and “screw-receiving bore”. For compact prosecution, the “main bore” is being interpreted as the “screw receiving bore”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2 and 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a1 & 102a2 as being anticipated by Anton (GB 2269426 A). (Provided by Applicant).
Anton ‘426 discloses the invention as follows:
1. (Currently Amended) A fuel pump assembly (fig. 1) for a fuel system of an internal combustion engine, the fuel pump assembly comprising: a pump head housing (74); a main pump housing (1) provided with at least a portion of a plunger bore (5) for housing a pumping plunger (7) which is driven in use to pressurize fuel within a pump chamber (11) defined within the pump head housing (1); the pump head housing (74) and the main pump housing (1) defining a housing interface (INT; see annotated fig. 1 below) between facing surfaces thereof; and a screw-receiving bore (SRB; see annotated fig. 1 below) in the main pump housing (1) for receiving a screw (65, 66) comprising a screw shaft (65) which extends across the housing interface (INT), in use, wherein the screw-receiving bore (SRB) has a screw-threaded region (SRB-STR; fig. 1 below) of diameter, D, which interfaces with a screw-threaded region (65-STR) of the screw shaft (65) to define an axially-threaded interface (ATI), wherein the axially-extending threaded interface (AETI) is displaced axially from the housing interface (INT) by an axially-extending clearance interface (AECI) defined between the screw-receiving bore (SRB) and the screw (65), the axially-extending clearance interface (AECI) having a distance length, L, wherein a ratio of L/D is greater than or equal to 1 (as clearly shown in fig. 1).
2. (Currently Amended) The fuel pump assembly as claimed in claim 1, wherein the screw-receiving bore SRB is provided with a counter-bore region (CBR; see fig. 1 below), which opens at the housing interface (INT), to define the axially-extending clearance interface (AECI) between the main bore (i.e., SRB) and the screw shaft (65).
6. (Currently Amended) The fuel pump assembly (10) as claimed in claim 1, wherein the screw-receiving bore SRB includes an enlarged diameter region (see AECI) of length, L, proximal to the housing interface (INT), which defines the axially-extending clearance interface (AECI) with the screw shaft (65).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3-5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Anton (‘426) in view of NORITOSHI (JPS60128969). (Provided by Applicant).
Re claim 3, Anton ‘426 teaches the invention as essentially claimed, but fails to explicitly teach wherein the counter bore region (CBR) is provided with a chamfer at the housing interface. However, the patent application to NORITOSHI ‘969 teaches a very similar fuel pump assembly (see the sole figure) wherein the screw-receiving bore (of screw 3b) in the main pump housing 2 is provided with a chamfer (see annotated figure below) at the housing interface between the main pump housing 2 and the pump head housing 14. Such a chamfer for a screw-receiving bore in any housing is meant to provide for easier screw alignment during installation of the pump head housing and the main pump housing, as it is known to one skilled in the art of mechanical assemblage. Thus, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the screw-receiving bore of Anton ‘426 to further include such a chamfer at the housing interface of the screw-receiving bore, as clearly suggested and taught by NORITOSHI ‘969, in order to provide for easier screw alignment during installation of the two pump housings.
Re claim 4, Anton ‘426 teaches the invention as essentially claimed, but fails to explicitly teach wherein the screw-threaded region of the screw-receiving bore includes an extended screw-threaded region which extends beyond the proximal end of the axially-extending threaded interface to the housing interface, the screw having a screw shaft of reduced diameter relative to the screw-threaded region of the screw shaft to define a clearance interface with the extended screw-threaded region. However, the patent application to NORITOSHI ‘969 teaches a very similar fuel pump assembly (see annotated figure below) wherein the screw-threaded region (152) of the screw-receiving bore includes an extended screw-threaded region (150) which extends beyond the proximal end of the axially-extending threaded interface (170) to the housing interface, the screw (3b) having a screw shaft (160a) of reduced diameter relative to the screw-threaded region (166) of the screw shaft (160a) to define a clearance interface (172) with the extended screw-threaded region (150). Thus, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the screw-receiving bore and the screw shaft of Anton ‘426 to further include such an extended screw-threaded region and a reduced diameter, respectively, as clearly suggested and taught by NORITOSHI ‘969, in order to provide for easier screw alignment during installation of the two pump housings while allowing for reduced manufacturing times for the pump housing bores.
Re claim 5, NORITOSHI ‘969 further teaches in the annotated figure below wherein the extended screw-threaded region (150) extends along the full length of the screw-receiving bore.
Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Anton (‘426) in view of KATO (EP 3561289 A1). (Provided by Applicant).
Re claim 7, Anton ‘426 teaches the invention as essentially claimed but fails to explicitly teach wherein the screw-threaded region (65-STR; see annotated figure of Anton below) of the screw shaft (65) extends beyond the axially-extending threaded interface (AETI) towards the housing interface (INT) and into the enlarged diameter region (see AECI). However, the patent application to KATO ‘289 teaches a very similar pump assembly 160 (see fig. 3) wherein the screw-threaded region of the screw shaft (of screw 180) extends beyond the axially-extending threaded interface (i.e., the entire threaded region of the screw head) towards the housing interface (see 163) and into the enlarged diameter region (e.g., where 170 is provided). In view of this teaching, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the invention to modify the screw-threaded region of the screw shaft of Anton ‘426, such that this screw-threaded region extends beyond the axially-extending threaded interface towards the housing interface and into the enlarged diameter region of the screw-receiving bore, as clearly suggested and taught by KATO ‘289, in order to allow for the utilization of conventional and readily-available studs/bolts for the assembly of the pump housing, which would reduce manufacturing times and/or costs.
Claim(s) 8-9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Anton (‘426).
With regards to claims 8-9, Anton ‘426 discloses wherein the L/D ratio is more than 1. However, Anton ‘26 is completely silent regarding the L/D ratios being between either 1 – 1.5, or greater than or equal to 1.3. However, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to optimize the ratios of L to D to obtain the desired torque and/or tension for different pump applications, without any evidence to the contrary, as optimization of the dimensions of the threading of bolts/studs involves only routine skill in the art.
Annotated Figure 1 of Anton ‘426
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
The cited prior arts teach conventional pump housing assemblies wherein the pump head housing is mounted on top of the main pump housing utilizing only two bolts/studs.
HUNG Q. NGUYEN
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3747
/HUNG Q NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3747