Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 26 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by FUJIYOSHI (US 20200391751).
Regarding claim 26 FUJIYOSHI teaches an apparatus (fig. 1A), comprising:
an interface configured to receive image data (fig. 18, 214) in real-time of a surroundings of a vehicle (fig. 5-6, [0061]);
processing circuitry (fig.1B. processor 1000) configured to:
identify a point of interest (fig. 4, 12) within the received image data ([0061]);
generate modified image data based on the received image data and the identified point of interest ([0061], also see [0032] [0033]); and
transmit the modified image data to be displayed to a vehicle passenger ([0062]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 31 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over FUJIYOSHI (US 20200391751) in view of Lee (US 20230410661).
Regarding claim 31 FUJIYOSHI teaches the point of interest is an object (fig. 4, 12).
FUJIYOSHI is silent on processing circuitry is further configured to: determine whether to generate modified image data based on a type of the object, a predicted motion of the object, an estimated probability of a collision between the vehicle and the object, and/or estimated severity of a collision between the vehicle and the object.
However, Lee teaches processing circuitry (fig. 8) is further configured to: determine whether to generate modified image data based on a type of the object ([0046]), a predicted motion of the object, an estimated probability of a collision between the vehicle and the object (fig.1, ), and/or estimated severity of a collision between the vehicle and the object.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skilled in the art to combine FUJIYOSHI in light of Lee teaching so that it may include processing circuitry is further configured to: determine whether to generate modified image data based on a type of the object, a predicted motion of the object, an estimated probability of a collision between the vehicle and the object, and/or estimated severity of a collision between the vehicle and the object.
The motivation is to provide a method for warning collision of a vehicle which has lower cost and is more accuracy.
Claim(s) 33, 34, 35 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over FUJIYOSHI (US 20200391751) in view of Park (US 20200064148).
Regarding claim 33 FUJIYOSHI teaches modified image data or the received image data is displayed,
But silent on displaying the vehicle passenger in a window of the vehicle.
However, Park teaches displaying the vehicle passenger in a window of the vehicle ([0131] The processor may change the brightness, transparency, etc. of an image displayed on the window of the vehicle).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skilled in the art to combine FUJIYOSHI in light of Park teaching so that it may include displaying the vehicle passenger in a window of the vehicle.
The motivation is to provide the driver with information necessary to drive the vehicle such as information about lanes where the vehicle is located or a lane bending direction etc. during heavy rain, heavy fog, or at night when driver may not have enough visibility to operate the vehicle.
Regarding claim 34 FUJIYOSHI in view of Park teach wherein when the received image data is not modified, the window of the vehicle is transparent (Park: fig. 12A).
Regarding claim 35 FUJIYOSHI in view of Park teach wherein when the received image data is modified, the window of the vehicle is non-transparent (Park: fig. 15).
Claim(s) 36, 37, 45 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over FUJIYOSHI (US 20200391751) in view of Beste (US 20220260385).
Regarding claim 36 FUJIYOSHI is silent on wherein the processing circuitry is further configured to: identify the point of interest based on a vehicle passenger profile, a vehicle passenger action, vehicle passenger speech, and/or a vehicle passenger emotion.
However, Beste teaches wherein the processing circuitry ([0009]) is further configured to: identify the point of interest based on a vehicle passenger profile, a vehicle passenger action, vehicle passenger speech, and/or a vehicle passenger emotion ([0122] By a corresponding positive or negative result with respect to an offer or a prioritized navigation destination, the driver information and/or vehicle information can be updated accordingly. Subsequent navigation requests can be optimized considering this (piece of) result information—for example, by means of a self-learning system of the server computing unit K—for example, a neural network. The self-learning system can generate corresponding driver profiles based on a plurality of driver information and vehicle information as well as result information, and thus further optimize future navigation destinations with respect to future navigation requests for drivers according to the respective driver profile.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skilled in the art to combine FUJIYOSHI in light of Beste teaching so that it may include on wherein the processing circuitry is further configured to: identify the point of interest based on a vehicle passenger profile, a vehicle passenger action, vehicle passenger speech, and/or a vehicle passenger emotion.
The motivation is to provide a system for prioritizing navigation destinations of vehicles for prioritizing navigation destinations of vehicles to make ease of use for the driver that he does not have to manually set the destination.
Regarding claim 37 FUJIYOSHI in view of Beste teach wherein the processing circuitry is configured to: generate information about the point of interest, based on a vehicle passenger profile or a vehicle passenger action (Beste: [0033]).
Regarding claim 45 FUJIYOSHI in view of Beste teach wherein the processing circuitry is further configured to: identify a profile related to the vehicle passenger (Beste: [0009]).
Claim(s) 38-42, 44 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over FUJIYOSHI (US 20200391751) in view of Beste and further Gurevich (US 20120224060).
Regarding claim 38 FUJIYOSHI silent on image data comprises a visual highlight of the point of interest.
However, Gurevich teaches image data comprises a visual highlight of the point of interest ([0062] FIG. 14 shows the flow of the point-of-interest algorithm 1012. Points of interest ("POIs") are stored as navigation points 1006 in the system model of the current environment. In process 1401, the computer processor iterates through each POI and determines whether the angle from the current orientation of the vehicle to the POI would place it in the area of the windshield covered by the HUD. If so, the position of the POI on the HUD is calculated using its GPS coordinates and the current position and orientation of the vehicle 1007. Next, in process 1403 a representative image is retrieved from memory and a transformation is applied to the image as a function of the driver line of sight so that, when the image is projected, it will appear to the driver as if it surrounds or highlights the POI).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skilled in the art to combine FUJIYOSHI in light of Gurevich teaching so that it may include image data comprises a visual highlight of the point of interest.
The motivation is to reduce driver distraction by providing information only when necessary to assist the driver, and in a visually pleasing manner.
Regarding claim 39 FUJIYOSHI in view of Beste teach wherein the generated modified image data comprises textual information related the point of interest (Beste: [0033]).
Regarding claim 40 FUJIYOSHI, Gurevich teaches wherein the processing circuitry is further configured to: translate the generated information into audio information (Gurevich: [0063]).
Regarding claim 41 FUJIYOSHI, Gurevich teaches generate a bookmark of the point of interest (Gurevich: [0062]).
Regarding claim 42 FUJIYOSHI teaches wherein the point of interest is a region of interest (ROI), an event of interest (EOI), or an object type of interest (OTI) (fig. 4, 12).
Regarding claim 44 FUJIYOSHI, Gurevich teaches wherein the processing circuitry is further configured to: generate caption information about the point of interest, wherein the modified image data comprises the generated caption information (Gurevich: [0062]).
Claim(s) 43 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over FUJIYOSHI (US 20200391751) in view of Beste (US 20220260385) and further in view of Shahraray (US 20150145995).
Regarding claim 43 FUJIYOSHI is silent on share the modified image data to be displayed to a person other than the vehicle passenger.
However, Shahraray teaches share the modified image data to be displayed to a person other than the vehicle passenger ([0046] Referring now to FIG. 7).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skilled in the art to combine FUJIYOSHI in light of Shahraray teaching so that it may include share the modified image data to be displayed to a person other than the vehicle passenger.
The motivation is to provide network connectivity is used to share relevant visual and other sensory information between vehicles to maintain a safe distance from other cars, or the automatic application of brakes to avoid imminent collision.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims, 27-30, 32 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Beck US 20160167581 is a related prior art as it disclosed some elements of independent claim.
/TOWFIQ ELAHI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2625