Response to Amendment
The claim amendments filed 12/17/2025 were received and have been entered.
Claims 7, 10 and 11 have been amended. Claims 1-6 and 8-9 have been canceled. Claims 7 and 10-20 remain present in this application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 7 and 10-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Anderson et al. US 2010/0261526 in view of Schoessler et al. US 2010/0192486.
As to claim 7, Anderson teaches an input device comprising a casing (an input device includes a standard computer mouse, or a handle. See ¶ 71, and See also ¶75);
a 2D position tracking system housed in said casing and operable to track a 2D position of the input device relative to a surface (Par. 71, 382 explained a 2D mouse can be controlled by direct movements relative to a fixed point in space (like a standard computer mouse), controlled by direct movements relative to a fixed point in space (like a mechanical tracker, mechanically grounded to a table it is resting on, where it can only move within a limited workspace);
a control system housed in the casing coupled to said 2D positional tracking system configured to communicate said 2D position to a computing device;
(Par. 604, and 622 explained a 2D mouse including a tracking ball, encoder, optical sensor, or other tracking method can be used to track translational position of the 2D mouse attached to a Device while it is in contact with a surface such as a desk. The electrical connections for any input components on the 2D mouse can be made through connector pins inside the physical connector between the 2D mouse and the haptic Device. Alternately, wires or a wireless signal can be used to communicate input signals from a handle and a Device, computer, or other electronic circuit.);
"an attachment component coupled to said input device and configured to releasably mechanically couple the input device to a grounded force feedback device to receive haptic force feedback therefrom;"
(Figs 42, 45, par. 602-607 explained the 2D mouse or the game controller can be detached and reattached to the Haptic Device to provide various DOF force feedback );
"wherein said orientation sensor is further configured to track a three-dimensional position of said input device in addition to the orientation and communicate both the three-dimensional position and orientation to said computing device; and wherein said orientation sensor is an inertial measurement unit (IMU)"
(Par. 62, 77 and 604 explained the sensors measure orientation, acceleration, velocity, and position, and detect in its orientation come from inertia, angular acceleration, angular velocity, and angular position (orientation). The electrical connections for any input components on the 2D mouse or the game controller can be made through connector pins inside the physical connector between the 2D mouse or the game controller and the haptic Device. Alternately, wires or a wireless signal can be used to communicate input signals from a handle and a Device, computer, or other electronic circuit. Abstract explained controls of three dimensional input devices. Par. 60 explained the coordinate systems in the algorithms, whether they are relative to a Haptic Device, a User, a Character, a virtual world, or a virtual object, can be modified through scaling, rotating, skewing, or any other type of transform to give a desired effect. Algorithms can be implemented in differing coordinate systems to give different effects. Often the Y axis is in the up-down direction (+Y up), the X axis is in the right-left direction (+X right), and the Z axis is in the forwards-backwards direction (+Z backwards). ).
Anderson fails to teach "an orientation sensor housed in said casing and coupled to said control system, the orientation sensor operable to track an orientation in 3D space of the input device, and wherein said control system is further configured to communicate said orientation to said computing device."
Schoessler teaches one or more sensors 545 such as an accelerometer, gyroscopic sensor, an orientation sensor system, and an inertial measurement unit (IMU) are inside the multi-mode input device 500. See ¶118 and Fig 5D. The IO interface 535 includes one or more of a data input buttons, and a mode switch. The mode switch is configured to be engaged by the user to switch the multi-mode input device 500 from a first mode including a 2D mode, such as a computing mouse, as shown in FIG. 5B, and a second mode including a 3D mode, such as a controller, as shown in FIG. 5C. See ¶119, Fig 5C. The computer interface 540 includes a communication circuit configured to communicate orientation data and command data to an electronic device to which the multi-mode input device 500 is coupled to the electronic 101 (e.g. computing device as claimed) as shown in figure 1. See Schoessler ¶105, and ¶120. The processor is configured to enter a 3D input mode when the processor detects (e.g., via information from the position sensor) that the input device is in a second orientation. The 3D input mode is configured to provide 3D position data to the connected computer system. See Schoessler ¶ 5.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention (AIA ), to employ the orientation sensor system is the inertial measurement unit (IMU) taught by Schoessler in the input device of Anderson. As one of ordinary skill in the art, furthermore, would have known to employ the orientation sensor system is the inertial measurement unit (IMU) taught by Schoessler small enough to fit in the input device of Anderson. The motivation for doing so would have been to improve the user experience of computing mouse operation through VR representations of the device and finger/grip position, while reducing the number of required input devices, decreasing the need to switch devices, and also improving portability. Schoessler ¶108.
As to claim 10, Anderson teaches an input device comprising a casing (an input device includes a standard computer mouse, or a handle. See ¶ 71, and See also ¶75);
a 2D position tracking system housed in said casing and operable to track a 2D position of the input device relative to a surface (Par. 71, 382 explained a 2D mouse can be controlled by direct movements relative to a fixed point in space (like a standard computer mouse), controlled by direct movements relative to a fixed point in space (like a mechanical tracker, mechanically grounded to a table it is resting on, where it can only move within a limited workspace);
a control system housed in the casing coupled to said 2D positional tracking system configured to communicate said 2D position to a computing device;
(Par. 604, and 622 explained a 2D mouse including a tracking ball, encoder, optical sensor, or other tracking method can be used to track translational position of the 2D mouse attached to a Device while it is in contact with a surface such as a desk. The electrical connections for any input components on the 2D mouse can be made through connector pins inside the physical connector between the 2D mouse and the Device. Alternately, wires or a wireless signal can be used to communicate input signals from a handle and a Device improve, computer, or other electronic circuit.);
"an attachment component coupled to said input device and configured to releasably mechanically couple the input device to a grounded force feedback device to receive haptic force feedback therefrom"
(Figs 42, 45, par. 602-607 explained the 2D mouse or the game controller can be detached and reattached to the Haptic Device to provide various DOF force feedback );
"wherein said control system is configured to detect whether said attachment component is coupled to the force feedback device"
(Par. 602 explained handles can be created with a connector that can be quickly detached and reattached to a Device. The same connector can be placed on different types of handles with a matching coupling connect on a Device that can connect to all the different handles. A handle-Device connector can be connected by pressing the connector halves together followed by a twisting motion that can result in the connector halves locking together. The connector can be removed by again pressing the halves together followed by a twisting motion, generally in the opposite direction of the connecting twist, to unlock the halves so they can be pulled apart, as illustrated in FIG. 42.)
"wherein said control system is further configured to turn on said orientation sensor and communicate said orientation only upon the attachment component being coupled to the grounded force feedback device"
(Par. 604 and 608 explained turning on or applying current to the motor can resist the rotation of the motor post resisting the rotation of the handle, thus producing a variable rotational DOF force feedback).
Anderson fails to teach "an orientation sensor housed in said casing and coupled to said control system, the orientation sensor operable to track an orientation in 3D space of the input device, and wherein said control system is further configured to communicate said orientation to said computing device."
Schoessler teaches one or more sensors 545 such as an accelerometer, gyroscopic sensor, an orientation sensor system, and an inertial measurement unit (IMU) are inside the multi-mode input device 500. See ¶118 and Fig 5D. The IO interface 535 includes one or more of a data input buttons, and a mode switch. The mode switch is configured to be engaged by the user to switch the multi-mode input device 500 from a first mode including a 2D mode, such as a computing mouse, as shown in FIG. 5B, and a second mode including a 3D mode, such as a controller, as shown in FIG. 5C. See ¶119, Fig 5C. The computer interface 540 includes a communication circuit configured to communicate orientation data and command data to an electronic device to which the multi-mode input device 500 is coupled to the electronic 101 (e.g. computing device as claimed) as shown in figure 1. See Schoessler ¶105, and ¶120. The processor is configured to enter a 3D input mode when the processor detects (e.g., via information from the position sensor) that the input device is in a second orientation. The 3D input mode is configured to provide 3D position data to the connected computer system. See Schoessler ¶ 5.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention (AIA ), to employ the orientation sensor system is the inertial measurement unit (IMU) taught by Schoessler in the input device of Anderson. As one of ordinary skill in the art, furthermore, would have known to employ the orientation sensor system is the inertial measurement unit (IMU) taught by Schoessler small enough to fit in the input device of Anderson. The motivation for doing so would have been to improve the user experience of computing mouse operation through VR representations of the device and finger/grip position, while reducing the number of required input devices, decreasing the need to switch devices, and also improving portability. Schoessler ¶108.
As to claim 11, Anderson teaches a method for providing input to a computing device, the method comprising the steps of: (an input device includes a standard computer mouse, or a handle connected to the computer device. See ¶ 71, and See also ¶75);
upon said processor detecting that the input device is not coupled to the grounded force feedback device, tracking, by the processor via a two-dimension (2D) position tracking system, a 2D position of said input device along a surface;
(Par. 71, 382 explained a 2D mouse can be controlled by direct movements relative to a fixed point in space (like a standard computer mouse), controlled by direct movements relative to a fixed point in space (like a mechanical tracker, mechanically grounded to a table it is resting on, where it can only move within a limited workspace); Par. 604, and 622 explained a 2D mouse including a tracking ball, encoder, optical sensor, or other tracking method can be used to track translational position of the 2D mouse attached to a Device while it is in contact with a surface such as a desk. The electrical connections for any input components on the 2D mouse can be made through connector pins inside the physical connector between the 2D mouse and the Device. Alternately, wires or a wireless signal can be used to communicate input signals from a handle and a Device improve, computer, or other electronic circuit.);
"detecting, by a processor, whether an input device is mechanically coupled to a grounded force feedback device"
(Figs 42, 45, par. 602-607 explained the 2D mouse or the game controller can be detached and reattached to the Haptic Device to provide various DOF force feedback);
"upon said processor detecting that the input device is coupled to the force feedback device, tracking by the processor an orientation and a position of said input device in three-dimensional (3D) space."
(Par. 62, 77 and 604 explained the sensors measure orientation, acceleration, velocity, and position, and detect in its orientation come from inertia, angular acceleration, angular velocity, and angular position (orientation). The electrical connections for any input components on the 2D mouse or the game controller can be made through connector pins inside the physical connector between the 2D mouse or the game controller and the haptic Device. Alternately, wires or a wireless signal can be used to communicate input signals from a handle and a Device, computer, or other electronic circuit. Abstract explained controls of three dimensional input devices. Par. 60 explained the coordinate systems in the algorithms, whether they are relative to a Haptic Device, a User, a Character, a virtual world, or a virtual object, can be modified through scaling, rotating, skewing, or any other type of transform to give a desired effect. Algorithms can be implemented in differing coordinate systems to give different effects. Often the Y axis is in the up-down direction (+Y up), the X axis is in the right-left direction (+X right), and the Z axis is in the forwards-backwards direction (+Z backwards). ).
Anderson fails to teach "an orientation sensor housed in said casing and coupled to said control system, the orientation sensor operable to track an orientation in 3D space of the input device, and wherein said control system is further configured to communicate said orientation to said computing device."
Schoessler teaches one or more sensors 545 such as an accelerometer, gyroscopic sensor, an orientation sensor system, and an inertial measurement unit (IMU) are inside the multi-mode input device 500. See ¶118 and Fig 5D. The IO interface 535 includes one or more of a data input buttons, and a mode switch. The mode switch is configured to be engaged by the user to switch the multi-mode input device 500 from a first mode including a 2D mode, such as a computing mouse, as shown in FIG. 5B, and a second mode including a 3D mode, such as a controller, as shown in FIG. 5C. See ¶119, Fig 5C. The computer interface 540 includes a communication circuit configured to communicate orientation data and command data to an electronic device to which the multi-mode input device 500 is coupled to the electronic 101 (e.g. computing device as claimed) as shown in figure 1. See Schoessler ¶105, and ¶120. The processor is configured to enter a 3D input mode when the processor detects (e.g., via information from the position sensor) that the input device is in a second orientation. The 3D input mode is configured to provide 3D position data to the connected computer system. See Schoessler ¶ 5.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention (AIA ), to employ the orientation sensor system is the inertial measurement unit (IMU) taught by Schoessler in the input device of Anderson. As one of ordinary skill in the art, furthermore, would have known to employ the orientation sensor system is the inertial measurement unit (IMU) taught by Schoessler small enough to fit in the input device of Anderson. The motivation for doing so would have been to improve the user experience of computing mouse operation through VR representations of the device and finger/grip position, while reducing the number of required input devices, decreasing the need to switch devices, and also improving portability. Schoessler ¶108.
As to claim 12, Anderson as modified by Schoessler teaches method of claim 11, wherein said orientation is communicated by an orientation sensor of the input device. (A 3D input device 405b is configured to be held by an operator, such as away from a surface of a desk, table, or other suitable flat and substantially horizontal surface. The 3D input device 405b is able to track certain objects through at least three-degrees of freedom (3DOF). The 3D input device 405b includes sensors which track 3 or more degrees of freedom (DOF), such as 6DOF, typically orientation. See Schoessler ¶104.)
As to claim 13, Anderson as modified by Schoessler teaches the method of claim 12, wherein said position in 3D space is communicated to the processor by the input device. ( A system and method for a hybrid multimode input device includes a multimode input device capable of a three-dimensional (3D) mode of operation. The device includes a three-dimensional (3D) position sensor, and a processor. The processor is configured to enter a 3D input mode when the processor detects that the input device is in a first orientation. Schoessler Abstract. As shown in FIG. 10C, the user operates the multi-mode input device 500 in 3D space. That is, the multi-mode input device 500 can be moved about in the air. By moving the multi-mode input device 500 through space, the multi-mode input device 500 provides 3D input to the computing device. See Schoessler ¶ 137).
As to claim 14, Anderson teaches method of claim 12, wherein said 3D position is communicated to the processor by the force feedback device. (Par. 131 explained the game controller with 3D force feedback, balancing can be accomplished by measuring a distance from the Cursor to a point in space, and having that distance along any axis control the position, velocity, or acceleration along an axis of a Character or object. A spring force can be applied to the Cursor pulling it to the point in space, so that a User has a feel associated with what happens either graphically or in an underlying simulation. As a Character begins to fall graphically, a User can see it and push the Cursor in a direction opposite the direction the Character is falling to regain balance. The User can feel forces applied to the Cursor representative of falling, such as a vibration, a force in the direction of falling or in the opposite direction, and push against or with those forces, feeling the changes in balance as the Character is controlled. ).
As to claim 15, Anderson teaches method of claim 11, wherein upon said processor detecting that the input device is coupled to the force feedback device, further communicating said 3D position and orientation to the grounded force feedback device. (Par. 341 explained the motion of flying can match the motion the motions of a Device. Each DOF of a Device can control a DOF of a flying Character, Cursor, or object. For example, a Device that has 6 DOF position tracking, such as X,Y, and Z axes, plus roll, pitch, and yaw control, can control up to 6 DOF positioning of a Character, Cursor, or object by matching the motion of the Device. For example, while flying in 3D space, changing the pitch of the Device can change proportionately change the pitch of a Cursor, Character, or object under control of the User. Abstract explained controls of three dimensional input devices. Par. 60 explained the coordinate systems in the algorithms, whether they are relative to a Haptic Device, a User, a Character, a virtual world, or a virtual object, can be modified through scaling, rotating, skewing, or any other type of transform to give a desired effect. Algorithms can be implemented in differing coordinate systems to give different effects. Often the Y axis is in the up-down direction (+Y up), the X axis is in the right-left direction (+X right), and the Z axis is in the forwards-backwards direction (+Z backwards). ).
As to claim 16, Anderson teaches method of claim 11, wherein said detecting is done by: receiving a signal that the input device is coupled or not coupled to the grounded force feedback device. (See [0608] A handle can be connected to, and freely rotate around a connector that directly attaches to a Device. A motor can be connected to either the connector or the handle such that the handle can still freely rotate about the connector. The motor can either directly connect the handle and the connector, or a wire or other type of cable can connect the handle and connector by wrapping around the motor or otherwise connecting to the motor. For example, the base of a motor can be attached to the connector between the Device and the handle. While the handle is attached and can rotate about the connector, two ends of a cable can be connected to the inside of the handle, with the cable wrapping around the post of the motor. Turning the handle without any current applied to the motor allows for free rotation of the motor post and the handle. Turning on or applying current to the motor can resist the rotation of the motor post resisting the rotation of the handle, thus producing a variable rotational DOF force feedback. )
As to claim 17, Anderson teaches method of claim 16, wherein said signal is sent by the input device to the processor upon a user interacting with an input element of said input device (button, see ¶92, Fig 11).
As to claim 18, Anderson teaches method of claim 11, wherein said input device comprises an attachment component for releasably mechanically coupling the input device to the grounded force feedback device (detached and unlock, see ¶602-¶603).
As to claim 19, Anderson teaches method of claim 18, wherein the attachment component comprises an elongated member projecting outwardly from the input device and having a coupling portion at the distal end thereof for releasably coupling with the grounded haptic force feedback device (ball joint, see ¶612-¶613)
As to claim 20, Anderson teaches method of claim 18, wherein the input device is configured to automatically detect the attachment component being coupled to the grounded force feedback device and communicate said detection to the processor.
( See ¶602-¶604: [0602] Handles or end effectors can be created with a connector that can be quickly detached and reattached to a Device. The same connector can be placed on different types of handles with a matching coupling connect on a Device that can connect to all the different handles. A handle-Device connector can be connected by pressing the connector halves together followed by a twisting motion that can result in the connector halves locking together. The connector can be removed by again pressing the halves together followed by a twisting motion, generally in the opposite direction of the connecting twist, to unlock the halves so they can be pulled apart, as illustrated in FIG. 42.
[0603] A connector can snap together by pressing the two connector halves together. The halves can snap together after a threshold applied force is reached. A spring loaded button, or other movable object can be pressed to release the halves. Pressing a button can create a mechanical movement inside the connector to unlock the connector, and allow the two halves of the connector to be pulled apart. Applying a threshold force in the opposite of different direction as the force used to snap the halves together can result in the halves snapping apart.
[0604] The electrical connections for any input components on the handle, such as buttons, can be made through connector pins inside the physical connector between the handle and the Device. Alternately, wires or a wireless signal can be used to communicate input signals from a handle and a Device, computer, or other electronic circuit. )
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
KEVIN M NGUYEN
Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2628
/Kevin M Nguyen/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2628