DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Claim 17 is withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 3/11/2026.
Specification
Applicant is reminded of the proper language and format for an abstract of the disclosure.
The abstract should be in narrative form and generally limited to a single paragraph on a separate sheet within the range of 50 to 150 words in length. The abstract should describe the disclosure sufficiently to assist readers in deciding whether there is a need for consulting the full patent text for details.
The language should be clear and concise and should not repeat information given in the title. It should avoid using phrases which can be implied, such as, “The disclosure concerns,” “The disclosure defined by this invention,” “The disclosure describes,” etc. In addition, the form and legal phraseology often used in patent claims, such as “means” and “said,” should be avoided.
The abstract of the disclosure is objected to because it significantly exceeds 150 words and is not a concise statement of the technical disclosure of the patent in narrative form. Rather, the abstract is merely a reproduction of original claim 1. A corrected abstract of the disclosure is required and must be presented on a separate sheet, apart from any other text. See MPEP § 608.01(b).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-16, 19, and 21-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
Claim 1 recite(s):
receiving a plurality of sets of image data collected by one or more satellites in orbit around Earth, wherein each set of image data corresponds to a respective synthetic aperture radar image of an area on Earth that includes the storage container;
grouping the plurality of sets of image data into one or more groups based on one or both of a direction of travel and/or a look direction of the respective satellite that collected the set of image data; and
for each of the one or more groups:
geometrically aligning at least two of the sets of image data within the group to define a stack of aligned image data; identifying, in the stack of aligned image data a feature corresponding to a point on a bottom edge of the storage container;
geometrically aligning another set of image data from amongst the plurality of sets of image data with the stack of aligned image data;
identifying, in the another set of image data, a feature corresponding to a point on the lid; and
determining, based on the identified features, an estimate of a height of the lid relative to the bottom edge of the storage container.
Claim 19 recites corresponding steps in the form of computer functions.
Analysis
Step 2A, Prong One
This part of the eligibility analysis evaluates whether the claim recites a judicial exception. As explained in MPEP 2106.04, subsection II, a claim “recites” a judicial exception when the judicial exception is “set forth” or “described” in the claim.
The steps of grouping, aligning, identifying, and determining encompass mental observations or evaluations, performable by a human in the mind or via pen and paper.
Thus, the claims recite mental processes, which are recognized abstract ideas.
Step 2A, Prong Two
This part of the eligibility analysis evaluates whether the claim as a whole integrates the recited judicial exception into a practical application of the exception. This evaluation is performed by (1) identifying whether there are any additional elements recited in the claim beyond the judicial exception, and (2) evaluating those additional elements individually and in combination to determine whether the claim as a whole integrates the exception into a practical application. See MPEP 2106.04(d).
Claims 1 and 19 recite an additional element of “receiving a plurality of sets of image data collected by one or more satellites in orbit around Earth, wherein each set of image data corresponds to a respective synthetic aperture radar image of an area on Earth that includes the storage container”.
This step is recited at a high level of generality and amounts to mere data gathering. It is necessary to acquire the data in order to use the recited judicial exception to perform the estimation. The step represents insignificant extra-solution activity and does not integrate the exception into a practical application.
While claim 1 lacks any particular structural elements, claim 19 indicates the instructions cause a computer to perform the steps.
When determining whether a claim simply recites a judicial exception with the words “apply it” (or an equivalent), such as mere instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer, examiners may consider: (1) whether the claim recites only the idea of a solution or outcome i.e., the claim fails to recite details of how a solution to a problem is accomplished; (2) whether the claim invokes computers or other machinery merely as a tool to perform an existing process; and (3) the particularity or generality of the application of the judicial exception. See MPEP 2106.05(f). Here, the computer generally applies the abstract idea (i.e., perform the mental process) without placing any limitation on how the processor operates. The claim invokes generic computer elements as a tool for performing the recited idea rather than purporting to improve the technology or a computer. See MPEP 2106.05(f). Therefore, the limitation represents no more than mere instructions to apply the judicial exception on a computer and does not integrate the exception into a practical application of the exception.
Step 2B:
A conclusion that an additional element is insignificant extra-solution activity in Step 2A should be re-evaluated in Step 2B. See MPEP 2106.05, subsection I.A. At Step 2B, the re-evaluation of the insignificant extra-solution activity consideration takes into account whether or not the extra-solution activity is well understood, routine, and conventional in the field. See MPEP 2106.05(g).
Here, the step of receiving a plurality of sets of image data is mere data gathering that is recited at a high level of generality, and as shown in the disclosure, is well-understood (e.g. WO2022/058402, US 2018/0336693 Abstracts). Therefore, this limitation remains insignificant extra-solution activity even upon reconsideration and does not amount to significantly more.
At Step 2A, Prong Two, the computer was found to represent no more than mere instructions to apply the judicial exception on a computer using generic computer components. The analysis under Step 2A, Prong Two is carried through to Step 2B.
Even when considered in combination, these additional elements represent mere instructions to apply an exception and insignificant extra-solution activity, and therefore the claimed invention of claims 1 and 19 is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
Claim 2 adds a step of combining determined estimates of the height of the lid which is a mental process and does not introduce any additional elements.
Claims 3-5 and 21-22 add additional image data reception and additional iterations of the steps of claims 1 and 19 accordingly, which as set forth above does not integrate the exception into a practical application or amount to significantly more than the idea.
Claim 3 also adds a step of applying interferometric analysis between sets of image data which is a mental process and does not introduce any additional elements.
Claim 6 adds a step of combining determined estimates which is a mental process and does not introduce any additional elements.
Concerning claims 7-16, the claims further detail the steps of claims 1 and 3 and do not introduce any additional elements.
Claims 19, 21, and 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to non-statutory subject matter. The claim(s) does/do not fall within at least one of the four categories of patent eligible subject matter because the claims are directed to a “computer storable medium”, which includes both transitory and non-transitory embodiments. Transitory embodiments (e.g. signals) are not patent eligible under 35 U.S.C. 101. Amendment is suggested to specify a “non-transitory computer readable medium having instructions stored thereon which, when executed by a computer cause the computer to:..."
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 5-6 and 11-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 5 requires a step of “grouping the plurality of further sets of image data into one or more groups” at line 6, and later references “the one or more groups…” at line 9. However, claim 1, on which claim 5 depends previously introduces “one or more groups at line 6: “grouping the plurality of sets of image data into one or more groups”. It is not clear as to whether the line 9 reference in claim 5 refers to the groups introduced in claim 5, the groups introduced in claim 1, or both sets of groups.
Similarly, claim 5 at line 10 refers to “the sets of image data”. It is not clear if this reference is to the sets of image data received in claim 5, the sets received in claim 1, or both.
Claim 6 depends on claim 5 and is likewise indefinite.
Claims 11 and 12 reference “the identified feature”. However, in claim 1, upon which claims 11 and 12 depend, two different features are identified: “a feature corresponding to a point on a bottom edge of the storage container” at lines 12-13 and . “a feature corresponding to a point on the lid” at line 16. It is not clear which “the identified feature” refers to.
Claim 22 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends.
Claim 22 is dependent on claim 21, which is in turn dependent on claim 19. All of the limitations of claim 22 are set forth in claim 19 (and therefore are required by claim 21). Claim 22 therefore fails to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends. Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-6, 11-13, 15-16, 19, and 21-22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Villamil Lopez (WO 2022/058402).
Regarding claim 1, Villamil Lopez discloses a method of monitoring a stored volume of a fluid in a storage container having a lid resting on a surface of the fluid stored, the method comprising:
receiving a plurality of sets of image data collected by one or more satellites in orbit around Earth, wherein each set of image data corresponds to a respective synthetic aperture radar image of an area on Earth that includes the storage container (Abstract; translation page 5, page middle: “in addition, a large number of radar images are generated for different points in time, the proposed method can synergistically bundle their information content in order to improve the accuracy of all radar images and the overall robustness of the method, instead of only generating individual radar images that are technically independent of one another in principle);
grouping the plurality of sets of image data into one or more groups based on one or both of a direction of travel and/or a look direction of the respective satellite that collected the set of image data and for each of the one or more groups: geometrically aligning at least two of the sets of image data within the group to define a stack of aligned image data (translation page 6, final paragraph: “this is done by analyzing a cross-correlation of the moving point scatterers in the processed radar images for different points in time (and in general movements of the point scatterers) along a range axis”; “range axis” is based on the look angle of a SAR); and
identifying, in the stack of aligned image data a feature corresponding to a point on a bottom edge of the storage container (“first semicircle” (11));
geometrically aligning another set of image data from amongst the plurality of sets of image data with the stack of aligned image data (translation page 7, middle: “If the method steps are repeated at at least two different times in order to track a change in the fill level of the oil tank, the following procedure is preferably used:)”;
identifying, in the another set of image data, a feature corresponding to a point on the lid (“second semicircle 12”); and
determining, based on the identified features, an estimate of a height of the lid relative to the bottom edge of the storage container (translation page 7, middle: “The estimation of the initial absolute height of the floating roof is preferably determined using several, in particular all, radar images of the different points in time, in particular by determining the respective semicircle from the respective double reflection in each of the radar images, and then the change determined for the previous point in time”).
Concerning claim 19, Villamil Lopez implicitly teaches a computer readable storage medium comprising instructions for the method according to claim 1, as a computing unit (5) is disclosed by Villamil Lopez for performing the method.
Regarding claim 2, Villamil Lopez discloses combining estimates of the height of the lid to obtain an overall determination as claimed (translation page 7, top paragraph: “with multiple equating of displacements of the floating roof recorded at non-consecutive points in time with the sum of all recorded displacements of the floating roof between the points in time considered overdetermined system of equations is generated in order to determine a displacement of the floating roof over a predetermined period of time”).
Regarding claims 3-4 and 21-22, Villamil Lopez discloses repeated “further sets” of image data (images) corresponding to the container location as shown above including identification of points on the lid as indicated above. Villamil Lopez further discloses the interferometric analysis to determine if the height of the lid relative to the bottom edge has changed (Translation page 6, middle: “A high interferometric coherence of a point scatterer assumed to be remaining indicates no movement of the same point scatterer, a low interferometric coherence indicates a change in the point scatterer”).
Regarding claims 5-6, the claims introduce no new steps but instead require repetition of the steps of claims 1-2. As shown above, Villamil Lopez discloses such repetition to monitor changes. See also Villamil Lopez claim 9.
Regarding claims 11 and 12, Villamil Lopez discloses the identified feature is comprised of pixels having a “stronger signal” than those surrounding (i.e. “bright spots” (translation page 3, bottom paragraph).
Regarding claim 13, Villamil Lopez discloses determining an amount of change in the height of the lid based on the interferometric analysis (translation page 6, penultimate paragraph: “Point spreaders are separated from one another, and the change in the fill level of the oil tank is determined from the change in height of the point spreaders, which are variable in their location over time”).
Regarding claims 15 and 16, Villamil Lopez discloses identifying in the sets of image data one or more storage containers in the respective area and performing the identifying of features, determining of the height of the corresponding lid, and identifying lid height changes between sets of data for each (translation page 3, penultimate paragraph: “the position of the oil tanks can be determined in a first pass of a radar-assisted imaging of the satellite using a synthetic aperture method, preferably by image recognition or other automated methods of artificial intelligence”).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Villamil Lopez as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Imaizumi et al. (US 2024/0427012).
Villamil Lopez does not discuss ascending and descending orbit and therefore does not disclose grouping the image data by assigning images collected by a satellite in ascending and descending orbit into different respective groups. Imaizumi discloses a synthetic aperture technique where a radar equipped satellite observes points on the earth from two directions of a north-bound (ascending) trajectory and a south-bound (descending) trajectory, the data being grouped together (e.g. [0033]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the application was filed with a reasonable expectation of success to modify the method of Villamil Lopez to receive sets of image data from both ascending and descending orbits, differently grouping the sets for processing so that opposite sides of the containers may be observed (e.g. Imaizumi Figure 4) to account for tilt of the lid.
Claim(s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Villamil Lopez as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Villamil Lopez et al. (“Monitoring of Oil Tank Filling With Spaceborne SAR Using Coherent Scatters”).
Villamil Lopez is not found to indicate the math for determining the height of the lid relative to the bottom edge and therefore does not specify that this comprises determining a height of the lid based on the distance between the feature corresponding to the bottom edge of the storage container and the feature corresponding to the lid and a look angle from which the satellite collects the corresponding image data. However in clearly related work, Villamil Lopez et al. specifies this determination (page 5641, equation 4). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the application was filed with a reasonable expectation of success to implement the determining of the lid height in Villamil Lopez via the equation provided in Villamil Lopez et al. in order to obtain robust and accurate estimates (page 5654, conclusion).
Claim(s) 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Villamil Lopez as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Sanjuan-Ferrer (“A New Detection Algorithm for Coherent Scatterers in SAR Data”).
Villamil Lopez is not found to specify a resolution, but does indicate high resolution is desired and makes reference to Sanjuan-Ferrer (translation page 4, top paragraph). Sanjuan-Ferrer discloses a SAR having resolution of up to a few centimeters (Introduction). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the application was filed to use high resolution SAR such that the height of the lid may be determined with high resolution as is desired by Villamil Lopez on the order of centimeters for the conventional advantage of providing accurate identification as identified by Sanjuan-Ferrer (Introduction), yielding predictable results.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. The cited prior art show various methodologies of monitoring a volume of fluid in a floating roof tank using radar.
/MATTHEW M BARKER/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3646