DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 02/26/2025 and 08/12/2026 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Status of Claims
Claims 1-10 are pending in this application.
Oath/Declaration
The receipt of Oath/Declaration is acknowledged.
Drawings
5. The receipt of Drawings is acknowledged.
Claim Interpretation
8. This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier.
Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
a code reading unit that reads code data from an information code in claim 1 (See Applicant’s. Spec. Para. [0018], Applicant’s Dwg. Fig. 1, Code Reader 50).
a storage unit that stores a code template that defines a position of information indicating a print target in the code data and a print position of the print target with respect to a printing object, the code template being used in analysis of the code data in claim 1 (See Applicant’s. Spec. Para. [0012], Applicant’s Dwg. Fig. 1, HDD 31).
a control unit that creates print data for printing the print target on the print position based on the code data and the code template corresponding to the code data in claim 1 (See Applicant’s. Spec. Para. [0072] and [0092]-[0121], Applicant’s Dwg. Fig. 2, Adjustment Portion 8d of CPU 80).
Allowable Subject Matter
11. Claims 2-3 and 7-9 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
12. The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding Claim 2:
The prior art(s) searched, cited and/or of record fails to explicitly teach, disclose or suggest the teaching(s) of:
“the inkjet recording device according to claim 1,
wherein,
the code template includes:
delimiter information to identify a block, the block being a character position
range where a print content indicating the print target in the code data or registered character identification information of a registered character is present;
an input format in which input format identification information, identification
information of the block in the code data, a print item indicating a print position of the print content or a registered character corresponding to the registered character identification information that is present in the block, a registered character identification information storage area storing the registered character identification information, and an information storage area storing the print content or the registered character corresponding to the registered character identification information that is present in the block are associated with.”
Regarding Claim 3:
The prior art(s) searched, cited and/or of record fails to explicitly teach, disclose or suggest the teaching(s) of:
“the inkjet recording device according to claim 2,
wherein,
the control unit is configured to:
store, based on results of analyzing the code data using the delimiter information,
the print content present in the block or the registered character identification information present in the block and the registered character corresponding to the registered character identification information in the code template, to thereby create an information stored code template; and
create the print data based on the information stored code template.”
Regarding Claim 7:
The prior art(s) searched, cited and/or of record fails to explicitly teach, disclose or suggest the teaching(s) of:
“the inkjet recording device according to claim 3,
wherein,
the control unit is configured to:
identify the block of the code data based on the code template; and
store the information from a start position of the identified block to the position
immediately before the delimiter information in the code template as the print content or the registered character identification information.”
Regarding Claim 8:
The prior art(s) searched, cited and/or of record fails to explicitly teach, disclose or suggest the teaching(s) of:
“the inkjet recording device according to claim 3,
wherein,
the delimiter information includes a delimiter symbol and an end symbol; and
the control unit is configured to:
identify the block of the code data based on the code template;
store the information from a start position of the identified block to a position immediately before the delimiter symbol or a position immediately before the end symbol in the code template as the print content or the registered character identification information;
thereafter, when the delimiter symbol is present at the position immediately after the last position of the identified block, specify the next block;
execute process for storing the information from a start position of the identified block to a position immediately before the delimiter symbol or a position immediately before the end symbol in the code template as the print content or the registered character identification information;
when the end symbol is present at a position immediately after the last character position of the identified block, terminate the analysis of the code data; and
use the code template with the information at a time of termination as the information stored code template.”
Regarding Claim 9:
The prior art(s) searched, cited and/or of record fails to explicitly teach, disclose or suggest the teaching(s) of:
“the inkjet recording device according to claim 3,
wherein,
the control unit is configured to:
call up, when a variety number is registered in the information stored code
template after the analysis of the code data is completed, a print setting data corresponding to the variety number; and
create the print data based on the information stored code template and the print
setting data.”
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 4-6 and 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Saino (US PG. Pub. 2008/0278778 A1).
Referring to Claim 1, Saino teaches an inkjet recording device (See Saino, Figs. 1 and 7, MFP 100 and Code Reading Device) comprising:
a code reading unit (See Saino, Fig. 7, Identifiation Information Reading Unit
1004) that reads code data from an information code (See Saino, Sect. [0113], An identification information reading unit 1004 extracts and decodes a QR code from the digital image data obtained by scanning.);
a storage unit that stores (See Saino, Fig. 1, The hard disk 107) a code
template that defines a position of information indicating a print target in the code data and a print position of the print target with respect to a printing object (See Saino, Sect. [0098], The hard disk 107 saves an identification information table which associates the identification information with the storage location of a template set. The identification information table associates the identification information with the storage location of a template set in one-to-one correspondence. The identification information associated with the storage location of the template set used in generation of the document is appended to the document in the identification information appending processing in step S414.), the code template being used in analysis of the code data ();
a control unit (See Saino, Fig. 1, CPU 101) that creates print data for printing the
print target on the print position based on the code data and the code template corresponding to the code data (See Saino, Sect. [0102], the CPU 101 executes processing for inserting the identification information into the document, the identification information expressed by a numerical value inserted into the document as a QR code. The QR code is one type of two-dimensional barcodes obtained by encoding information, and developing the encoded information in the vertical and horizontal directions. A predetermined QR code reader decodes the QR code to acquire embedded information.).
Referring to Claim 4, Saino teaches the inkjet recording device according to claim 1 (See Saino, Figs. 1 and 7, MFP 100 and Code Reading Device),
wherein,
the code template further includes code template identification information to identify the code template (See Saino, Sect. [0053] lines 1-2, The template set includes property information 220, template data 201, and data retrieval instruction information 202.);
the control unit (See Saino, Fig. 1, CPU 101) is configured to:
acquire the code template corresponding to the code template identification
information from the storage unit based on the code template identification information included in the code data (See Saino, Sect. [0127], In step S1105, the document generation information acquisition unit 1006 accesses the storage location (storage unit) of the template set retrieved by the document generation information search unit 1005 to acquire a template set used in document generation. When the storage location information of the template set is "file:///C:/doc/template1.zip", a "template1.zip" file saved in the designated directory of the hard disk 107 of the MFP is acquired.); and
create the print data by using the acquired code template (See Saino, Sect.
[0116], A document generation unit 1011 generates a document using the template set.).
Referring to Claim 5, Saino teaches the inkjet recording device according to claim 1 (See Saino, Figs. 1 and 7, MFP 100 and Code Reading Device),
wherein,
the control unit (See Saino, Fig. 1, CPU 101) is configured to:
create the code template based on the code template information for creating the
code template (See Saino, Sect. [0130], The document generation unit 1011 extracts data retrieval instruction information and template data used in document generation from the passed template set. The document generation unit 1011 passes the data retrieval instruction information to the content data retrieval unit 1007 to instruct it to retrieve content data. The document generation unit 1011 passes the template data to the merge unit 1008 to instruct it to merge the template data and content data.); and
register the code template in the storage unit (See Saino, Sect. [0108], a
generated QR code may be registered in the identification information table together with the identification information in the storage location information of the template set. Upon generation of a QR code using the storage location information of the template set as identification information as well, that QR code may be registered in the table in association with the storage location information of the template set.).
Referring to Claim 6, Saino teaches the inkjet recording device according to claim 5 (See Saino, Figs. 1 and 7, MFP 100 and Code Reading Device),
wherein,
the control unit (See Saino, Fig. 1, CPU 101) is configured to:
read the code template information from an external source (See Saino, Sect.
[0146], the MFP may read identification information appended as property information of the digital document by interpreting the digital document. In this case, input of a digital document having identification information is implemented by a method of sending such document from an external computer to the MFP, a method of retrieving that document from an external server), and
create the code template by using the code template information read from the
external source (See Saino, Sect. [0074], the list of template sets, and that of the pieces of information associated with the saving destinations of generated documents may be stored in the external file server 109, and may be retrieved by the network adapter 104 via the network 105.).
Referring to Claim 10, Saino teaches the inkjet recording device according to claim 1 (See Saino, Figs. 1 and 7, MFP 100 and Code Reading Device),
wherein,
the information code is attached to the printing object (See Saino, Sect. [0106], in step S704 the CPU 101 generates a QR code indicating the identification information, and inserts the generated QR code into the document.).
Cited Art
16. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure Kitamura et al. (US PG. PUB. No. 2017/0155777 A1) discloses a method autonomously represents an acquisition of an electronic document file from a request destination on behalf of a requestor. The method includes: configuring a request specification corresponding to input received from the requestor, the request specification including at least one electronic-document file request destination, a requested item specifying electronic-document file content, and storage location information indicating an electronic-document file storage location in a storage unit; creating a request communication file including content signifying that submission of an electronic document file prepared based on the requested item is requested of the at least one request destination; and transmitting the created request communication file to the request destination, monitoring response from the request destination to the transmission, and storing the electronic document file submitted from the request destination in the storage unit, based on the storage location information.
Conclusion
/DARRYL V DOTTIN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2683
/DARRYL V DOTTIN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2683