DETAILED ACTION
This office action is in response to the application filed on 2/26/25.
Inventorship
Specification
The specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant's cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2, 4-15, 17 and 20, 21, 23 and 24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Bright et al. (US20130096008, hereinafter Bright).
Regarding Claim 1, Bright discloses (fig. 7, 8a, 8b) a device for inducing a current flow in a load, comprising: a rotor (710) which comprises at least one magnetic field generator configured to rotate with the rotor, wherein the at least one magnetic field generator generates a magnetic field (¶71), and one or more lengths of superconducting material arranged to provide an induction coil (740, 742), a switch (721), and two or more output terminals configured to connect to the load in use, the two or more output terminals being electrically connected in parallel with the switch (second end of 734 including connection zone 716), wherein rotation of the rotor moves the at least one magnetic field generator relative to the induction coil and switch (¶71), such that: the magnetic field is periodically applied to the induction coil to induce a current flow in the induction coil, at least part of the current flow being configured to flow through the switch (740, 724, ¶71), and the magnetic field is periodically applied to the switch and reduces a critical current of the superconducting material within the switch, such that the magnetic field and the current flow within the switch cause the switch to transition from a low-resistance state to a higher-resistance state (¶6).
Regarding Claim 2, Bright discloses (fig. 7, 8a, 8b) a device for inducing a current flow in a load, comprising: a rotor (710) which comprises at least one magnetic field generator configured to rotate with the rotor, wherein the at least one magnetic field generator generates a magnetic field (¶71), and a stator (744), wherein the stator is provided with one or more lengths of superconducting material arranged to provide an induction coil (740, 742), and a switch (721), and two or more output terminals configured to connect to the load in use, the two or more output terminals being electrically connected in parallel with the switch (second end of 734 including connection zone 716), wherein in use the rotor is configured to rotate relative to the stator, and the at least one magnetic field generator is configured to periodically apply the magnetic field: to the induction coil to induce a current flow in the induction coil (¶71), and to the switch to transition the switch between a low-resistance state and a higher-resistance state for a given current flow within the switch (¶6).
Regarding Claim 4, Bright discloses the magnetic field generated by the magnetic field generator is applied to the switch such that a component of the magnetic field is applied in a direction perpendicular to a surface of the switch (fig. 7, 8a, 8b).
Regarding Claim 5, Bright discloses (fig. 7, 8a, 8b) the rotor comprises a drive shaft, and wherein the longitudinal axis of the drive shaft defines a rotational axis about which the rotor rotates in use (¶71).
Regarding Claim 6, Bright discloses the at least one magnetic field generator is positioned radially outwardly of the rotational axis (fig. 7, 8a, 8b).
Regarding Claim 7, Bright discloses (fig. 7, 8a, 8b) the rotor is configured to provide a high magnetic permeability pathway for the magnetic field generated by the magnetic field generator (¶71).
Regarding Claim 8, Bright discloses (fig. 7, 8a, 8b) the rotor comprises a ferromagnetic material (738, ¶71).
Regarding Claim 9, Bright discloses the rotor comprises a plurality of magnetic field generators (fig. 7, 8a, 8b).
Regarding Claim 10, Bright discloses each of the plurality of magnetic field generators are positioned at substantially the same radial distance from a rotational axis of the rotor as each other (fig. 7, 8a, 8b).
Regarding Claim 11, Bright discloses the plurality of magnetic field generators are substantially evenly distributed around the rotational axis, such that the angle between each of the plurality of magnetic field generators is substantially the same, when measured relative to the rotational axis. (fig. 7, 8a, 8b)
Regarding Claim 13, Bright discloses the at least one magnetic field generator is positioned on a side of the rotor which is closest to the induction coil, and switch (fig. 7, 8a, 8b).
Regarding Claim 14, Bright discloses the induction coil, switch and two or more output terminals are provided on a stator (fig. 7, 8a, 8b).
Regarding Claim 15, Bright discloses (fig. 7, 8a, 8b) the stator is configured to provide a high magnetic permeability pathway for the magnetic field generated by the magnetic field generator (¶71).
Regarding Claim 17, Bright discloses (fig. 7, 8a, 8b) the switch is positioned between approximately 167 and approximately 193 degrees relative to the induction coil, when measured about a rotational axis of the rotor.
Regarding Claim 20, Bright discloses (fig. 6a, 6b) the magnetic field generator comprises a permanent magnet (¶63).
Regarding Claim 21, Bright discloses (fig. 6a, 6b) the magnetic field generator comprises an electromagnet (¶63).
Regarding Claim 23, Bright discloses (fig. 7, 8a, 8b) the switch and induction coil are positioned within a cryostat (¶81).
Regarding Claim 24, Bright discloses (fig. 7, 8a, 8b) a rectifier comprising: a rotor (710) which comprises at least one magnetic field generator configured to rotate with the rotor, wherein the at least one magnetic field generator generates a magnetic field (¶71), an induction coil (740, 742), and a switch comprising one or more lengths of superconducting material (721), wherein, in use the rectifier is configured to connect to a load, the load being connected electrically in parallel with the switch (second end of 734 including connection zone 716), wherein in use the rotor is configured to rotate to move the at least one magnetic field generator relative to the induction coil and switch, to periodically apply the magnetic field to the induction coil and switch (¶71) such that: a current flow is induced in the induction coil, the current flow having a positive component and a negative component over time, wherein at least part of the current flow is configured to flow through the switch(740, 724, ¶71), and the load, and the magnetic field applied to the switch reduces a critical current of the superconducting material within the switch, such that the magnetic field and the current flow within the switch cause the switch to transition from a low-resistance state to a higher-resistance state (¶6), wherein the application of the magnetic field to the switch is synchronized with the positive or negative component of the current flow, such that the switch transitions to the higher-resistance state to increase the amount of current flowing in the load during the positive or negative component, thereby providing a net positive or negative current flow in the load (¶6).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 12 and 22 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding claim 12, the prior art fails to disclose: “...the at least one magnetic field generator is positioned at a radial distance from a rotational axis of the rotor which is substantially the same as the radial distance of the switch from the rotational axis” in combination with the additionally claimed features, as are claimed by the Applicant.
Regarding claim 22, the prior art fails to disclose: “...a field spreader, wherein the field spreader is configured to create a homogenous magnetic field in the at least one length of superconducting material of the switch” in combination with the additionally claimed features, as are claimed by the Applicant.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
US 20110227677, Coombs; Timothy Arthur discloses a superconducting systems.
US 20160336102, Parks; Drew Paul et al. discloses systems and methods for activation of trapped field magnets.
/KYLE J MOODY/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2838